DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office action is in response to the amendments filed on September 21, 2023. Claims 1-8 are currently pending, with Claims 1-8 being amended.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application JP2021-055410 filed on March 29, 2021. Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to the declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR.154(b) and 41.202(e). Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application. No action by the applicant is required at this time.
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim for priority to the PCT filing of Application No. PCT/JP2022/005380 filed on February 10, 2022. No action by the applicant is required at this time.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS’s) submitted on October 17, 2023 and November 11, 2024, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“a remaining capacity notification device …” in Claims 1-6.
“a reliability level determination unit …” in Claims 1-2.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof:
Regarding the limitation of “a remaining capacity notification device …”, the instant specification at least at Paragraphs [0046], [0052] states that “Vehicle control unit 30 includes processing unit 310 and storage unit 322. Processing unit 310 includes display control unit 313 …” and “Display control unit 313 performs control such that the remaining battery capacity is displayed on display unit 38 in a display mode based on the reliability level …”. The structure of a remaining capacity notification device is software or hardware capable of displaying or providing notifications about remaining capacity.
Regarding the limitation of “a reliability level determination unit …”, the instant specification at Paragraphs [0046] and [0059] at least states that “Vehicle control unit 30 includes processing unit 310, and storage unit 3222. Processing unit 310 includes … reliability determination unit 312 …” and “Reliability level determination unit 312 calculates a remaining battery capacity reliability level …”. The structure for a reliability level determination unit is a computer or computer equivalent, or sub-module capable of performing battery calculation estimations and sending the information to the user.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 3-5 state “a notification controller …” but is not defined in the specification. The Examiner is interpreting a notification controller to be the hardware and/or software capable of sending signals to the remaining capacity notification device (as interpreted under previous 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretation above).
Claims 1-4 recite “a reliability level …”, but the terminology does not appear to refer to reliability. Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “reliability level” in Claims 1-4 is used by the claim to mean “remaining capacity status indicator” or “battery state of health” (as seen in Figures 5, 7A-C, and 12), where the “reliability level” is associated with a color scale to indicate the current state of charge, while the accepted meaning is “the reliability of the battery or operate without interruptions or failures”. The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. The Examiner is interpreting “reliability level” to mean battery capacity status indicators.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite an abstract idea, such as a mathematical concept. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims only require performing calculations steps for determining a battery capacity.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claims 1 and 7 are directed to a method for notifying a user of the remaining capacity of a battery, and Claim 8 is directed to a method and apparatus for notifying a user of the remaining capacity of a battery. Therefore, Claims 1 and 7-8 are within at least one of the four statutory categories. Claims 2-6 are rejected due to their dependency on Claim 1.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of a) an abstract idea, b) a law of nature, or c) a natural phenomenon.
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the noted abstract ideas are as follows (where the bolded portions represent an “abstract idea”; and where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations”):
Claim 1 recites the following:
A remaining capacity notification device for
notifying a user of a device of a remaining capacity of a secondary battery mounted in the device, the remaining capacity notification device comprising:
a reliability level determination unit that determines a reliability level of a state of charge on the basis of a slope of a SOC-OCV curve of the secondary battery, the OCV as open circuit voltage, the SOC as state of charge indicating the remaining capacity of the secondary battery that the user is to be notified of, the slope corresponding to the state of charge; and
a notification controller that performs control to cause the user to be notified of the remaining capacity of the secondary battery in a form of notification based on the reliability level of the state of charge that has been determined.
Regarding the limitation of “determines a reliability level …” the Examiner submits that these limitations consist of using mathematical concepts as included in an abstract idea. These limitations recite using a computer to determine a state of charge of a battery based on the slope of the voltage curve, which comprises a mathematical concept.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
For the following reason(s), the Examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application. Regarding the additional limitations of “notifying …” and “cause the user to be notified …”, the Examiner submits that these limitations consist of insignificant extra-solution activity, which is performed by a generic computer to perform the process.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, implement/ use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitations does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative independent Claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above, the additional limitations of “notifying …” and “cause the user to be notified …”, the Examiner submits that these limitations consists of insignificant post-solution activity. Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent Claims 2-6 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claims to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, because the claims involve implementing mathematical concepts by calculating the predicted state of charge using a weighted average method and displaying the results to the user. Therefore, dependent Claims 2-6 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0061101 A1, to Uchida, et al (hereinafter referred to as Uchida).
