DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. The instant application claims foreign priority filed 03/23/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted, IDS - 09/21/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
4. The following title is suggested:
“DATA VOLUME THRESHOLD FOR CG-based and RACH-based SDT”.
Reasons/Rationale: Claim subject matter includes: small data transmission (SDT) more specifically the selection of data volume threshold. A first threshold to select the periodic resources that is the configured grant, the CG based scheme to transmit the small data. Alternatively, a second threshold to transmit the small data uses random access procedure for the SDT.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of
rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be
the same under either status.
form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention.
or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section
122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another
inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention.
7. Claims 1, 7, 9, 16, 19, 23 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chiu-Wen et al. (US-20220346135-A1, prov. 63/061,228 filed 08/05/2020) hereinafter “Chiu-Wen-035”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Chiu-Wen-035 discloses, ‘A user equipment (UE), comprising:
a processor, which in operation, determines a first data volume threshold,
the processor, which in operation, determines to transmit small data, that became available for transmission, in an inactive state or in a connected state, based on a volume of the available small data and the first data volume threshold, wherein the UE is in the inactive state out of the connected state, an idle state and the inactive state,
a transmitter, which in operation, performs transmission of the available small data, and
wherein the first data volume threshold is to be used for determining whether to perform the transmission of available small data in the inactive state using periodic radio resources that are usable for transmission of small data without a prior scheduling request from the UE, the periodic radio resources being allocated in advance by a serving base station, and
wherein the first data volume threshold is not to be used for determining whether to perform a random-access-based transmission of available small data in the inactive state.
a transmitter, which in operation, performs transmission of the available small data, and
wherein the first data volume threshold is to be used for determining whether to perform the transmission of available small data in the inactive state using periodic radio resources that are usable for transmission of small data without a prior scheduling request from the UE, the periodic radio resources being allocated in advance by a serving base station, and
wherein the first data volume threshold is not to be used for determining whether to perform a random-access-based transmission of available small data in the inactive state.’
In Fig. 1b (similar drawings in prov.) illustrates the UE includes the controller to control the transceiver and uses at least one processor to perform the small data transmission (SDT) [0037-40] (prov. page 3 [0018-0021]).
Regarding the claim element disclosure, ‘determines a first data volume threshold,’ and ‘determines to transmit small data, that became available for transmission, in an inactive state or in a connected state, based on a volume of the available small data and the first data volume threshold, wherein the UE is in the inactive state out of the connected state, an idle state and the inactive state’,
Disclosure include, determination to perform SDT.
While the UE is RRC_inactive, there are two types of SDT: pre-configured (pre-configured CG) resources and random access procedures. The pre-configured CG/ CG-data volume threshold e.g., max 32 bytes is configured as CG type 1. And, an another type RNA-based pre-configured CG (pre-configured CG) that is CG type 2 includes volume threshold [0041-0048] (prov. page 3 [0003, 0007, 0023-0024]. And, Fig. 2B (prov. Fig. 2) illustrates two flow diagram and includes the SDT in RRC_inactive to perform the pre-configured CG type 1 and Rach based scheme. Based on specific threshold to perform the pre-configured CG and alternatively the Rach. Fig. 3B (prov. Fig. 3) illustrates the pre-configured CG, CG-type 2 and the Rach based scheme. The UE identifies the small data and the periodic resources the pre-configured grant availability as illustrated Fig. 2B and 3B then perform the pre-configured CG and alternatively perform the Rach.
And discloses, ‘wherein the first data volume threshold is to be used for determining whether to perform the transmission of available small data in the inactive state using periodic radio resources that are usable for transmission of small data without a prior scheduling request from the UE, the periodic radio resources being allocated in advance by a serving base station’,
Disclosure includes the logical flow diagram to determine the periodic resources availability that is pre-configured CG (pre-configured grant) to perform the SDT. If the pre-configured CG is not available then perform the Rach based SDT. This has few advantageous effects: reduce power consumption, better resource allocation, low latency SDT in inactive without need to change status and reliability of low latency devices [0007] (prov. page 3 [0005-0011]). In Fig. 2B illustrates the arrival of traffic and availability of grant/pre-configured CG resources to perform the SDT. Perform configured grant type 1 and receive configuration parameters includes: periodicity of pre-configured CG and pre-configured CG resources [0041-0048,0102-0103] (prov. Fig. 2, page 3 [0020-0021, 0027, 0034-0039] and page 4 [0001-0004].
