DETAILED ACTION
2. Applicant’s amendments, filed on 12/16/2025 regarding rejection of claims 12, 14, 16- 18, 20-22, 24, 26-28, 30-31 has been considered and entered. Claims 1-11, 13, 15, 19, 23, 25,29 are cancelled.
3. Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/16/2025 with respect to claims 12, 14, 16- 18, 20-22, 24, 26-28, 30-31 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to new combinations of references including new prior arts being used in the current rejection. The new grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Claim Objections
4. The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Claim 19 is cancelled. But claim 20 still shown as dependent from claim 19. Claim 20 should be dependent from independent claim 18.
Similarly, claim 29 is cancelled. But claim 30 still shown as dependent from claim 29. Claim 30 should be dependent from independent claim 28.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 22, 18, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao et al. (US 20220353643 A1) hereinafter Bao and further in view of Kadiri et al. (US 20230345509 A1)hereinafter Kadiri
As to claim 12 A method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: ([0035][0038] Fig. 2, terminal receives )
obtaining multicast broadcast service (MBS) configuration information; ;([0036] , carry the L2 configuration parameter of the first MBS. ;the first information is used to determine an L2 configuration parameter of a first MBS).
configuring a layer 2 based on the MBS configuration information, ([0042] [0043] after determining the L2 configuration parameter of the first MBS, the terminal establishes, according to the determined L2 configuration parameter of the first MBS, the bearer corresponding to the first MBS/identify, and perform service processing on the first MBS by using the bearer corresponding to the first MBS)
configuring the layer 2 includes establishing at least one of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer a media access control (MAC) or a radio link control (RLC) layer based on the broadcast MRB configuration information.([0229] [0232][0236] when configuration information corresponding to a service explicitly carries a part of an L2 configuration parameter, UE establishes a corresponding MRB for the service according to (the carried part of L2 configuration parameter and a default value of the remaining L2 parameter; configured ;layer 2 parameter includes PDCP entity).
Bao does not teach wherein the MBS configuration is associated with modifying a configuration of an MBS radio bearer, wherein in case the MBS configuration information is broadcast MRB configuration information obtained via a multicast control channel (MCCH) in an idle mode or an inactive mode
Kadiri teaches wherein the MBS configuration is associated with modifying a configuration of an MBS radio bearer (MRB). ([0118][0119] [0132]Fig. 1, the base station 105-a transmit the multicast session configuration to the UEs 115, including a multicast-broadcast (MBS) session ID, network may use access stratum (AS) signaling to notify configuration changes for a multicast-broadcast radio bearer (MRB)
and
wherein in case the MBS configuration information is broadcast MRB configuration information obtained via a multicast control channel (MCCH) in an idle mode or an inactive mode.([0118][0119] Fig. 1, multicast session configuration to the UEs 115, which may include a number of parameters including a multicast-broadcast (MBS) session ID, and other multicast configuration information, the UEs 115 may support multicast communications in an idle or inactive state, the UEs 115 may receive an updated MRB configuration in an MCCH)Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Kadiri with the teachings of Bao because Kadiri teaches that carrying multicast-broadcast service configuration in MCCH would effectively improve reliability and quality of service of the multicast-broadcast services and reduce system overhead by supporting multicast transmissions to multiple network devices at once.(Kadiri [0153])
Claim 22 are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 12.
As to claim 18 Bao teaches a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising([0046] Fig. 1, base station )
transmitting. to a terminal multicast broadcast service (MBS) configuration information.([0046] Fig. 1, he terminal receive first information, the L2 configuration parameter of the bearer corresponding to the first MBS)
, wherein a layer 2 is configured based on the MBS configuration information , ([0042] [0043] after determining the L2 configuration parameter of the first MBS, the terminal establishes, according to the determined L2 configuration parameter of the first MBS, the bearer corresponding to the first MBS/identify, and perform service processing on the first MBS by using the bearer corresponding to the first MBS)
. at least one of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) laver. a media access control (MAC). or a radio link control (RLC) laver is established based on the broadcast MRB configuration information.([0229] [0232][0236] when configuration information corresponding to a service explicitly carries a part of an L2 configuration parameter, UE establishes a corresponding MRB for the service according to (the carried part of L2 configuration parameter and a default value of the remaining L2 parameter; configured ;layer 2 parameter includes PDCP entity).
