DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/18/2023 and 10/20/2023 has/have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it has phrases “In one embodiment … comprising”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a system … configured to …” in claim 1, lines 1-2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-8, 11-12, 15, 17-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lahivaara et al (arXiv:2009.05297v1 2020), hereinafter Lahivaara.
-Regarding claim 1, Lahivaara discloses a system, comprising (Abstract; FIGS. 1-12): a neural network, configured to (FIG. 7): receive electromagnetic field measurement data from an object of interest as input to the neural network (FIG. 7; Page 4, Sec. 3., 1st paragraph; Page 5, 4th paragraph, “the electric field measurements are simulated at 3 GHz frequency and are measured in terms of complex-valued S-parameter data”; Page 8, Sec. 4., 1st paragraph), the neural network trained on labeled data (Abstract, “a database containing different moisture content distribution scenarios and corresponding electromagnetic wave responses are build and used to train the machine learning algorithm”; Page 2, 4th paragraph; Page 10, 1st paragraph, “trained using a dataset comprising of moisture content distribution … and corresponding S-parameters …”); and reconstruct a three-dimensional (3D) distribution image of a physical property of the object of interest from the received electromagnetic field measurement data (Abstract; FIGS. 5, 7; Page 2, 2nd paragraph, “three-dimensional (3D) microwave tomography (MWT) system is proposed … estimating the material properties of an object from the measured data of scattered electromagnetic field around the object”; equations (2)-(5); Procedure 1), the reconstruction implemented without performing a forward solve during the reconstruction (Abstract, “a neural network based approach”; Page 2, 4th paragraph, “real-time estimation … recover the moisture content in real-time”).
-Regarding claim 11, Lahivaara discloses a method, comprising (Abstract; FIGS. 1-12): a neural network, configured to (FIG. 7): receiving electromagnetic field measurement data from an object of interest as input to the neural network (FIG. 7; Page 4, Sec. 3., 1st paragraph; Page 5, 4th paragraph, “the electric field measurements are simulated at 3 GHz frequency and are measured in terms of complex-valued S-parameter data”; Page 8, Sec. 4., 1st paragraph), the neural network trained on labeled data (Abstract, “a database containing different moisture content distribution scenarios and corresponding electromagnetic wave responses are build and used to train the machine learning algorithm”; Page 2, 4th paragraph; Page 10, 1st paragraph, “trained using a dataset comprising of moisture content distribution … and corresponding S-parameters …”); and reconstructing a three-dimensional (3D) distribution image of a physical property of the object of interest from the received electromagnetic field measurement data (Abstract; FIGS. 5, 7; Page 2, 2nd paragraph, “three-dimensional (3D) microwave tomography (MWT) system is proposed … estimating the material properties of an object from the measured data of scattered electromagnetic field around the object”; equations (2)-(5); Procedure 1), the reconstruction implemented without performing a forward solve during the reconstruction (Abstract, “a neural network based approach”; Page 2, 4th paragraph, “real-time estimation … recover the moisture content in real-time”).
-Regarding claim 20, Lahivaara discloses a non-transitory, computer readable medium comprising instructions, that when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to (Abstract; FIGS. 1-12; one or more memory and processors has to be used in order to implement the method as shown in Lahivaara’s FIG. 7, equations (2)-(5) and procedure 1): a neural network, configured to (FIG. 7): receive electromagnetic field measurement data from an object of interest as input to the neural network (FIG. 7; Page 4, Sec. 3., 1st paragraph; Page 5, 4th paragraph, “the electric field measurements are simulated at 3 GHz frequency and are measured in terms of complex-valued S-parameter data”; Page 8, Sec. 4., 1st paragraph), the neural network trained on labeled data (Abstract, “a database containing different moisture content distribution scenarios and corresponding electromagnetic wave responses are build and used to train the machine learning algorithm”; Page 2, 4th paragraph; Page 10, 1st paragraph, “trained using a dataset comprising of moisture content distribution … and corresponding S-parameters …”); and reconstruct a three-dimensional (3D) distribution image of a physical property of the object of interest from the received electromagnetic field measurement data (Abstract; FIGS. 5, 7; Page 2, 2nd paragraph, “three-dimensional (3D) microwave tomography (MWT) system is proposed … estimating the material properties of an object from the measured data of scattered electromagnetic field around the object”; equations (2)-(5); Procedure 1), the reconstruction implemented without performing a forward solve during the reconstruction (Abstract, “a neural network based approach”; Page 2, 4th paragraph, “real-time estimation … recover the moisture content in real-time”).
