DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the applicant's amendment and request for continued examination (RCE) submitted on 08/12/2026. Claims 28-29, 47-48, and 56-57 have been amended. Claims 1-27, 32-33 and 35-42 have been previously canceled. Thus, claims 28-31, 34, and 43-57 are currently pending in the instant application.
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Species V, encompassed with figures 30 and 31, in the reply filed on 11/07/2025 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 07/31/2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows:
In claims 28, 56, and 57, the amended limitation “a display; a frame comprising: a first side; a second side; a third side; a fourth side, wherein the first side, the second side, the third side, and the fourth side extend around a periphery of the display; and a section of the frame between the first location and the second location” do not encompasses with figures 30 and 31 as elected in the original disclosure.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 28-31, 34 and 43-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The disclosure of the aforementioned prior-filed application fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112 for one or more claims of this application: claims 28-31, 34 and 43-57.
Specifically, claims 28 and 56-57 include limitations that are not disclosed, described in the specifications and/or drawing of the original disclosure. Some exemplary limitations from these claims are herein recited for further reviews:
“wherein the first location and the second location are configured on the first side of the frame, and wherein the antenna structure is disposed at a middle location of the first side of the frame” as recited in claim 28, and
“a frame having a first side with a first location and a second location disposed thereon; and an antenna structure disposed at a middle location of the first side of the frame” as recited in claim 56, and
“a frame comprising a first side, wherein the first side comprises a first location, a second location; and an antenna structure positioned at a middle location of the first side” as recited in claim 57.
Claims 28-31, 34 and 43-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 28, the limitation recites “wherein the first location and the second location are configured on the first side of the frame, and wherein the antenna structure is disposed at a middle location of the first side of the frame” is unclear and leaves the reader in doubt as to the meaning of the technical feature to which it refers. It is unclear that where is a first of the frame? It looks like the first location is configured on one side of the frame and the second location is configured on another side of the frame.
Regarding claim 56, the limitation recites “a frame having a first side with a first location and a second location disposed thereon; and an antenna structure disposed at a middle location of the first side of the frame” is unclear and leaves the reader in doubt as to the meaning of the technical feature to which it refers. It is unclear that where is a first of the frame? It looks like a frame having one side with a first location and another side with a second location disposed thereon, and an antenna structure positioned at a middle location of both sides of the frame.
Regarding claim 57, the limitation recites “a frame comprising a first side, wherein the first side comprises a first location, a second location; and an antenna structure positioned at a middle location of the first side” is unclear and leaves the reader in doubt as to the meaning of the technical feature to which it refers. It is unclear that where is a first? It looks like a frame having one side with a first location and another side with a second location disposed thereon, and an antenna structure positioned at a middle location of both sides of the frame.
The claims fail to recite sufficiently definite structure, material or acts for achieving the functional result recited in the claim to reasonably apprise one of ordinary skill in the art of the scope of the claim. It is not clearly explained in the specification as same reasons as stated above; therefore, it renders the claims indefinite.
Claims 29-31, 34 and 43-55 are depending on claim 28, and are rejected the same reasons under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Note: for compact prosecution purposes, the examiner interprets the claims above as best understood in the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28, 30, 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S Publication No. 20210151861 A1).