The BS provides pre-configured CG/CG-SDT configuration to multiple UEs within the cell. Disclosure: the BS can pre-configured resources grant to inactive UEs. And, the inactive UE can be configured multiple pre-configured CG and the configuration includes: periodicity of pre-configured CG, threshold/size of SDT, CG resources. Therefore, this CG-SDT configuration for multiple UEs and each UE can include multiple CG-SDT those can be different threshold/volume-sizes [0040-0041] (prov. page 3 [0020, 0023-0030, 0034-0039], page 4 [0001-0004]). In addition transmission characteristics parameters as part of SDT: priority, periodicity, latency and channel access priority [0091] (prov. page 9[0001-0006]). In Fig. 4 to Fig. 9 SDT associated with thresholds (prov. Fig. 4 to Fig. 9).)
Regarding Claim 7,
‘The UE according to claim 1 (disclosed above),
Chiu-Wen-035 discloses, ‘wherein the processor determining the first data volume threshold includes:
determining a value of a configuration parameter of periodic radio resources that are usable for transmission of small data without a prior scheduling request from the UE, the periodic radio resources being allocated in advance by the serving base station,
determining the first data volume threshold from an association, associating a plurality of different data volume thresholds and different values of the configuration parameter of the allocated periodic radio resources, using the determined value of the configuration parameter of the periodic radio resources,
wherein the configuration parameter of the periodic radio resources is a time periodicity of the periodic radio resources, or a size of the periodic radio resources in one or more of a frequency domain and time domain, and
wherein the association is such that the smaller a periodicity of the periodic radio resources is, the larger is the corresponding data volume threshold.’ (Disclosure includes configuration parameter for the first volume threshold to preconfigured-CG/pre-configured CG includes parameters and values: time domain offset, the periodicity of the pre-configured CG, maximum data volume thresholds can be transmitted on pre-configured CG resources and start-allocation of resources i.e. sub-frame/symbol number. Pre-configured type1 pre-configured CG resources in a serving cell [0041-0048] (prov. page 3 [0033-0039] and page 4 [0001-0006]). And, the UL grant i.e. time/frequency resources [0078] (page 6 [0022, 0036]). Regarding different volume threshold disclosed above in Claim 1 as part of pre-configured CG SDT configurations disclosed above. Within a serving cell the BS provides to multiple UEs SDT-based CG configurations that include multiple pre-configured CG configurations. )
Regarding Claim 9,
‘The UE according to claim 7 (disclosed above),
Chiu-Wen-035 discloses, ‘wherein the UE obtains information on the association between the plurality of different data volume thresholds and different values of the characteristic of the allocated periodic radio resources from one or more of:
system information broadcast by the serving base station, or information pre-configured in the UE.’ (pre-configured CG or random access SDT configuration can be received from SI-message [0080].(prov. page 4 [0009-0011, 0016-0018).)
Regarding Claim 16,
Chiu-Wen-035 discloses ‘A base station comprising: a processor, which in operation’ (Fig. 1B and in prov.),
Identical to second claim element of Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘allocates periodic radio resources to one or more user equipment (UEs), the allocated periodic radio resources being usable by any one of the one or more UEs, for transmission of small data without a prior scheduling request,
the processor, when in operation, determines a plurality of data volume thresholds to be used by the UEs for determining whether to perform the transmission of small data in the inactive state using the allocated periodic radio resources, wherein the plurality of data volume thresholds are not to be used by the UEs for determining whether to perform a random-access-based transmission of small data in the inactive state, and
a transmitter, which in operation, transmits information on the determined plurality of data volume thresholds to the UEs.’
