DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 18/551,848 filed on 09/21/2023.
Claims Status
2. This office action is based upon claims received on 02/27/2026, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
-Claims 1, 14-17, 19, 29, 30 are marked as amended.
-Claims 1-30 are pending.
-Claims 1-6, 8-13, 19-24, 26-30 are rejected.
-Claims 7, 14-18, 25 are objected.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of a 371 of PCT/CN2021/097146, filed 05/31/2021.
Response to Remarks/Amendments
5. Applicant's remarks and arguments, see page 11, filed on 02/27/2026, with respect to Objections to the Claims have been considered in light of applicant’s remarks and amendments.
Regarding objections to claim 14 and claim 17 as pertains to interpretation applied by the office action to the recitation of “both”, which is now applied via amendment to independent claims 1, 19, 29, 30, the office action observes no remarks from applicant contending otherwise against the interpretation applied by the office. Therefore, the office action continues to apply the interpretation applied by the office in the previous office action pertaining to the term “both” moving forward as applicable.
The Claim Objections pertaining to Claims 14-18 as applicable to the previous office action have been withdrawn.
6. Applicant's remarks and arguments, see page 11, filed on 02/27/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C. §112(f) have been noted in light of the requirements set forth in the 112 (f) interpretation provided in the previous office action. Regarding additional figures and paragraphs cited by applicant, a review indicates correspondence in these applicant cited paragraphs, to the structures identified in the figures and paragraphs previously cited by the office in the previous office action.
7. Applicant's remarks/arguments, see pages 11-14, filed on 02/27/2026, with respect to Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new grounds of rejection being used in the current rejection.
Furthermore, remarks with respect to any applicable Dependent have been considered, and are moot for the same reasons noted above, and are not persuasive at least via dependency to the independent claims and via individual rejections addressing the specific claims.
A. As pertains to the new grounds of rejection, i.e. applicant's remarks/arguments, see page 12 of 15 (ln 7-9), filed on 02/27/2026 i.e. “aspects of the subject matter previously recited”, with respect to Allowable Subject Matter, the office action notes that applicant does not incorporate the entirety of the claim features objected to as allowable from dependent claim 14 in the previous office action in the amendments presented for independent claim 1 (i.e. utilized as an example representing other independent claims 19, 29, 30), but rather presents in the amendments to Claim 1, a subset of elements derived from claim 14, presenting a different claim 1 scope (i.e. utilized as an example representing other independent claims 19, 29, 30).
B. Applicant in applicant’s remarks (See page 12 (ln 22-26)), indicates:
“Yeo, Li, Lee, Lee '425, Liu, and Stern-Berkowitz-alone or in any combination-do not teach or suggest "wherein assigning the plurality of feedback resources increases a number of transmit feedback resources, a number of receive feedback resources, or both, in the plurality of feedback resources for a transmission time interval," as recited in amended independent claim 1”
C. In response, applicant is respectfully directed to the rejection of Claim 1 (see office action) now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 in combination over YEO et al. (US 20200351057 A1), i.e. “YEO” in view of LI et al (US 20220030598 A1), i.e. “LI”, further in view of Eriksson et. al (US 20170238307 A1), i.e. “Eriksson”, where the office action combines under new grounds of rejection teachings from new additional reference Eriksson pertaining to amendments incorporated into Claim 1, and where each and every claim element of claim 1 (i.e. utilized as an example representing other independent claims 19, 29, 30) is rejected in combination.
The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (see Office Action).
Claim Objections
8. Claims 1, 17, 18, 19, 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
A Independent claims 1, 19, 29, 30 each recite terms “assigning the plurality of feedback resources increases a number of transmit feedback resources, a number of receive feedback resources, or both”, where limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight.
Furthermore in the case of claims 1, 19, 29, 30, the office action interprets “both” as representing “both” “increases a number of transmit feedback resources” and increases “a number of receive feedback resources”, to avoid any questions of ambiguity raised regarding the recitation of “both” by itself.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Should applicant contend otherwise and for verification, applicant is requested to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
B. Claim 17 recites “switching a receive feedback resource the initial assignment to [[be]] a transmit feedback resource”, where to avoid any questions raised the office action interprets there being a possible typographical error with an “in” missing between “a receive feedback resource” and “the initial assignment” as in “a receive feedback resource” in “the initial assignment”.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
C. Claim 18 is marked with status “(Original)” where claim 18 is currently presented with amendments.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
10. Claim 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A. Regarding Claim 1, Claim 19, Claim 29, Claim 30 ( i.e. utilizing claim 1 as an example representing claims 19, 29, 30) – Claim 1 recites “the assigning” after a first preceding recitation of “assigning” pertaining to “assigning a first feedback resource”, and separately a second preceding recitation of “assigning” pertaining to “assigning the plurality of feedback resources”. The office action presents a lack of clarity as to where recitation of the terms “the assigning” in Claim 1 finds antecedent basis, i.e. whether the first preceding recitation of “assigning” pertaining to “assigning a first feedback resource” serves as the antecedent basis for “the assigning” , or whether the second preceding recitation of “assigning” pertaining to “assigning the plurality of feedback resources” serves as the antecedent basis for “the assigning”.
Claim 19, Claim 29, Claim 30 are subject the same issues pertaining to “the assigning” identified for Claim 1.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and clarify as applicable to reflect applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
B. Regarding Claims 2-18, 20-28 which depend from respective independent claim 1 and claim 19, these claims (i.e. Claims 2-18, 20-28) are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph at least via dependency to the respective independent claim.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and clarify as applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
set forth in this Office action:
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
12. Claims 1-3, 19-21, 29, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YEO et al. (US 20200351057 A1), i.e. “YEO” in view of LI et al (US 20220030598 A1), i.e. “LI”, further in view of Eriksson et. al (US 20170238307 A1), i.e. “Eriksson”.