Regarding claim 28, Chen discloses an electronic device (which is an antenna structure and wireless communication device, see fig. 1-23) comprising:
a ground (which is a ground plane 110, see fig. 1-3-5, 7, 10 and 11A-11C);
a feed unit (which is a feeding source 212, see fig. 7, 10 and 11A-11C);
an antenna structure (which is an antenna structure 100) comprising:
a radiator (which is a first radiation portion 13) comprising a first feed point (via a feeding portion 12 electrically connected feeding source 212) that is disposed on the radiator (13) and that is electrically coupled to the feed unit (which is a feeding source 212), (see fig. 7, 10 and 11A-11C, paragraph [0049]); and
a first capacitive component (which is a connection capacitor 24, see fig. 7, 10 and 11C);
a frame (which is a metallic side frame 111 having a first side portion 116 and a second side portion 117) comprising: a first location; and a second location (see fig. 1-2); a section between the first location and the second location forming the radiator (see fig. 1-2, 7, 10 and 11A-11C); and
a first slot (which is a slot 118 having a first gap 119, a second gap 120, and a third gap 121, see paragraph [0044]) provided on the radiator and located between the first feed point and the first location (see fig. 7, 10 and 11A-11C);
wherein the first location and the second location are configured on a first side of the frame (see fig. 1-2, 7, 10 and 11A-11C), and wherein the antenna structure is disposed at a middle location of the first side of the frame (see fig. 1-2, 7, 10 and 11A-11C).
Chen silently discloses wherein the first capacitive component is coupled to the radiator in series at the first slot.
However, Chen discloses the antenna structures 100, 300, 400, 500 are further provided with the connection capacitor 24 corresponding to the first gap 119, to connect the first radiation portion 13 and the second radiation 14. The connection capacitor bridges the first gap, connecting the first radiation portion and the second radiation portion (see fig. 7, 10 and 11C, abstract, paragraph [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the first capacitive component as taught by Chen is coupled to the radiator in series at the first slot in order to utilize the connection capacitor at the first gap so that current can pass from the first radiation portion to the second radiation portion through the connection capacitor (see paragraph [0065]).
The modification provide the connection capacitor allows the current of the first working mode (that is, the low frequency mode) to pass, so that the current enters the second radiation portion from the first radiation portion through the connection capacitor. The capacitor also blocks current in the middle frequency mode and the high frequency mode (see paragraph [0063]).
Regarding claim 30, Chen discloses the electronic device of claim 28, further comprising a second slot configured at the second location, wherein the radiator further comprises a first end located at the second slot, and wherein the first feed point is disposed at the first end (see fig. 7, 10 and 11A-11C).
Regarding claim 34, Chen discloses all the limitations of the electronic device of claim 28, except for specifying that further comprising a dielectric layer disposed between the radiator and the ground.
However, Chen further discloses in this embodiment, the slot 118, the first gap 119, the second gap 120, and the third gap 121 are all filled with an insulating material (such as plastic, rubber, glass, wood, ceramic, etc., but not limited to these), (see paragraph [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the electronic device as taught by Chen having a dielectric layer disposed between the radiator and the ground, such as the housing which may be formed of plastic, glass, ceramics, fiber composites, metal (e.g., stainless steel, aluminum, etc.), other suitable materials, or a combination of these materials. In some situations, parts of housing may be formed from dielectric or other low-conductivity material (e.g., glass, ceramic, plastic, sapphire, etc.), which is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Claims 29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S Publication No. 20210151861 A1) in view of Ouyang et al. (U.S Publication No. 20140266938 A1).
Regarding claim 29, Chen discloses the electronic device of claim 28, wherein an operating frequency band of the antenna structure is 698 megahertz (MHz) to 960 MHz (which is the frequency of the first radiation frequency band is 700-960 MHz, see paragraph [0059]); an operating frequency band of the antenna structure is 1710 MHz to 2170 MHz (which is the frequency of the second radiation frequency band is 1710-2170 MHz, see paragraph [0060]), or an operating frequency band of the antenna structure is 2300 MHz to 2690 MHz (which is The frequency of the third radiation frequency band is 2300-2690 MHz, see paragraph [0061]).
Chen does not explicitly disclose a capacitance value of the first capacitive component is between 2 picofarads (pF) and 15 pF, a capacitance value of the first capacitive component is between 0.8 pF and 12 pF, or a capacitance value of the first capacitive component is between 0.3 pF and 8 pF.