Regarding Claim 23,
‘The base station according to claim 16’ (disclosed above),
Identical to Claim 7 for the BS, ‘wherein the information on the determined plurality of data volume thresholds comprises an association that associates a plurality of different data volume thresholds and different values of a configuration parameter of periodic radio resources that can be allocated to UEs in advance by the base station, these periodic radio resources being then usable by a UE to transmit small data without a prior scheduling request,
wherein the configuration parameter of the periodic radio resources is a time periodicity of periodic radio resources,
or a size of periodic radio resources in one or more of a frequency domain and time domain, wherein the association is such that the smaller a periodicity of the periodic radio resources is, the larger is the corresponding data volume threshold’ (time periodicity of the periodic resource allocated by the configured grant resources in time domain. And, size of the periodic resources allocated by the configured grant used by the frequency and time domain similar to Claim 7 above),
And further include Chiu-Wen-035 discloses, ‘and wherein the information on the association, which associates the plurality of different data volume thresholds and the different values of a characteristic of periodic radio resources, is transmitted by the base station using system information broadcast by the base station.’ (The BS provides within the cell provides pre-configured CG/CG-SDT configuration to multiple UEs. Disclosure: the BS can pre-configured resources grant to inactive UEs. And, the inactive UE can be configured multiple pre-configured CG and the configuration includes: periodicity of pre-configured CG, threshold/size of SDT, CG resources. Therefore, this CG-SDT configuration for multiple UEs and each UE can include multiple CG-SDT those can be different. In addition transmission characteristics parameters as part of SDT: priority, periodicity, latency and channel access priority [0091] (prov. page 9[0001-0004]). )
Regarding Claim 26,
Chiu-Wen-035 discloses ‘An integrated circuit, which, in operation, controls a process of a user equipment (UE), the process comprising the following steps performed by the UE:
determining a first data volume threshold’ (Fig. 1B includes the BS transceiver/controller/processor and in prov.),
Identical to Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘determining to transmit small data that became available for transmission, in an inactive state or in a connected state, based on a volume of the available small data and the first data volume threshold, wherein the UE is in the inactive state out of the connected state, an idle state and the inactive state, and
performing transmission of the available small data,
wherein the first data volume threshold is to be used for determining whether to perform transmission of available small data in the inactive state using periodic radio resources that are usable for transmission of small data without a prior scheduling request from the UE, the periodic radio resources being allocated in advance by a serving base station, and
wherein the first data volume threshold is not to be used for determining whether to perform a random-access-based transmission of available small data in the inactive state.’
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
he claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner
in which the invention was made.
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
• Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
• Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
• Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
• Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
• obviousness or nonobviousness.
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any
evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to
point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to
consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)
prior art against the later invention.
12. Claims 2, 6, 17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Chiu-Wen-035 et al. in view of Lee et al. (US-20170318606-A1), hereinafter “Lee”.
Regarding Claim 2,
‘The UE according to claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Chiu-Wen-035 discloses, ‘wherein the processor determining the first data volume threshold includes:
receiving a data volume threshold index from the serving base station,
determining the first data volume threshold from an association between a plurality of data volume threshold indexes and a plurality of data volume thresholds, using the received data volume threshold index,
wherein the receiver receiving the data volume threshold from the serving base station includes:
receiving the data volume threshold in system information broadcast by the serving base station, or
receiving the data volume threshold in a message of the Medium Access Control (MAC) protocol from the serving base station.’ (The pre-configured CG transmission threshold: allowed maximum data volume thresholds e.g., 32 bytes in CG type 1 configurations. [0041-0048] (prov. page 4 [0001-0003]). The thresholds includes any thresholds less than or equal 32 bytes. Regarding the data volume thresholds, the disclosure includes a range of SDT threshold value and an example provided in Fig. 2B for pre-configured CG/ CG-based scheme (prov. Fig. 2).
The UE receives resource/sub-frame/symbol number, BWP ID. The UE receives from the serving cell broadcast/SI-message that is associated with SDT configurations [0080] (prov. page 7 [0017]). And, Fig. 2B (prov. Fig. 2) illustrates pre-configured CG procedures and when condition lower or equal to specific threshold then transmits SDT and uses grant resources. Disclosure includes at least one transmission threshold, a first transmission threshold to perform the pre-configured CG [0102]. And Fig. 2B includes the procedures for pre-configured CG/ CG-thresholds>56-bits<= 32 bytes, that is a plurality of volume thresholds range.
pre-configured CG configuration parameters: periodicity of pre-configured CG, pre-configured CG/ CG resource, start-allocation, offset value, volume size disclosed above in claim 1.)
And didn’t disclose, receive ‘a data volume threshold index from the serving base station, determining the first data volume threshold from an association between a plurality of data volume threshold indexes and a plurality of data volume thresholds, using the received data volume threshold index,’
Lee in the relevant art discloses, the method perform by the UE includes Mac PDU includes data volume and power headroom(PH) disclosure claim 1. And, Fig. 7 and Fig. 8 includes data volume and PH, Mac-CE, single octet [0040]. In addition, the plurality of data-volume index and the plurality of data-volume thresholds in eNB [0136-0143] to perform SDT for low latency device [0008-0014],
And further discloses, receive ‘data volume index’ from the serving cell and from the SI-message [0053, 0076].
