Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Although it appears as though the references at the end of the specification are provided in the IDS, dated 4/25/2024, please confirm that all of the references listed in the specification are present on an IDS.
Claim Objections
Claim 31 objected to because of the following informalities: alteplase is not a proper noun and does not need to be capitalized. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 37 is objected to because of the following informalities: please there is no definition provided for the abbreviation “LVO,” please amend as “large vessel occlusions (LVO).” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 42 is indefinite because it is unclear how the skilled artisan is supposed to know how to adjust the medication (increase, decrease, change infusion rate, etc) based upon a subject’s estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR). It is unclear what direction the eGFR must move to inform the artisan how to adjust the medication. There is nothing in the instant specification to suggest how the medication can be adjusted based upon any given eGFR data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leufkens, et al (PGPub 2019/0262316) and Demaerschalk, et al (Stroke, 47, 581-641, 2016). Leufkens teaches methods of treating cerebral ischemia, by administering 2-iminobioitin. See paragraph [0002]. Leufkens indicates that cerebral ischemia can include acute ischemic stroke. See paragraphs [0069] [0071]. Although Leufkens does teach a combination treatment, Leufkens teaches providing hypothermia, not a fibrinolytic drug. See paragraph [0080].
Demaerschalk provides a review on the use of the fibrinolytic drug - alteplase - for the treatment of acute ischemic stroke. Demaerschalk indicates that the administration of alteplase is the standard of care for acute ischemic stroke. See page 581, entire; page 582, entire. Demaerschalk only describes alteplase administration in the acute phase of a stroke, and does not suggest combination treatments.
Based upon the cited prior art, both 2-iminobiotin and the fibrinolytic drug alteplase are known to treat acute ischemic stroke; in fact, based upon Demaerschalk, alteplase administration has been established as the standard of care for the first few hours following a stroke. See page 584, “Age Issues” section; page 585, Table 3. Although there is no explicit rationale provided in the cited references to combine the two drugs, one must consider the level of skill and knowledge of the ordinary artisan. See MPEP 2141.03. In the instant situation, the ordinary artisan would possess an MD or PhD, with specialization in stroke treatment and outcomes. The ordinary artisan would be well-aware that the fibrinolytic drug alteplase is the standard of care for acute ischemic stroke, and would be motivated to use this drug immediately. The ordinary artisan would also be aware that there are other drugs, like 2-iminobiotin, that are useful in treating acute ischemic stroke. As such, the ordinary artisan would be implicitly motivated to combine prior art elements, using known methods, and arrive at a predictable result. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). There would be a reasonable expectation that the combination of two known acute ischemic stroke medications would provide for improved results over the use of any individual drug.
With respect to claims 30 and 31, Leufkens teaches providing 2-iminobiotin to a stroke victim, while Demaerschalk indicates that providing the fibrinolytic drug alteplase, is the standard of care for stroke victims. Combining two drugs known to treat stroke would provide for a reasonable expectation for improved results over each drug, individually.
With respect to claims 32 and 34, Demaerschalk indicates that thrombectomies are always a consideration for occlusions of a particular size. See page 604, left column, “History of Intracranial/Spinal Surgery Within 3 Months” section, 3rd paragraph. Since neither reference provides specific exclusions to the use eligibly of thrombectomies, and includes all “acute ischemic stroke,” the ordinary artisan (see above) would wholly comprehend this scenario.
With respect to claim 33, neither reference provides an exclusion on the cause of acute ischemic stroke, and as such, there would be a reasonable expectation of success on any stroke defined as acute ischemic stroke, regardless of where the occlusion occurs.
With respect to claim 35, since both induvial treatments are used to re-perfuse ischemic brain tissue, there would be a reasonable expectation that the combination of drugs would also cause re-perfusion of the ischemic brain tissue.
With respect to claim 36, Leufkens suggests that the 2-iminobiotin can be administered within the first 24 hours of the injury. See paragraph [0076].
With respect to claim 37, Leufkens teaches 6 hours, but does not does not describe a diagnosis due to large vessel occlusion. See paragraph [0076]. However, since there are no restrictions or exceptions on the administration of 2-iminobiotin, in Leufkens, there would be a reasonable expectation that any acute ischemic stroke can be similarly treated.