As per Claim 1, Uchida discloses the features of a remaining capacity notification device (e.g. Paragraphs [0010], [0057]; where the controller controls a display apparatus to notify a user that the full charge of the secondary battery is equal to or lower than the threshold value; and where a remaining capacity on the battery is shown to a user; and where secondary battery is mounted on a vehicle) for
notifying a user of a device of a remaining capacity of a secondary battery mounted in the device (e.g. Paragraphs [0010], [0047]; where the controller controls a display apparatus to notify a user that the full charge of the secondary battery is equal to or lower than the threshold value; where secondary battery is mounted on a vehicle), the remaining capacity notification device comprising:
a reliability level determination unit that determines a reliability level of a state of charge (e.g. Figure 10- see display (74) and display section (76); where the system displays remaining capacity level (i.e. reliability levels) of the battery; and changes in color when the capacity increases or decreases) on the basis of
a slope of a SOC-OCV SOC-open circuit voltage (OCV) curve of the secondary battery (e.g. Paragraphs [0099], [0107]; where the ECU (100) calculates an SOC of the battery based on an OCV by referring to an OCV-SOV curve of the battery (50)),
the OCV as open circuit voltage (e.g. Paragraphs [0099], [0107]; where the ECU (100) calculates an SOC of the battery based on an OCV by referring to an OCV-SOV curve of the battery (50)),
the SOC as state of charge indicating the remaining capacity of the secondary battery (e.g. Paragraph [0057]; where the remaining power (remaining capacity) is shown on a display section (73), where the SOC is an indicator of remaining power of the battery on the display section) that the user is to be notified of (e.g. Paragraphs [0008], [0057]; where the remaining power (remaining capacity) is shown on a display section (73), where the SOC is an indicator of remaining power of the battery on the display section to notify a user when a full charge capacity is equal to or lower than a threshold value (i.e. when the user is to be notified)),
the slope corresponding to the state of charge (e.g. Figure 6; where the curve has a slope indicating the state of charge); and
a notification controller that performs control (e.g. Paragraph [0057]; where the remaining power (remaining capacity) is shown on a display section (73), where the SOC is an indicator of remaining power of the battery on the display section) to
cause the user to be notified of the remaining capacity of the secondary battery in a form of notification based on the reliability level of the state of charge that has been determined (e.g. Paragraphs [0008], [0057]; where the remaining power (remaining capacity) is shown on a display section (73), where the SOC is an indicator of remaining power of the battery on the display section to notify a user when a full charge capacity is equal to or lower than a threshold value (i.e. when the user is to be notified)).
As per Claim 7, Uchida discloses the features of a remaining capacity notification method (e.g. Paragraphs [0010], [0057]; where the controller controls a display apparatus to notify a user that the full charge of the secondary battery is equal to or lower than the threshold value; and where a remaining capacity on the battery is shown to a user; and where secondary battery is mounted on a vehicle) for
notifying a user of a device of a remaining capacity of a secondary battery mounted in the device (e.g. Paragraphs [0010], [0047]; where the controller controls a display apparatus to notify a user that the full charge of the secondary battery is equal to or lower than the threshold value; where secondary battery is mounted on a vehicle), the remaining capacity notification method comprising:
determining a reliability level of a state of charge on the basis of a slope of a SOC-OCV curve of the secondary battery (e.g. Figure 10- see display (74) and display section (76); where the system displays remaining capacity level (i.e. reliability levels) of the battery; and changes in color when the capacity increases or decreases),
the SOC representing a state of charge and indicating the remaining capacity of the secondary battery (e.g. Paragraph [0057]; where the remaining power (remaining capacity) is shown on a display section (73), where the SOC is an indicator of remaining power of the battery on the display section) that the user is to be notified of (e.g. Paragraphs [0008], [0057]; where the remaining power (remaining capacity) is shown on a display section (73), where the SOC is an indicator of remaining power of the battery on the display section to notify a user when a full charge capacity is equal to or lower than a threshold value (i.e. when the user is to be notified)),
the slope corresponding to the state of charge (e.g. Figure 6; where the curve has a slope indicating the state of charge),
the OCV representing an open circuit voltage (e.g. Paragraphs [0099], [0107]; where the ECU (100) calculates an SOC of the battery based on an OCV by referring to an OCV-SOV curve of the battery (50)); and
performing control to cause the user to be notified of the remaining capacity of the secondary battery in a form of notification based on the reliability level of the state of charge that has been determined (e.g. Paragraphs [0008], [0057]; where the remaining power (remaining capacity) is shown on a display section (73), where the SOC is an indicator of remaining power of the battery on the display section to notify a user when a full charge capacity is equal to or lower than a threshold value (i.e. when the user is to be notified)).
