CTFR 18/551,826 CTFR 81189 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-7, 9-18, 22, 26-32, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Siomina et al. (hereinafter Siomina)(US 2011/0105144) . Regarding claim 1 , Siomina teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a repeater(Fig. 6), comprising: receiving a muting pattern configuration associated with at least one positioning reference signal (PRS) transmitted by a base station, the at least one PRS comprising one or more PRS resources of at least one PRS occasion(P[0123], first networking node communicates the muting pattern to the second network node; the first network node can be base station; the second network node can be the relay device); receiving at least one PRS resource of the one or more PRS resources from the base station(P[0121],assistance information is related to muting pattern); and muting the at least one PRS resource based on the muting pattern configuration(P[0120], mute its PRS transmission on other positioning occasions). Regarding claim 2 , Siomina teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the repeater is configured to refrain from repeater operation during a time period, a frequency range, or both corresponding to the at least one PRS resource(P[0090], relays can retransmit the PRS from the eNodeB’s in positioning occasions not utilized by eNodeB’s). Regarding claim 3 , Siomina teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the muting pattern configuration indicates a muting time period during which the repeater is expected to refrain from all repeater operations, including repetition of the at least one PRS resource and any data(P[0071], the skip indicator indicates a number of consecutive muted positioning occasions ….regularly repeats; P[0081], reduce the data needed to specify periodicity). Regarding claim 4 , Siomina teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the muting pattern configuration indicates a muting time period during which the repeater is expected to only refrain from repeater operations for PRS, including repetition of the at least one PRS resource(P[0071], the skip indicator indicates a number of consecutive muted positioning occasions ….regularly repeats). Regarding claim 5 , Siomina teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the muting pattern configuration indicates that the repeater is expected to refrain from repeater operations during the at least one PRS occasion(P[0090], relays can retransmit the PRS from the eNodeB’s in positioning occasions not utilized by eNodeB’s). Regarding claim 6 , Siomina teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the muting pattern configuration indicates that the repeater is expected to refrain from repeater operations for one or more repetitions of the at least one PRS resource(P[0124], skip indicator and the transmit positioning indicator; positioning occasions for the cell regularly repeats; P[0071]). Regarding claim 7, SIomina teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the muting pattern configuration indicates that the repeater is expected to refrain from repeater operations for specific PRS resources from the base station, including the at least one PRS resource(P[0112], base station and relay device can communicate its muting pattern(P[0035], transmitting PRS during positioning occasions; communicating its muting pattern to other network nodes and to UE; P[0109], relay device relays signals from base station). Regarding claim 9 , Siomina teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the muting pattern configuration is received from a location server(P[0123], the first network node can be the positioning node). Regarding claim 10 , Siomina teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the muting pattern configuration comprises a PRS configuration for a plurality of base stations, including the base station(P[0112], muting pattern may be communicated to another node in the network). Regarding claim 11 , Siomina teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the PRS configuration includes a muting indicator associated with each PRS resource, PRS resource set, or both indicated in the PRS configuration(P[0007], PRS resource element). Regarding claim 12 , Siomina teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the muting pattern configuration is received from the location server in one or more Long-Term Evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) muting pattern information elements (IEs)(P[0112], the base station the relay station can communicate its muting pattern to the positioning node over LPP protocol). Regarding claim 13 , Siomina teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the muting pattern configuration is received from the base station(P[0112], muting pattern may be communicated to another node in the network). Regarding claim 14 , Siomina teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the muting pattern configuration comprises a PRS configuration for the base station(P[0114], base station to determine muting pattern, not only for its corresponding cell, but also for other cells as well). Regarding claim 15 , Siomina teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the PRS configuration includes a muting indicator associated with each PRS resource indicated in the PRS configuration(items 810 and 830 in Fig. 8; network node (could be eNodeB); determine muting pattern and communicate muting pattern; P[0118-0119]). Regarding claim 16, Siomina teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the muting pattern configuration is received from the base station via radio resource control (RRC) signaling(items 810 and 830 in Fig. 8; network node (could be eNodeB); determine muting pattern and communicate muting pattern; signaling from eNodeB is RRC signaling). Regarding claim 17 , Siomina teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising: receiving an indication from the base station to activate the muting pattern configuration for the at least one PRS resource(P[0123], the second network node (relay device) may perform its PRS transmissions according the muting pattern provided). Regarding claim 18 , Siomina teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the indication is received in RRC signaling items 810 and 830 in Fig. 8; network node (could be eNodeB); determine muting pattern and communicate muting pattern; signaling from eNodeB is RRC signaling). Regarding claim 22 , Siomina teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the muting pattern configuration indicates time periods during which the repeater is expected to reduce transmit power for repeater operations(P[0070], muting ….power level can be reduced ). Claims 26-32, 35 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1-7 and 1 respectively . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 8, 23-25, 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siomina et al. (hereinafter Siomina)(US 2011/0105144) in view of Khoryaev et al. (hereinafter Khoryaev)(US 2022/0191830) . Regarding claim 8, Siomina teaches all the particulars of the claim except, wherein the muting pattern configuration indicates that the repeater is expected to refrain from repeater operations for specific symbols, subbands, or both of the at least one PRS resource. However, Khoryaev teaches in an analogous art wherein the muting pattern configuration indicates that the repeater is expected to refrain from repeater operations for specific symbols, subbands, or both of the at least one PRS resource(P[0063], occasion determines symbols; on/off DL-PRS resources). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method wherein the muting pattern configuration indicates that the repeater is expected to refrain from repeater operations for specific symbols, subbands, or both of the at least one PRS resource in order to have improved precision. Regarding claim 23 , SIomina teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving a muting pattern configuration associated with at least one positioning reference signal (PRS) transmitted by a base station, the at least one PRS comprising one or more PRS resources; receiving the at least one PRS resource from the base station; receiving one PRS resource from the repeater; and determining that the one PRS resource were received from the repeater based on reception one PRS resource from the base station (Fig. 6; P[0123], first networking node communicates the muting pattern to the second network node; the first network node can be base station; the second network node can be the relay device; P[0121],assistance information is related to muting pattern; P[0120], mute its PRS transmission on other positioning occasions). Siomina further teaches different base stations with setting optimal muting(P[0059]) and also relays can transmit the PRS received from the eNodeB’s in positioning occasions not utilized by eNodeBs). Siomina teaches all the particulars of the claim except, wherein the muting pattern configuration indicates that the repeater is expected to refrain from repeater operations for specific symbols, subbands, or both of the at least one PRS resource of the one or more PRS resources. However, Khoryaev teaches in an analogous art wherein the muting pattern configuration indicates that the repeater is expected to refrain from repeater operations for specific symbols, subbands, or both of the at least one PRS resource of the one or more PRS resources(P[0063], occasion determines symbols; on/off DL-PRS resources). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method wherein the muting pattern configuration indicates that the repeater is expected to refrain from repeater operations for specific symbols, subbands, or both of the at least one or more PRS resource of the one or more PRS resources in order to have improved efficiency. Regarding claim 24 , SIomina teaches the method of claim 23, wherein the muting pattern configuration is received from the base station(P[0090], relays can retransmit the PRS from the eNodeB’s in positioning occasions not utilized by eNodeB’s). Regarding claim 25 , Siomina teaches the method, wherein the muting pattern configuration is received from a location server(P[0123], the first network node can be the positioning node). Claim 33 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8. Claim 34 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 23 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siomina et al. (hereinafter Siomina)(US 2011/0105144) in view of Zhang (hereinafter Zhang) (US 2016/0066176) . Regarding claim 19, Siomina teaches all the particulars of the claim except, wherein muting the at least one PRS resource is further based on one or more priority rules indicating how the repeater is expected to handle a conflict between PRS and data. However, Zhang teaches in an analogous art wherein muting the at least one PRS resource is further based on one or more priority rules indicating how the transmitter is expected to handle a conflict between PRS and data(title, avoid transmitting downlink control signal in presence of positioning signal; abstract). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method wherein muting the at least one PRS resource is further based on one or more priority rules indicating how the repeater is expected to handle a conflict between PRS and data in order to have improved precision. Regarding claim 20 , Zhang teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the one or more priority rules indicate whether the repeater is expected to prioritize the PRS or the data based on: a traffic type of the data, an identity of a UE for which the PRS is transmitted, whether the base station is a serving base station for the UE, or any combination thereof(P[0032], serving eNB; two types of configuration information; P[0035], can avoid transmitting ePDCCH to the UE in the presence of PRS; P[0037], identity of the UE). Regarding claim 21 , SIomina teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the one or more priority rules are received from the base station or a location server({0123], communicates the muting pattern that it has determined to the second network node; first network node can be the positioning node and the second network node can be the relay station) . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 5/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant’s arguments with respect to claim1, the paragraph of Siomina is shown below: [0123] Of course, the first and second network nodes can be different nodes. When they are different nodes, the first network node communicates the muting pattern or patterns it has determined to the second network node in step 830. The first network node can be a beaconing device 650, a relay device 640, or a base station 610 and the second network node can be the positioning node 630 or another base station 610. The second network node such as the positioning node 630 stores the muting pattern of the cell and provides assistance information to the UE 620 when required. On the other hand, the first network node can be the positioning node 630 and the second network node can be the base station 610, the relay device 640 or the beaconing device 650. The second network node may perform its PRS transmissions according to the muting pattern provided by the positioning node 630. The relay device (second network node) perform its PRS transmissions according to the muting pattern provided by the first network node which could be base station. In P[0090], Siomina further teaches the relays can retransmit the PRS received from the eNodeB's. As can be seen from the above paragraphs of Siomina, these functionalities of these nodes are interchangeable and also communicated among devices.. Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MUTHUSWAMY GANAPATHY MANOHARAN whose telephone number is (571)272-5515. The examiner can normally be reached 6:30am-3:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Alison T Slater can be reached at 571-270-0375. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/551,826 Page 2 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/551,826 Page 3 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/551,826 Page 4 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/551,826 Page 5 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/551,826 Page 6 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/551,826 Page 7 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/551,826 Page 8 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/551,826 Page 9 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/551,826 Page 10 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/551,826 Page 11 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/551,826 Page 12 Art Unit: 2647