DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to the amendments and/or arguments filed on August 14, 2025. Claims 1-2 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Pages 4-6, filed August 14, 2025, in regards to prior art rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to the arguments that Niwa does not fully disclose of “calculates front and rear wheel required braking forces so that, a sum of the front wheel required braking force and the rear wheel required braking force matches the target vehicle body braking force, and a ratio of the rear wheel required braking force to the front wheel required braking force is constant, the front wheel required braking force being a target value equal to a sum of a front wheel target regenerative braking force and a front wheel target friction braking force, and the rear wheel required braking force being a target value equal to a sum of a rear wheel target regenerative braking force and a rear wheel target friction braking force,” the examiner respectfully disagrees. Niwa clearly teaches of this claim limitation within Para 0049 where “In the illustrated embodiment, the ratio of the total braking force applied to the front wheels by the friction braking device and the regenerative braking device to the total braking force applied to the rear wheels by the friction braking device and the regenerative braking device is always controlled to be equal to the predetermined braking-force ratio, Kf/Kr. Thus, the ratio of the braking forces distributed to the front and rear wheels can be surely controlled to the predetermined braking-force ratio, irrespective of the proportion of the braking force generated by the friction braking device and the braking force generated by the regenerative braking device. It is thus possible to certainly avoid deterioration of the stability of the vehicle and changes in steering characteristics, which would otherwise occur when the ratio of the braking forces applied to the front and rear wheels differs from the predetermined ratio”. Niwa teaches of insuring a ratio between a total braking force of the front wheels an the total braking force of the rear wheels are at a set ratio that is predetermined. The total front braking force is equal to the braking force applied by the combination of the front regenerative braking and the front friction braking while the total rear braking force is equal to the braking force applied by the combination of the rear regenerative braking and the rear friction braking. Therefore the limitation is fully disclosed. It is noted that Para 0039 was not relied upon in this portion of the rejection and therefore it does not appear to be relevant as Para 0049 alone clearly discloses of this claim limitation. Regardless, it is noted that the formula of Para 0039 discloses that the front regenerative braking force (Frgfa) is subtracted from the total front braking force (Fbft), which is equal to the target front friction force (Fbpft), and this is similar for the rear braking force. Therefore the sum of the front friction braking force and the front regenerative braking force is equal to the total braking force, as outlined in the claim. This is additionally disclosed in Para 0032. It is also noted that in Para 0052 that “the friction braking forces applied to the front wheels and rear wheels can be controlled with improved accuracy so that the braking force of the vehicle as a whole precisely corresponds to the braking requirement made by the driver, as compared with the case where the target front-wheel friction braking force Fbpft and target rear-wheel friction braking force Fbprt are calculated by subtracting the target regenerative braking forces Frgft, Frgrt from the target braking forces Fbft, Fbrt, respectively.” Therefore it is additionally disclosed that the front wheel required braking force being a target value equal to a sum of a front wheel target regenerative braking force and a front wheel target friction braking force, and the rear wheel required braking force being a target value equal to a sum of a rear wheel target regenerative braking force and a rear wheel target friction braking force. Therefore the claim limitation is fully disclosed and rejection is upheld. A detailed rejection follows below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Niwa et al. (US 20020030408); hereinafter Niwa; already of record).
In regards to claim 1, Niwa discloses of a braking control device for a vehicle applied to a vehicle including front and rear wheel regenerative braking devices that generate front and rear wheel regenerative braking forces in a front wheel and a rear wheel (“A braking force control apparatus and method control a braking force of a motor vehicle that has (a) regenerative braking devices for front wheels and rear wheels, respectively, and (b) a friction braking device for each of the front wheels and the rear wheels. A target braking force of the front wheels and a target braking force of the rear wheels are calculated, based on a braking requirement made by a driver of the vehicle and a ratio of braking forces of the front wheels and the rear wheels. Initially, the regenerative braking devices are controlled to generate regenerative braking forces at the front wheels and the rear wheels, and then, if necessary, the friction braking device is controlled to generate a friction braking force at each of the front wheels and rear wheels, so that a total braking force applied to the front wheels and a total braking force applied to the rear wheels are controlled to the front-wheel target braking force and the rear-wheel target braking force, respectively.” (Abstract)), the braking control device comprising:
