DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In ¶14 of the specification (¶12 of the patent publication), the expression
|
θ
c
a
l
l
,
p
+
1
T
-
δ
θ
c
a
l
u
n
w
r
a
p
l
,
p
T
|
seems to be missing a delta, and should be rewritten as
|
δ
θ
c
a
l
l
,
p
+
1
T
-
δ
θ
c
a
l
u
n
w
r
a
p
l
,
p
T
|
.
In ¶79 of the specification (¶81 of the patent publication), the two fiber sections represented by the ranges
[
r
±
k
Δ
l
,
r
±
k
+
D
Δ
l
]
and
[
r
Δ
l
,
r
+
D
Δ
l
]
are said to overlap by an amount
r
-
k
Δ
l
, however the overlap should be
D
-
k
Δ
l
.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 contains a number of issues which are addressed below:
The examiner is unclear what the “space” referred to is supposed to represent. Does the space represent all reflection points along the optical fiber, or is it some subset of those reflection points (such as the
k
nearest neighbors of a particular point
r
which the Hampel identifier considers)? Does the term “space” refer only to a spatial dimension, or does it also refer to a temporal dimension? For example, the examiner understands that data representing discrete positions and times are collected by the signal processing device; does “space” refer only to a set of spatial positions, or does it refer to values which vary in both spatial position and time? For examination purposes it will be assumed that the term “space” refers to a set of positions in a spatial dimension but does not refer to any temporal information.
What does Applicant mean when referring to “each of correction target positions among positions in the space”? Does the phrase “positions in the space” refer to the same set of positions as “each position in the space” does earlier in claim 1, or to some other set of positions? For examination purposes, it will be assumed that any set of positions in the space may be referred to.
Claim 2 contains a number of issues which are addressed below:
Claim 2 recites “the phase value,” but since “a phase value” has been recited multiple times in claim 1 and once in claim 2, it is unclear whether this refers to the same phase value as one of the former references to “a phase value,” or to some other phase value. For examination purposes it will be assumed that “the phase value” should be replaced with “a phase value.”
Claim 2 recites adding a correction value to phase values “in order from a later side for each of times earlier than the first time.” What does this mean? The applicant understands this to mean that, if a correction value
c
is added to a phase value representing position
r
and time
n
1
, then
c
would be added to the phase values representing position
r
and times
(
n
1
-
1
,
n
1
-
2
,
…
,
2
,
1
)
. Is this Applicant’s intended meaning? This will be the interpretation used for examination purposes.
Claim 3 contains a number of issues which are addressed below:
Claim 3 recites “the phase value,” but since “a phase value” has been recited multiple times in claim 1 and once in claim 3, it is unclear whether this refers to the same phase value as one of the former references to “a phase value,” or to some other phase value. For examination purposes it will be assumed that “the phase value” should be replaced with “a phase value.”
Claim 3 recites adding a correction value to phase values “in order from an earlier side for each of times later than the second time.” This is confusing for the same reasons as given in the rejection of claim 2, except that the examiner understands this to mean adding a correction value
c
to the phase values representing position
r
and times
(
n
2
+
1
,
n
2
+
2
,
…
,
N
-
1
,
N
)
.
Claims 4-5 depend from claim 1 and are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 6 recites the language of claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
At Step 1 of the 101 analysis, all claims are directed to one of the statutory categories of invention.
Claim 1 is rejected in response to the following analysis:
At Step 2A, Prong One, the judicial exceptions are bolded in the copy of claim 1 below:
A signal processing method executed by a signal processing device, comprising:
performing a phase connection process on a position in a space and a phase value at each of a plurality of times;
performing outlier correction of a phase value for each position in the space in a predetermined direction of the space at a predetermined time among the plurality of times based on a result of the phase connection process; and
correcting a phase value at a time other than the predetermined time for each of correction target positions among positions in the space.
A “phase connection process,” “outlier correction,” and “correcting a phase value” all represent mathematical or mental processes depending on the complexity of the operations performed.
At Step 2A, Prong Two, the additional element is a “signal processing device” which is encompassed by a general-purpose computer.
