Claims 1-12,14 and 16-20 are pending. Claims 13 and 15 have been cancelled. Claims 1-12 and 14 have been amended. Claims 16-20 are new. Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-5 in the reply filed on September 25, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that JP50-127976 does not disclose the use of (A) however this is not found persuasive. The claims lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of fiber treating composition, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of DE10133203A1 cited in the rejection below. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claims 6-12,14 and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Doering (DE 10133203A1).
Doering teaches a hair (fiber) treating composition comprising 1% epigallocatechin (component (A)), 5% sodium chloride (salt component (B)) and water (component (C) (paragraph 0141, 0041,0045). Doering teaches using 0.5% green tea extract (component (A)), 5% sodium chloride (salt component (B)) and water (paragraph 0139). Doering teaches green tea extract comprises catechins (paragraph 0036). Accordingly, the teachings of Doering are sufficient to anticipate the material limitations of the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doering (DE 10133203A1).
Doering is relied upon as set forth above. Doering further teaches int eh examples, the molar ratio of 5% sodium chloride (5g/58.44g/mol=0.085mol) and 1% epigallocatechin (1g/458.37g/mol=0.002mol) is 0.085/.002=42.5. Doering teaches the salt, preferably sodium chloride can be added at the preferred concentrations of 1-5% as an electrolyte (paragraph 0047) and the catechin can be added at concentrations of preferably 0.001-10% by weight.
Doering does not the molar ratio of (B)/(A) of 0.01 or more and less than 20 in an example, but one of ordinary skill in the art can arrive at this ratio from selection of the teachings of Doering.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the amounts of the electrolyte salts and the catechins to arrive at the claimed ratio as Doering teaches 0.001-10% catechin can be used as an art recognized preferred range. Substituting a 3% epigallocatechin (3g/458.37g/mol=0.006 mol) for !% epigallocatechin in the compositions of paragraph 0141 would be obvious as to arrive at a 14.1 (B)/(A) ratio (.006/.085=14.1). Doering teaches 1-3% catechins are within an art preferred range to prevent drying of hair and for hair treatment composition which protect the hair (paragraph 0025,0105-0106,0114). Substituting art recognized concentration ranges which are known to be effective for preventing drying of hair and for protection of hair are obvious through routine experimentation.
Conclusion
/AMINA S KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761