DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification/Drawings
The specification and drawings are objected to because:
the filter-proximal guide structure guide face
holding or latching elements
plug element
do not have a part numbers. Please add part numbers to the specification and drawings without adding new matter.
Claim Objections
Claims 1,16 are objected to because of the following informalities: Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation, 37 CFR 1.75(i). See MPEP 6083.01(m). Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting Analysis
Application or Patent #
Double Patenting
US 12358811
No
US 12268978
No
US 11944923
No
US 12042749
No
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 line(s) 1 sets forth the limitation “the use”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 line(s) 1 sets forth the limitation “the interior of a water tank”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 line(s) 3 sets forth the limitation “the wall”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 line(s) 4-5 sets forth the limitation “the operating position of the filter cartridge”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 line(s) 5 sets forth the limitation “the lower end region”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 line(s) 5 sets forth the limitation “the lower end region of the latter”. It is unclear to what “the latter” refers.
Claim 1 line(s) 7 sets forth the limitation “the flow direction of water”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 line(s) 7-8 sets forth the limitation “the interior of the filter housing”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 line(s) 12 sets forth the limitation “a water tank”. It is unclear whether “a water tank” of claim 1 line(s) 12 is the same or different from “a water tank” of claim 1 line(s) 1.
Claim 1 line(s) 1,12 sets forth the limitation “a filter cartridge […] wherein a filter connector having an annular filter sealing face for connecting the filter cartridge in a water tank is provided”. It is unclear whether “a water tank” is positively claimed as part of the invention or just the intended use of the filter connector.
Claim 1 line(s) 15 sets forth the limitation “a guide structure disposed separately from this filter sealing face for receiving a centering element”. It is unclear whether “a centering element” is positively claimed as part of the invention or just the intended use of the guide structure.
Claim 2 line(s) 2 sets forth the limitation “the filter-proximal guide structure”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 line(s) 2 sets forth the limitation “the portion of the outlet line”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 line(s) 2 sets forth the limitation “the filter-proximal guide structure”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 line(s) 2 sets forth the limitation “the transition portion”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 line(s) 3 sets forth the limitation “the inner portion of the outlet line”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 line(s) 4 sets forth the limitation “the assembling direction”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 line(s) 2 sets forth the limitation “the inner portion”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 line(s) 2 sets forth the limitation “the exit portion of the outlet line”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 line(s) 3-4 sets forth the limitation “the transition portion”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 line(s) 4 sets forth the limitation “the transition portion by means of one or a plurality of transition faces” is missing a verb and is not a proper means + function limitation.
Claim 6 line(s) 5 sets forth the limitation “the outside”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 line(s) 5 sets forth the limitation “the inside”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 line(s) 6 sets forth the limitation “the bottom”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 line(s) 2 sets forth the limitation “the filter-proximal guide structure”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 line(s) 2 sets forth the limitation “the filter-proximal guide structure”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 line(s) 3 sets forth the limitation “the central axis”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 line(s) 2-3 sets forth the limitation “the filter-proximal guide structure”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 line(s) 2 sets forth the limitation “the exit portion of the outlet line”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 line(s) 3 sets forth the limitation “the central axis”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 line(s) 4 sets forth the limitation “the transition portion”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 line(s) 2 sets forth the limitation “the axial depressions”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 line(s) 2-3 sets forth the limitation “the region of radial convexities”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 line(s) 2 sets forth the limitation “the axial depressions”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 line(s) 3 sets forth the limitation “the central axis”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 line(s) 2 sets forth the limitation “the axial depressions”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 line(s) 2 sets forth the limitation “filter-proximal guide structure”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 line(s) 2 sets forth the limitation “filter-proximal guide structure”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 line(s) 7-8 sets forth the limitation “the assembled position of the filter cartridge”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 line(s) 8 sets forth the limitation “filter-proximal guide structure”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 line(s) 3 sets forth the limitation “the intermediate space”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 line(s) 3 sets forth the limitation “the guide ribs”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 line(s) 4 sets forth the limitation “the centering plinth”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 22 line(s) 2 sets forth the limitation “the axial projections”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 22 line(s) 2-3 sets forth the limitation “the centering plinth”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 22 line(s) 3 sets forth the limitation “the region of the radial convexities”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 24 line(s) 3 sets forth the limitation “the central axis”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2,7-9,12,16-18,23-24,26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by WALLERSTORFER (US 20090242473).
