DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In response to the application filed on 07/02/2026, claims 1-30 are currently pending for the examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-15, 17-22, 24-28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (US 2019/0268060 A1 as published on 08/29/2019) in view of WEI et al. (US 2017/0367121 A1).
Regarding claim 1; Nam teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: one memory; and one processor coupled to the memory, the processor capable of being configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to a network entity in a random access channel (RACH) message of (See Fig. 12: generating a message comprising a RACH preamble. ¶ [0103]) a RACH procedure (See Fig. 9: FIG. 9 is a timing diagram 900 illustrating an example four-step RACH procedure. ¶ [0084-0085]), an indication of at least one of a capability of the apparatus (See Fig. 12: At block 1204, the operations 1200 continue by determining an order of a plurality of beams (i.e., the capability of the UE/apparatus) for transmitting the message based on an indication of the order. ¶ [0103]), wherein the indication comprises a RACH MSG1 that allows a coverage enhancement capability of the apparatus (See Figs. 9-10: Multiple MSG1 (i.e., RACH preamble) transmissions allows/indicates for combining of the gain from the MSG1 transmissions at the base station to enhance coverage. ¶ [0097]); and
communicate with the network entity in accordance with the indication (See Fig. 12: at block 1206, transmitting the message, to a network node, via the plurality of beams in accordance with the determined order of the beams. ¶ [0103]).
Even though, Nam teaches the RACH MSG1 that allows a coverage enhancement capability of the apparatus, Nam doesn’t explicitly provide the indication of RACH preamble.
However, Wei further states the indication of the RACH preamble (Wei- the UE to transmits a preamble (i.e., RACH preamble) repeatedly in an NPRACH during a NPRACH transmission period according to the random access resource configuration. The base station detects the preamble in the NPRACH during the NPRACH transmission period, and transmits a random access feedback message in the NPDCCH during the NPRACH pause period. The user equipment receives the random access feedback message in the NPDCCH during the NPRACH pause period, and adjusts a transmission behavior of transmitting the preamble during the NPRACH transmission period for Narrowband Internet of things NB-IoT. See Abstract and Wei’s claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the indication of the RACH preamble as taught by Wei to have incorporated in the system of Nam, so that it would provide to enable the user equipment to adjust the transmission behavior of transmitting the preamble during the NPRACH transmission period according to the random access feedback message. Wei-¶ [0009].
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “at least one of…or…”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 2; Nam teaches the apparatus wherein to transmit the indication, in the RACH message, the processor is further configured to transmit the indication, in the RACH message via control signaling in a medium access control (MAC) layer (See FIG. 5, the Radio Resource Control (RRC) layer, Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer, Radio Link Control (RLC) layer, Medium Access Control (MAC) layer, and a Physical (PHY) layers may be adaptably placed at the DU or CU (e.g., TRP or ANC, respectively). ¶ [0058]).
Regarding claim 3; Nam teaches the apparatus wherein the indication includes a message from a control plane protocol stack (See Fig. 6: The control portion 602 may exist in the initial or beginning portion of the DL-centric subframe 600. The control portion 602 may include various scheduling information and/or control information corresponding to various portions of the DL-centric subframe 600. In some configurations, the control portion 602 may be a physical DL control channel (PDCCH), as indicated in FIG. 6. ¶ [0072]).
Regarding claim 4; Nam teaches the apparatus wherein to transmit the indication, in the RACH message, the processor is further configured to transmit the indication, in the RACH message in a MAC subheader of a MAC packet (See Figs. 11: in certain aspects of the present disclosure, the order (or rules for determining the order) may be fixed in a specification or indicated to the UE by radio resource control (RRC), medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), remaining minimum system information (RMSI), other system information (OSI), handover command, or downlink control information (DCI) signaling. ¶ [0100]).
Regarding claim 5; Nam teaches the apparatus wherein the MAC subheader includes a logic channel identifier (LCID) having one or more codepoints associated with the capability or the service (See Figs. 5 and 6: one of BS 110 a or BS 110 b may respond with a random access response (RAR) message (MSG2) which may include the identifier (ID) of the RACH preamble, a timing advance (TA), an uplink grant, cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI), and a back off indicator. ¶ [0085]).
