DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment filed on April 7, 2026, which has been fully considered in this action. Claims 39, 44, 49, 51-53 and 55 are amended, claims 50 and 56-58 are canceled and claims 59-62 are newly added. Claims 39-49, 51-55 and 59-62 remain in the application and an action as to the merits follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 39-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In claim 39, line 4, the claim recites “an annular recess”, however, the specification is silent to this recitation and only provides support for “a recess” and therefore, the recitation “annular recess” is considered new matter. The Specification only provides support for “recess” as disclosed on page 7, line 30 and recess 3, page 9, line 33 and recess 43, page 10, line 11 and recess 63, page 10, line 21 and recess 63, page 19, lines 6 and 7 and recess 103, and page 21, line 9 and recess 403. The Specification and drawings to not provide ant support for an “annular” recess.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 39(as best understood), 40 and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2016/0167078 A1(Hogan et al).
Hogan et al ‘078 discloses an aerosol generator core 100 comprising a body 2 having a support 3 supporting an integral membrane 1; and a vibration drive 2/10/11 adapted to be connected to an electrical voltage supply, see paragraph [0064] and electrical power connecting the piezoelectric body 2 and conducting pins 10 and 11; wherein the support and the integral membrane form an annular recess(as best understood) on a downstream side of the aerosol generator core, see marked up Fig. 4 below. See paragraphs [0061-0065] and Figs. 3-6.
As to claim 40, see piezoelectric body 2 which is configured to vibrate with application of an electrical voltage across it, see paragraphs [0062-0064].
As to claim 59, Hogan et al ‘078 discloses an aerosol generator core 100 comprising a body 2 having an annular support 3, see Fig. 5 and 6, and a membrane 1 integral with the annular support; and a vibration drive comprising the body, see paragraph [0061] and vibration generator; and at least two power conductors 10/11 for delivering power to the vibration drive, see paragraph [0064].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 41-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0167078 A1(Hogan et al) in view of US 2020/0235283 A1(Domingues Dos Santos et al).
As to claims 41-46, Hogan et al ‘078 discloses all the featured elements of the instant invention except for the body comprising a piezoelectric polymer and the piezoelectric polymer comprising a PVDF, a PVDF copolymer, and the piezoelectric polymer comprises (P(VDF-TrFE) or (P(VDF-TFE). Domingues Dos Santos et al ‘283 discloses using PVDF copolymer and polymers comprising (P(VDF-TrFE) or (P(VDF-TFE) in piezoelectric MEMS and actuators. Domingues Dos Santos et al ‘283 discloses using PVDF copolymer and polymers comprising (P(VDF-TrFE) or (P(VDF-TFE) in piezoelectric MEMS and actuators. See paragraphs [0003-0006]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the body comprise a piezoelectric polymer comprising a PVDF, a PVDF copolymer, and the piezoelectric polymer comprises (P(VDF-TrFE) or (P(VDF-TFE) in the apparatus of Hogan et al ‘078, as taught by Domingues Dos Santos et al ‘283, since a a PVDF, a PVDF copolymer, (P(VDF-TrFE) and (P(VDF-TFE) exhibit specific electroactive properties. These polymers belong to the class of ferroelectric or relaxor ferroelectric materials. After an appropriate processing in a film form, these materials exhibit a large polarization versus electric field hysteresis behavior characterized by a remnant polarization and a coercive field. Once poled, films made from PVDF or some P(VDF-TrFE) and P(VDF-TFE) copolymers may then exhibit piezoelectric properties. They will deform under an applied voltage with limited deformation (typically 0.5%) and generate a voltage when subjected to a mechanical stress or deformation and would work equally as well in the apparatus of Hogan et al ‘078.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 49, 51-55 are allowed.
Claims 60-62 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter of claims 49 and 51-55: The closest prior art being Hogan et al ‘078 did not teach or suggest an aerosol generator as claimed by the applicant, specifically aerosol generator as currently amended in independent claim 49, together in combination with the other claimed features of applicant’s invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
STEVEN J. GANEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/STEVEN J GANEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752