DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-8 and 14-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, variable A in Formula (I) is not clearly defined in the claim(s). It is unclear whether applicant intends for the variable to be limited to a linking moiety attached to a coated platinum electrode…heterocyclic group, H, a substituted or unsubstituted aliphatic group, a substituted or unsubstituted aliphatic ether, a substituted or unsubstituted heteroalkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted aromatic group, a substituted or unsubstituted heterocyclic group. Thus, one would not have been apprised of the metes and bounds of Formula (I). The deficiency is not rectified in claims 6-8 and 15-16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by McGall et al. US 2017/0067095 A1 (McGall).
McGall teaches a solid support system comprising a planar surface and a universal linker as depicted in FIG. 7D.
The solid support system of McGall is embraced by the instant claims. Regarding the clause “wherein the planar surface is coated…universal linker” in claim 2, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. McGall teaches all of the instantly claimed elements. Thus, claims 1-2 are anticipated.
Claim(s) 29 and 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by McGall et al. US 2017/0067095 A1 (McGall).
McGall teaches a cleavable linker having the structure:
.
The linker of McGall is embraced a compound of Formula (XI), wherein X = acyl; Y = dimethoxytrityl group; and n = 3. Regarding the clause(s) “wherein the silyl is…or triisopropylsilyl” in claim 32 and “wherein the silyl is tert-butyldimethylsilyl” in claim 33, X is not limited to silyl. McGall teaches all of the instantly claimed elements. Thus, claims 29 and 32-33 are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGall et al. US 2017/0067095 A1 (McGall) as applied to claims 29 and 32-33 above.
McGall differs from the instantly claimed invention in that McGall does not teach a compound wherein n is 5; however, that deficiency would have been prima facie obvious. A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. “An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” Compounds which are homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977).
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 10, 14-18, 20-21, 29-33, and 43 are pending. Claims 1-2, 5-8, 14-16, 29-30, and 32-33 are rejected. Claims 31 and 43 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 10, 17-18, and 20-21 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: McGall et al. US 2017/0067095 A1 (McGall) is representative of prior art. McGall differs from the instantly claimed invention in that McGall does not teach or suggest the instantly claimed methodological steps (e.g., coupling the surface with a universal linker).
Contacts
/PATRICK T LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/PL/