DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seung June et al. (US 20040103435 A1)hereinafter Seung and further in view of Yi et al. (US 20160044639 A1)hereinafter Yi
As to claim 32 Seung teaches A method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:( [0049], in the method of using system information, a terminal obtains setup information of a specific RB from system information broadcast by UTRAN and sets up a corresponding RB.)
Identifying whether the terminal receives multicast broadcast service (MBS) configuration information or the terminal changes an area associated with an MBS ([0042] [0043] Fig. 6, UTRAN transmits a group paging signal to terminals which desire to receive the specific MBMS service (step S1) and a terminal, which has received the group paging signal, desires to receive the MBMS service/receives MBMS configuration)
and
performing a layer 2 (L2) operation based on identifying that the terminal receives the MBS configuration information or the terminal changes the area associated with the MBS, ([0191][0194][0195]Fig. 7, Fig. 8, when a terminal is moved into a new cell, new terminal(in a new cell) receives an MSB transmitted through the MCCH to obtain an MSIB for the MBMS service desired to be received by a user, and sets up an MBMS RB therein (steps S34-S36); terminal receives the MBMS data from the MBMS RB (MTCH or DTCH) after an activation time included in the MBMS RB setup information of the MSIB (step S37) and transmits it to the upper layer of the user plane of the lower layer./perform L2 operation,)
wherein performing the L2 operation comprises: ([0191][0194][0195]Fig. 7, Fig. 8, terminal receives the MBMS data from the MBMS RB (MTCH or DTCH) after an activation time included in the MBMS RB setup information of the MSIB (step S37) and transmits it to the upper layer of the user plane of the lower layer./perform L2 operation,)
in the MBS configuration information via a multicast control channel (MCCH)([0205] UTRAN RRC transmits the point-to-point MBMS RB setup information to every RRC of terminals belonging to the specific terminal group through the MCCH (step S43). At this time, the point-to-point MBMS RB setup information is inserted in an RRC RB setup message and transmitted to each terminal; he terminal RRC reconstructs the MBMS RB from the point-to-multipoint to the point-to-point on the basis of the received point-to-point MBMS RB setup information/re-establish)
Seung does not teach re-establishing a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer upon the terminal receiving a change of robust header compression (ROHC) configuration; ,re-establishing a radio link control (RLC) layer upon the terminal changing to a different service area (SA), and resetting a media access control (MAC) layer upon the terminal changing a serving frequency.
Yi teaches re-establishing a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer upon the terminal receiving a change of robust header compression (ROHC) configuration ([0187][0189] the UE may the UE may start synchronizing to the DL of the target PCell, reset MAC, re-establish PDCP for all RBs that are established, re-establish RLC for all RBs that are established, configure lower layers to consider the SCell(s), if configured, to be in deactivated state, apply the value of the newUE-Identity as the C-RNTI; the header compression can also be changed at MeNB handover)
,re-establishing a radio link control (RLC) layer upon the terminal changing to a different service area (SA), ([0186] [087] UE may start synchronizing to the DL of the target Pcell/after handover, reset MAC, re-establish PDCP for all RBs that are established, re-establish RLC for all RBs that are established, configure lower layers to consider the SCell(s), if configured, to be in deactivated state, apply the value of the newUE-Identity as the C-RNTI. )
and
resetting a media access control (MAC) layer upon the terminal changing a serving frequency. ([0186] [087] UE may start synchronizing to the DL of the target Pcell/after handover, reset MAC, re-establish PDCP for all RBs that are established, re-establish RLC for all RBs that are established, configure lower layers to consider the SCell(s), if configured, to be in deactivated state, apply the value of the newUE-Identity as the C-RNTI; the UE may consider the target PCell to be one on the frequency indicated by the carrierFreq with a physical cell identity indicated by the targetPhysCellId, if the carrierFreq is included )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Yi with the teaching of Seung because Yi teaches that performing a header compression function to reduce unnecessary control information would allow for efficient transmission of an Internet protocol (IP) packet such as an IP version 4 (IPv4) packet or an IP version 6 (IPv6) packet in a radio interface having a relatively small bandwidth. (Yi [0054])
As to claim 33. The combination of Seung and Yi specifically Yi teaches , wherein performing the L2 operation further comprises re-establishing the PDCP layer in case that the terminal receives an indication indicating to re- establish the PDCP layer. ([0108] When upper layers request a PDCP re-establishment, the UE may reset the header compression protocol for uplink)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Yi with the teaching of Seung because Yi teaches that performing a header compression function to reduce unnecessary control information would allow for efficient transmission of an Internet protocol (IP) packet such as an IP version 4 (IPv4) packet or an IP version 6 (IPv6) packet in a radio interface having a relatively small bandwidth. (Yi [0054])
