DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-11 are pending and under current examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 begins the numbering of the composition ingredients with number five “(v)”. This renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the claimed composition also requires ingredients 1-4, that are not listed.
Claim 1 requires a ratio of potassium compounds to aliphatic carboxylic acids without indicating the type of ratio (e.g. molar, mass, etc.). The claim is indefinite because the relative amounts of each claimed substance are different depending on the type of ratio that is claimed.
Claim 2 is indefinite because the claim recites “… formic acid …. or their salts…”, and thus embraces a salt of formic acid, including a potassium salt of formic acid. the claim is indefinite because it is unclear whether the claim requires a different formic acid salt other than potassium formate of claim 1, or whether it reads on compositions containing exactly the same ingredients as claim 1.
Claim 3 recites “or their salts” in several locations. The repeated appearance of the claim calls into question whether all of the listed acids may be present in salt form or only those that appear immediately preceding the phrase “or their salts”.
The phrase “phenolic precursors” renders claim 3 indefinite because it is unclear what substances fall within the scope of this term.
The phrases “phenols” and “phenolic precursors” render claim 3 indefinite because they are listed as a type of carboxylic acid; however, these substances do not contain a carboxylic acid functional group and it is unclear what substances are embraced by these terms.
Claim 6 requires a percentage of antioxidant without indicating the type of percentage (e.g. molar, mass, etc.). The claim is indefinite because the amount of the claimed substance are different depending on the type of percentage that is claimed.
Claim 8 recites “for stimulating the growth in plants, to enhance yield and quality of produce”. These phrases are two distinct intended uses of the claimed composition and there is no conjunction (e.g. “and” or “or”) linking the phrases, therefore it is unclear whether both limitations are required, or only one.
Claim 10 recites “the phenolic precursors include…” The word “include” in this instance renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the listed substances are limiting or merely exemplary.
Claims depending from rejected claims have also been rejected because they incorporate all of the limitations of the claims from which they depend, but fail to resolve the indefiniteness concerns outlined above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fabry (US 8,207,089; issue date: 06/26/2012).
With regard to claim 1, Fabry discloses a composition for treating plants comprising ammonium salicylate (an aromatic carboxylic acid salt), potassium salicylate (a potassium salt of an organic acid and a plant growth hormone/growth regulator), and potassium acetate (a potassium salt of an organic acid; abstract). The composition may contain urea as a buffering and wetting agent (i.e. an adjuvant) in an amount of from 1-15% (col 5, lines 21-25). This range overlaps with the range required for adjuvant by instant claim 1. With regard to the ratio of potassium salt to organic acid required by the claims, Fabry provides the following guidance (paragraph bridging col 2-3):
The novel composition consists essentially of: aqueous solutions of a first reaction product, ammonium salicylate and excess salicylic acid, and a second reaction product, potassium acetate and excess potassium hydroxide, which are thereafter reacted together to form an aqueous, ammonium-potassium salicylate solution.
The first reaction product contains ammonium salicylate, which is formed by combining salicylic acid and ammonium hydroxide in a molar ratio of between about 1.90-2.19:1 which results in excess salicylic acid being present as a component of the first reaction product. The second reaction product contains potassium acetate, which is formed by combining potassium hydroxide and acetic acid in a molar ratio of at least about 3:1 which results in excess potassium hydroxide being present as a component of the second reaction product. Thereafter, the first reaction product and second reaction product are combined to form the novel composition. The novel composition can range from a weight ratio of from 0.01-5.0 parts first reaction product to 5.0-0.01 parts second reaction product.
The resultant range in final product provides a starting point for one of ordinary skill to optimize the concentrations of ammonium salicylate, potassium salicylate, and potassium acetate. See MPEP 2144.05.
With regard to the requirement that the composition show synergy, Fabry directs the artisan of ordinary skill to use an “effective amount” (col 4, lines 10-11) and as noted above, provides guidance as to the amount of each active component of the composition. The examiner does not consider the preamble characterizing the invention as synergistic to patentably define over the prior art because the artisan of ordinary skill, e.g. an individual with a Ph.D. in agricultural sciences, would have been motivated to test multiple dosage of each agent to achieve optimal effectiveness, including synergistic efficacy. Testing for optimal amounts of three effective compounds would have been a matter of routine for one of ordinary skill.