Regarding claim 1, WALLERSTORFER teaches a tank (title, Figs.) including a filter cartridge (e.g. Fig. 1 #31) having a filter housing (e.g. Fig. 4 #36) of which the wall separates in a watertight manner a housing internal side from a housing external side;
wherein a filter inlet opening (Figs. 3-4 #34) is open in relation to the external environment of the filter housing,
a filter chamber having a filter medium (the filter inherently has a filter medium in a filter chamber; see also par. [0057]; see also cross-sectional view of Fig. 35) and terminates in a filter outlet line (outlet hole, Figs. 3-4 #35); and
wherein a filter connector (Fig. 19 #2) having an annular filter sealing face (Fig. 3 # 32) is provided,
wherein provided within the filter sealing face is a guide structure (Fig. 19 #35,35.1,35.2), disposed separately from this filter sealing face.
Regarding claim 16, WALLERSTORFER teaches a tank (title, Figs.) including:
a water tank (Fig. 1 #66) having a filter cartridge (Fig. 1 #31) as claimed in claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 incorporated by reference); and,
a tank bottom (Fig. 1 #29);
wherein an annular tank sealing face (Figs. 2,19 #24), which encloses a tank passage opening (opening of Fig. 19 #68) is provided on the tank bottom;
wherein a centering element (coded wall of Fig. 19 #68), which within the tank sealing face projects from the tank bottom in the direction of the assembled position of the filter cartridge, for plugging into the guide structure (Fig. 19 #35,35.1,35.2) of the filter cartridge is provided.
Regarding claim 2, WALLERSTORFER teaches the guide structure (Fig. 19 #35,35.1,35.2) forms a portion of an outlet line of the filter cartridge (par. [0057]).
Regarding claim 7, WALLERSTORFER teaches the filter guide structure (Fig. 19 #35,35.1,35.2) is coaxial with the filter sealing face (Fig. 3 # 32).
Regarding claim 8, WALLERSTORFER teaches the filter guide structure (Fig. 19 #35,35.1,35.2) has e.g. a guide face (e.g. axially projecting attachment, Fig. 19 #35.1) which run parallel to the central axis.
Regarding claim 9, WALLERSTORFER teaches latching elements (Fig. 19 #35.1,35.2) are affixed in the filter guide structure.
Regarding claim 12, WALLERSTORFER teaches axial projections (Fig. 19 #35.1,35.2) have an elongate shape with an angular alignment in relation to a radius emanating from the central axis.
Regarding claim 17, WALLERSTORFER teaches the centering element (Fig. 19 #68) has at a water passage (opening of Fig. 19 #68).
Regarding claim 18, WALLERSTORFER teaches the tank sealing face (Figs. 2,19 #24) is disposed separately from the centering element (Fig. 19 #68).
Regarding claim 23, WALLERSTORFER teaches the centering element comprises ribs (Fig. 39 ribs on the hexagonal element #23) disposed in a star-shaped manner.
Regarding claim 24, WALLERSTORFER teaches a guide face running parallel to the central axis (Fig. 39 ribs on the hexagonal element #23) capable of guiding the filter guide structure when assembling the filter cartridge.
Regarding claim 26, WALLERSTORFER teaches holding or latching elements (Fig. 19 #68.1,68.2) are affixed to the centering element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over WALLERSTORFER (US 20090242473).
Regarding claim 14, WALLERSTORFER teaches the filter guide structure has a guide projection (e.g. Fig. 19 #35.1) and a tank guide structure has a groove (e.g. Fig. 19 #68.1). It obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the coded structures may be reversed and perform the same such that the filter guide structure has a groove and the tank guide structure has a projection.
Claim(s) 3-6-10,15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WALLERSTORFER (US 20090242473) in view of RICHMOND (US 20060054547).
Regarding claim 3, WALLERSTORFER does not teach the portion of the outlet line that has the guide structure has a larger cross section than an inner portion of the outlet line. However, RICHMOND teaches a fuel filter cartridge and keyed end cap (title, Figs.), wherein a lower end cap (Fig. 3 #50) has a guide structure (Fig. 3 #82) that has a larger cross section than an inner portion of an outlet line (Fig. 3 #76).
