DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 11, 12, 15, 17, 20, 21, 24, 25, 27, 30, 31, 34 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2023/0345422, hereinafter Lin, claiming priority date of provisional application 63/139,191), in view of Liu et al (US 2023/0189144, hereinafter Liu) and Shin et al (US 2022/0295514, hereinafter Shin).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a resource sensing method, applied to a user equipment (UE), comprising: determining whether a current sensing occasion overlaps with an ON duration of a current discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (selecting periodic sensing occasions that align with DRX cycle, Para [0038], Fig. 5 shows sensing occasions that fully overlap (e.g. first occasion) of the ON duration, UE selects the two sensing occasion (110) overlapping the ON duration, Para [0049]. Also see pages 3-5 and Fig. 1 of the provisional application); and when the current sensing occasion does not overlap with the ON duration of the current DRX cycle, performing resource sensing within an ON duration of a next DRX cycle (UE selects the sensing occasions that overlap the ON duration of DRX, Para [0049]/Fig. 5, the sensing slots that do not overlap the DRX ON duration are not selected (e.g. the second sensing occasion during the OFF duration is skipped in configuration 103, then sensing is performed in next sensing occasion (110) during the next ON duration. Also see pages 3-5 and Fig. 1 of the provisional application); but does not explicitly disclose the sensing occasion fully overlaps the ON duration nor performing sensing within a target time period within the ON duration. Lin discloses the sensing must be aligned with ON duration of DRX as much as possible in order to achieve the most power saving, Para [0049] and sensing occasion are configured by the base station, Para [0038], with a configured start time for sensing window, Para [0047]. Liu discloses there is a DRX configuration and a partial sensing configuration, Para [0034], the start of DRX ON duration is the start of the partial sensing window, Para [0105], the sensing time fully overlaps the active time in Fig. 6. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Liu in the system of Lin in order to prevent mismatch between partial sensing and DRX active time, which may prevent the user from receiving SCI and properly implement sensing and resource selection; nor explicitly disclosing adjusting the current sensing occasion when it does not fully overlap the ON duration. Shin discloses the sensing period is adjusted to the active time of DRX, Para [0151], a portion of the sensing period overlaps the inactive period, and the sensing period can be adjusted to be only be during the active period, Para [0160]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Shin in the system of Lin in view of Liu in order to improve sensing to avoid collision in resource selection.
Regarding claims 2, 12, 21 and 31, Lin discloses the resource sensing method/UE/network device of claim 1/11/20/30, wherein the current sensing occasion does not fully overlap with the ON duration of the current DRX cycle comprises: a part of the current sensing occasion overlaps with the ON duration of the current DRX cycle, and a remaining part of the current sensing occasion overlaps with an OFF duration of the current DRX cycle; or, the current sensing occasion fully overlaps with an OFF duration of the current DRX cycle; or, a part of the current sensing occasion overlaps with an OFF duration of the current DRX cycle, and a remaining part of the current sensing occasion overlaps with the ON duration of the next DRX cycle (for configuration 104, second sensing occasion partially overlaps the ON and OFF durations, the third sensing occasion fully overlaps the OFF duration, Fig. 5).
Regarding claims 5 and 24, Lin discloses the resource sensing method/UE of claim 1/20, wherein before the determining whether the current sensing occasion fully overlaps with the ON duration of the current DRX cycle, the method further comprises: receiving a first configuration message transmitted from a network-side device, wherein the first configuration message comprises a start location of the target time period; or, the start location of the target time period is pre-configured; or before the performing the resource sensing within the target time period within the ON duration of the next DRX cycle, the method further comprises: determining the start location of the target time period. Lin discloses sensing occasion are configured by the base station, Para [0038], with a configured start time for sensing window, Para [0047]. Liu discloses there is a DRX configuration and a partial sensing configuration, Para [0034], the start of DRX ON duration is the start of the partial sensing window, Para [0105], the sensing time fully overlaps the active time in Fig. 6.
Regarding claims 6 and 25, Lin discloses the resource sensing method/UE of claim 5/24, wherein the start location of the target time period is same as a start location of the ON duration of the next DRX cycle; or, the start location of the target time period is a fixed target position within the ON duration of the next DRX cycle. Liu discloses there is a DRX configuration and a partial sensing configuration, Para [0034], the start of DRX ON duration is the start of the partial sensing window, Para [0105], the sensing time fully overlaps the active time in Fig. 6.
Regarding claims 8, 17, 27 and 36, Lin discloses the resource sensing method/UE/network device of claim 1/11/20/30, wherein for periodic services, a length of the target time period is not less than a maximum sensing cycle in a case that service latency is ensured; or, for periodic services, an end position of the target time period does not exceed an end position of the ON duration of the next DRX cycle in a case that service latency is not ensured; or, for aperiodic services, an end position of the target time period does not exceed an end position of the ON duration of the next DRX cycle. Liu discloses the end of the partial sensing window can be the end of the DRX ON duration, Para [0107].