With regard to claims 2 and 3, as noted above, the composition contains potassium acetate (salt of acetic acid) and ammonium and potassium salicylate (salt of salicylic acid).
With regard to claim 4, the claim as it is currently worded does not require the presence of the plant growth hormone, listed as optional in claim 1. However, the examiner notes that the composition is aqueous (col 4, lines 37-38) and contains salicylate (abstract), which in aqueous solution equilibrates with water to form salicylic acid.
With regard to claim 5, The composition may contain water (col 4, lines 37-38; an excipient), NPK fertilizers and secondary and micronutrients (i.e. supplements; col 3, lines 57-59).
With regard to claim 7, the composition is liquid (for spray application Col 4, lines 37-40) and contains water (an excipient).
With regard to claim 8, this claim recites an intended use for the composition, and Fabry indicates the composition is suitable for providing bactericidal, fungicidal, insecticidal, hormonal and nutritional activity (abstract) all of which would improve the yield and quality of produce from treated plants.
With regard to claim 9, the composition is applied and has the benefits noted supra.
With regard to claim 10, the examiner notes that the claim as it is currently worded does not require the presence of the plant growth hormones/plant growth regulators because they are optional in claim 1 and claim 10 only limits the identity of this substance if it is present.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fabry (US 8,207,089; issue date: 06/26/2012) as applied to claims 1-5 and 7-10 above, and further in view of Emerson et al. (US 2003/0040436; publication date: 02/27/2003).
The relevant disclosure of Fabry is set forth above. With regard to claim 6, Fabry discloses that the composition can contain additives (col 4, line 46) and that the goal is to form a stable composition with a long shelf life (col 4, lines 26-36), but Fabry does not disclose including an antioxidant.
Emerson, in the analogous art of agrochemical compositions (abstract), discloses that antioxidants in the range of 0.02% - 10% by weight can improve shelf life (0035).
It would have been prima facie obvious to add an antioxidant to the composition taught by Fabry. The artisan of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to do so in order to provide further assurance of a long shelf life, and had reasonable expectation of success because Fabry discloses additives are compatible and Emerson discloses antioxidants were known to improve shelf life as of the instant effective filing date.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fabry (US 8,207,089; issue date: 06/26/2012) and Emerson et al. (US 203/0040436; publication date: 02/27/2003) as applied to claims 1-10 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2008/0077251; publication date: 03/27/2008).
The relevant disclosures of Fabry and Emerson are set forth above. Neither reference discloses sodium nitroprusside.
Chen, who solves the problem of reducing oxidation of compositions affecting living things (title), discloses that sodium nitroprusside is an antioxidant (0119).
It would have been prima facie obvious to use sodium nitroprusside in the composition rendered obvious by Fabry/Emerson because one having ordinary skill would have recognized this substance as suitable for this purpose. See MPEP 2144.07.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 7-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims
1-14 of copending Application No. 18551827 (reference application); and
1-20 of copending Application No. 18551835 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims render obvious the instant claims.
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘827 and ‘835 applications embrace an agricultural composition containing potassium monoformate, potassium diformate, and salicylic acid (a plant hormone and an aromatic organic acid) as well as adjuvants. The claims of the ‘827 application embrace potassium acetate, which is a salt of acetic acid, as recited in instant claim 2. The claims of the ‘835 application embrace potassium formate, which is a salt of formic acid, as required by instant claim 2. The copending applications both recite limitations specifying the presence of nitrogen, phosphorus, and potassium (i.e. NPK), micronutrients such as magnesium, plant growth hormones, and excipients or vehicles.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 6 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims
1-14 of copending Application No. 18551827 (reference application); and
1-20 of copending Application No. 18551835 (reference application)
as applied to claims 1-5 and 7-10 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2008/0077251; publication date: 03/27/2008).
The relevant limitations of the copending applications are set forth above. Neither recites sodium nitroprusside.
Chen, who solves the problem of reducing oxidation of compositions affecting living things (title), discloses that sodium nitroprusside is an antioxidant (0119).
It would have been prima facie obvious to use sodium nitroprusside in the composition of the copending applications. The artisan of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to protect against oxidative damage and would have had reasonable expectation of success because sodium nitroprusside was known to provide this for agrochemical compositions as of the instant effective filing date.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KATHERINE PEEBLES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617