DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1-8-2026 have been fully considered.
With respect to applicant’s argument that Chen is fundamentally different because a detection can be triggered by a single signal deviation, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Chen discloses grouping transmitters together and in paragraph 42 describes the scenario where three different transmitters in a group provide a lower RSSI than expected and an abnormality is detected.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0297167, published September 23, 2021 in view of Dupray, et. al., U.S. Patent Number 10,684,350, published June 16, 2020.
As per claims 1 and 7, Chen discloses a person detection system comprising:
an obtainer that obtains a signal strength of a radio wave transmitted by each of a plurality of transmitters and received by an antenna; and a processing unit that performs a detection process of detecting whether a person is present in a vicinity of the antenna, based on the signal strengths obtained by the obtainer (Chen, ¶26),
wherein each of the plurality of transmitters is classified into any one of a plurality of groups according to a position of the transmitter with respect to the antenna (Chen, ¶27 and Fig. 3),
and in the detection process, determine whether each of the signal strengths regarding the two or more transmitters classified into the same group deviates from a normal range (Chen, ¶42 using three transmitters) and the processing unit detects that the person is present in the vicinity of the antenna when each of the signal strengths obtained by the obtainer regarding, among the plurality of transmitters, two or more transmitters classified into a same group among the plurality of groups deviates from a normal range (Chen, ¶34).
Chen fails to explicitly disclose grouping transmitters located within a predetermined range from the antenna.
Dupray teaches grouping based on location and distance (Col. 45, lines 19-43).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the grouping limitation and abnormality readings disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As per claim 2, Chen as modified by Dupray discloses the person detection system according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit has a function of performing a classification process of classifying each of the plurality of transmitters into any one of the plurality of groups according to the position of the transmitter with respect to the antenna (Chen, ¶41).
As per claim 3, Chen as modified by Dupray further discloses the person detection system according to claim 1 [[or 2]], wherein the processing unit has a function of performing a determination process of determining, for each of the plurality of transmitters, the normal range based on the signal strength obtained by the obtainer regarding the transmitter (Chen, ¶51).
As per claim 4, Chen as modified by Dupray further discloses the person detection system according to claim 1 [[or 2]], wherein the processing unit performs the detection process when an instantaneous value of the signal strength obtained by the obtainer regarding any one of the plurality of transmitters is attenuated by a predetermined value or more (Chen, ¶53 using a threshold).
As per claim 6, Chen as modified by Dupray discloses the system of claim 1 including an antenna and controller for alert detection (Fig. 1 and ¶23) but fails to explicitly disclose a voice output.
As Chen teaches an alert, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a voice, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by Chen in alerting the appropriate party to a detection.
As per claim 8, Chen as modified by Dupray further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program for causing one or more processors to execute the person detection method according to claim 7 (Chen, ¶84).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646