Bao does not teach wherein the MBS configuration is associated with modifying a configuration of an MBS radio bearer (MRB); and wherein the MBS configuration information is broadcast MRB configuration information transmitted via a multicast control channel (MCCH) to the terminal in an idle mode or an inactive mode
Kadiri teaches wherein the MBS configuration is associated with modifying a configuration of an MBS radio bearer (MRB); ([0118][0119] [0132]Fig. 1, the base station 105-a transmit the multicast session configuration to the UEs 115, including a multicast-broadcast (MBS) session ID, network may use access stratum (AS) signaling to notify configuration changes for a multicast-broadcast radio bearer (MRB)and
and wherein the MBS configuration information is broadcast MRB configuration information transmitted via a multicast control channel (MCCH) to the terminal in an idle mode or an inactive mode([0118][0119] Fig. 1, multicast session configuration to the UEs 115, which may include a number of parameters including a multicast-broadcast (MBS) session ID, and other multicast configuration information, the UEs 115 may support multicast communications in an idle or inactive state, the UEs 115 may receive an updated MRB configuration in an MCCH)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Kadiri with the teachings of Bao because Kadiri teaches that carrying multicast-broadcast service configuration in MCCH would effectively improve reliability and quality of service of the multicast-broadcast services and reduce system overhead by supporting multicast transmissions to multiple network devices at once.(Kadiri [0153])
Claim 28 are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 18.
Claim(s) 14, 20, 24, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao, Kadiri and further in view of Latheef et al. (US 20230300938 A1)hereinafter Latheef
As to claim 14. The combination of Bao, Kadiri specifically Bao teaches wherein the broadcast MRB configuration information ([0045][0046] a L2 configuration parameter of the bearer corresponding to the first MBS).
The combination of Bao, Kadiri does not teach includes information on a list of neighboring cells associated with ongoing MBS sessions.
Latheef teaches includes information on a list of neighboring cells associated with ongoing MBS sessions. ([0064][0067] source cell/BS 202 informs the UE 204 with the list of neighbor cells on which the transmission of the active MBS service is synchronized with that of the serving cell in the MBS control information and/or the bearer setup and/or the RRC release message.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Latheef with the teachings of Bao, Kadiri because Latheef teaches that transitioning from the first RRC state to the second RRC state, the processing circuitry enables the UE to continue the reception of the one or more ongoing MBS services using the MBS bearer established with the BS.(Latheef [0102])
Claim 24 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 14.
As to claim 20. The combination of Bao and Kadiri specifically Bao teaches wherein the broadcast MRB configuration information includes information([0045][0046] a L2 configuration parameter of the bearer corresponding to the first MBS).
The combination of Bao and Kadiri does not teach on a list of neighboring cells associated with ongoing MBS sessions,
Latheef teaches on a list of neighboring cells associated with ongoing MBS sessions, ([0064][0067] source cell/BS 202 informs the UE 204 with the list of neighbor cells on which the transmission of the active MBS service is synchronized with that of the serving cell in the MBS control information and/or the bearer setup and/or the RRC release message.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Latheef with the teachings of Bao and Kadiri because Latheef teaches that transitioning from the first RRC state to the second RRC state, the processing circuitry enables the UE to continue the reception of the one or more ongoing MBS services using the MBS bearer established with the BS.(Latheef [0102])
Claim 30 are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 20
Claim(s) 16, 17, 21, 26, 27, 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao, Kadiri and further in view of Hong et al. (US 20220338291 A1)hereinafter Hong
As to claim 16. The combination of Bao and Kadiri specifically Bao teaches in case that the MBS configuration information is configuration information ([0140] the MAC entity of the bearer and that is indicated by the first L2 configuration parameter includes all parameters of the MAC entity, the MAC entity of the bearer corresponding to the first MBS may be established by using the parameter that is of the MAC entity of the bearer)
associated with a multicast MRB obtained via a radio resource control (RRC) message, ([0249] UE-specific RRC signaling is scheduled by using, a PDCCH scrambled by a UE-specific connected C-RNTI; UE receives service configuration, and establishes an MRB with a protocol stack architecture of a corresponding SDAP entity)
the combination of Bao and Kadiri does not teach configuring layer 2 includes re-establishing a PDCP layer, based on the configuration information associated with the multicast MRB.