With respect to claim 38, Leufkens teaches 2 hours following the injury or injury causing event, further indicates that administration continues “until the individual is no longer judged to be at risk,” and also suggests following surgery. See paragraph [0076] [0077]. Based upon the fact that Demaerschalk indicates that thrombectomies are routine for certain types of acute ischemic strokes, and the fact that Leufkens indicates within 2 hours of injury, wherein “injury” is interpreted as medical interventions, like thrombectomies, would suggest that the ordinary artisan would find the claimed step to be obvious.
With respect to claims 39 and 40, Leufkens teaches continuous administration for 4-6 hours. See paragraph [0012]. Leufkens also suggests “single unit dosage forms,” ranging from 1-13 mg; these “single unit dosage forms” are considered to be equivalent to the claimed “loading dose.” See paragraph [0092].
With respect to claim 41, Leufkens provides for various embomdiments that would inform the ordinary artisan. In particular, Leufkens indicates that the 2-iminobiotin can be administered at 18 mg/day, using three doses per day, provided continuously for up to 10 hours per infusion. See paragraph [0012]. If it is assumed that there are three infusions per day, there would be 6 mg per infusion; if it is assumed that an infusion is 6 hours, that would be 1 mg/hour.
With respect to claim 42, Leufkins suggests adjusting the levels of 2-iminobiotin based upon eGFR levels. See paragraph [0014].
With respect to claims 43-48, all of these claims are drawn to how the treatment would affect the subject; these behaviors are outside of the control of the artisan, and would be inherent to the method. See MPEP 2112. Since both 2-iminobiotin and alteplase are both used for stroke treatment, there would be a reasonable expectation that both of these medications, individually, would provide for these effects. Therefore, there would be a reasonable expectation that the combination would also achieve these effects.
With respect to claim 49, Leufkins teaches 10 mg/kg/day. See paragraph [0048].
With respect to claim 50, Leufkins teaches 100-2000 ng*h/mL. See paragraph [0015].
Double Patenting
Claims 30-50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-11 and 13-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,525,039 in view of Demaerschalk, et al (Stroke, 47, 581-641, 2016). The patent is drawn to a method of treating brain cell injury by administering 2-iminobiotin (see column 1, lines 18-25), wherein “brain cell injury” explicitly includes acute ischemic stroke. See column 8, line 28 The patent does not teach or suggest further including a fibrinolytic drug, like alteplase. As discussed in the rejections above, Demaerschalk teaches that alteplase is a standard of care for acute ischemic stroke/ Based upon this, in a clinical setting, it would be obvious to the ordinary artisan to combine two drugs known for treating acute ischemic stroke, wherein there is an expectation that the combined treatment would provide for a predictable enhancement in treatment over each drug individually.
The instant application provides for a method of treating acute ischemic stroke with a combination of 2-iminobiotin and a fibrinolytic drug. The patent provides for a broader disease-set, wherein the only other difference would be obvious to the ordinary artisan. As such, the instant application is considered an obvious variant of an already patented method.
Claims 30-50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,426,387 in view of Demaerschalk, et al (Stroke, 47, 581-641, 2016). The patent is drawn to a method of treating brain hypoxic injury by administering 2-iminobiotin (see column 1, lines 18-25 and claim 1), wherein “brain hypoxic injury” explicitly includes acute ischemic stroke. See column 8, line 28 The patent does not teach or suggest further including a fibrinolytic drug, like alteplase. As discussed in the rejections above, Demaerschalk teaches that alteplase is a standard of care for acute ischemic stroke/ Based upon this, in a clinical setting, it would be obvious to the ordinary artisan to combine two drugs known for treating acute ischemic stroke, wherein there is an expectation that the combined treatment would provide for a predictable enhancement in treatment over each drug individually.
The instant application provides for a method of treating acute ischemic stroke with a combination of 2-iminobiotin and a fibrinolytic drug. The patent provides for a broader disease-set, wherein the only other difference would be obvious to the ordinary artisan. As such, the instant application is considered an obvious variant of an already patented method.
Conclusion
/DAVID W BERKE-SCHLESSEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1651