Regarding claim 6; Nam teaches the apparatus wherein the MAC packet includes a common control channel (CCCH) message (See Fig. 9: MSG2 may include a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) including control information for a following communication on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)…¶ [0086]).
Regarding claim 7; Nam teaches the apparatus wherein the processor is further configured to: receive a configuration for one or more random access parameters associated with the capability or the service; and perform the RACH procedure according to the one or more random access parameters (See Fig. 9: the four-step RACH procedure, in accordance with certain aspects of the present disclosure. A first message (MSG1) may be sent from the UE 120 to BS 110 a (e.g., eNB) and BS 110 b on the physical random access channel (PRACH). In this case, MSG1 may only include a RACH preamble. ¶ [0084-0086]); and to perform the RACH procedure, the processor is further configured to transmit the indication, in the RACH message (See Fig. 10: FIG. 10 is a diagram of an example uplink communication 1000 of MSG1 for a four-step RACH procedure, in accordance with certain aspects of the present disclosure. The uplink communication 1000 begins with a DL common burst, and ends with an UL common burst, as illustrated. The PRACH is included as part of the regulator UL burst between the DL and UL common bursts and includes a cyclic prefix (CP). ¶ [0087] and ¶ [0088]).
Regarding claim 9; Nam teaches the apparatus wherein the indication includes a demodulation reference signal sequence value that indicates the capability or the service (Nam: See Figs. 9 and 10: A BS may monitor beams using beam measurements and feedback from a UE. For example, a BS may monitor active beams using DL reference signals. A BS may transmit a DL RS, such as a measurement reference signal (MRS), channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or a synchronization (synch) signal. A UE may report, to the BS, a reference signal receive power (RSRP) associated with a received reference signal. In this manner, the BS may monitor active beams. ¶ [0082]).
Regarding claim 10; Nam teaches the apparatus wherein the capability includes an enhanced mobile broadband capability (Nam: NR may support various wireless communication services, such as enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB) targeting wide bandwidth (e.g. 80 MHz beyond), millimeter wave (mmW) targeting high carrier frequency (e.g. 27 GHz or beyond), massive machine type communications (mMTC) targeting non-backward compatible MTC techniques, and/or mission critical targeting ultra-reliable low-latency communications (URLLC). ¶ [0035]).
Regarding claim 11; Nam teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor capable of being configured to:
receive, from a user equipment (UE) in a random access channel (RACH) message of (See Fig. 12: generating a message comprising a RACH preamble. ¶ [0103]) a RACH procedure (See Fig. 9: FIG. 9 is a timing diagram 900 illustrating an example four-step RACH procedure. ¶ [0084-0085]), an indication of at least one of a capability of the UE (See Fig. 12: At block 1204, the operations 1200 continue by determining an order of a plurality of beams (i.e., the capability of the UE/apparatus) for transmitting the message based on an indication of the order. ¶ [0103]), wherein the indication comprises a RACH MSG1 that allows a coverage enhancement capability of the apparatus (See Figs. 9-10: Multiple MSG1 (i.e., RACH preamble) transmissions allows/indicates for combining of the gain from the MSG1 transmissions at the base station to enhance coverage. ¶ [0097]); and
communicate with the UE in accordance with the indication (See Fig. 12: at block 1206, transmitting the message, to a network node, via the plurality of beams in accordance with the determined order of the beams. ¶ [0103]).
Even though, Nam teaches the RACH MSG1 that allows a coverage enhancement capability of the apparatus, Nam doesn’t explicitly provide the indication of RACH preamble.