Hong teaches configuring layer 2 includes re-establishing a PDCP layer, based on the configuration information associated with the multicast MRB. ([0281] the UE may reestablish the PDCP entity included in the DRB of the unicast transmission scheme into the PDCP entity for the NR-MRB. In addition, the indication information (reestablishPDCP) for reestablishing the PDCP entity may be included in the RRC message and received by the UE.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Hong with the teachings of Bao, Kadiri because Hong teaches that reestablishing PDCP entity would allow to recover the PDCP entity that recovers data. (Hong [0283])
Claim 26 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 16.
As to claim 17. The combination of Bao, Kadiri does not teach wherein the configuration information associated with the multicast MRB includes an indication indicating to reestablish the PDCP layer
Hong teaches wherein the configuration information associated with the multicast MRB includes an indication indicating to reestablish the PDCP layer. ([0271][0272] reestablish PDCP layer associated with multicast MRB)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Hong with the teachings of Bao Kadiri because Hong teaches that reestablishing PDCP entity would allow to recover the PDCP entity that recovers data. (Hong [0283])
Claim 27 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 17.
As to claim 21. The combination of Bao and Kadiri specifically Bao teaches wherein in case that the MBS configuration information is a configuration information ([0140] f the MAC entity of the bearer and that is indicated by the first L2 configuration parameter includes all parameters of the MAC entity, the MAC entity of the bearer corresponding to the first MBS may be established by using the parameter that is of the MAC entity of the bearer)
associated with a multicast MRB transmitted via a radio resource control (RRC) message, ([0249] UE-specific RRC signaling is scheduled by using, a PDCCH scrambled by a UE-specific connected C-RNTI; UE receives service configuration, and establishes an MRB with a protocol stack architecture of a corresponding SDAP entity)
Bao does not teach a PDCP layer is reestablished based on the configuration information associated with the multicast MRB, and wherein the configuration information associated with the multicast MRB includes an indication to reestablish the PDCP layer.
Hong teaches a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer is reestablished based on the configuration information associated with the multicast MRB, ([0281] the UE may reestablish the PDCP entity included in the DRB of the unicast transmission scheme into the PDCP entity for the NR-MRB. In addition, the indication information (reestablishPDCP) for reestablishing the PDCP entity may be included in the RRC message and received by the UE.)
and wherein the configuration information associated with the multicast MRB includes an indication to reestablish the PDCP layer. ([0281] the indication information (reestablishPDCP) for reestablishing the PDCP entity may be included in the RRC message and received by the UE.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Hong3 with the teachings of Bao and Kadiri because Hong teaches that reestablishing PDCP entity would allow to recover the PDCP entity that recovers data. (Hong [0283])
Claim 31 are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 21
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Prasad; Athul et al. [US 20160374050 A1] METHOD FOR PROVIDING MULTICAST/BROADCAST SERVICE CONTINUITY FOR MOBILE TERMINALS
Park et al. [US 20180160342 A1] Handover Procedure for a UE with V2X Services
KIM; Jae Heung [US 20220272662 A1] METHOD AND APPARATUS OF RESOURCE MANAGEMENT FOR MULTICAST AND BROADCAST SERVICE
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413