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Chiu-Wen-035 and to include with that of Lee to come up with the claim invention,
Disclosure Chiu-Wen-035 includes Mac-PDU [0075] (prov. page 5 [0020-0021]) and channel access as SDT configurations and also includes: resources, periodicity, transmission thresholds and volume/SDT size. And, transmission characteristics parameters [0090-0091]. Didn’t disclose, the plurality of volume index. Someone would motivate to identify the Mac PDU/logical channel procedures as disclosed by Lee. This would significantly reduce latency/delay and increase reliability of SDT.
Regarding Claim 6,
‘The UE according to claim 2 (disclosed above),
Chiu-Wen-035 discloses, ‘wherein the processor, when in operation, separately determines a second data volume threshold, usable for determining whether to perform a random-access-based transmission of the available small data in the inactive state,
wherein the processor determining the second data volume threshold includes:
receiving a second data volume threshold from the serving base station,
determining the second data volume threshold from another association between a plurality of second data volume threshold indexes and a plurality of second data volume thresholds, using the receiving second data volume threshold, and
wherein in case a volume of the available small data is below the second data volume threshold, the processor, when in operation, determines the UE to stay in the inactive state for transmitting the available small data and the transmitter, when in operation, performs transmission of the available small data as part of a random access procedure performed between the UE and the serving base station, and
in case the volume of the available small data is above the second data volume threshold, the processor, when in operation, determines the UE to transition to the connected sate for transmitting the available small data and the transmitter, when in operation, performs transmission of the available small data when the UE is in the connected state, and
wherein the random access procedure includes two steps, and the transmission of the available small data is performed with a first message of the two-step random access procedure, wherein the random access procedure includes four steps, and the transmission of the available small data is performed with a third message of the four-step random access procedure.’ ( Disclosure include the second transmission threshold based on random access procedure [0102]. And, second volume threshold for the random access when the data size less than 56-bits or 72-bits as shown in Fig. 2B and 3B (prov. Fig. 2 and Fig. 3).
In Fig. 2B and 3B illustrates the flow diagram to determine first the configured grant that is pre-configured CG availability. If not available then perform the random access procedure that is Rach based SDT procedures. And, random access two types: 2-step and 4-step Rach procedure and illustrated Fig. 2B and 3B, and [0072-0078] (prov. Fig. 2 and Fig. 3, and embodiment 2-3 page 9 to 11). The UE changes from the RRC_inactive to RRC_Connected state if 4-step contention free random access procedure fails and switch to 4-step contention based random access in RRC_connected state [0104, 0106] (prov. page 6 [0007-0008, 0013-0014]). And, regarding the switching to RRC_connected from the inactive, if the UE perform Rach procedures either 2-step/4-step Rach and any conditions couldn’t complete transmission or even if maximum number of retransmission exceeds then the UE can transit to RRC_Connected to continue perform UL transmission [0072-0076] (prov. page 5 [0005-0009])
And didn’t disclose and further to modify, ‘data-volume threshold index’ (as disclosed above in claim 2 and motive would be identical to Claim 2 disclosed above).
Regarding Claim 17,
‘The base station according to claim 16’ (disclosed above),
Identical to Claim 2 disclosed above, ‘wherein the information on the determined plurality of data volume thresholds comprises an association between a plurality of data volume threshold indexes and the plurality of data volume thresholds,
wherein the processor, when in operation, determines one among the plurality of data volume threshold indexes to be used by the UE and
the transmitter, when in operation, transmits the determined one data volume threshold index, and
wherein the determined data volume threshold index is transmitted in system information broadcast by the base station or in a message of the Medium Access Control (MAC) protocol from the base station.’
Regarding Claim 22,
‘The base station according to claim 17’ (disclosed above),
Identical to Claim 6 and SIB by the BS similar of part of Claim 2 disclosed above, ‘wherein the processor, when in operation, generates a further association between a plurality of second data volume threshold indexes and a plurality of second data volume thresholds, the second data volume thresholds being usable by a UE to determine whether to perform a random-access-based transmission of small data in the active state,
wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits information on the further association to the UE,
wherein the processor, when in operation, determines one among the plurality of second data volume threshold indexes to be used by the UE, and
wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits the determined second data volume threshold index to the UE, in system information broadcast by the base station or in a message of the Medium Access Control (MAC) protocol.’
13. Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Chiu-Wen-035 et al. in view of Huang et al. (US-20210259021-A1), hereinafter “Huang”.
Regarding Claim 10,
‘The UE according to claim 1(disclosed above),
Chiu-Wen-035 discloses, ‘wherein in case a volume of the available small data is below the first data volume threshold, the processor, when in operation, determines the UE to stay in the inactive state for transmitting the available small data and the transmitter, when in operation, performs transmission of the available small data using the allocated periodic radio resources and’,
(Disclosure include to perform the pre-configured CG/ CG-SDT in first volume threshold Fig. 2B when the volume threshold>56bits<=32 bytes. In Fig. 3, the UE RNA based SDT. In both pre-configured CG and RNA-pre-configured CG-SDT, the BS configure pre-configured CG uses periodic resources and determine/perform SDT based on volume-size and transit to RRC_connected from the inactive to completed . When the UE can’t do the SDT either pre-configured CG and alternatively to 2-step and 4-step random access, transit from inactive to RRC_connected [0104-0106] (page 6 [0007-0008, 0013-0014]). Based on the CG-configuration threshold sizes not continue CG SDT procedures and alternatively perform Rach procedures either any of pre-configured-CG/Rach or even if maximum number of retransmission exceeds then the UE can transit to RRC_Connected to continue perform UL transmission [0072-0076] (prov. page 5 [0005-0009].)
And didn’t disclose, ‘wherein in case the volume of the available small data is above the first data volume threshold, the processor, when in operation, determines the UE to transition to the connected state for transmitting the available small data and the transmitter, when in operation, performs transmission of the available small data when the UE is in the connected state.’
Huang in the relevant art discloses, switch from RRC_inactive to RRC_connected due to reduce the power consumption while perform SDT in frequent/reduce traffic intensity. Even due to radio/channel conditions or issues that the UE not able to do the SDT or transmit the small data (either pre-configured grant or any type of Rach procedures [0471, 0475].
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Chiu-Wen-035 and to include with that of Huang to come up with the claim invention,
Disclosure Chiu-Wen-035 discloses to perform SDT switch to RRC_connected in certain conditions. And, didn’t discloses specific conditions as infrequent SDT can be performed to reduce the power consumption and excessive signaling while switch the status. This would reduce the power consumption and save the power/battery more specifically low latency devices.
14. Claims 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Chiu-Wen-035 et al. in view of Lee et al. and further in view of Tsai et al. (US-20220209915-A1, 63/131,486, 63/131,500 and 63/131,510 prov-all-filed 12/29/2020 and 63/131,510 disclosure-provided to this office actions and spec includes drawings), hereinafter “Tsai”.
Regarding Claim 3,
‘The UE according to claim 2 (disclosed above),
Chiu-Wen-035 discloses, ‘wherein the association is specific to the UE, wherein the receiver, when in operation, receives information on the association from the serving base station, in a message of a Radio Resource Control, RRC, protocol,
wherein the receiver, when in operation, monitors system information for a data volume threshold index that is broadcast by the serving base station,
or wherein the receiver, when in operation, monitors system information for a data volume threshold index, that is broadcast by the serving base station.’
The UE receives pre-configured pre-configured CG type 1 by RRC signaling [0041] (prov. page 3 [0027-0028]. The disclosure includes the monitor procedures to identify the UE in present serving cell in RRC_inactive to identify the cell identifier for pre-configured CG or Rach based scheme. Identifies the present cell condition as part of pre-configured CG configurations. The UL grant resources are pre-configured by a UE context identifier e.g., inactive-RNTI [0092]. And, RRC signaling receives the SI-message required pre-configured CG configuration [0080] (prov. page 7 [0017]).
And, didn’t disclose, by the serving BS ‘in all of a plurality of beams in the entire cell’ or ‘in one of a plurality of beams’,
Tsai in the relevant art discloses, beam procedure for CG-based SDT in Fig. 3 (prov. prov. section 2.5 page 7, page 8 and Fig. 3).