As per Claim 8, Uchida discloses the features of a non-transitory machine-readable recording medium that stores a remaining capacity notification program (e.g. Paragraph [0068]; where the ECU (100) includes a central processing unit (CPU, 110), a memory (120), which stores a program executed by the ECU (100)) for
notifying a user of a device of a remaining capacity of a secondary battery mounted in the device (e.g. Paragraphs [0010], [0047]; where the controller controls a display apparatus to notify a user that the full charge of the secondary battery is equal to or lower than the threshold value; where secondary battery is mounted on a vehicle), the remaining capacity notification program causing a computer to execute:
a process of determining a reliability level of a state of charge on the basis of a slope of a SOC-OCV curve of the secondary battery (e.g. Figure 10- see display (74) and display section (76); where the system displays remaining capacity level (i.e. reliability levels) of the battery; and changes in color when the capacity increases or decreases),
the SOC representing a state of charge and indicating the remaining capacity of the secondary battery (e.g. Paragraphs [0099], [0107]; where the ECU (100) calculates an SOC of the battery based on an OCV by referring to an OCV-SOV curve of the battery (50)) that the user is to be notified of (e.g. Paragraphs [0008], [0057]; where the remaining power (remaining capacity) is shown on a display section (73), where the SOC is an indicator of remaining power of the battery on the display section to notify a user when a full charge capacity is equal to or lower than a threshold value (i.e. when the user is to be notified)),
the slope corresponding to the state of charge (e.g. Figure 6; where the curve has a slope indicating the state of charge),
the OCV representing an open circuit voltage (e.g. Paragraphs [0099], [0107]; where the ECU (100) calculates an SOC of the battery based on an OCV by referring to an OCV-SOV curve of the battery (50)); and
a process of performing control to cause the user to be notified of the remaining capacity of the secondary battery in a form of notification based on the reliability level of the state of charge that has been determined (e.g. Paragraphs [0008], [0057]; where the remaining power (remaining capacity) is shown on a display section (73), where the SOC is an indicator of remaining power of the battery on the display section to notify a user when a full charge capacity is equal to or lower than a threshold value (i.e. when the user is to be notified)).
As per Claim 2, Uchida discloses the features of Claim 1, and Uchida further discloses the features of wherein the reliability level determination unit evaluates the reliability level of the state of charge indicating the remaining capacity that the user is to be notified of, as being higher, as the slope of the SOC-OCV curve that corresponds to the state of charge indicating the remaining capacity that the user is to be notified of increases (e.g. Figures 2, 10; where the system displays that the remaining capacity is higher and the SOC is higher).
As per Claim 3, Uchida discloses the features of Claim 2, and Uchida further discloses the features of wherein the notification controller performs control to cause the remaining capacity of the secondary battery to be displayed or audibly output more conspicuously as the reliability level of the state of charge that has been determined increases. (e.g. Paragraphs [0075], [0087]-[0089]; Figure 4;where the controller controls the display apparatus to vary a color of at least one of the segments when the full charge capacity of the secondary battery is equal to or lower than the threshold value, where the colors are varied, such as from blue to red; where the color red can indicate that the capacity retention value of the battery is less than a threshold).
As per Claim 4, Uchida discloses the features of Claim 2, and Uchida further discloses the features of wherein the notification controller performs control to
(i) cause the remaining capacity of the secondary battery to be displayed in a first color when the slope of the SOC-OCV curve that corresponds to the state of charge indicating the remaining capacity that the user is to be notified of is less than a low reliability level threshold value (e.g. Paragraphs [0016], [0087]-[0089]; where the controller controls the display apparatus to vary a color of at least one of the segments when the full charge capacity of the secondary battery is equal to or lower than the threshold value, where the colors are varied, such as from blue to red),
(ii) cause the remaining capacity of the secondary battery to be displayed in a second color when the slope of the SOC-OCV curve is greater than or equal to a high reliability level threshold value, the high reliability level threshold value being higher than the low reliability level threshold value (e.g. Paragraphs [0016], [0087]-[0089]; where the controller controls the display apparatus to vary a color of at least one of the segments when the full charge capacity of the secondary battery is greater than the threshold value, where the colors are varied, such as from blue to red, where the color blue can indicate the capacity is above the threshold), and
(iii) cause the remaining capacity of the secondary battery to be displayed in a color at a gradation level between the first color and the second color when the slope of the SOC-OCV curve is greater than or equal to the low reliability level threshold value, but less than the high reliability level threshold value (e.g. Paragraphs [0016], [0087]-[0089]; Figure 10; where the controller controls the display apparatus to vary a color of at least one of the segments when the full charge capacity of the secondary battery is equal to or lower than the threshold value, where the colors are varied, such as from blue to red (i.e. first and second color); and where when the capacity is between the low and high threshold, the system displays gradation color levels).