When considering claim 1 as a whole, a device processes a signal by connecting phase over a time range at a position in a space, corrects outliers for positions in the space at some time in the time range, then corrects phase at some other time for other positions. No indication is given of what the signal or space represent. The term “phase connection process” does not give a specific idea of what operations are being performed on phase values to connect them. No context is given at all. For these reasons, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application.
At Step 2B, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions for the reasons given above.
Claim 6 recites a signal processing device comprising processing circuitry which implements the method of claim 1, and which is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 2-4 depend from claim 1 but do not address any of the issues raised in the rejection of claim 1, therefore these claims are also rejected.
Claim 5 clarifies that the “space” represents positions along an optical fiber and the “signal” represents a light pulse incident on an optical fiber. However, no measurement is explicitly recited, nor are any physical elements positively recited other than the signal processing device. While an optical fiber and a light pulse are recited, the claim is written so that these may simply describe a set of data which is being processed. Claim 5 is therefore also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ellmauthaler (US 20170183959 A1) in view of QI (US 20160285659 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ellmauthaler discloses a signal processing method executed by a signal processing device (Abstract: "The system also includes at least one processing unit that calculates I/Q data from the digitized electrical signals, corrects the I/Q data based on ellipse fitting, determines phase values based on the corrected I/Q data, and determines distributed sensing parameter values based on the phase values."), comprising:
performing a phase connection process (phase unwrapping, see below) on a position in a space (measurements reflecting positions along an optical fiber; the space refers to a set of positions along an optical fiber; see below) and a phase value (¶23: "The light source transmits light pulses along the fiber optic cable 44, which contains a fiber with scattering impurities. As each pulse of light propagates along the fiber, some of the pulse is scattered back along the fiber from every point on the fiber…The optical port of the surface interface 66 communicates backscattered light to the detector, which responsively produces interferometry measurements from backscattered light attributes (e.g., phase or phase shift) corresponding to different points along the fiber optic cable 44." ¶58: "At block 750, a wrapped phase is calculated using the corrected I/Q values (e.g., phase=a tan 2(Q,I)). At block 752, a delta phase is calculated by comparing the current phase value with a previous phase value, and phase unwrapping is performed.").
Ellmauthaler does not explicitly say that the phase connection process is performed at a position in a space and at each of a plurality of times, however noting that phase (relative to a reference) should monotonically increase over time as light reflects from a particular position along the optical fiber, it would have been obvious to perform the phase unwrapping process at a position in a space and at each of a plurality of times.
Ellmauthaler does not explicitly disclose the remaining limitations of claim 1.
QI discloses a method of detecting a burst signal (Abstract). As part of this method, QI discloses performing outlier correction of phase values (outlier filter 983; see below) for positions in space in a predetermined direction of the space (Fig. 14: phase values along index number “i” are sequentially examined; see below) at some time based on a result of a phase unwrapping process (¶113: "phase unwrapping may be subject to phase jumps of +/−2 π or multiples of +/−2π (referred to herein as cycle-slips) in low [signal-to-noise ratio] SNR conditions. Accordingly…a cycle slip filter 981 [] is used to reduce cycle slip effects. Moreover, the cycle-slip corrected phase samples may be subject to outliers, especially in low SNR conditions. Accordingly…an outlier filter 983 [is provided] (described below with reference to FIGS. 14A and 14B)." Fig. 14A: an unwrapped phase value indexed by i-2 is corrected to a weighted average of phase values i and i-3 (See definition of mid1 in S1405 and note that i-2 is replaced by mid1 in S1411 if a set of conditions exist)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of QI with the invention of Ellmauthaler by performing outlier correction of a phase value for each position in the space in a predetermined direction of the space at a predetermined time among the plurality of times based on a result of the phase connection process. Doing so would have enabled one to fix errors in phase unwrapping that may occur due to noise.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to correct a phase value at a time other than the predetermined time for each of correction target positions among positions in the space in order to fix phase unwrapping errors that exist at various times.
