Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 14-19, 22-25, 28-30 & 33-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Voudrell et al. (US 20180334258).
1. Voudrell et al. teach:
An electric drive/f2nd propulsor assembly 54 comprising:
an electric machine/electric motor 206, having a stator 306, a rotor 304, a shaft 312 and a rotor blade 208, wherein the rotor blade is attached to the shaft (fig 3) and the rotor comprises magnets 314;
a duct (annotated fig 3 below);
a plurality of vanes 216; and
an annular hub/core 214 surrounding the stator;
wherein the rotor blade, the shaft, and the magnets are thermally conductively connected (since they are all touching each other, figs 3-5) so that the rotor blade forms a heat sink for the magnets;
the electric machine is located within the duct (fig 3);
the stator is connected to the duct by the plurality of vanes (via the housing 308 and core 214, figs 3-5);
the plurality of vanes are arranged downstream of the rotor blade (fig 3);
the plurality of vanes are connected to the stator by means of the annular hub/core 214 surrounding the stator (figs 3-5); and
the annular hub is thermally connected to the plurality of vanes and the stator (figs 3-5).
2. Voudrell et al. teach:
The electric drive according to claim 1, wherein the rotor is positioned concentrically within the stator about a rotation axis (figs 3-5).
3. Voudrell et al. teach:
The electric drive according to claim 2, wherein the magnets are mounted externally on an iron core 324 (the examiner is making a note that it is known that the term “core” is generally understood as an iron core) in an annular arrangement (figs 3-5).
14. Voudrell et al. teach:
The electric drive according to claim 1, wherein the shaft is connected to the rotor of the electric machine in a material-locking manner (figs 4 & 5).
15. Voudrell et al. teach:
The electric drive according to claim 1, wherein the electric machine is an AC synchronous machine (since it is a permanent magnet machine, MPEP 2112…Still further, AC motors are a well-known motor in the propulsor field).
16. Voudrell et al. teach:
The electric drive according to claim 1, further comprising an aircraft 10, wherein the electric drive according to claim 1 is mounted to the aircraft (FIG 26).
17. Voudrell et al. teach:
The electric drive according to claim 16, further comprising a wing 15 connected to the aircraft, wherein the electric drive is pivotably connected to a wing 15 of the aircraft (FIG 26).
18. Voudrell et al. teach:
An electric drive/f2nd propulsor assembly 54 comprising:
an electric machine/electric motor 206 having a stator 306, a rotor 304, a shaft 312, and a rotor blade 208;
a duct (annotated fig 3 below);
a plurality of vanes 216; and
an annular hub/core 214;
wherein the electric machine is located within the duct (fig 3), the stator is connected to the duct by the plurality of vanes (via the housing 308 and core 214, figs 3-5),
the plurality of vanes are arranged downstream of the rotor blade (fig 3),
the plurality of vanes are connected to the stator by means of the annular hub surrounding the stator (figs 3-5), and
the annular hub is thermally connected to the plurality of vanes and the stator (figs 3-5).
19. Voudrell et al. teach:
The electric drive of claim 18, wherein the rotor is positioned concentrically within the stator about a rotation axis (figs 3-5).
22. Voudrell et al. teach:
The electric drive according to claim 18, further comprising an aircraft 10, wherein the electric drive according to claim 18 is mounted to the aircraft (fig 1).
23. Voudrell et al. teach:
An electric drive/f2nd propulsor assembly 54 comprising:
an electric machine/electric motor 206 having a stator 306, a rotor 304, a shaft 312, and a rotor blade 208;
a duct (annotated fig 3 below);
a plurality of vanes 216;
an annular hub/core 214;
wherein: the electric machine is located within the duct (fig 3);
the stator is connected to the duct by the plurality of vanes (via the housing 308 and core 214, figs 3-5);
the rotor of the electric machine is fastened to the shaft (fig 3);
the vanes are connected to the stator by means of the annular hub surrounding the stator (figs 3-5);
the annular hub is thermally connected to the vanes (figs 3-5); and
the annular hub is thermally connected to the stator (figs 3-5).
24. Voudrell et al. teach:
The electric drive of claim 23, further comprising magnets 314, wherein the rotor blade, the shaft, and the magnets are thermally connected so that the rotor blade forms a heat sink for the magnets (figs 3-5).
25. Voudrell et al. teach:
The electric drive according to claim 23, wherein the shaft is connected to the rotor of the electric machine (figs 3-5).