an actuator that generates front and rear wheel friction braking forces in the front wheel and the rear wheel (“A hydraulic circuit 46 of a friction braking device 44 is operable to control braking pressures applied to wheel cylinders 48FL, 48FR, 48RL and 48RR corresponding to the left and right front wheels 26FL, 26FR and left and right rear wheels 34RL, 34RR so as to control friction braking forces of the respective wheels 26FL, 26FR, 34RL, 34RR. Although not shown in the drawings, the hydraulic circuit 46 includes a reservoir, an oil pump, and various valve devices. The friction braking device 44 including the hydraulic circuit 46 is controlled by a braking control unit 52. During normal operations, the braking pressures applied to the respective wheel cylinders are controlled by the braking control unit 52, depending upon the pressure of a master cylinder 50 that is driven in accordance with the amount or degree of depression of the brake pedal 32 by the driver.” (Para 0026)); and
a controller that controls the front and rear wheel regenerative braking devices and the actuator, wherein the controller calculates a braking force required by a whole of the vehicle as a target vehicle body braking force (“A controller of the braking force control apparatus calculates a first target braking force of the front wheels and a second target braking force of the rear wheels, based on a braking requirement made by a driver of the vehicle and a ratio of braking forces of the front wheels and the rear wheels. The controller initially causes the first and second regenerative braking devices to generate regenerative braking forces at the front wheels and the rear wheels, and then, if necessary, causes the friction braking device to generate a friction braking force at each of the front wheels and rear wheels, so that a total braking force applied to the front wheels and a total braking force applied to the rear wheels are controlled to the first target braking force and the second target braking force, respectively.” (Para 0010)),
calculates front and rear wheel required braking forces so that, a sum of the front wheel required braking force and the rear wheel required braking force matches the target vehicle body braking force, and a ratio of the rear wheel required braking force to the front wheel required braking force is constant the front wheel required braking force being a target value equal to a sum of a front wheel target regenerative braking force and a front wheel target friction braking force, and the rear wheel required braking force being a target value equal to a sum of a rear wheel target regenerative braking force and a rear wheel target friction braking force (“Subsequently, the final target deceleration Gt is calculated in step S40 as a sum of the weighted target deceleration Gpt and the weighted target deceleration Gst, and the target front-wheel braking force Fbft and the target rear-wheel braking force Fbrt are calculated in step S60 based on the predetermined ratio of the front-wheel and rear-wheel braking forces and the final target deceleration Gt.” (Para 0045), and “In the illustrated embodiment, the ratio of the total braking force applied to the front wheels by the friction braking device and the regenerative braking device to the total braking force applied to the rear wheels by the friction braking device and the regenerative braking device is always controlled to be equal to the predetermined braking-force ratio, Kf/Kr. Thus, the ratio of the braking forces distributed to the front and rear wheels can be surely controlled to the predetermined braking-force ratio, irrespective of the proportion of the braking force generated by the friction braking device and the braking force generated by the regenerative braking device. It is thus possible to certainly avoid deterioration of the stability of the vehicle and changes in steering characteristics, which would otherwise occur when the ratio of the braking forces applied to the front and rear wheels differs from the predetermined ratio.” (Para 0049), “the friction braking forces applied to the front wheels and rear wheels can be controlled with improved accuracy so that the braking force of the vehicle as a whole precisely corresponds to the braking requirement made by the driver, as compared with the case where the target front-wheel friction braking force Fbpft and target rear-wheel friction braking force Fbprt are calculated by subtracting the target regenerative braking forces Frgft, Frgrt from the target braking forces Fbft, Fbrt, respectively.” (Para 0052), see also Para 0048; Niwa clearly teaches of this claim limitation within Para 0049 where “In the illustrated embodiment, the ratio of the total braking force applied to the front wheels by the friction braking device and the regenerative braking device to the total braking force applied to the rear wheels by the friction braking device and the regenerative braking device is always controlled to be equal to the predetermined braking-force ratio, Kf/Kr. Thus, the ratio of the braking forces distributed to the front and rear wheels can be surely controlled to the predetermined braking-force ratio, irrespective of the proportion of the braking force generated by the friction braking device and the braking force generated by the regenerative braking device. It is thus possible to certainly avoid deterioration of the stability of the vehicle and changes in steering characteristics, which would otherwise occur when the ratio of the braking forces applied to the front and rear wheels differs from the predetermined ratio”. Niwa teaches of insuring a ratio between a total braking force of the front wheels and the total braking force of the rear wheels are at a set ratio that is predetermined. The total front braking force is equal to the braking force applied by the combination of the front regenerative braking and the front friction braking while the total rear braking force is equal to the braking force applied by the combination