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Chiu-Wen-035 and Lee, and to modify with that of Tsai to come up with the claim invention,
Disclosure Chiu-Wen-035 includes the UE receive pre-configured CG/CG-configuration parameters for the CG-SDT: periodicity, periodic resources, thresholds, CS-RNTI and BWP ID for pre-configured CG resources to activate BWP while inactive. Someone would be motivated to include the beam operation for SDT due to temporary issues in channel conditions for low latency devices [0081, 0115] that requires more reliability (prov. page 7 [0033]. This would provide high reliability and communication performance.
Regarding Claim 19,
‘The base station according to claim 17’ (disclosed above),
Identical to second part of Claim 3, ‘wherein the processor determines the one among the plurality of data volume threshold indexes to be used by the UE as being common to all beams in the entire cell of the base station or specific to one or more beams in the entire cell,
wherein the beam-common data volume threshold index is transmitted on all beams of the entire cell, and
wherein the beam-specific data volume threshold index is transmitted only in that beam to which the beam-specific data volume threshold belongs.’
15. Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Chiu-Wen-035 et al. in view of Tsai et al. (US-20220209915-A1, 63/131,486, 63/131,500 and 63/131,510 all filed 12/29/2020 and 63/131,510 disclosure-provided to this office actions and spec includes drawings), hereinafter “Tsai”.
Regarding Claim 11,
‘The UE according to claim 1(disclosed above),
Tsai discloses, ‘wherein the receiver, when in operation, receives a configured-grant enable/disable index from the serving base station,
the processor, when in operation, determines a value of a configuration parameter of periodic radio resources that are associated with the received configured-grant enable/disable index, based on a further association associating a plurality of configured-grant enable/disable indexes with different values of the configuration parameter of the periodic radio resources,
the processor, when in operation, determines whether to enable or disable periodic radio resources that have been allocated in advance to the UE by the serving base station and that are usable for transmitting small data, based on the determined value of the configuration parameter of periodic radio resources,
wherein the configuration parameter of the periodic radio resources is a periodicity, and the processor disables the configured periodic radio resources, in case a periodicity of the configured periodic radio resources is smaller or larger than the periodicity indicated by the received configured-grant enable/disable index,
wherein the processor keeps the configured periodic radio resources enabled, in case the periodicity of the configured periodic radio resources is equal to or larger than the periodicity indicated by the configured-grant enable/disable index, and
wherein the receiver, when in operation, receives the configured-grant enable/disable index in system information broadcast by the serving base station.’ (The UE receive the CG-configuration from the BS that includes: CG-periodicity, CG-grant index, activate/deactivated; Receive configuration SIB. In Fig. 1, Fig. 5 and Fig. 6 [0072-0075, 0112-0115, 0118] (prov. Fig. 1:CG-SDT CG-config and CG periodicity, Fig. 4 and Fig. page-12 and page 11 [0005-0006]). And, periodic SDT includes periodic resources [0054-0055, 0067 0072-0076].
And, SSB periodicity to apply for the UE and configurations serving cell configurations, activate/deactivate CG resources; The RRC defines the periodicity and use/reuse the periodicity defined by RRC until CG-resources deactivated [0049-0051, 0072-0075, 0081-0082, 0109] (prov. page 4[0020-0025, ). Apply default/fixed periodicity for the CG-configurations alternative can receive from the BS periodicity value to perform CG-based SDT [0245-0248]. )
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Chiu-Wen-035 and to include with that of Tsai to come up with the claim invention,
Motive would be identical to Claim 3 as part of pre-configured CG CG-SDT configuration as disclosed by Chiu-Wen-035 that includes: pre-configured grant resource/pre-configured CG resource, CG periodicity, parameters to CG-resources. And, while UE in inactive can receive multiple pre-configured CG for a given active BWP of serving cell to perform SDT procedures on arrival SDT to pre-configured CG resources that is motive to further include CG-index and activate/deactivate CG Tsai, [0041] (prov. page 3 [0029-0033]). This would increase data rate, low latency requirement and fulfill high reliability for eMBB/mTC/URLLC Tsai, [0036] (prov. 46 [0045]).
16. Claims 4-5, 8, 18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu-Wen-035 et al. in view of Lee et al. and further in view of Chiu-Wen et al. (US-20240023042-A1, prov. 63/130,067, filed 12/23/2020 disclosure-provided), hereinafter “Chiu-Wen-042”.