-Regarding claim 2 and 12, Lahivaara discloses the system of claim 1 and the method of claim 11. Lahivaara further discloses wherein the object of interest comprises contents within a container (FIG. 1; Page 3, last paragraph, “ … the moisture content present in the polymer foam …”; Page 16, 5th paragraph).
-Regarding claim 5 and 15, Lahivaara discloses the system of claim 1 and the method of claim 11. Lahivaara further discloses wherein the labeled data comprises only synthetic data (Abstract; Page 2, 5th paragraph; Page 4, Sec. 3., 1st paragraph).
-Regarding claim 7 and 17, Lahivaara discloses the system of claim 1 and the method of claim 11. Lahivaara further discloses wherein the neural network is trained based on a plurality of forward solves (FIG. 2; Page 2, 4th paragraph; Page 4, Sec. 3.; Page 5, 4th paragraph; Page 16, 5th paragraph).
-Regarding claim 8 and 18, Lahivaara discloses the system of claim 1 and the method of claim 11. Lahivaara further discloses wherein the neural network comprises a two-stage convolutional decoder, wherein a first stage comprises a stack of fully connected layers configured to transform inputted scattered field data to a 3D distribution image of the physical property, wherein a second stage comprises successive deconvolutional and up-sampling layers configured to provide a reconstructed 3D volume of the physical property (FIG. 7). Note: using decoder architecture with fully connected layers and up-sampling layers are common practice for 3D reconstruction with deep neural network (see Han et al (arXiv:1906.0654 2019): Sec. 4.2.; Table 4; Kavasidis et al (MM’17 2017): Sec.3.; FIG. 5). The recited claim limitations are not inventive concepts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 6, 13-14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lahivaara et al (arXiv:2009.05297v1 2020), hereinafter Lahivaara in view of Bartley et al (IEEE Transactions on Instrumentation and Measurement, Vol 7, Issue 1, pp. 123-126, 1998), hereinafter Bartley.
-Regarding claim 3 and 13, Lahivaara discloses the system of claim 2 and the method of claim 12.
Lahivaara does not disclose wherein the contents comprises grain.
In the same field of endeavor, Bartley teaches a method to determine the moisture content of hard, red winter wheat using an artificial neural network (ANN) (Bartley: Abstract; FIGS. 1-4). Bartley further teaches wherein the contents comprises grain (Bartley: Abstract; Sec. I.) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Lahivaara with the teaching of Bartley by using neural network based approach for estimating moisture content of wheat in real-time in order to provide another real-world application.
-Regarding claim 4 and 14, Lahivaara in view of Bartley teaches the system of claim 3 and the method of claim 13. The combination further teaches wherein the neural network is configured to implement the reconstruction without reconstructing an image of a complex valued permittivity of the grain (Lahivaara: Abstract; FIGS. 5, 7-12).
-Regarding claim 6 and 16, Lahivaara discloses the system of claim 1 and the method of claim 11.
Lahivaara does not disclose wherein the labeled data comprises measured data.
In the same field of endeavor, Bartley teaches a method to determine the moisture content of hard, red winter wheat using an artificial neural network (ANN) (Bartley: Abstract; FIGS. 1-4). Bartley further teaches wherein the labeled data comprises measured data (Bartley: Abstract; Sec. II.; FIG. 1; Page 124, 2nd Col., 1st paragraph). Note: It is a common practice to train neural networks using measure data, or synthetic data (data augmentation cab be used for synthetic data generation based on measured data), or combination of the two. The recited claim limitation is not an inventive concept.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Lahivaara with the teaching of Bartley by using both measured data and synthetic data for neural network training in order to achieve better performance with limited available measured data.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/XIAO LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664