As to claim 34. Seung teaches transmitting, to a terminal, multicast broadcast service (MBS) configuration information, ([0042] [0043] Fig. 6, UTRAN transmits a group paging signal to terminals which desire to receive the specific MBMS service (step S1) and a terminal, which has received the group paging signal, desires to receive the MBMS service/receives MBMS configuration)
wherein a layer 2 (L2) operation of the terminal is performed in case that the base station transmits the MBS configuration information or the terminal changes an area associated with an MBS([0191][0194][0195]Fig. 7, Fig. 8, when a terminal is moved into a new cell, new terminal(in a new cell) receives an MSB transmitted through the MCCH to obtain an MSIB for the MBMS service desired to be received by a user, and sets up an MBMS RB therein (steps S34-S36); terminal receives the MBMS data from the MBMS RB (MTCH or DTCH) after an activation time included in the MBMS RB setup information of the MSIB (step S37) and transmits it to the upper layer of the user plane of the lower layer./perform L2 operation,)
and wherein the L2 operation of the terminal comprises: ([0191][0194][0195]Fig. 7, Fig. 8, terminal receives the MBMS data from the MBMS RB (MTCH or DTCH) after an activation time included in the MBMS RB setup information of the MSIB (step S37) and transmits it to the upper layer of the user plane of the lower layer./perform L2 operation,)
in the MBS configuration information via a multicast control channel (MCCH), ([0205] UTRAN RRC transmits the point-to-point MBMS RB setup information to every RRC of terminals belonging to the specific terminal group through the MCCH (step S43). At this time, the point-to-point MBMS RB setup information is inserted in an RRC RB setup message and transmitted to each terminal; he terminal RRC reconstructs the MBMS RB from the point-to-multipoint to the point-to-point on the basis of the received point-to-point MBMS RB setup information/re-establish)
Seung does not teach Yi teaches A method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising; re-establishment of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer upon the terminal receiving a change of robust header compression (ROHC) configuration
re-establishment of a radio link control (RLC) layer upon the terminal changing to a different service area (SA), and reset of a media access control (MAC) layer upon the terminal changing a serving frequency.
Yi teaches Yi teaches A method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: (0063] Fig. 5, a method by base station)
re-establishing a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer upon the terminal receiving a change of robust header compression (ROHC) configuration ([0187][0189] the UE may the UE may start synchronizing to the DL of the target PCell, reset MAC, re-establish PDCP for all RBs that are established, re-establish RLC for all RBs that are established, configure lower layers to consider the SCell(s), if configured, to be in deactivated state, apply the value of the newUE-Identity as the C-RNTI; the header compression can also be changed at MeNB handover)
,re-establishment a radio link control (RLC) layer upon the terminal changing to a different service area (SA), ([0186] [087] UE may start synchronizing to the DL of the target Pcell/after handover, reset MAC, re-establish PDCP for all RBs that are established, re-establish RLC for all RBs that are established, configure lower layers to consider the SCell(s), if configured, to be in deactivated state, apply the value of the newUE-Identity as the C-RNTI. )
and reset of a media access control (MAC) layer upon the terminal changing a serving frequency. ([0186] [087] UE may start synchronizing to the DL of the target Pcell/after handover, reset MAC, re-establish PDCP for all RBs that are established, re-establish RLC for all RBs that are established, configure lower layers to consider the SCell(s), if configured, to be in deactivated state, apply the value of the newUE-Identity as the C-RNTI; the UE may consider the target PCell to be one on the frequency indicated by the carrierFreq with a physical cell identity indicated by the targetPhysCellId, if the carrierFreq is included )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Yi with the teaching of Seung because Yi teaches that performing a header compression function to reduce unnecessary control information would allow for efficient transmission of an Internet protocol (IP) packet such as an IP version 4 (IPv4) packet or an IP version 6 (IPv6) packet in a radio interface having a relatively small bandwidth. (Yi [0054])
As to claim 35 The combination of Seung and Yi specifically Yi teaches wherein the L2 operation of the terminal further comprises re-establishment of the PDCP layer in case that the terminal receives an indication indicating to re-establish the PDCP layer. ([0108] When upper layers request a PDCP re-establishment, the UE may reset the header compression protocol for uplink)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Yi with the teaching of Seung because Yi teaches that performing a header compression function to reduce unnecessary control information would allow for efficient transmission of an Internet protocol (IP) packet such as an IP version 4 (IPv4) packet or an IP version 6 (IPv6) packet in a radio interface having a relatively small bandwidth. (Yi [0054])