Regarding Claim 1. (Currently Amended) YEO teaches: A method for wireless communication (YEO – FIG. 26 & ¶0331 […] terminal 1 (UE1) and terminal 2 (UE2) transmitting PSFCHs in the same slot for HARQ-ACK feedback transmission for respective transmitted PSSCHs when the terminal 1 and the terminal 2 perform signal transmission and reception by a connection through unicast or groupcast communication in a sidelink; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0331 i.e. terminal 1 (UE1) and terminal 2 (UE2) transmitting PSFCHs in the same slot for HARQ-ACK feedback transmission i.e. when the terminal 1 and the terminal 2 perform signal transmission and reception i.e. in a side link reads on: A method for wireless communication as performed by UE1 and UE2)
at a full duplex user equipment (UE) (YEO – FIG. 26 & ¶0331 See above; ¶0333 […] the terminal being able to simultaneously perform transmission and reception of a certain signal may be a case in which the terminal has a full-duplex function; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0333 i.e. the terminal being able to simultaneously perform transmission and reception i.e. the terminal has a full-duplex function reads on: at a full duplex user equipment (UE) as applied to UE1 and UE2 performing procedure of FIG. 26),
comprising: identifying a feedback channel configuration that maps a plurality of subchannels of a sidelink channel to a plurality of feedback resources of a feedback channel of the sidelink channel (YEO – FIG. 26 & ¶0331 See above; ¶0333 […] See above; ¶0332 […] Terminal 1 has transmitted a PSSCH 2602 to terminal 2 in slot 1 2600, and terminal 2 has transmitted a PSSCH 2612 to terminal 1 in slot 2 2610. In accordance with the feedback transmission timing, the feedback timing may be determined so that terminal 2 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 1 to terminal 2 in slot 1, and terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 2 to terminal 1 in slot 2. Terminal 2 may transmit the PSFCH including the feedback information for the PSSCH transmitted in slot 1 to terminal 1, and terminal 1 may transmit the PSFCH including the feedback information for the PSSCH transmitted in slot 2 to terminal 2. Terminal 1 and terminal 2 should perform both the transmission and reception of a PSFCH 2622, and the transmission and reception of the PSFCH 2622 may be performed in the same symbol; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0332 i.e. In accordance with the feedback transmission timing, the feedback timing may be determined so that terminal 2 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 1 to terminal 2 […] , and terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 2 to terminal 1 reads on: comprising: identifying a feedback channel configuration , where per ¶0332 i.e. the feedback timing may be determined so that i.e. terminal 2 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 1 to terminal 2 in slot 1, and i.e. terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 2 to terminal 1 in slot 2 reads on: that maps, where per ¶0332 FIG. 26 slot 2600 i.e. the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 1 to terminal 2 in slot 1 and i.e. slot 2610 the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 2 to terminal 1 in slot 2 reads on: a plurality of subchannels , per ¶0331 FIG. 26 i.e. when the terminal 1 and the terminal 2 perform signal transmission and reception by a connection through unicast or groupcast communication in a sidelink reads on: of a sidelink channel as depicted in FIG. 26. Furthermore, per ¶00332 i.e. terminal 2 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback and i.e. terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback i.e. resources comprising UE 1 both transmitting HARQ-ACK and separately UE 1 receiving HARQ-ACK reads on: to a plurality of feedback resources where the two feedbacks individually comprising both a transmission resource and reception resource such as pertaining to UE1 map to resources in PFSCH 2622 symbol i.e. Terminal 1 and terminal 2 should perform both the transmission and reception of a PSFCH 2622, and the transmission and reception of the PSFCH 2622 may be performed in the same symbol. Furthermore per FIG. 26 & ¶0332 i.e. the transmission and reception of a PSFCH 2622 reads on: of a feedback channel , where per ¶0332 i.e. Terminal 1 and terminal 2 should perform both the transmission and reception of a PSFCH 2622 and per ¶0331 FIG. 26 i.e. when the terminal 1 and the terminal 2 perform signal transmission and reception by a connection through unicast or groupcast communication in a sidelink reads on: of the sidelink channel);
receiving control signaling (YEO FIG. 16 & ¶0269 […] A PSCCH 1603 including control information may be transmitted on initial symbols of a slot. A PSSCH 1604 being scheduled by the control information of the PSCCH may be transmitted on the initial symbols. [...] The terminal enables the terminal having transmitted/received the PSSCH to prepare for transmission or reception of the PSFCH by securing a predetermined empty time between the PSSCH 1604 and the PSFCH 1605. After the transmission/reception of the PSFCH 1605, the terminal may secure a section emptied for a predetermined time; FIG. 26 & ¶0332 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 16 & ¶0269 i.e. A PSCCH 1603 including control information may be transmitted reads on: receiving control signaling which i.e. A PSSCH 1604 being scheduled by the control information of the PSCCH and the terminal having transmitted/received the PSSCH to prepare for transmission or reception of the PSFCH by securing a predetermined empty time between the PSSCH 1604 and the PSFCH 1605, i.e. combined as applied to FIG. 26 & ¶0332 i.e. PSSCH 2602, PSSCH 2612 and PSFCH 2622)
scheduling the full duplex UE to transmit (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
receive a first sidelink message in a first subchannel of the plurality of subchannels (YEO – FIG. 26 & ¶0331 See above; ¶0333 […] See above; ¶0332 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0333 i.e. the terminal being able to simultaneously perform transmission and reception i.e. the terminal has a full-duplex function, and furthermore per ¶0332 i.e. Terminal 1 has transmitted a PSSCH 2602 to terminal 2 in slot 1 2600, reads on: scheduling the full duplex UE to transmit such as by Terminal 1, and in the alternative i.e. and terminal 2 has transmitted a PSSCH 2612 to terminal 1 in slot 2 2610 reads on: or receive by terminal 1, i.e. PSSCH 2602 to terminal 2 reads on: a first sidelink message in a first subchannel as transmitted by Terminal 1, or i.e. a PSSCH 2612 reads on: a first sidelink message in a first subchannel as received by Terminal 1, where i.e. a PSSCH 2612, and PSSCH 2602 reads on: of the plurality of subchannels);
assigning a first feedback resource of the plurality of feedback resources for transmission (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) reception of feedback for the first sidelink message (YEO – FIG. 26 & ¶0331 See above; ¶0333 […] See above; ¶0332 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶00332 i.e. terminal 2 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback and i.e. terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback i.e. terminal 2 transmits the HARQ-ACK feedback and terminal 1 transmits the HARQ-ACK feedback i.e. In accordance with the feedback transmission timing reads on: assigning a first feedback resource for transmitting the respective HARQ feedback , where both feedbacks i.e. terminal 2 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 1 to terminal 2 in slot 1, and i.e. terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 2 to terminal 1 in slot 2 reads on: of the plurality of feedback resources used to convey the respective feedbacks within PSFCH 2622, such as i.e. resources comprising UE 1 both transmitting HARQ-ACK and separately UE 1 receiving HARQ-ACK at the same time within PFSCH 2622. Furthermore per ¶0332 i.e. terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback reads on: for transmission of feedback by UE1, and in the alternative i.e. terminal 2 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback reads on: or reception of feedback, where i.e. for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 1 to terminal 2 in slot 1, and for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 2 to terminal 1 in slot 2 reads on: for the first sidelink message as applicable to the respective the PSSCH mapped to the corresponding HARQ-ACK);
and communicating feedback data for the first sidelink message in the first feedback resource of the feedback channel based at least in part on the assigning (YEO – FIG. 26 & ¶0331 See above; ¶0333 […] See above; ¶0332 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0332 i.e. terminal 2 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback and i.e. terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback i.e. terminal 2 transmits the HARQ-ACK feedback and terminal 1 transmits the HARQ-ACK feedback reads on: and communicating feedback data, where i.e. for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 1 to terminal 2 in slot 1, and for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 2 to terminal 1 in slot 2 reads on: for the first sidelink message , where furthermore per ¶00332 i.e. terminal 2 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback and i.e. i.e. terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback i.e. terminal 2 transmits the HARQ-ACK feedback and terminal 1 transmits the HARQ-ACK feedback reads on: in the first feedback resource of the feedback channel i.e. In accordance with the feedback transmission timing reads on: based at least in part on the assigning as depicted in FIG. 26 ).