Regarding claim 5, the arguments for rejecting claim 1 apply to claim 5, which is rejected for the same reasons. Note that the “space” in claim 1 can be identified with the “optical fiber” or more particularly locations along the longitudinal direction of the optical fiber. Note further that, due to the non-zero duration of the light pulse, at any given moment the light incident upon the detector would be from a range of reflection locations along the optical fiber. For this reason, the “position” of any measurement would necessarily represent “a range based on a spatial resolution”.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 recites the signal processing device of claim 1, which comprises processing circuitry and performs the method of claim 1. Claim 6 is therefore rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ellmauthaler (US 20170183959 A1) in view of QI (US 20160285659 A1), and further in view of Nishiguchi (“Phase unwrapping for fiber-optic distributed acoustic sensing”).
Regarding claim 3, Ellmauthaler in view of QI teaches the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches that in the performing outlier correction, correction of adding a correction value to a phase value at a second time later than a reference time is performed (QI, Fig. 4, S1411 shows that a phase value at i-2 is replaced with mid1; replacing the original value with mid1 is equivalent to adding a correction value to change the value at i-2 to be mid1. Define whatever value must be added at i-2 to reach mid1 as the “correction value”. Furthermore, the correction point is associated with a time; define the correction point’s time as “a second time” and some earlier time as “a reference time.”).
Ellmauthaler in view of QI does not explicitly teach that, in the correcting a phase value, correction of adding the correction value to a phase value in order from an earlier side for each of times later than the second time is performed.
Note that each measurement represents a position along a fiber and a time at which the light was incident at that location. Let indices
r
2
and
n
2
to represent the discrete position and time values associated with the corrected phase, and let
c
be the correction value. The above limitations are met by adding
c
to all phase measurements at
r
2
and with time indices
n
>
n
2
.
In claim 1, phase unwrapping was performed at a position along the time parameter. Ellmauthaler does not describe how phase unwrapping is performed, but it is reasonable that phase unwrapping may be performed at a particular location by iterating from earlier to later times. In such a case, errors may be additive over time.
Consider the teachings of Nishiguchi. Nishiguchi depicts the results of phase unwrapping over the parameter
n
using the Itoh algorithm, a known method for phase unwrapping (pg. 83, column 1, last paragraph, and Fig. 14). When large noise is present, as in Fig. 14(c), an error in phase unwrapping occurs near
n
=
3
, and persists for all values
n
>
3
. To correct this, the same correction factor is applied for all values after the error point (see dashed line in Fig. 4(c)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Nishiguchi with the invention of Ellmauthaler in view of QI by using the Itoh algorithm to perform phase unwrapping and to, in the correcting a phase value, add the correction value to a phase value in order from an earlier side for each of times later than the second time is performed. Doing so would enable one to incorporate a known method for performing phase unwrapping, and would further enable one to remove the error from all affected points.
Regarding claim 2, the arguments for rejecting claim 3 apply to claim 2 if the Itoh algorithm is performed in order from larger to smaller time values. Doing so would have been obvious to try, as the direction of implementation does not change the effectiveness of phase unwrapping, and the results would have been predictable by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ellmauthaler (US 20170183959 A1) in view of QI (US 20160285659 A1), and further in view of Yao (“Using Hampel identifier to eliminate profile-isolated outliers in laser vision measurement”) and Bhowmik (“Outlier removal in facial surface electromyography through Hampel filtering technique”).
Regarding claim 4, Ellmauthaler in view of QI teaches the limitations of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach the limitations of claim 4.
Yao teaches that the Hampel identifier is a robust and effective outlier identification method across various scientific fields (Pg. 2, column 1, first paragraph: "Hampel identifier is considered as one of the most robust and effective outlier identification method, which has been applied in different scientific fields and has achieved good results").
Bhowmik teaches that, during implementation of the Hampel identifier, a detected outlier may be replaced with the local median (Pg. 258, column 2, last paragraph: “The outliers detected in the window are replaced by the median value of the windowed data”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Yao and Bhowmik with the invention of Ellmauthaler in view of QI by, in the performing outlier correction, performing correction using a Hampel identifier. Doing so would enable one to use a statistically robust and effective method of identifying and correcting outliers.
Conclusion
ETHAN WESLEY EDWARDS
Examiner
Art Unit 2857
/E.W.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/ANDREW SCHECHTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857