As to claim 36. Seung teaches identify whether the terminal receives multicast broadcast service (MBS) configuration information or the terminal changes an area associated with an MBS, ([0042][0043] Fig. 6, UTRAN transmits a group paging signal to terminals which desire to receive the specific MBMS service (step S1) and a terminal, which has received the group paging signal, desires to receive the MBMS service/receives MBMS configuration)
and perform a layer 2 (L2) operation based on identifying that the terminal receives the MBS configuration information or the terminal changes the area associated with the MBS, ([0191][0194][0195]Fig. 7, Fig. 8, when a terminal is moved into a new cell, new terminal(in a new cell) receives an MSB transmitted through the MCCH to obtain an MSIB for the MBMS service desired to be received by a user, and sets up an MBMS RB therein (steps S34-S36); terminal receives the MBMS data from the MBMS RB (MTCH or DTCH) after an activation time included in the MBMS RB setup information of the MSIB (step S37) and transmits it to the upper layer of the user plane of the lower layer./perform L2 operation,)
wherein the L2 operation comprises: : ([0191][0194][0195]Fig. 7, Fig. 8, terminal receives the MBMS data from the MBMS RB (MTCH or DTCH) after an activation time included in the MBMS RB setup information of the MSIB (step S37) and transmits it to the upper layer of the user plane of the lower layer./perform L2 operation,)
in the MBS configuration information via a multicast control channel (MCCH), ([0205] UTRAN RRC transmits the point-to-point MBMS RB setup information to every RRC of terminals belonging to the specific terminal group through the MCCH (step S43). At this time, the point-to-point MBMS RB setup information is inserted in an RRC RB setup message and transmitted to each terminal; he terminal RRC reconstructs the MBMS RB from the point-to-multipoint to the point-to-point on the basis of the received point-to-point MBMS RB setup information/re-establish)
Seung does not teach A terminal in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver, and configured to; re-establishment of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer upon the terminal receiving a change of robust header compression (ROHC) configuration, re-establishment of a radio link control (RLC) layer upon the terminal changing to a different service area (SA), and reset of a media access control (MAC) layer upon the terminal changing a serving frequency,
Yi teaches A terminal in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver, and configured to ([0063] Fig. 5, terminal includes a transceiver, DSP coupled to transceiver configured to)
re-establishment of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer upon the terminal receiving a change of robust header compression (ROHC) configuration ([0187][0189] the UE may the UE may start synchronizing to the DL of the target PCell, reset MAC, re-establish PDCP for all RBs that are established, re-establish RLC for all RBs that are established, configure lower layers to consider the SCell(s), if configured, to be in deactivated state, apply the value of the newUE-Identity as the C-RNTI; the header compression can also be changed at MeNB handover)
,re-establishment of a radio link control (RLC) layer upon the terminal changing to a different service area (SA), ([0186] [087] UE may start synchronizing to the DL of the target Pcell/after handover, reset MAC, re-establish PDCP for all RBs that are established, re-establish RLC for all RBs that are established, configure lower layers to consider the SCell(s), if configured, to be in deactivated state, apply the value of the newUE-Identity as the C-RNTI. )
and
reset of a media access control (MAC) layer upon the terminal changing a serving frequency. ([0186] [087] UE may start synchronizing to the DL of the target Pcell/after handover, reset MAC, re-establish PDCP for all RBs that are established, re-establish RLC for all RBs that are established, configure lower layers to consider the SCell(s), if configured, to be in deactivated state, apply the value of the newUE-Identity as the C-RNTI; the UE may consider the target PCell to be one on the frequency indicated by the carrierFreq with a physical cell identity indicated by the targetPhysCellId, if the carrierFreq is included )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Yi with the teaching of Seung because Yi teaches that performing a header compression function to reduce unnecessary control information would allow for efficient transmission of an Internet protocol (IP) packet such as an IP version 4 (IPv4) packet or an IP version 6 (IPv6) packet in a radio interface having a relatively small bandwidth. (Yi [0054])
As to claim 37. The combination of Seung and Yi specifically Yi teaches, wherein the controller is further configured to re- establish the PDCP layer in case that the terminal receives an indication indicating to re-establish the PDCP layer. ([0108] When upper layers request a PDCP re-establishment, the UE may reset the header compression protocol for uplink)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Yi with the teaching of Seung because Yi teaches that performing a header compression function to reduce unnecessary control information would allow for efficient transmission of an Internet protocol (IP) packet such as an IP version 4 (IPv4) packet or an IP version 6 (IPv6) packet in a radio interface having a relatively small bandwidth. (Yi [0054])
As to claim 38. Seung teaches transmit, to a terminal, multicast broadcast service (MBS) configuration information, ([0042][0043] Fig. 6, UTRAN transmits a group paging signal to terminals which desire to receive the specific MBMS service (step S1) and a terminal, which has received the group paging signal, desires to receive the MBMS service/receives MBMS configuration)