However, Wei further states the indication of the RACH preamble (Wei- the UE to transmits a preamble (i.e., RACH preamble) repeatedly in an NPRACH during a NPRACH transmission period according to the random access resource configuration. The base station detects the preamble in the NPRACH during the NPRACH transmission period, and transmits a random access feedback message in the NPDCCH during the NPRACH pause period. The user equipment receives the random access feedback message in the NPDCCH during the NPRACH pause period, and adjusts a transmission behavior of transmitting the preamble during the NPRACH transmission period for Narrowband Internet of things NB-IoT. See Abstract and Wei’s claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the indication of the RACH preamble as taught by Wei to have incorporated in the system of Nam, so that it would provide to enable the user equipment to adjust the transmission behavior of transmitting the preamble during the NPRACH transmission period according to the random access feedback message. Wei-¶ [0009].
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “at least one of…or…”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 12; Nam teaches the apparatus wherein to transmit the indication, in the RACH message, the processor is further configured to transmit the indication, in the RACH message via control signaling in a medium access control (MAC) layer (See FIG. 5, the Radio Resource Control (RRC) layer, Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer, Radio Link Control (RLC) layer, Medium Access Control (MAC) layer, and a Physical (PHY) layers may be adaptably placed at the DU or CU (e.g., TRP or ANC, respectively). ¶ [0058]).
Regarding claim 13; Nam teaches the apparatus wherein the indication includes a message from a control plane protocol stack (See Fig. 6: The control portion 602 may exist in the initial or beginning portion of the DL-centric subframe 600. The control portion 602 may include various scheduling information and/or control information corresponding to various portions of the DL-centric subframe 600. In some configurations, the control portion 602 may be a physical DL control channel (PDCCH), as indicated in FIG. 6. ¶ [0072]).
Regarding claim 14; Nam teaches the apparatus wherein to transmit the indication, in the RACH message, the processor is further configured to transmit the indication, in the RACH message in a MAC subheader of a MAC packet (See Figs. 11: in certain aspects of the present disclosure, the order (or rules for determining the order) may be fixed in a specification or indicated to the UE by radio resource control (RRC), medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), remaining minimum system information (RMSI), other system information (OSI), handover command, or downlink control information (DCI) signaling. ¶ [0100]).
Regarding claim 15; Nam teaches the apparatus wherein the MAC subheader includes a logic channel identifier (LCID) having one or more codepoints associated with the capability or the service (See Figs. 5 and 6: one of BS 110 a or BS 110 b may respond with a random access response (RAR) message (MSG2) which may include the identifier (ID) of the RACH preamble, a timing advance (TA), an uplink grant, cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI), and a back off indicator. ¶ [0085]).
Regarding claim 17; Nam teaches the apparatus wherein the capability includes an enhanced mobile broadband capability (Nam: NR may support various wireless communication services, such as enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB) targeting wide bandwidth (e.g. 80 MHz beyond), millimeter wave (mmW) targeting high carrier frequency (e.g. 27 GHz or beyond), massive machine type communications (mMTC) targeting non-backward compatible MTC techniques, and/or mission critical targeting ultra-reliable low-latency communications (URLLC). ¶ [0035]).
Regarding claim 18; Nam teaches a method of wireless communication by a UE, comprising:
transmitting, to a network entity in a random access channel (RACH) message of (See Fig. 12: generating a message comprising a RACH preamble. ¶ [0103]) a RACH procedure (See Fig. 9: FIG. 9 is a timing diagram 900 illustrating an example four-step RACH procedure. ¶ [0084-0085]), an indication of at least one of a capability of the apparatus (See Fig. 12: At block 1204, the operations 1200 continue by determining an order of a plurality of beams (i.e., the capability of the UE/apparatus) for transmitting the message based on an indication of the order. ¶ [0103]) wherein the indication comprises a RACH MSG1 that allows a coverage enhancement capability of the apparatus (See Figs. 9-10: Multiple MSG1 (i.e., RACH preamble) transmissions allows/indicates for combining of the gain from the MSG1 transmissions at the base station to enhance coverage. ¶ [0097]); and
communicate with the network entity in accordance with the indication (See Fig. 12: at block 1206, transmitting the message, to a network node, via the plurality of beams in accordance with the determined order of the beams. ¶ [0103]).
Even though, Nam teaches the RACH MSG1 that allows a coverage enhancement capability of the apparatus, Nam doesn’t explicitly provide the indication of RACH preamble.