YEO does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: See Italicized portions): a first feedback resource that differs from a default resource identified by the feedback channel configuration;
LI teaches: assigning a first feedback resource of the plurality of feedback resources that differs from a default resource identified by the feedback channel configuration (LI – FIG. 3, FIG. 4, FIG. 5 & ¶0045 […] the resource allocation information is transmitted in the form of SCI (Sidelink Control Information) ;¶0063 […] In step 502, the first device determines the resources allocated by the second device based on the resource allocation information transmitted by the second device […] ; ¶0065 […]step 503, when the resources allocated by the target second device among the n second devices meet the resource collision condition, the first device transmits resource reallocation information to the target second device; ¶0066 […] The resource reallocation information is configured to instruct the target second device to reallocate resources. Alternatively or additionally, the resource reallocation information is transmitted in the form of SCI on PSCCH (Physical Sidelink Control Channel); ¶0067 […] the resource reallocation information includes identification information of the overlapping resources. The identification information of the overlapping resources is used to uniquely indicate the overlapping resource […] when the overlapping resources are used to transmit […] PSFCH resource, the identification information of the overlapping resources may be the ID of the time-frequency resource block occupied by the […] PSFCH resource; ¶0068 […] after the target second device receives the resource reallocation information transmitted by the first device, the target second device reallocates resources for the direct communication information transmitted between the target second device and the first device ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0066 i.e. resource reallocation information is configured to instruct the target second device to reallocate resources where per ¶0067 i.e. when the overlapping resources are used to transmit […] PSFCH resource, the identification information of the overlapping resources may be the ID of the time-frequency resource block occupied by the […] PSFCH resource reads on: assigning a first feedback resource , where per FIG. 3 and FIG. 4 and ¶0067 i.e. the resource reallocation information includes identification information of the overlapping resources reads on: of the plurality of feedback resources as applied to PSFCH , where furthermore per ¶0066 i.e. resource reallocation information is configured to instruct the target second device to reallocate resources reads on: that differs due to reallocation, where per ¶0063 […] In step 502, the first device determines the resources allocated by the second device based on i.e. the resource allocation information transmitted by the second device reads on: from a default resource identified by the feedback channel configuration where ¶0068 after the target second device receives the resource reallocation information transmitted by the first device, the target second device reallocates resources for the direct communication information and per ¶0045 and per ¶0066 resource allocation and resource relocation can be via “SCI”, and i.e. reallocation by first device and subsequently second device is via SCI );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YEO with teachings of LI, since LI enables procedures where a resource collision can be detected, improving resolution probability of the resource collision and avoiding the occurrence of resource collision to the utmost extent, and thereby fully ensuring the success rate of transmitting and receiving information in the V2X direct communication scenario, and furthermore facilitating to improve spectrum efficiency (LI - ¶0060 ).
While YEO in view of LI teaches: A method for wireless communication at a full duplex user equipment (UE), comprising: identifying a feedback channel configuration that maps a plurality of subchannels of a sidelink channel to a plurality of feedback resources of a feedback channel of the sidelink channel; receiving control signaling scheduling the full duplex UE to transmit or receive a first sidelink message in a first subchannel of the plurality of subchannels; assigning a first feedback resource of the plurality of feedback resources for transmission or reception of feedback for the first sidelink message that differs from a default resource identified by the feedback channel configuration; and communicating feedback data for the first sidelink message in the first feedback resource of the feedback channel based at least in part on the assigning.
YEO in view of LI does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. see italicized portions): wherein assigning feedback resources increases a number of transmit feedback resources, a number of receive feedback resources, or both, in the feedback resources for a transmission time interval;
Eriksson teaches: wherein assigning the plurality of feedback resources increases a number of transmit feedback resources (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
a number of receive feedback resources (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) both (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
in the plurality of feedback resources for a transmission time interval (Eriksson – FIG. 4 & FIG. 5, FIG. 6 & ¶0039 […] ways of obtaining the quality of the forward link are also possible for this solution such as measuring Bit Error Rate, BER or measuring Block Error Rate, BLER […] ; ¶0048 […] if the expected data error rate is higher and not below the first threshold, the network node assigns a second amount of radio resources for the reverse link in an action 406 which is larger than the first amount of radio resources to match to the higher expected data error rate […] in this case it is an advantage that a greater amount of radio resources is assigned for the reverse link to meet the expected data error rate and the need for achieving a lower feedback error rate to ensure correct reception of data; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG.4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0048 i.e. if the expected data error rate is higher and not below the first threshold, the network node assigns a second amount of radio resources for the reverse link in an action 406 reads on: wherein assigning and per ¶0048 i.e. to meet the expected data error rate and the need for achieving a lower feedback error rate reads on: the plurality of feedback resources , where per ¶0048 i.e. assigns a second amount of radio resources for the reverse link in an action 406 which is larger than the first amount of radio resources i.e. associated with a lower feedback error rate reads on: resources increases a number of transmit feedback resources, a number of receive feedback resources, or both i.e. transmit feedback resources as applied to the feedback transmitting side, feedback receive resources as applied to the feedback receiving side and hence also both. Furthermore per ¶0048 i.e. if the expected data error rate is higher and not below the first threshold, the network node assigns a second amount of radio resources for the reverse link in an action 406 and per ¶0048 i.e. to meet the expected data error rate and the need for achieving a lower feedback error rate i.e. resource increase is directly associated with i.e. to meet the expected data error rate and the need for achieving a lower feedback error rate where per ¶0039 error rate can be i.e. measuring Bit Error Rate, BER associated with the threshold which is well known in prior art including 3GPP to be associated with resources per unit time such as TTI reads on: in the plurality of feedback resources for a transmission time interval i.e. the feedback resource increase is directly applied to address at least Bit Error Rate, BER associated with the expected data error rate and the need for achieving a lower feedback error rate . See prior art 3GPP TSG-RAN meeting #5 Kyongju, South Korea October 6 – 8, 1999 Title: Naming of layer 1 measurements in TS 25.215; Source: Ericsson, Nokia Naming of layer 1 measurements in TS 25.215 – Page 7 section 5.2.6 for TTI to BER association);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YEO in view of LI with teachings of Eriksson, since Eriksson enables an advantage that a greater amount of radio resources is assigned for the reverse link to meet the expected data error rate and the need for achieving a lower feedback error rate to ensure correct reception of data (Eriksson - ¶0048 ).