28. Voudrell et al. teach:
An electric drive/f2nd propulsor assembly 54 comprising:
an electric machine/electric motor 206 having a stator 306, a rotor 304, a shaft 312, and a rotor blade 208;
a duct (annotated fig 3 below);
a plurality of vanes 216;
an annular hub/core 214;
wherein: the electric machine is located within the duct (fig 3);
the stator is connected to the duct by the plurality of vanes (via the housing 308 and core 214, figs 3-5);
the shaft is configured to be rotatable (fig 3);
the vanes are connected to the stator by means of the annular hub surrounding the stator (figs 3-5);
the annular hub is thermally connected to the vanes (figs 3-5); and
the annular hub is thermally connected to the stator (figs 3-5).
29. Voudrell et al. teach:
The electric drive of claim 28, further comprising magnets, wherein the rotor blade, the shaft, and the magnets are thermally connected so that the rotor blade forms a heat sink for the magnets (figs 3-5).
30. Voudrell et al. teach:
The electric drive according to claim 28, wherein the shaft is connected to the rotor of the electric machine (figs 3-5).
33. Voudrell et al. teach:
An electric drive/f2nd propulsor assembly 54 comprising:
an electric machine/electric motor 206 having a stator 306, a rotor 304, a shaft 312, and a rotor blade 208;
a duct (annotated fig 3 below);
a plurality of vanes 216;
an annular hub/core 214;
wherein: the electric machine is located within the duct (fig 3);
the stator is connected to the duct by the plurality of vanes (via the housing 308 and core 214, figs 3-5);
the rotor of the electric machine is fastened to the shaft (fig 3);
the vanes are connected to the stator by means of the annular hub surrounding the stator (figs 3-5);
the annular hub is thermally connected to the vanes (figs 3-5); and
the annular hub is thermally connected to the stator (figs 3-5).
34. Voudrell et al. teach:
The electric drive of claim 33, further comprising magnets, wherein the rotor blade, the shaft, and the magnets are thermally connected so that the rotor blade forms a heat sink for the magnets (figs 3-5).
35. Voudrell et al. teach:
The electric drive according to claim 33, wherein the shaft is connected to the rotor of the electric machine (figs 3-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 11, 21, 27, 32, and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voudrell et al. in view of Darnis (US 20110204628).
4. Voudrell et al. Has been discussed above, re claim 1; but does not teach that the iron core is formed of laminated steel sheets.
However, this is well known in the electric motor art to have either/both of the stator and rotor having a laminated core to reduce eddy current losses. Darnis is being used as magnetic element 136 is in the form of strips or sheets (para 0043 and fig 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention Voudrell et al. such that the iron core is formed of laminated steel sheets, as taught by Darnis to reduce eddy current losses.
11. Voudrell et al. Has been discussed above, re claim 1; but does not teach that the shaft is formed as a hollow shaft.
However, this is well known in the electric motor art to have a hollow shaft to reduce the weight of the motor. Darnis is being used to show that the shaft is formed as a hollow shaft (fig 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention Voudrell et al. such that the shaft is formed as a hollow shaft, as taught by Darnis to reduce weight of the motor.
21. Voudrell et al. Has been discussed above, re claim 18; but does not teach that the shaft is formed as a hollow shaft.
However, this is well known in the electric motor art to have a hollow shaft to reduce the weight of the motor. Darnis is being used to show that the shaft is formed as a hollow shaft (fig 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention Voudrell et al. such that the shaft is formed as a hollow shaft, as taught by Darnis to reduce weight of the motor.
27. Voudrell et al. Has been discussed above, re claim 23; but does not teach that the shaft is formed as a hollow shaft.
However, this is well known in the electric motor art to have a hollow shaft to reduce the weight of the motor. Darnis is being used to show that the shaft is formed as a hollow shaft (fig 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention Voudrell et al. such that the shaft is formed as a hollow shaft, as taught by Darnis to reduce weight of the motor.
32. Voudrell et al. Has been discussed above, re claim 28; but does not teach that the shaft is formed as a hollow shaft.
However, this is well known in the electric motor art to have a hollow shaft to reduce the weight of the motor. Darnis is being used to show that the shaft is formed as a hollow shaft (fig 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention Voudrell et al. such that the shaft is formed as a hollow shaft, as taught by Darnis to reduce weight of the motor.
