Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 9-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi (US 2021/0127367) in view of Park (US 2019/0028315).
For claims 1 and 9-11; Yi discloses: transmission circuitry, which, in operation, transmits the control signal (paragraph 195: when the BWP is smaller than the carrier bandwidth and does not share the center frequency (fig. 5) then additional signaling is used to locate the BWP inside the carrier bandwidth).
Yi does not expressly disclose, but Park from similar fields of endeavor teaches: generates a control signal related to a configuration of a first bandwidth part based on a parameter for which a number of candidates is less than that for a parameter of a second bandwidth part (paragraph 108-109, Table 2B: a channel spacing may be applied in a common multiple form of an RB size and a 100 kHz channel raster value for the RB grid alignment… channel spacings corresponding to a channel raster may be configured as frequency location candidates corresponding to an integer multiple, that is, N folds, of a predetermined size unit; the number of candidates N depends on the RB size of the BWP); the parameter for the first bandwidth part indicates a frequency position of the first bandwidth part, and a number of candidates for the parameter of the first bandwidth part is determined based on a least common multiple of a channel raster spacing and a resource block size (paragraph 108-109, Table 2B: a channel spacing may be applied in a common multiple form of an RB size and a 100 kHz channel raster value for the RB grid alignment… channel spacings corresponding to a channel raster may be configured as frequency location candidates corresponding to an integer multiple, that is, N folds, of a predetermined size unit). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Park in the BWP configuration as described by Yi. The motivation is to improve signaling overhead.
For claim 2; Yi discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Yi does not expressly disclose, but Park from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the control signal includes information identifying each of a plurality of candidates for a parameter of the first bandwidth part (paragraph 108-109, Table 2B: a channel spacing may be applied in a common multiple form of an RB size and a 100 kHz channel raster value for the RB grid alignment… channel spacings corresponding to a channel raster may be configured as frequency location candidates corresponding to an integer multiple, that is, N folds, of a predetermined size unit). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Park in the BWP configuration as described by Yi. The motivation is to improve signaling overhead.
For claim 3; Yi discloses: wherein when a number of the plurality of candidates for the parameter of the first bandwidth part is one, the control circuitry does not include the parameter in the control signal (paragraph 195: when the BWP is smaller than the carrier bandwidth and does not share the center frequency (fig. 5) then additional signaling is used to locate the BWP inside the carrier bandwidth).
For claim 8; Yi discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Yi does not expressly disclose, but Park from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein a number of candidates for a parameter of the first bandwidth part is determined based on channel raster spacing (paragraph 108-109, Table 2B: a channel spacing may be applied in a common multiple form of an RB size and a 100 kHz channel raster value for the RB grid alignment… channel spacings corresponding to a channel raster may be configured as frequency location candidates corresponding to an integer multiple, that is, N folds, of a predetermined size unit). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Park in the BWP configuration as described by Yi. The motivation is to improve signaling overhead.
For claim 4; Yi discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Yi does not expressly disclose, but Park from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the control signal includes a common value for a parameter of each of a plurality of the first bandwidth parts (paragraph 108-109, Table 2B: For example, table 2b, 900kHz is the common value while N is used to locate the BWP along the channel raster points, i.e. the LCM(RB BW, channel raster)). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Park in the BWP configuration as described by Yi. The motivation is to improve signaling overhead.
For claim 6; Yi discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Yi does not expressly disclose, but Park from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein a number of candidates for the parameter of the first bandwidth part is determined based on a bandwidth supported by a terminal (paragraph 108-109, Table 2B: For example, table 2b, 180kHz is the is RB bandwidth for a BWP of a specific UE located at N possible locations in the system bandwidth). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Park in the BWP configuration as described by Yi. The motivation is to improve signaling overhead.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nogami et al. (US 2022/0377791); Nogami discloses Multiple OFDM numerologies are supported as given by Table 1. Each of the numerologies may be tied to its own subcarrier spacing.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN D BLANTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466