of the rear regenerative braking and the rear friction braking. Therefore the limitation is fully disclosed. It is noted that Para 0039 was not relied upon in this portion of the rejection and therefore it does not appear to be relevant as Para 0049 alone clearly discloses of this claim limitation. Regardless, it is noted that the formula of Para 0039 discloses that the front regenerative braking force (Frgfa) is subtracted from the total front braking force (Fbft), which is equal to the target front friction force (Fbpft), and this is similar for the rear braking force. Therefore the sum of the front friction braking force and the front regenerative braking force is equal to the total braking force, as outlined in the claim. This is additionally disclosed in Para 0032. It is also noted that in Para 0052 that “the friction braking forces applied to the front wheels and rear wheels can be controlled with improved accuracy so that the braking force of the vehicle as a whole precisely corresponds to the braking requirement made by the driver, as compared with the case where the target front-wheel friction braking force Fbpft and target rear-wheel friction braking force Fbprt are calculated by subtracting the target regenerative braking forces Frgft, Frgrt from the target braking forces Fbft, Fbrt, respectively.” Therefore it is additionally disclosed that the front wheel required braking force being a target value equal to a sum of a front wheel target regenerative braking force and a front wheel target friction braking force, and the rear wheel required braking force being a target value equal to a sum of a rear wheel target regenerative braking force and a rear wheel target friction braking force. Therefore the claim limitation is fully disclosed),
acquires maximum values of the front and rear wheel regenerative braking forces that can be generated and are determined in operating states of front and rear wheel regenerative braking devices as maximum front and rear wheel regenerative braking force (“The braking control unit 52 then calculates target braking forces Fbft and Fbrt for the front wheels and the rear wheels, respectively, based on the final target deceleration Gt and a predetermined ratio of the braking forces distributed to the front wheels and the rear wheels, respectively. Where Frgfmax and Frgrmax represent the maximum regenerative braking forces that can be generated by the regenerative braking devices 30 and 40, respectively, the braking control unit 52 employs the smaller one of the target braking force Fbft and the maximum regenerative braking force Frgfmax as a target regenerative braking force Frgft for the front wheels, and employs the smaller one of the target braking force Fbrt and the maximum regenerative braking force Frgrmax as a target regenerative braking force Frgrt for the rear wheels. The braking control unit 52 then outputs or transmits signals indicative of the front-wheel and rear-wheel target regenerative braking forces Frgft and Frgrt to the engine control unit 28” (Para 0030)),
achieves the front wheel required braking force by only the front wheel regenerative braking force when the front wheel required braking force is equal to or less than the maximum front wheel regenerative braking force, and by the front wheel regenerative braking force and the front wheel friction braking force when the front wheel required braking force is larger than the maximum front wheel regenerative braking force (“The braking control unit 52 then calculates target braking forces Fbft and Fbrt for the front wheels and the rear wheels, respectively, based on the final target deceleration Gt and a predetermined ratio of the braking forces distributed to the front wheels and the rear wheels, respectively. Where Frgfmax and Frgrmax represent the maximum regenerative braking forces that can be generated by the regenerative braking devices 30 and 40, respectively, the braking control unit 52 employs the smaller one of the target braking force Fbft and the maximum regenerative braking force Frgfmax as a target regenerative braking force Frgft for the front wheels, and employs the smaller one of the target braking force Fbrt and the maximum regenerative braking force Frgrmax as a target regenerative braking force Frgrt for the rear wheels. The braking control unit 52 then outputs or transmits signals indicative of the front-wheel and rear-wheel target regenerative braking forces Frgft and Frgrt to the engine control unit 28” (Para 0030) and “Subsequently, the braking control unit 52 sets a target friction braking force Fbpft of the front wheels to a value obtained by subtracting the front-wheel actual regenerative braking force Frgfa from the front-wheel target braking force Fbft, and sets a target friction braking force Fbprt of the rear wheels to a value obtained by subtracting the rear-wheel actual regenerative braking force Frgra from the rear-wheel target braking force Fbrt. The braking control unit 52 then calculates target braking pressures Pbtfl and Pbtfr applied to the left and right front wheels, based on the front-wheel target friction braking force Fbpft, and calculates target braking pressures Pbtrl and Pbtrr applied to the left and right rear wheels, based on the rear-wheel target friction braking force Fbprt. The braking control unit 52 then controls the braking pressure of each wheel so that the braking pressures Pi (i=fl, fr, rl, rr) of left and right front wheels and left and right rear wheels become equal to the target braking pressures Pbti (i=fl, fr, rl, rr) of the corresponding wheels.” (Para 0032), and “The controller initially causes the first and second regenerative braking devices to generate regenerative braking forces at the front wheels and the rear wheels, and then, if necessary, causes the friction braking device to generate a friction braking force at each of the front wheels and rear wheels, so that a total braking force applied to the front wheels and a total braking force applied to the rear wheels are controlled to the first target braking force and the second target braking force, respectively.” (Para 0010), see also Para 0031 and 0038-0040),