Ouyang, on the other hand, discloses an electronic device having multiport antenna structures with resonating slot comprising an adjustable capacitor may be coupled to the first antenna port to tune the inverted-F antenna in the cellular telephone low band (see paragraph [0009]). Adjustable capacitor 106B may bridge slot 132 to ensure that the resonance associated with slot-based parasitic antenna resonating element 132 falls within the 2.3 to 2.7 GHz band. Capacitor 106B may, as an example, be provided with a fixed capacitor C1 of about 0.2 pF and a fixed capacitor C2 of about 0.4 pF, allowing the capacitance of adjustable capacitor 106B to be adjusted over a range of capacitances such as a capacitance of 0.6 pF (when C1 and C2 are both switched into use in parallel), 0.2 pF (when C1 is switched into use), 0.4 pF (when capacitor C2 is switched into use) and zero (when capacitors C1 and C2 are both switched out of use). In the presence of adjustable capacitor 106B, the resonant frequency of slot-based parasitic antenna resonating element 132 may be reduced to about 2.4 GHz (see paragraph [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the capacitance component as taught by Chen with the adjustable capacitor as taught by Ouyang in order to provide the first capacitive component is between 2 picofarads (pF) and 15 pF, a capacitance value of the first capacitive component is between 0.8 pF and 12 pF, or a capacitance value of the first capacitive component is between 0.3 pF and 8 pF, which is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied. A specific capacitance value may be adjusted based on an actual design or production requirement to meet a requirement.
The modification allows the capacitance adjustments produced using adjustable capacitor help ensure that the resonance produced by slot-based parasitic antenna resonating element covers the entire frequency band of interest (see paragraph [0066] by Ouyang).
Regarding claim 31, Chen discloses the electronic device of claim 30, further comprising: a third slot provided on the radiator (see fig. 7 and 10), wherein the third slot is located between the first feed point and the first slot (which is the slot 118 and the at least one gap cooperatively divide at least three radiation portions from the housing 11. In this embodiment, the slot 118, the first gap 119, the second gap 120, and the third gap 121 divide the housing 11 into three radiation portions, namely the first radiation portion 13, the second radiation portion 14, and the third radiation portion (see paragraph [0044]). FIG. 10 illustrates current paths of the antenna structure 100. When the feed portion 12, through the matching circuit 21, supplies a current from the feed source 212, the current flows in two directions. One direction is the current flowing to the first gap 119 along the first radiation portion 13, towards the second radiation portion 14 through the first connection portion 18, the connection capacitor 24, and the second connection portion 19, and to the third gap 121 along the second radiation portion 14 (path P1), to excite a first working mode and generate a radiation signal in a first radiation frequency band (see paragraph [0059]).
Chen does not explicitly disclose a second capacitive component coupled to the radiator in series at the third slot.
Ouyang, on the other hand, discloses an electronic device having multiport antenna structures with resonating slot comprising an adjustable capacitor may be coupled to the first antenna port to tune the inverted-F antenna in the cellular telephone low band (see paragraph [0009]). Adjustable capacitor 106A may be used in tuning low band performance in band LB, so that all desired frequencies between 700 MHz and 960 MHz can be covered. Slot antenna resonating element 132 may serve as a parasitic antenna resonating element that gives rise to an antenna resonance for antenna 40A (port 1A) that can be tuned using adjustable capacitor 106B to cover all frequencies from 2.3 GHz to 2.7 GHz in a communications band UB (see paragraph [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to incorporate a second capacitive component, such as a second adjustable capacitor as taught by Ouyang into the electronic device as taught by Chen coupled to the radiator in series at the third slot in order to provide the capacitance adjustments produced using adjustable capacitor help ensure that the resonance produced by slot-based parasitic antenna resonating element covers the entire frequency band of interest (see paragraph [0066] by Ouyang).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/31/2026 and 08/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, the amendment introduces new matter into the disclosure, therefore the amended claims are not considered. And the claims are interprets as best understood in the rejections above, and the examiner still maintains the rejection.
Second, applicant's arguments do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Conclusion
/Thai Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845 08/21/2026