Regarding claim 11, Lin discloses a resource sensing method, applied to a network-side device, comprising: when a current sensing occasion does not fully overlap with an ON duration of a current discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle, resource sensing within an ON duration of a next DRX cycle (UE selects the sensing occasions that overlap the ON duration of DRX, Para [0049]/Fig. 5, the sensing slots that do not overlap the DRX ON duration are not selected (e.g. the second sensing occasion during the OFF duration is skipped in configuration 103, then sensing is performed in next sensing occasion (110) during the next ON duration. Also see pages 3-5 and Fig. 1 of the provisional application); but does not fully disclose transmitting a first configuration message to a target user equipment (UE), wherein the first configuration message comprises a start location of a target time period, the target time period is a time period within which the target UE performs sensing. Lin discloses the sensing must be aligned with ON duration of DRX as much as possible in order to achieve the most power saving, Para [0049] and sensing occasion are configured by the base station, Para [0038], with a configured start time for sensing window, Para [0047]. Liu discloses there is a DRX configuration and a partial sensing configuration, Para [0034], the start of DRX ON duration is the start of the partial sensing window, Para [0105], the sensing time fully overlaps the active time in Fig. 6. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Liu in the system of Lin in order to prevent mismatch between partial sensing and DRX active time, which may prevent the user from receiving SCI and properly implement sensing and resource selection; nor explicitly disclosing adjusting the current sensing occasion when it does not fully overlap the ON duration. Shin discloses the sensing period is adjusted to the active time of DRX, Para [0151], a portion of the sensing period overlaps the inactive period, and the sensing period can be adjusted to be only be during the active period, Para [0160]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Shin in the system of Lin in view of Liu in order to improve sensing to avoid collision in resource selection.
Regarding claims 15 and 34, Lin discloses the resource sensing method/network device of claim 11/30, wherein a start location of the target time period is same as a start location of the ON duration of the next DRX cycle; or, a start location of the target time period is a fixed target position within the ON duration of the next DRX cycle. Liu discloses there is a DRX configuration and a partial sensing configuration, Para [0034], the start of DRX ON duration is the start of the partial sensing window, Para [0105], the sensing time fully overlaps the active time in Fig. 6.
Regarding claim 20, Lin discloses a user equipment (UE, Fig. 1), comprising: a memory, a transceiver, and a processor (memory, transceiver, processor, Fig. 1); the memory is used to store computer programs; the transceiver is used to transmit and receive data under a control of the processor; and the computer programs, when executed by the processor, cause the UE to perform following operations: determining whether a current sensing occasion overlaps with an ON duration of a current discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (selecting periodic sensing occasions that align with DRX cycle, Para [0038], Fig. 5 shows sensing occasions that fully overlap (e.g. first occasion) of the ON duration, UE selects the two sensing occasion (110) overlapping the ON duration, Para [0049]. Also see pages 3-5 and Fig. 1 of the provisional application); and when the current sensing occasion does not overlap with the ON duration of the current DRX cycle, performing resource sensing within an ON duration of a next DRX cycle (UE selects the sensing occasions that overlap the ON duration of DRX, Para [0049]/Fig. 5, the sensing slots that do not overlap the DRX ON duration are not selected (e.g. the second sensing occasion during the OFF duration is skipped in configuration 103, then sensing is performed in next sensing occasion (110) during the next ON duration. Also see pages 3-5 and Fig. 1 of the provisional application); but does not explicitly disclose the sensing occasion fully overlaps the ON duration nor performing sensing within a target time period within the ON duration. Lin discloses the sensing must be aligned with ON duration of DRX as much as possible in order to achieve the most power saving, Para [0049] and sensing occasion are configured by the base station, Para [0038], with a configured start time for sensing window, Para [0047]. Liu discloses there is a DRX configuration and a partial sensing configuration, Para [0034], the start of DRX ON duration is the start of the partial sensing window, Para [0105], the sensing time fully overlaps the active time in Fig. 6. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Liu in the system of Lin in order to prevent mismatch between partial sensing and DRX active time, which may prevent the user from receiving SCI and properly implement sensing and resource selection; nor explicitly disclosing adjusting the current sensing occasion when it does not fully overlap the ON duration. Shin discloses the sensing period is adjusted to the active time of DRX, Para [0151], a portion of the sensing period overlaps the inactive period, and the sensing period can be adjusted to be only be during the active period, Para [0160]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Shin in the system of Lin in view of Liu in order to improve sensing to avoid collision in resource selection.
Regarding claim 30, Lin discloses a network-side device, comprising a memory, a transceiver, and a processor (base station, Fig. 3, memory, processor and transceiver inherent); the memory is used to store computer programs; the transceiver is used to transmit and receive data under a control of the processor; the computer programs, when executed by the processor, cause the network-side device to perform following operations: when a current sensing occasion does not fully overlap with an ON duration of a current discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle, resource sensing within an ON duration of a next DRX cycle (UE selects the sensing occasions that overlap the ON duration of DRX, Para [0049]/Fig. 5, the sensing slots that do not overlap the DRX ON duration are not selected (e.g. the second sensing occasion during the OFF duration is skipped in configuration 103, then sensing is performed in next sensing occasion (110) during the next ON duration. Also see pages 3-5 and Fig. 1 of the provisional application); but does not fully disclose transmitting a first configuration message to a target user equipment (UE), wherein the first configuration message comprises a start location of a target time period, the target time period is a time period within which the target UE performs sensing. Lin discloses the sensing must be aligned with ON duration of DRX as much as possible in order to achieve the most power saving, Para [0049] and sensing occasion are configured by the base station, Para [0038], with a configured start time for sensing window, Para [0047]. Liu discloses there is a DRX configuration and a partial sensing configuration, Para [0034], the start of DRX ON duration is the start of the partial sensing window, Para [0105], the sensing time fully overlaps the active time in Fig. 6. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Liu in the system of Lin in order to prevent mismatch between partial sensing and DRX active time, which may prevent the user from receiving SCI and properly implement sensing and resource selection; nor explicitly disclosing adjusting the current sensing occasion when it does not fully overlap the ON duration. Shin discloses the sensing period is adjusted to the active time of DRX, Para [0151], a portion of the sensing period overlaps the inactive period, and the sensing period can be adjusted to be only be during the active period, Para [0160]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Shin in the system of Lin in view of Liu in order to improve sensing to avoid collision in resource selection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant amends the limitations and argues the references do not disclose the amended limitations. In response, arguments are moot in view of a new reference being used in the current office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461