Regarding Claim 2. (Original) YEO in view of LI and Eriksson teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore YEO teaches: wherein communicating the feedback data comprises: receiving the feedback data (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) transmitting the feedback data(YEO – FIG. 26 & ¶0331 See claim 1; ¶0333 […] See claim 1; ¶0332 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: As depicted in FIG. 26. & per ¶00332 i.e. In accordance with the feedback transmission timing, the feedback timing may be determined so that terminal 2 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 1 to terminal 2 […] , and terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 2 to terminal 1 i.e. as applied to UE1, resources comprising UE 1 both transmitting HARQ-ACK and separately UE 1 receiving HARQ-ACK reads on: wherein communicating the feedback data comprises: receiving the feedback data or transmitting the feedback data).
Regarding Claim 3. (Original) YEO in view of LI and Eriksson teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore YEO teaches: wherein the identifying further comprises: receiving a control message indicating the feedback channel configuration (YEO – FIG. 18 & FIG. 26 & ¶0287 […] Δ is a parameter that means a gap between the PSSCH received by the terminal and the transmission slot of the HARQ-ACK, and may be configured for each resource pool, may be a pre-configured value, or may be understood as the same value between the terminals through the PC5-RRC configuration. As described above, the Δ value may be differently defined in accordance with the SCS ; ¶0331 See claim 1; ¶0333 […] See claim 1; ¶0332 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: As applied to FIG. 26, per FIG. 18 and ¶0287 i.e. Δ is a parameter that means a gap between the PSSCH received by the terminal and the transmission slot of the HARQ-ACK, and may be configured i.e. through the PC5-RRC configuration reads on: wherein the identifying further comprises: receiving a control message indicating , where per ¶0287 i.e. Δ is a parameter that means a gap between the PSSCH received by the terminal and the transmission slot of the HARQ-ACK, and may be configured reads on: the feedback channel configuration).
Regarding Claim 19. (Currently Amended) YEO teaches: An apparatus for wireless communication at a full duplex user equipment (UE) (YEO – FIG. 26 & ¶0331 See Claim 1; ¶0333 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0333 i.e. the terminal being able to simultaneously perform transmission and reception i.e. the terminal has a full-duplex function reads on: An apparatus for wireless communication at a full duplex user equipment (UE) as applied to UE1 and UE2 performing procedure of FIG. 26),
comprising: [[a]] at least one processor; at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor; and instructions stored in the at least one memory and executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE (YEO - FIG. 28 &¶0048 […] flowchart illustrations, can be implemented by computer program instructions. These computer program instructions can be provided to a processor of a general purpose computer, special purpose computer, or other programmable data processing apparatus to produce a machine, such that the instructions, which execute via the processor of the computer or other programmable data processing apparatus, create means for implementing the functions specified […] computer program instructions may also be stored in a computer usable or computer-readable memory that can direct a computer or other programmable data processing apparatus to function in a particular manner; ¶0356 […] the terminal includes a terminal receiver 2800, a terminal transmitter 2804, and a terminal processor 2802 NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: in the context of FIG. 28 and per ¶0356 i.e. a terminal processor 2802 , per ¶0048 i.e. computer program instructions can be provided to a processor of a general purpose computer, special purpose computer, or other programmable data processing apparatus to produce a machine, such that the instructions, which execute via the processor of the computer or other programmable data processing apparatus reads on: comprising: [[a]] at least one processor; at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor; and instructions stored in the at least one memory and executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus UE)
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 19 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 19. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
to: identify a feedback channel configuration that maps a plurality of subchannels of a sidelink channel to a plurality of feedback resources of a feedback channel of the sidelink channel; receive control signaling scheduling the full duplex UE to transmit or receive a first sidelink message in a first subchannel of the plurality of subchannels; assign a first feedback resource of the plurality of feedback resources for transmission or reception of feedback for the first sidelink message that differs from a default resource identified by the feedback channel configuration, wherein assigning the plurality of feedback resources increases a number of transmit feedback resources, a number of receive feedback resources, or both, in the plurality of feedback resources for a transmission time interval; and communicate feedback data for the first sidelink message in the first feedback resource of the feedback channel based at least in part on the assigning (See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 19 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 19. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 20. (Original) YEO in view of LI and Eriksson teaches: The apparatus of claim 19,
(See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 20. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) further comprising a receiver, wherein the instructions to communicate the feedback data are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, via the receiver, the feedback data or transmitting the feedback data (See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 20. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 21. (Original) YEO in view of LI and Eriksson teaches: The apparatus of claim 19,
(See the rejection of Claim 3, Claim 21 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 3, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 21. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) further comprising a receiver, wherein the instructions to identify are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, via the receiver, a control message indicating the feedback channel configuration (See the rejection of Claim 3, Claim 21 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 3, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 21. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 29. (Currently Amended) YEO teaches: An apparatus for wireless communication at a full duplex user equipment (UE) (YEO – FIG. 26 & ¶0331 See Claim 1; ¶0333 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0333 i.e. the terminal being able to simultaneously perform transmission and reception i.e. the terminal has a full-duplex function reads on: An apparatus for wireless communication at a full duplex user equipment (UE) as applied to UE1 and UE2 performing procedure of FIG. 26),
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 29 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 29. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
comprising: means for identifying (YEO - FIG. 28 &¶0048 See Claim 19; ¶0356 See claim 19; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: in the context of FIG. 28 and per ¶0356 i.e. a terminal processor 2802 , per ¶0048 i.e. computer program instructions may also be stored in a computer usable or computer-readable memory that can direct a computer or other programmable data processing apparatus to function in a particular manner, such that the instructions stored in the computer usable or computer-readable memory produce an article of manufacture including instruction means that implement the function specified in the flowchart block or blocks reads on: means for identifying )