wherein a layer 2 (L2) operation of the terminal is performed in case that the base station transmits the MBS configuration information or the terminal changes an area associated with an MBS([0191][0194][0195]Fig. 7, Fig. 8, when a terminal is moved into a new cell,, new terminal(in a new cell) receives an MSB transmitted through the MCCH to obtain an MSIB for the MBMS service desired to be received by a user, and sets up an MBMS RB therein (steps S34-S36); terminal receives the MBMS data from the MBMS RB (MTCH or DTCH) after an activation time included in the MBMS RB setup information of the MSIB (step S37) and transmits it to the upper layer of the user plane of the lower layer./perform L2 operation,)
and wherein the L2 operation of the terminal comprises: ([0191][0194][0195]Fig. 7, Fig. 8, terminal receives the MBMS data from the MBMS RB (MTCH or DTCH) after an activation time included in the MBMS RB setup information of the MSIB (step S37) and transmits it to the upper layer of the user plane of the lower layer./perform L2 operation,)
in the MBS configuration information via a multicast control channel (MCCH), ([0205] UTRAN RRC transmits the point-to-point MBMS RB setup information to every RRC of terminals belonging to the specific terminal group through the MCCH (step S43). At this time, the point-to-point MBMS RB setup information is inserted in an RRC RB setup message and transmitted to each terminal; he terminal RRC reconstructs the MBMS RB from the point-to-multipoint to the point-to-point on the basis of the received point-to-point MBMS RB setup information/re-establish)
Seung does not teach A base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver, and configured to: re-establishment of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer upon the terminal receiving a change of robust header compression (ROHC) configuration re-establishment of a radio link control (RLC) layer upon the terminal changing to a different service area (SA), and reset of a media access control (MAC) layer upon the terminal changing a serving frequency.
Yi teaches A base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver, and configured to ([0063] Fig. 5 base station includes a transceiver, DSP coupled to transceiver configured to)
re-establishment of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer upon the terminal receiving a change of robust header compression (ROHC) configuration([0187][0189] the UE may the UE may start synchronizing to the DL of the target PCell, reset MAC, re-establish PDCP for all RBs that are established, re-establish RLC for all RBs that are established, configure lower layers to consider the SCell(s), if configured, to be in deactivated state, apply the value of the newUE-Identity as the C-RNTI; the header compression can also be changed at MeNB handover)
re-establishment of a radio link control (RLC) layer upon the terminal changing to a different service area (SA), ([0186] [087] UE may start synchronizing to the DL of the target Pcell/after handover, reset MAC, re-establish PDCP for all RBs that are established, re-establish RLC for all RBs that are established, configure lower layers to consider the SCell(s), if configured, to be in deactivated state, apply the value of the newUE-Identity as the C-RNTI. )and
reset of a media access control (MAC) layer upon the terminal changing a serving frequency. ([0186] [087] UE may start synchronizing to the DL of the target Pcell/after handover, reset MAC, re-establish PDCP for all RBs that are established, re-establish RLC for all RBs that are established, configure lower layers to consider the SCell(s), if configured, to be in deactivated state, apply the value of the newUE-Identity as the C-RNTI; the UE may consider the target PCell to be one on the frequency indicated by the carrierFreq with a physical cell identity indicated by the targetPhysCellId, if the carrierFreq is included )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Yi with the teaching of Seung because Yi teaches that performing a header compression function to reduce unnecessary control information would allow for efficient transmission of an Internet protocol (IP) packet such as an IP version 4 (IPv4) packet or an IP version 6 (IPv6) packet in a radio interface having a relatively small bandwidth. (Yi [0054])
As to claim 39. The combination of Seung and Yi specifically Yi teaches operation of the terminal further comprises re-establishment of the PDCP layer in case that the terminal receives an indication indicating to re-establish the PDCP layer. ([0108] When upper layers request a PDCP re-establishment, the UE may reset the header compression protocol for uplink)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Yi with the teaching of Seung because Yi teaches that performing a header compression function to reduce unnecessary control information would allow for efficient transmission of an Internet protocol (IP) packet such as an IP version 4 (IPv4) packet or an IP version 6 (IPv6) packet in a radio interface having a relatively small bandwidth. (Yi [0054])
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LEE; Gyeongcheol et al. [US 20190053326 A1] METHOD AND DEVICE FOR TRANSMITTING DATA UNIT
Ho; Sai Yiu et al. [US 20090040982 A1] Handover In A Wireless Data Packet Communication System That Avoid User Data Loss
Shaheen; Kamel M. [US 20180124767 A1] METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR ASYMMETRICAL UP-LINK/DOWN-LINK PROTOCOL STACK AND FRAME STRUCTURE IN A 5G NR COMMUNICATION SYSTEM
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413