However, Wei further states the indication of the RACH preamble (Wei- the UE to transmits a preamble (i.e., RACH preamble) repeatedly in an NPRACH during a NPRACH transmission period according to the random access resource configuration. The base station detects the preamble in the NPRACH during the NPRACH transmission period, and transmits a random access feedback message in the NPDCCH during the NPRACH pause period. The user equipment receives the random access feedback message in the NPDCCH during the NPRACH pause period, and adjusts a transmission behavior of transmitting the preamble during the NPRACH transmission period for Narrowband Internet of things NB-IoT. See Abstract and Wei’s claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the indication of the RACH preamble as taught by Wei to have incorporated in the system of Nam, so that it would provide to enable the user equipment to adjust the transmission behavior of transmitting the preamble during the NPRACH transmission period according to the random access feedback message. Wei-¶ [0009].
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “at least one of…or…”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 19; Nam teaches the apparatus wherein to transmit the indication, in the RACH message, the processor is further configured to transmit the indication, in the RACH message via control signaling in a medium access control (MAC) layer (See FIG. 5, the Radio Resource Control (RRC) layer, Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer, Radio Link Control (RLC) layer, Medium Access Control (MAC) layer, and a Physical (PHY) layers may be adaptably placed at the DU or CU (e.g., TRP or ANC, respectively). ¶ [0058]).
Regarding claim 20; Nam teaches the apparatus wherein to transmit the indication, in the RACH message, the processor is further configured to transmit the indication, in the RACH message in a MAC subheader of a MAC packet (See Figs. 11: in certain aspects of the present disclosure, the order (or rules for determining the order) may be fixed in a specification or indicated to the UE by radio resource control (RRC), medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), remaining minimum system information (RMSI), other system information (OSI), handover command, or downlink control information (DCI) signaling. ¶ [0100]).
Regarding claim 21; Nam teaches the apparatus wherein the MAC subheader includes a logic channel identifier (LCID) having one or more codepoints associated with the capability or the service (See Figs. 5 and 6: one of BS 110 a or BS 110 b may respond with a random access response (RAR) message (MSG2) which may include the identifier (ID) of the RACH preamble, a timing advance (TA), an uplink grant, cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI), and a back off indicator. ¶ [0085]).
Regarding claim 22; Nam teaches the apparatus wherein the MAC packet includes a common control channel (CCCH) message (See Fig. 9: MSG2 may include a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) including control information for a following communication on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)…¶ [0086]).
Regarding claim 24; Nam teaches the apparatus wherein the capability includes an enhanced mobile broadband capability (Nam: NR may support various wireless communication services, such as enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB) targeting wide bandwidth (e.g. 80 MHz beyond), millimeter wave (mmW) targeting high carrier frequency (e.g. 27 GHz or beyond), massive machine type communications (mMTC) targeting non-backward compatible MTC techniques, and/or mission critical targeting ultra-reliable low-latency communications (URLLC). ¶ [0035]).
Regarding claim 25; Nam teaches a method for wireless communication performed by a network entity, comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE) in a random access channel (RACH) message of (See Fig. 12: generating a message comprising a RACH preamble. ¶ [0103]) a RACH procedure (See Fig. 9: FIG. 9 is a timing diagram 900 illustrating an example four-step RACH procedure. ¶ [0084-0085]), an indication of at least one of a capability of the apparatus (See Fig. 12: At block 1204, the operations 1200 continue by determining an order of a plurality of beams (i.e., the capability of the UE/apparatus) for transmitting the message based on an indication of the order. ¶ [0103]), wherein the indication comprises a RACH MSG1 that allows a coverage enhancement capability of the apparatus (See Figs. 9-10: Multiple MSG1 (i.e., RACH preamble) transmissions allows/indicates for combining of the gain from the MSG1 transmissions at the base station to enhance coverage. ¶ [0097]); and
communicate with the UE in accordance with the indication (See Fig. 12: at block 1206, transmitting the message, to a network node, via the plurality of beams in accordance with the determined order of the beams. ¶ [0103]).