a feedback channel configuration that maps a plurality of subchannels of a sidelink channel to a plurality of feedback resources of a feedback channel of the sidelink channel; means for receiving (YEO - FIG. 28 &¶0048 See claim 19; ¶0356 See claim 19; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: in the context of FIG. 28 and per ¶0356 i.e. a terminal processor 2802 , per ¶0048 i.e. computer program instructions may also be stored in a computer usable or computer-readable memory that can direct a computer or other programmable data processing apparatus to function in a particular manner, such that the instructions stored in the computer usable or computer-readable memory produce an article of manufacture including instruction means that implement the function specified in the flowchart block or blocks and in conjunction with receiver 2800 reads on: means for receiving ) control signaling scheduling the full duplex UE to transmit or receive a first sidelink message in a first subchannel of the plurality of subchannels; means for assigning (YEO - FIG. 28 &¶0048 See claim 19; ¶0356 See claim 19; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: in the context of FIG. 28 and per ¶0356 i.e. a terminal processor 2802 , per ¶0048 i.e. computer program instructions may also be stored in a computer usable or computer-readable memory that can direct a computer or other programmable data processing apparatus to function in a particular manner, such that the instructions stored in the computer usable or computer-readable memory produce an article of manufacture including instruction means that implement the function specified in the flowchart block or blocks reads on: means for assigning) a first feedback resource of the plurality of feedback resources for transmission or reception of feedback for the first sidelink message that differs from a default resource identified by the feedback channel configuration, wherein assigning the plurality of feedback resources increases a number of transmit feedback resources, a number of receive feedback resources, or both, in the plurality of feedback resources for a transmission time interval; and means for communicating (YEO - FIG. 28 &¶0048 See claim 19; ¶0356 See claim 19; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: in the context of FIG. 28 and per ¶0356 i.e. a terminal processor 2802 , per ¶0048 i.e. computer program instructions may also be stored in a computer usable or computer-readable memory that can direct a computer or other programmable data processing apparatus to function in a particular manner, such that the instructions stored in the computer usable or computer-readable memory produce an article of manufacture including instruction means that implement the function specified in the flowchart block or blocks and in conjunction with receiver 2800 and transmitter 2804 reads on: means for communicating ) feedback data for the first sidelink message in the first feedback resource of the feedback channel based at least in part on the assigning (See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 29 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 29. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 30. (Currently Amended) YEO teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication at a full duplex user equipment (UE) (YEO - YEO – FIG. 26 & ¶0331 See Claim 1; ¶0333 See Claim 1; FIG. 28 & ¶0048 See claim 19 ; ¶0356 See claim 19; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: in the context of FIG. 28 and per ¶0356 i.e. a terminal processor 2802, per ¶0048 computer program instructions may also be stored in a computer usable or computer-readable memory that can direct a computer or other programmable data processing apparatus to function in a particular manner reads on: A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication per ¶0333 i.e. the terminal being able to simultaneously perform transmission and reception i.e. the terminal has a full-duplex function reads on: at a full duplex user equipment (UE) as applied to UE1 and UE2 performing procedure of FIG. 26),
the code comprising instructions executable by at least one processor (YEO - YEO – FIG. 26 & ¶0331 See Claim 1; ¶0333 See Claim 1; FIG. 28 & ¶0048 See claim 19 ; ¶0356 See claim 19; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: in the context of FIG. 28 and per ¶0356 i.e. a terminal processor 2802, per ¶0048 the instructions, which execute via the processor of the computer or other programmable data processing apparatus, create means for implementing the functions reads on: the code comprising instructions executable by a processor )
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 30 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 30. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
to: identify a feedback channel configuration that maps a plurality of subchannels of a sidelink channel to a plurality of feedback resources of a feedback channel of the sidelink channel; receive control signaling scheduling the full duplex UE to transmit or receive a first sidelink message in a first subchannel of the plurality of subchannels; assign a first feedback resource of the plurality of feedback resources for transmission or reception of feedback for the first sidelink message that differs from a default resource identified by the feedback channel configuration, wherein assigning the plurality of feedback resources increases a number of transmit feedback resources, a number of receive feedback resources, or both, in the plurality of feedback resources for a transmission time interval; and communicate feedback data for the first sidelink message in the first feedback resource of the feedback channel based at least in part on the assigning (See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 30 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 30. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
13. Claims 4, 6, 22, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YEO in view of LI and Eriksson, further in view of LEE et al. (US 20220394702 A1), i.e. “LEE”, further in view of LEE et al. (US 20220248425 A1), i.e. “LEE2”
Regarding Claim 4. (Original) YEO in view of LI and Eriksson teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore YEO teaches: further comprising: receiving, via the first subchannel, the first sidelink message that correspond to the first feedback resource; and transmitting the feedback data for the first sidelink message in the first feedback resource (YEO – FIG. 26 & ¶0331 See claim 1; ¶0333 […] See claim 1; ¶0332 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: As depicted in FIG. 26. & per ¶00332 i.e. In accordance with the feedback transmission timing, the feedback timing may be determined so that terminal 2 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 1 to terminal 2 […], and terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 2 to terminal 1 reads on: further comprising: receiving, via the first subchannel, the first sidelink message i.e. as applied to UE1, resources comprising UE 1 both transmitting HARQ-ACK and separately UE 1 receiving HARQ-ACK reads on: that correspond to the first feedback resource, and i.e. and terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback reads on: and transmitting the feedback data for the first sidelink message in the first feedback resource as shown in FIG. 26).
YEO in view of LI and Eriksson does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: See Italicized portions): further comprising: receiving, via the first subchannel, the first sidelink message and a second sidelink message in different transmission time intervals that each correspond to the first feedback resource; and transmitting the feedback data for the first sidelink message in the first feedback resource based at least in part on a priority of the first sidelink message relative to a priority of the second sidelink message.
LEE teaches: further comprising: receiving, via the first subchannel, the first sidelink message and a second sidelink message in different transmission time intervals that each correspond to the first feedback resource (LEE FIG. 18 & ¶0385 […] PSSCH #1 is partially overlapped with other PSSCH transmissions in frequency domain, but non-overlapped with other PSSCH transmissions in time domain. PSSCH #0, PSSCH #1, and PSSCH #3 have the same starting sub-channel, and then PSFCH resources for PSSCH #0, PSSCH #1, and PSSCH #3 can be FDMed in the same sub-channel based on the slot index of PSSCH. On the other hand, the starting sub-channel of PSSCH #1 is different from those of PSSCH #2 and PSSCH #4, but the allocated sub-channels are partially overlapped. In this case, PSFCH resource for PSSCH #1 and PSFCH resources for PSSCH #2 and PSSCH #4 will be mapped on different sub-channel; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0385 i.e. PSSCH #0, PSSCH #1, and PSSCH #3 have the same starting sub-channel reads on: further comprising: receiving, via the first subchannel, the first sidelink message and a second sidelink message in different transmission time intervals , and i.e. then PSFCH resources for PSSCH #0, PSSCH #1, and PSSCH #3 can be FDMed in the same sub-channel reads on: that each correspond to the first feedback resource as depicted for PSFCH );
and transmitting the feedback data for the first sidelink message in the first feedback resource (LEE FIG. 18 & ¶0385 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0385 i.e. then PSFCH resources for PSSCH #0, PSSCH #1, and PSSCH #3 can be FDMed in the same sub-channel see FIG. 18 reads on: and transmitting the feedback data for the first sidelink message in the first feedback resource ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YEO in view of LI and Eriksson with teachings of LEE, since LEE enables a gNB not to transmit excessive number of DCI for dynamic SL grant for a TB, and moreover, in case of configured grant, since there is no restriction on how to use configured resources with respect to the same or different TBs, the TX UE can efficiently use the configured SL resources based on the number of (re-)transmissions of a TB (LEE - ¶0212 ).