achieves the rear wheel required braking force by only the rear wheel regenerative braking force when the rear wheel required braking force is equal to or less than the maximum rear wheel regenerative braking force, and by the rear wheel regenerative braking force and the rear wheel friction braking force when the rear wheel required braking force is larger than the maximum rear wheel regenerative braking force (“The braking control unit 52 then calculates target braking forces Fbft and Fbrt for the front wheels and the rear wheels, respectively, based on the final target deceleration Gt and a predetermined ratio of the braking forces distributed to the front wheels and the rear wheels, respectively. Where Frgfmax and Frgrmax represent the maximum regenerative braking forces that can be generated by the regenerative braking devices 30 and 40, respectively, the braking control unit 52 employs the smaller one of the target braking force Fbft and the maximum regenerative braking force Frgfmax as a target regenerative braking force Frgft for the front wheels, and employs the smaller one of the target braking force Fbrt and the maximum regenerative braking force Frgrmax as a target regenerative braking force Frgrt for the rear wheels. The braking control unit 52 then outputs or transmits signals indicative of the front-wheel and rear-wheel target regenerative braking forces Frgft and Frgrt to the engine control unit 28” (Para 0030) and “Subsequently, the braking control unit 52 sets a target friction braking force Fbpft of the front wheels to a value obtained by subtracting the front-wheel actual regenerative braking force Frgfa from the front-wheel target braking force Fbft, and sets a target friction braking force Fbprt of the rear wheels to a value obtained by subtracting the rear-wheel actual regenerative braking force Frgra from the rear-wheel target braking force Fbrt. The braking control unit 52 then calculates target braking pressures Pbtfl and Pbtfr applied to the left and right front wheels, based on the front-wheel target friction braking force Fbpft, and calculates target braking pressures Pbtrl and Pbtrr applied to the left and right rear wheels, based on the rear-wheel target friction braking force Fbprt. The braking control unit 52 then controls the braking pressure of each wheel so that the braking pressures Pi (i=fl, fr, rl, rr) of left and right front wheels and left and right rear wheels become equal to the target braking pressures Pbti (i=fl, fr, rl, rr) of the corresponding wheels.” (Para 0032), and “The controller initially causes the first and second regenerative braking devices to generate regenerative braking forces at the front wheels and the rear wheels, and then, if necessary, causes the friction braking device to generate a friction braking force at each of the front wheels and rear wheels, so that a total braking force applied to the front wheels and a total braking force applied to the rear wheels are controlled to the first target braking force and the second target braking force, respectively.” (Para 0010), see also Para 0031 and 0038-0040).
In regards to claim 2, Niwa discloses of the braking control device according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to calculate front and rear wheel target fluid pressures based on the front and rear wheel target friction braking forces, and adjust front and rear wheel brake fluid pressures based on the front and rear wheel target fluid pressures (“Subsequently, the braking control unit 52 sets a target friction braking force Fbpft of the front wheels to a value obtained by subtracting the front-wheel actual regenerative braking force Frgfa from the front-wheel target braking force Fbft, and sets a target friction braking force Fbprt of the rear wheels to a value obtained by subtracting the rear-wheel actual regenerative braking force Frgra from the rear-wheel target braking force Fbrt. The braking control unit 52 then calculates target braking pressures Pbtfl and Pbtfr applied to the left and right front wheels, based on the front-wheel target friction braking force Fbpft, and calculates target braking pressures Pbtrl and Pbtrr applied to the left and right rear wheels, based on the rear-wheel target friction braking force Fbprt. The braking control unit 52 then controls the braking pressure of each wheel so that the braking pressures Pi (i=fl, fr, rl, rr) of left and right front wheels and left and right rear wheels become equal to the target braking pressures Pbti (i=fl, fr, rl, rr) of the corresponding wheels.” (Para 0032) and “A hydraulic circuit 46 of a friction braking device 44 is operable to control braking pressures applied to wheel cylinders 48FL, 48FR, 48RL and 48RR corresponding to the left and right front wheels 26FL, 26FR and left and right rear wheels 34RL, 34RR so as to control friction braking forces of the respective wheels 26FL, 26FR, 34RL, 34RR. Although not shown in the drawings, the hydraulic circuit 46 includes a reservoir, an oil pump, and various valve devices. The friction braking device 44 including the hydraulic circuit 46 is controlled by a braking control unit 52. During normal operations, the braking pressures applied to the respective wheel cylinders are controlled by the braking control unit 52, depending upon the pressure of a master cylinder 50 that is driven in accordance with the amount or degree of depression of the brake pedal 32 by the driver.” (Para 0026)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYLE J KINGSLAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3663