As per Claim 5, Uchida discloses the features of Claim 2, and Uchida further discloses the features of wherein the notification controller performs control to
(i) cause the remaining capacity of the secondary battery to be displayed in a first color when the slope of the SOC-OCV curve that corresponds to the state of charge indicating the remaining capacity that the user is to be notified of is less than a threshold value (e.g. Paragraphs [0075], [0087]-[0089]; Figure 4;where the controller controls the display apparatus to vary a color of at least one of the segments when the full charge capacity of the secondary battery is equal to or lower than the threshold value, where the colors are varied, such as from blue to red (i.e. first and second color); where the color red can indicate that the capacity retention value of the battery is less than a threshold), and
(ii) cause the remaining capacity of the secondary battery to be displayed in a second color when the slope of the SOC-OCV curve is greater than or equal to the threshold value (e.g. Paragraphs [0075], [0087]-[0089]; Figure 3; where the controller controls the display apparatus to vary a color of at least one of the segments when the full charge capacity of the secondary battery is equal to or lower than the threshold value, where the colors are varied, such as from blue to red (i.e. first and second color); where when the capacity retention value is above a threshold, the color can be indicated as blue).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0061101 A1, to Uchida, et al (hereinafter referred to as Uchida), in view of Japanese Patent Publication No. 2014025739 A, to Yamada, et al (hereinafter referred to as Yamada).
As per Claim 6, Uchida discloses the features of Claim 1, but Uchida fails to disclose every feature of wherein after charging or discharging of the device stops, the state of charge indicating the remaining capacity that the user is to be notified of is calculated by calculating a weighted average of a state of charge calculated by a current integration method and a state of charge calculated by an OCV method, and as time elapses after the charging or the discharging of the device stops, a contribution of the state of charge calculated by the OCV method increases.
However, Yamada in a similar field of endeavor, a battery state estimation apparatus, where the current integration unit (61) integrates the measures current value to obtain the total amount of energy (total amount of current) flowing to the battery module (110) between times (tA1 and tC1), and the SOC calculating unit (101) derives and outputs the estimated remining capacity data (SOCI) based on an output of the current integration unit (61); and where the SOC calculating unit (102) derives and outputs estimated remaining capacity based on open circuit voltage (OCV) estimations; and where a weighted average of the open voltage value (VA) and the measured current value (VB) is used to determine an SOC value; and where the weighted average may be adjusted according to the elapsed time from the discharge stop (e.g. Page 11, Paragraph beginning with “The current integration unit 61 integrates …”; Page 13, Paragraph beginning with “SOC calculating unit 101 derives …”; Page 10, Paragraph beginning with “Further, the open-circuit voltage …”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the display system showing the state of the secondary battery in the system Uchida, with the feature of using a weighted average in the system of Yamada, in order to improve the accuracy of the open-circuit voltage estimation (see at least Page 10, Paragraph beginning with “Further, the open-circuit voltage …” of Yamada).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Itabashi (JP 2009208484 A), which teaches a method for determining the state of charge and health of a secondary battery, and displaying the information to a user.
Mikuteit, et al (U.S. 2013/0275067 A1), which teaches a method for determining a state of charge of a battery, where an estimated open circuit voltage for the battery is calculated, and a corrected state of charge value is generated using the estimated open circuit voltage.
Nakao, et al (U.S. 2015/0357852 A1), which teaches a method for detecting a state of charge of a battery based on OCV and SOC outputs according to the amount of elapsed time.
Ozkan, et al (U.S. 11,977,126 B1), which teaches a method for determining the state of health of a battery using Coulomb counting.
Seo, et al (U.S. 2007/0024242 A1), which teaches a battery management system for managing the capacity of a secondary battery, using a controller OCV calculator and SOC determination unit.
Shiraishi, et al (JP 2015038437 A), which teaches a method for determining the reliability of an estimated value of SOC based on the SOC and OCV correlations.
Yoshida, et al (U.S. 2012/0166116 A1), which teaches a method for calculating residual capacity of a secondary battery, and weights the charge/ discharge voltage according to the discharge rate.
/MERRITT E LEVY/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/TIFFANY P YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666