Regarding Claim 4,
‘The UE according to claim 2 (disclosed above),
Chiu-Wen-035 discloses, ‘wherein the processor, when in operation, applies the first data volume threshold’ (disclosed above and the disclosure Fig. 2B includes flow diagram that provides details of CG-based SDT procedure. That includes identify the incoming/arrival data and availability of pre-configured CG/CG resources and perform as received configuration parameters of periodicity, resources allocated and threshold limit. Therefore, preconfigured grant is applied and can also use the channel access priority applied and to perform the pre-configured CG/ CG-SDT procedure channel access priority [0091-0092] prov. page 9 [0001-0003].),
And didn’t disclose, applies to ‘commonly to all logical channels configured at the UE and to which small data can be assigned, such that the processor, when in operation, considers the volume of the available small data, irrespective from the logical channel,
wherein there is one common association for a plurality of logical channels.’
Chiu-Wen-042 in the relevant art discloses, Fig. 5 illustrates the UE SDT in RRC_inactive and the SDT associated to the plurality of logical channels and LCG to perform the SDT [0090-0095] (prov. Fig. 4 and page 8[0006-0011]).
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Chiu-Wen-035 and Lee, and further to include with that of Chiu-Wen-042 to come up with the claim invention,
Disclosure Chiu-Wen-035, CG-based SDT configuration and SDT threshold i.e. PDU size and also traffic parameters to include as threshold for pre-configured CG. The configuration of pre-configured grant for the SDT includes the logical channels though specifically didn’t disclose and includes in Chiu-Wen-042 and show specific procedures at logical channels either apply to common channels/priority. Therefore, Chiu-Wen-035 provide motive traffic characteristics/parameters for SDT doesn’t limit to volume threshold rather exemplify the CG-SDT procedures to transmission threshold inclusive to parameters required to perform the CG-SDT procedures. This would provide advantageous effects: lower power consumption and better resource allocation and usage.
Regarding Claim 5,
‘The UE according to claim 2 (disclosed above),
Chiu-Wen-035 discloses, ‘wherein the processor, when determining the first data volume threshold, takes into account a’ channel access priority (disclosed above in claim 1 and [0091-0092]
And didn’t disclose, ‘logical channel to which the available small data is assigned,
wherein there is one association per logical channel, and the processor, when determining the first data volume threshold, determines that logical-channel-specific association that corresponds to the logical channel to which the available small data is assigned and then determines the first data volume threshold from that determined logical-channel-specific association using the received data volume threshold, and
wherein a high-priority logical channel for small-data transmission is associated with a higher data volume threshold than a low-priority logical channel for small-data transmission’
Chiu-Wen-042 in the relevant art discloses, in Fig. 5 illustrates the SDT in RRC_inactive by LCG -based and the priority of SDT by logical channel prioritization. [0090-0096], (prov. page 7 [0005], page 8 [0006] page 9[0031]) MAC-CE identified by MAC sub-header includes LCID for the SDT [0084] (prov. page 7 [0024-0025]). Priority of the SDT by LCP. Logical channel association of LCG for the SDT and uses LCGi . And SDTi field indicates the associated SDT to LCGi [0090-0095] (prov. page 8 [0007-0011, 0015, 0029]).
Motive would be identical to Claim 4 disclosed above. In addition, reinforces the motive of Chiu-Wen-035, traffic characters channel access priority to provide further details of LCP procedures to efficiently perform CG-SDT procedures reduce latency and increase reliability of low latency devices.
Regarding Claim 8,
‘The UE according to claim 7 (disclosed above),
Chiu-Wen-035 discloses, ‘wherein the processor, when determining the first data volume threshold takes also into account a priority of the UE’ (disclosed above and to perform the pre-configured CG/ CG-SDT procedure channel access priority [0091-0092] prov. page 9 [0001-0003]),
And didn’t disclose, ‘or a logical channel to which the available small data is assigned,
wherein there is one association per UE priority or logical channel, and the processor, when determining the first data volume threshold, determines that association that corresponds to the UE priority or that corresponds to the logical channel to which the available small data is assigned, and wherein the processor then determines the first data volume threshold from that determined association using the determined value of the characteristic of the periodic radio resources,
wherein a high-priority logical channel for small-data transmission is associated with a higher data volume threshold than a low-priority logical channel for small-data transmission, and
wherein a high-priority UE is associated with a higher data volume threshold than a low-priority UE.’