While YEO in view of LI and Eriksson and LEE teaches: further comprising: receiving, via the first subchannel, the first sidelink message and a second sidelink message in different transmission time intervals that each correspond to the first feedback resource; and transmitting the feedback data for the first sidelink message in the first feedback resource.
YEO in view of LI and Eriksson and LEE does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: See Italicized portions): transmitting the feedback data for the first sidelink message in the first feedback resource based at least in part on a priority of the first sidelink message relative to a priority of the second sidelink message;
LEE2 teaches: further comprising: receiving, the first sidelink message and a second sidelink message in different transmission time intervals that each correspond to the first feedback resource (LEE2 - FIG. 15 & ¶0214 […] step S1510, a fourth UE may perform a first PSSCH reception […] step S1530, the fourth UE may perform the third PSSCH reception ; ¶0215 […] step S1540, the fourth UE may determine the PSFCH to which the HARQ feedback will be transmitted based on a pre-configured maximum number of transmissions […] for example, the three PSFCH transmissions may be the number before dropping a specific number of PSFCH transmissions based on the priority of the PSFCH […] the fourth UE may drop a specific number of PSFCF transmissions based on the priority of the PSSCH/PSCCH related with the PSFCH; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0215 i.e. Step S1510 a first PSSCH reception […] step S1530, the fourth UE may perform the third PSSCH reception reads on: further comprising: receiving, the first sidelink message and a second sidelink message in different transmission time intervals , and per ¶0215 i.e. step S1540, the fourth UE may determine the PSFCH to which the HARQ feedback will be transmitted based on a pre-configured maximum number of transmissions reads on: that each correspond to the first feedback resource );
and transmitting the feedback data for the first sidelink message in the first feedback resource based at least in part on a priority of the first sidelink message relative to a priority of the second sidelink message (LEE2 - FIG. 15 & ¶0214 See above ; ¶0215 […] step S1540, the fourth UE may determine the PSFCH to which the HARQ feedback will be transmitted based on a pre-configured maximum number of transmissions […] the fourth UE may drop a specific number of PSFCF transmissions based on the priority of the PSSCH/PSCCH related with the PSFCH; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0215 i.e. , the three PSFCH transmissions may be the number before dropping a specific number of PSFCH transmissions based on the priority of the PSFCH reads on: further comprising: and transmitting the feedback data for the first sidelink message in the first feedback resource based at least in part on a priority of the first sidelink message relative to a priority of the second sidelink message ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YEO in view of LI and Eriksson and LEE with teachings of LEE2, since LEE2 enables procedures where a UE may effectively perform sidelink communications, and for efficiently handling PSFCH transmission/reception (LEE - ¶0016 & ¶0172 ).
Regarding Claim 6. (Original) YEO in view of LI and Eriksson and LEE teaches: The method of claim 5,
furthermore YEO teaches: wherein the communicating further comprises: communicating second feedback data for the second sidelink message on a second feedback resource of the plurality of feedback resources (LEE FIG. 18 & ¶0385 See Claim 4; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0385 i.e. then PSFCH resources for PSSCH #0, PSSCH #1, and PSSCH #3 can be FDMed in the same sub-channel see FIG. 18 depicting multiple corresponding resources reads on: wherein the communicating further comprises: communicating second feedback data for the second sidelink message i.e. FIG. 18 depicting multiple corresponding resources reads on: on a second feedback resource of the plurality of feedback resources).
YEO in view of LI and Eriksson and LEE does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: See Italicized portions): communicating second feedback data based at least in part on a priority of the second sidelink message relative to a priority of the first sidelink message;
LEE2 teaches: communicating second feedback data for the second sidelink message on a second feedback resource of the plurality of feedback resources (LEE2 - FIG. 15 & ¶0214 See Claim 4; ¶0215 See Claim 4; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0215 i.e. Step S1510 a first PSSCH reception […] step S1530, the fourth UE may perform the third PSSCH reception, and per ¶0215 i.e. step S1540, the fourth UE may determine the PSFCH to which the HARQ feedback will be transmitted based on a pre-configured maximum number of transmissions reads on: communicating second feedback data for the second sidelink message on a second feedback resource of the plurality of feedback resources)
based at least in part on a priority of the second sidelink message relative to a priority of the first sidelink message (LEE2 - FIG. 15 & ¶0214 See Claim 4; ¶0215 See Claim 4; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0215 i.e. , the three PSFCH transmissions may be the number before dropping a specific number of PSFCH transmissions based on the priority of the PSFCH reads on: based at least in part on a priority of the second sidelink message relative to a priority of the first sidelink message ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YEO in view of LI and Eriksson and LEE with teachings of LEE2, since LEE2 enables procedures where a UE may effectively perform sidelink communications, and for efficiently handling PSFCH transmission/reception (LEE - ¶0016 & ¶0172 ).