37. Voudrell et al. Has been discussed above, re claim 33; but does not teach that the shaft is formed as a hollow shaft.
However, this is well known in the electric motor art to have a hollow shaft to reduce the weight of the motor. Darnis is being used to show that the shaft is formed as a hollow shaft (fig 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention Voudrell et al. such that the shaft is formed as a hollow shaft, as taught by Darnis to reduce weight of the motor.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voudrell et al. in view of Colmagro et al. (US 20200377222).
9. Voudrell et al. has been discussed above, re claim 1; but does not teach that the vanes each include at least one heat pipe.
Colmagro et al. teach that the vanes each include at least one heat pipe (para 0037) to evacuate the heat from the motor (abstract) which improves the longevity of the motor.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Voudrell et al. so that the vanes each include at least one heat pipe, as taught by Colmagro et al. so as to improve the longevity of the electric machine.
Claim(s) 7, 26, 31 & 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voudrell et al. in view of Zhang et al. (CN 110768415).
7. Voudrell et al. has been discussed above, re claim 1; but does not teach that a heat transfer coefficient provided by a contact resistance between the stator and the hub, the heat conductivity of the hub material, the heat conductivity of the vane material and the surfaces of the vanes within the airflow generated by the ducted fan is above 100 W/(m2 * K), and preferably above 200 W/(m2*K).
Zhang et al. teach that the heat conductivity of the hub material (since it is made from aluminum, para 0031), the heat conductivity of the vane material and the surfaces of the vanes within the airflow generated by the ducted fan is above 100 W/(m2 * K) (since it is made from aluminum, para 0031), and preferably above 200 W/(m2*K) (Heat conductivity of Aluminum is 237 W/m2*K is well known) to evacuate the heat from the motor (abstract) which improves the longevity of the motor.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Voudrell et al. so that a heat transfer coefficient provided by a contact resistance between the stator and the hub, the heat conductivity of the hub material, the heat conductivity of the vane material and the surfaces of the vanes within the airflow generated by the ducted fan is above 100 W/(m2 * K), and preferably above 200 W/(m2*K), as taught by Zhang et al. so as to improve the longevity of the electric machine.
26. Voudrell et al. has been discussed above, re claim 23; but does not teach that a heat transfer coefficient provided by a contact resistance between the stator and the hub, the heat conductivity of the hub material, the heat conductivity of the vane material and the surfaces of the vanes within the airflow generated by the ducted fan is above 100 W/(m2 * K), and preferably above 200 W/(m2*K).
Zhang et al. teach that the heat conductivity of the hub material (since it is made from aluminum, para 0031), the heat conductivity of the vane material and the surfaces of the vanes within the airflow generated by the ducted fan is above 100 W/(m2 * K) (since it is made from aluminum, para 0031), and preferably above 200 W/(m2*K) (Heat conductivity of Aluminum is 237 W/m2*K is well known) to evacuate the heat from the motor (abstract) which improves the longevity of the motor.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Voudrell et al. so that a heat transfer coefficient provided by a contact resistance between the stator and the hub, the heat conductivity of the hub material, the heat conductivity of the vane material and the surfaces of the vanes within the airflow generated by the ducted fan is above 100 W/(m2 * K), and preferably above 200 W/(m2*K), as taught by Zhang et al. so as to improve the longevity of the electric machine.
31. Voudrell et al. has been discussed above, re claim 28; but does not teach that a heat transfer coefficient provided by a contact resistance between the stator and the hub, the heat conductivity of the hub material, the heat conductivity of the vane material and the surfaces of the vanes within the airflow generated by the ducted fan is above 100 W/(m2 * K), and preferably above 200 W/(m2*K).
Zhang et al. teach that the heat conductivity of the hub material (since it is made from aluminum, para 0031), the heat conductivity of the vane material and the surfaces of the vanes within the airflow generated by the ducted fan is above 100 W/(m2 * K) (since it is made from aluminum, para 0031), and preferably above 200 W/(m2*K) (Heat conductivity of Aluminum is 237 W/m2*K is well known) to evacuate the heat from the motor (abstract) which improves the longevity of the motor.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Voudrell et al. so that a heat transfer coefficient provided by a contact resistance between the stator and the hub, the heat conductivity of the hub material, the heat conductivity of the vane material and the surfaces of the vanes within the airflow generated by the ducted fan is above 100 W/(m2 * K), and preferably above 200 W/(m2*K), as taught by Zhang et al. so as to improve the longevity of the electric machine.