Chiu-Wen-042 in the relevant art discloses, the UE-specific SDT configuration includes: UE-specific SDT threshold, a SDT priority and the SDT priority is used to differentiate the priority to the UE [0068-0070]. And, the SDT threshold includes thresholds for the data volume [0063]. And, priority for the SDT to the LCG and the LCP. And, the SDT associated with the logical channels [0090-0095].
And further to include, received the data volume threshold ‘index’ (disclosed above in Claim 2 above),
Motive would be identical to Claim 2 (data volume threshold index disclosed by Lee), and Claim 4 and Claim 5 disclosed above.
Regarding Claim 18,
‘The base station according to claim 17’ (disclosed above),
Chiu-Wen-042, ‘wherein the processor, when in operation, determines the association to be specific to one UE,
wherein the processor, when performing the determining of the UE-specific association, takes into account one or more of:
a traffic pattern in the time domain of that UE,
a priority of that UE, or
typical packet sizes received from that UE,
wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits the information on the UE-specific association to the corresponding UE, in a message of the Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol.’ (UE specific SDT receives from RRC/SIB and SDT configuration for the UE, SDT priority, SDT threshold UE-specific [0066, 0069, 0072] (prov. page 26 [0018, 0023-0029]) and includes traffic pattern, priority, packet size (disclosure includes variable sizes disclosed above). And, the BS determine the traffic pattern for SDT and amount of traffic to be transmitted through subsequent SDT in Fig. 5, Fig. 17 and 18 (prov. Fig. 4, Fig. 17 and 18, page 8 [0007-0011].)
Motive would be identical to Claim 4 and Claim 5 disclosed above. In addition, reinforces the motive of Chiu-Wen-035, SDT configurations and traffic characteristics (e.g., high priority, low latency, access priority, periodic/non-periodic) [0008-0009, 0090-0091] (prov. page 9 [0001], page 12 [0021]).
Regarding Claim 20,
‘The base station according to claim 17’ (disclosed above), ‘wherein the processor’,
Chiu-Wen-042 discloses, ‘when determining the one among the plurality of data volume threshold indexes to be used by the UE, takes into account a load situation of the base station, including one or more of:
the amount of radio resources available for scheduling of downlink and uplink transmissions’ (traffic pattern disclosed above and the periodic/non-periodic resources [0086, 0089] (prov. page 23 [0017-0018]) and Fig. 4),
And discloses, ‘or number of UEs in connected state,
wherein in case the load situation of the base station is a high-load situation, the processor determines a data volume threshold index associated with a lower data volume threshold than in case the load situation of the base station is a low-load situation.’ (Disclosure, the BS includes UE-specific SDT configuration and the UE-specific SDT threshold [0068-70]. And, UE-specific/UE-common SDT configuration resources grant and shared resources of UEs inactive/connected state shared by the BS [0068-0072]).
Motive would be identical to Claim 18 disclosed above.
Regarding Claim 21,
‘The base station according to claim 17’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 4 and 5 disclosed above, ‘wherein the association between the plurality of data volume threshold indexes and the plurality of data volume thresholds is specific to one logical channel to which small data is assigned, and wherein there is one such association associating between a plurality of data volume threshold indexes and a plurality of data volume thresholds for each of one or more of these logical channels,
wherein a high-priority logical channel is associated with a higher data volume threshold than a low-priority logical channel.’
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure:
Agiwal et al. (US-20230224997-A1) Disclosure: SDT for one or more RBs and criteria to initiate CG-SDT is data volume threshold condition is met and then the UE initiate the CG-SDT procedure. In addition, the conditions for the CG-SDT: available data volume <=data volume threshold (data volume threshold is signaled by gNB and can be specific to CG-SDT [0180, 0193-0194]. And, monitor the CG-SDT based procedures the monitor PDCCH to receive cell identifier RNTI for the CGT when TAT expires, disclosure claim 1. The UE received SI-update in intervals [0088]. And, CG-SDT based configuration and the PDCCH monitoring uses beam/SSB [0598]. Disclosure includes CG-SDT based procedures includes the volume threshold and a RSRP threshold to determine the UE in present serving [0180] .
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Syed Ahmed whose telephone number is (703)-756-5308. The examiner can normally be reached from Monday-Friday 9am-6pm. The examiner can also be reached on alternate If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached on (571) 272-7969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466