Even though, Nam teaches the RACH MSG1 that allows a coverage enhancement capability of the apparatus, Nam doesn’t explicitly provide the indication of RACH preamble.
However, Wei further states the indication of the RACH preamble (Wei- the UE to transmits a preamble (i.e., RACH preamble) repeatedly in an NPRACH during a NPRACH transmission period according to the random access resource configuration. The base station detects the preamble in the NPRACH during the NPRACH transmission period, and transmits a random access feedback message in the NPDCCH during the NPRACH pause period. The user equipment receives the random access feedback message in the NPDCCH during the NPRACH pause period, and adjusts a transmission behavior of transmitting the preamble during the NPRACH transmission period for Narrowband Internet of things NB-IoT. See Abstract and Wei’s claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the indication of the RACH preamble as taught by Wei to have incorporated in the system of Nam, so that it would provide to enable the user equipment to adjust the transmission behavior of transmitting the preamble during the NPRACH transmission period according to the random access feedback message. Wei-¶ [0009].
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “at least one of…or…”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 26; Nam teaches the apparatus wherein to transmit the indication, in the RACH message, the processor is further configured to transmit the indication, in the RACH message via control signaling in a medium access control (MAC) layer (See FIG. 5, the Radio Resource Control (RRC) layer, Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer, Radio Link Control (RLC) layer, Medium Access Control (MAC) layer, and a Physical (PHY) layers may be adaptably placed at the DU or CU (e.g., TRP or ANC, respectively). ¶ [0058]).
Regarding claim 27; Nam teaches the apparatus wherein to transmit the indication, in the RACH message, the processor is further configured to transmit the indication, in the RACH message in a MAC subheader of a MAC packet (See Figs. 11: in certain aspects of the present disclosure, the order (or rules for determining the order) may be fixed in a specification or indicated to the UE by radio resource control (RRC), medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), remaining minimum system information (RMSI), other system information (OSI), handover command, or downlink control information (DCI) signaling. ¶ [0100]).
Regarding claim 28; Nam teaches the apparatus wherein the MAC subheader includes a logic channel identifier (LCID) having one or more codepoints associated with the capability or the service (See Figs. 5 and 6: one of BS 110 a or BS 110 b may respond with a random access response (RAR) message (MSG2) which may include the identifier (ID) of the RACH preamble, a timing advance (TA), an uplink grant, cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI), and a back off indicator. ¶ [0085]).
Regarding claim 30; Nam teaches the apparatus wherein the capability includes an enhanced mobile broadband capability (Nam: NR may support various wireless communication services, such as enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB) targeting wide bandwidth (e.g. 80 MHz beyond), millimeter wave (mmW) targeting high carrier frequency (e.g. 27 GHz or beyond), massive machine type communications (mMTC) targeting non-backward compatible MTC techniques, and/or mission critical targeting ultra-reliable low-latency communications (URLLC). ¶ [0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 16. 23 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (US 2019/0268060 A1) in view of Christoffersson et al. (US 2023/0328793 A1).
Regarding claims 8, 16. 23 and 29; Nam teaches the apparatus wherein the indication that indicates the capability or the service (See Fig. 12: generating a message comprising a RACH preamble…and at block 1204, the operations 1200 continue by determining an order of a plurality of beams (i.e., the capability of the UE/apparatus) for transmitting the message based on an indication of the order. ¶ [0103]),
Nam doesn’t explicitly provide including a preamble sequence value in the indication.
However, Christoffersson discloses including a preamble sequence value in the indication (See Fig. 1: the UE can indicate the beam/SSB to the gNB through the PRACH preamble and/or PRACH occasion (“RO”). The PRACH preamble can be specified by a preamble format and can include a cyclic prefix and sequence and be associated with an identifying index. ¶ [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the method of including a preamble sequence value in the indication as taught by Christoffersson to have incorporated in the system of Nam, so that it would provide a beneficial to use as few root sequences as possible. Christoffersson: ¶ [0061].
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “at least one of”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Response to Arguments
In response to the RCE amendment, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Noel Beharry can be reached on 571-270-5630. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAI AUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416