36. Voudrell et al. has been discussed above, re claim 33; but does not teach that a heat transfer coefficient provided by a contact resistance between the stator and the hub, the heat conductivity of the hub material, the heat conductivity of the vane material and the surfaces of the vanes within the airflow generated by the ducted fan is above 100 W/(m2 * K), and preferably above 200 W/(m2*K).
Zhang et al. teach that the heat conductivity of the hub material (since it is made from aluminum, para 0031), the heat conductivity of the vane material and the surfaces of the vanes within the airflow generated by the ducted fan is above 100 W/(m2 * K) (since it is made from aluminum, para 0031), and preferably above 200 W/(m2*K) (Heat conductivity of Aluminum is 237 W/m2*K is well known) to evacuate the heat from the motor (abstract) which improves the longevity of the motor.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Voudrell et al. so that a heat transfer coefficient provided by a contact resistance between the stator and the hub, the heat conductivity of the hub material, the heat conductivity of the vane material and the surfaces of the vanes within the airflow generated by the ducted fan is above 100 W/(m2 * K), and preferably above 200 W/(m2*K), as taught by Zhang et al. so as to improve the longevity of the electric machine.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voudrell et al. in view of Haran (US 20200007007).
10. Voudrell et al. has been discussed above, re claim 1; but does not teach that the magnets are arranged in a Halbach array arrangement.
Haran teaches that the magnets 50 are arranged in a Halbach array (Fig 3B) arrangement to reduce the weight of the rotor (para 00552nd sentence) which improves the versatility of the motor.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Voudrell et al. so that the magnets are arranged in a Halbach array arrangement, as taught by Haran so as to improve the versatility of the electric machine.
Claim(s) 8, 13 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voudrell et al. in view of Hussain (US 7396208).
8. Voudrell et al. has been discussed above, re claim 1; but does not teach that the vanes and a hub are machined in a single piece.
Hussain teaches that the rotor blades 10 are connected to the shaft (fig 4) by a disk (of Voudrell et al.) and the rotor blades, the disk and the shaft are machined in a single piece (col 3 4th para) to stably secure the rotor blades on the shaft which improves the longevity of the motor. Since this method is used to improve the longevity of the motor, the person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the same method so that the vanes and a hub are machined in a single place.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Voudrell et al. so that the vanes and a hub are machined in a single piece, as taught by Hussain so as to improve the longevity of the electric machine.
13. Voudrell et al. has been discussed above, re claim 1; but does not teach the rotor blade is connected to the shaft by a disk, and the rotor blade, the disk, and the shaft are machined in a single piece.
Hussain teaches that the rotor blades 10 are connected to the shaft (fig 4) by a disk (of Voudrell et al.) and the rotor blades, the disk and the shaft are machined in a single piece (col 3 4th para) to stably secure the rotor blades on the shaft which improves the longevity of the motor. Since this method is used to improve the longevity of the motor, the person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the same method so that the vanes and a hub are machined in a single place.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Voudrell et al. so that the rotor blade is connected to the shaft by a disk, and the rotor blade, the disk, and the shaft are machined in a single piece, as taught by Hussain so as to improve the longevity of the electric machine.
20. Voudrell et al. has been discussed above, re claim 18; but does not teach that the vanes and a hub are machined in a single piece.
Hussain teaches that the rotor blades 10 are connected to the shaft (fig 4) by a disk (of Voudrell et al.) and the rotor blades, the disk and the shaft are machined in a single piece (col 3 4th para) to stably secure the rotor blades on the shaft which improves the longevity of the motor. Since this method is used to improve the longevity of the motor, the person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the same method so that the vanes and a hub are machined in a single place.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Voudrell et al. so that the vanes and a hub are machined in a single piece, as taught by Hussain so as to improve the longevity of the electric machine.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voudrell et al. in view of Hennig (EP 3667875).
17. Voudrell et al. has been discussed above, re claim 16; but does not teach that the at least one electric drive is pivotably connected to a wing of the aircraft.
Hennig teaches that t the at least one electric drive 108 is pivotably connected to a wing 104 of the aircraft 100 to improve the versatility of the aircraft (figs 1a & 1b).
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Voudrell et al. so that the at least one electric drive is pivotably connected to a wing of the aircraft, as taught by Hennig so as to improve the versatility of the aircraft.
Conclusion
/TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834