Regarding Claim 22. (Original) YEO in view of LI and Eriksson teaches: The apparatus of claim 19,
(See the rejection of Claim 4, Claim 22 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 4, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 4 applies similarly to Claim 22. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, via the first subchannel, the first sidelink message and a second sidelink message in different transmission time intervals that each correspond to the first feedback resource; and transmit the feedback data for the first sidelink message in the first feedback resource based at least in part on a priority of the first sidelink message relative to a priority of the second sidelink message (See the rejection of Claim 4, Claim 22 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 4, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 4 applies similarly to Claim 22. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 24. (Original) YEO in view of LI and Eriksson and LEE teaches: The apparatus of claim 23,
(See the rejection of Claim 6, Claim 24 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 6, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 6 applies similarly to Claim 24. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the instructions to communicate are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: communicate second feedback data for the second sidelink message on a second feedback resource of the plurality of feedback resources based at least in part on a priority of the second sidelink message relative to a priority of the first sidelink message (See the rejection of Claim 6, Claim 24 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 6, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 6 applies similarly to Claim 24. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
14. Claims 5, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YEO in view of LI and Eriksson, further in view of LEE
Regarding Claim 5. (Original) YEO in view of LI and Eriksson teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore YEO teaches: further comprising: receiving second control signaling scheduling the full duplex UE to transmit (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) receive a sidelink message in a subchannel of the plurality of subchannels (YEO – FIG. 16; FIG. 18 & FIG. 26 & ¶0269 See claim 1; ¶0287 See claim 3; ¶0331 See claim 1; ¶0333 See claim 1; ¶0332 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: In light of RRC signaling of ¶0287 which can be the first control signaling, and per FIG. 16 & ¶0269 i.e. A PSCCH 1603 including control information may be transmitted reads on: further comprising: receiving second control signaling scheduling, where i.e. A PSSCH 1604 being scheduled by the control information of the PSCCH and the terminal having transmitted/received the PSSCH to prepare for transmission or reception of the PSFCH by securing a predetermined empty time between the PSSCH 1604 and the PSFCH 1605, i.e. combined as applied to FIG. 26 & ¶0332 i.e. PSSCH 2602, PSSCH 2612 and PSFCH 2622 reads on: the full duplex UE to transmit or receive a sidelink message, i.e. as depicted in FIG. 26. & per ¶00332 i.e. the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 1 to terminal 2 […], and i.e. the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 2 to terminal 1 i.e. where any one of PSSCH 2612 or a PSSCH 2612, reads on: in a subchannel , i.e. transmitted a PSSCH 2612 to terminal 1 & receive by terminal 1, i.e. PSSCH 2602 to terminal 2 reads on: of the plurality of subchannels);
YEO in view of LI and Eriksson does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: See Italicized portions): a second sidelink message in a second subchannel of the plurality of subchannels;
LEE teaches: further comprising: receiving second control signaling scheduling the UE to transmit (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) receive a second sidelink message in a second subchannel of the plurality of subchannels (LEE FIG. 18 & ¶0385 See claim 4; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Any one of PSCCH #0 - #3 as applicable to PSSCH #0, PSSCH #1, and PSSCH #3 depicted in FIG. 18 reads on: further comprising: receiving second control signaling scheduling the UE to transmit or receive and Per ¶0385 i.e. PSSCH #0, PSSCH #1, and PSSCH #3 have the same starting sub-channel reads on: a second sidelink message in a second subchannel of the plurality of subchannels as correspond to PSCCH #2, PSSCH #2, and PSCCH #4, PSSCH #4 in first sub channel of the plurality of subchannels depicted in FIG. 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YEO in view of LI and Eriksson with teachings of LEE, since LEE enables a gNB not to transmit excessive number of DCI for dynamic SL grant for a TB, and moreover, in case of configured grant, since there is no restriction on how to use configured resources with respect to the same or different TBs, the TX UE can efficiently use the configured SL resources based on the number of (re-)transmissions of a TB (LEE - ¶0212 ).
Regarding Claim 23. (Original) YEO in view of LI and Eriksson teaches: The apparatus of claim 19,
(See the rejection of Claim 5, Claim 23 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 5 applies similarly to Claim 23. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive second control signaling scheduling the full duplex UE to transmit or receive a second sidelink message in a second subchannel of the plurality of subchannels (See the rejection of Claim 5, Claim 23 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 5 applies similarly to Claim 23. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
15. Claims 8, 9, 10, 26, 27, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YEO in view of LI and Eriksson, further in view of LEE2.
Regarding Claim 8. (Original) YEO in view of LI and Eriksson teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore YEO teaches: further comprising: assigning each feedback resource of the plurality of feedback resources for transmission(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) reception of feedback for a respective sidelink message of a plurality of sidelink messages (YEO – FIG. 26 & ¶0331 See claim 1; ¶0333 […] See claim 1; ¶0332 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: As depicted in FIG. 26. & per ¶00332 i.e. In accordance with the feedback transmission timing, the feedback timing may be determined so that terminal 2 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback, and terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback reads on: further comprising: assigning each feedback resource of the plurality of feedback resources where i.e. terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback reads on: for transmission or that terminal 2 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback reads on: or reception of feedback , i.e. for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 2 to terminal 1 and i.e. for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 1 to terminal 2 reads on: for a respective sidelink message of a plurality of sidelink messages);
YEO in view of LI and Eriksson does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: See Italicized portions): assigning based at least in part on a priority of each sidelink message;
LEE2 teaches: assigning each feedback resource of the plurality of feedback resources for feedback for a respective sidelink message of a plurality of sidelink messages based at least in part on a priority of each sidelink message of the plurality of sidelink messages (LEE2 - FIG. 15 & ¶0214 See Claim 4 ; ¶0215 See claim 4; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0215 i.e. step S1540, the fourth UE may determine the PSFCH to which the HARQ feedback will be transmitted based on a pre-configured maximum number of transmissions reads on: assigning each feedback resource of the plurality of feedback resources , per ¶0214 […] step S1510, a fourth UE may perform a first PSSCH reception […] step S1530, the fourth UE may perform the third PSSCH reception reads on: for feedback for a respective sidelink message of a plurality of sidelink messages , per ¶0215 i.e. , the three PSFCH transmissions may be the number before dropping a specific number of PSFCH transmissions based on the priority of the PSFCH reads on: based at least in part on a priority of each sidelink message of the plurality of sidelink messages as corresponds to the individual PSSCH messages received);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YEO in view of LI and Eriksson with teachings of LEE2, since LEE2 enables procedures where a UE may effectively perform sidelink communications, and for efficiently handling PSFCH transmission/reception (LEE2 - ¶0016 & ¶0172 ).