RICHMOND teaches that such a keyed end cap may provide “unlocking” authorized use of the filter in a filter housing (par. [0002]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of WALLERSTORFER with the claimed guide structure in order to equivalently provide alternative coding and/or keys for “unlocking” authorized use of the filter as is known in the art. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of filtration. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Regarding claim 4, WALLERSTORFER’s modified device teaches as above (the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated by reference) including the filter connector that has the filter sealing face comprises an exit portion (e.g. RICHMOND Fig. 3 #90) of the outlet line of the filter cartridge, the portion that has the guide structure forms a transition portion (e.g. RICHMOND Fig. 3 #70) of the outlet line, and the exit portion has a larger cross section than the transition portion.
Regarding claim 5, WALLERSTORFER’s modified device teaches as above (the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated by reference) including the filter-proximal guide structure in the transition portion (e.g. RICHMOND Fig. 3 #70) to the inner portion (e.g. RICHMOND Fig. 3 #74) of the outlet line has an oblique transition face which is disposed obliquely in relation to the assembling direction of the filter cartridge.
Regarding claim 6, WALLERSTORFER’s modified device teaches as above (the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated by reference) including the inner portion (e.g. RICHMOND Fig. 3 #74) and the exit portion (e.g. RICHMOND Fig. 3 #90) of the outlet line are disposed so as to be coaxial with a central axis of the outlet line, and the transition portion (e.g. RICHMOND Fig. 3 #70) including a transition face that runs obliquely from the exit portion to the inner portion and radially from the outside to the inside and axially from the bottom up in terms of the operation position of the filter cartridge, connects the exit portion to the inner portion.
Regarding claim 10, WALLERSTORFER’s modified device teaches as above (the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated by reference) including the exit portion (e.g. RICHMOND Fig. 3 #90) of the outlet line of the filter cartridge by way of a connection wall that runs transversely to the central axis is connected to the transition portion (e.g. RICHMOND Fig. 3 #70), wherein the connection wall has axial projections portion (e.g. RICHMOND Fig. 3 #56; see also Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, WALLERSTORFER’s modified device teaches as above (the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated by reference) including an oblique transition face portion (e.g. RICHMOND Fig. 3 #70) of the filter guide structure is disposed in a guide groove (e.g. RICHMOND Fig. 3 #84).
Claim(s) 11,13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WALLERSTORFER (US 20090242473) in view of OSENDORF (US 8864866).
Regarding claim 11, WALLERSTORFER does not teach the axial projections are disposed in the region of radial convexities of the filter sealing face. However, OSENDORF discloses filter assemblies; components and features thereof; and, methods of use and assembly (title, Figs.) including a double seal arrangement on a cartridge filter including a perimeter secondary seal (e.g. Fig. 34c #1028s) and a primary seal with radial convexities (e.g. Fig. 34c #1026s). The cartridge filter may include axial projections (e.g. Fig. 75b #1492) disposed in the region of radial convexities of the filter sealing face for the purpose of facilitating stabilization of the cartridge in place during use (C52/L49-53).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of WALLERSTORFER to include axial projections disposed in a region of radial convexities of the filter sealing face as taught by OSENDORF in order to facilitate stabilization of the cartridge in place during use. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of filtration. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Regarding claim 13, WALLERSTORFER’s modified device teaches as above (the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated by reference) including the axial projections (OSENDORF Fig. 75b #1492) are in an angular relationship with the guide structure (Fig. 19 #35,35.1,35.2).
Claim(s) 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WALLERSTORFER (US 20090242473) in view of WAWRLA (US 20100051532).
Regarding claim 27, WALLERSTORFER does not teach a valve. However, WAWRLA discloses a tank (title, Figs.) including a valve (Fig. 3-4 #23) having a plug (Fig. 3-4 #24).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of WALLERSTORFER to include a valve and plug and as taught by WAWRLA in order to regulate fluid flow during use as is known in the art. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of filtration. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-22,25,28 have allowable subject matter over the prior art of record. The prior art neither teaches, suggests, nor makes obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art a filter cartridge comprising the combination of claimed elements.
Telephonic Inquiries
/Liam Royce/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777
LIAM A. ROYCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1777