Regarding Claim 9. (Original) YEO in view of LI and Eriksson teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore YEO teaches: wherein assigning the first feedback resource further comprises: assigning the first feedback resource for transmission or reception of feedback for the first sidelink message (YEO – FIG. 26 & ¶0331 See above; ¶0333 […] See above; ¶0332 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶00332 i.e. terminal 2 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback and i.e. terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback i.e. terminal 2 transmits the HARQ-ACK feedback and terminal 1 transmits the HARQ-ACK feedback i.e. In accordance with the feedback transmission timing reads on: wherein assigning the first feedback resource further comprises: assigning the first feedback resource for transmitting the respective HARQ feedback , where both feedbacks i.e. terminal 2 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 1 to terminal 2 in slot 1, and i.e. terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 2 to terminal 1 in slot 2 used to convey the respective feedbacks within PSFCH 2622, such as i.e. resources comprising UE 1 both transmitting HARQ-ACK and separately UE 1 receiving HARQ-ACK at the same time within PFSCH 2622. Furthermore per ¶0332 i.e. terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback reads on: for transmission of feedback by UE1, and in the alternative i.e. terminal 2 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback reads on: or reception of feedback, where i.e. for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 1 to terminal 2 in slot 1, and for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 2 to terminal 1 in slot 2 reads on: for the first sidelink message as applicable to the respective the PSSCH mapped to the corresponding HARQ-ACK);
furthermore LI teaches: assigning the first feedback resource for feedback for the first sidelink message that differs from a second feedback resource indicated in the feedback channel configuration (LI – FIG. 3, FIG. 4, FIG. 5 & ¶0045 See claim 1 ;¶0063 See claim 1 ; ¶0065 See claim 1; ¶0066 See claim 1; ¶0067 See claim 1; ¶0068 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0066 i.e. resource reallocation information is configured to instruct the target second device to reallocate resources where per ¶0067 i.e. when the overlapping resources are used to transmit […] PSFCH resource, the identification information of the overlapping resources may be the ID of the time-frequency resource block occupied by the […] PSFCH resource reads on: assigning the first feedback resource for feedback for the first sidelink message , where per FIG. 3 and FIG. 4 and ¶0067 i.e. the resource reallocation information includes identification information of the overlapping resources, where furthermore per ¶0066 i.e. resource reallocation information is configured to instruct the target second device to reallocate resources reads on: that differs from due to reallocation, where per ¶0063 […] In step 502, the first device determines the resources allocated by the second device based on i.e. the resource allocation information transmitted by the second device reads on: a second feedback resource indicated in the feedback channel configuration where ¶0068 after the target second device receives the resource reallocation information transmitted by the first device, the target second device reallocates resources for the direct communication information and per ¶0045 and per ¶0066 resource allocation and resource relocation can be via “SCI”);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YEO in view of LI and Eriksson further with the teachings of LI, since LI enables procedures where a resource collision can be detected, improving resolution probability of the resource collision and avoiding the occurrence of resource collision to the utmost extent, and thereby fully ensuring the success rate of transmitting and receiving information in the V2X direct communication scenario, and furthermore facilitating to improve spectrum efficiency (LI - ¶0060 ).
While YEO in view of LI and Eriksson teaches: wherein assigning the first feedback resource further comprises: assigning the first feedback resource for transmission or reception of feedback for the first sidelink message that differs from a second feedback resource indicated in the feedback channel configuration;
YEO in view of LI and Eriksson does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: See Italicized portions): assigning the first feedback resource based at least in part on a priority of the first sidelink message;
LEE2 teaches: assigning the first feedback resource for the first sidelink message that differs from a second feedback resource based at least in part on a priority of the first sidelink message (LEE2 - FIG. 15 & ¶0214 See Claim 4 ; ¶0215 See claim 4; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0215 i.e. step S1540, the fourth UE may determine the PSFCH to which the HARQ feedback will be transmitted based on a pre-configured maximum number of transmissions reads on: assigning the first feedback resource, per ¶0214 […] step S1510, a fourth UE may perform a first PSSCH reception […] step S1530, the fourth UE may perform the third PSSCH reception reads on: for the first sidelink message, per ¶0215 i.e. , the three PSFCH transmissions may be the number before dropping a specific number of PSFCH transmissions based on the priority of the PSFCH reads on: that differs from a second feedback resource based at least in part on a priority of the first sidelink message as corresponds to the individual PSSCH messages received);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YEO in view of LI and Eriksson with teachings of LEE2, since LEE2 enables procedures where a UE may effectively perform sidelink communications, and for efficiently handling PSFCH transmission/reception (LEE2 - ¶0016 & ¶0172 ).
Regarding Claim 10. (Original) YEO in view of LI and Eriksson teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore YEO teaches: wherein assigning the first feedback resource further comprises: assigning the first feedback resource for transmission or reception of feedback for the first sidelink message (YEO – FIG. 26 & ¶0331 See above; ¶0333 […] See above; ¶0332 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶00332 i.e. terminal 2 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback and i.e. terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback i.e. terminal 2 transmits the HARQ-ACK feedback and terminal 1 transmits the HARQ-ACK feedback i.e. In accordance with the feedback transmission timing reads on: wherein assigning the first feedback resource further comprises: assigning the first feedback resource for transmitting the respective HARQ feedback , where both feedbacks i.e. terminal 2 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 1 to terminal 2 in slot 1, and i.e. terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 2 to terminal 1 in slot 2 used to convey the respective feedbacks within PSFCH 2622, such as i.e. resources comprising UE 1 both transmitting HARQ-ACK and separately UE 1 receiving HARQ-ACK at the same time within PFSCH 2622. Furthermore per ¶0332 i.e. terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback reads on: for transmission of feedback by UE1, and in the alternative i.e. terminal 2 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback reads on: or reception of feedback, where i.e. for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 1 to terminal 2 in slot 1, and for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 2 to terminal 1 in slot 2 reads on: for the first sidelink message as applicable to the respective the PSSCH mapped to the corresponding HARQ-ACK);
furthermore LI teaches: assigning the first feedback resource for feedback for the first sidelink message that differs from a second feedback resource indicated in the feedback channel configuration (LI – FIG. 3, FIG. 4, FIG. 5 & ¶0045 See claim 1 ;¶0063 See claim 1 ; ¶0065 See claim 1; ¶0066 See claim 1; ¶0067 See claim 1; ¶0068 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0066 i.e. resource reallocation information is configured to instruct the target second device to reallocate resources where per ¶0067 i.e. when the overlapping resources are used to transmit […] PSFCH resource, the identification information of the overlapping resources may be the ID of the time-frequency resource block occupied by the […] PSFCH resource reads on: assigning the first feedback resource for feedback for the first sidelink message , where per FIG. 3 and FIG. 4 and ¶0067 i.e. the resource reallocation information includes identification information of the overlapping resources, where furthermore per ¶0066 i.e. resource reallocation information is configured to instruct the target second device to reallocate resources reads on: that differs from due to reallocation, where per ¶0063 […] In step 502, the first device determines the resources allocated by the second device based on i.e. the resource allocation information transmitted by the second device reads on: a second feedback resource indicated in the feedback channel configuration where ¶0068 after the target second device receives the resource reallocation information transmitted by the first device, the target second device reallocates resources for the direct communication information and per ¶0045 and per ¶0066 resource allocation and resource relocation can be via “SCI”);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YEO in view of LI and Eriksson further with the teachings of LI, since LI enables procedures where a resource collision can be detected, improving resolution probability of the resource collision and avoiding the occurrence of resource collision to the utmost extent, and thereby fully ensuring the success rate of transmitting and receiving information in the V2X direct communication scenario, and furthermore facilitating to improve spectrum efficiency (LI - ¶0060 ).
While YEO in view of LI and Eriksson teaches: wherein assigning the first feedback resource further comprises: assigning the first feedback resource for transmission or reception of feedback for the first sidelink message that differs from a second feedback resource indicated in the feedback channel configuration;
YEO in view of LI and Eriksson does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: See Italicized portions): assigning the first feedback resource based at least in part on a priority of feedback transmission of the first sidelink message relative to a priority of feedback reception for a second sidelink message within the first feedback resource;
LEE2 teaches: assigning the first feedback resource based at least in part on a priority of feedback transmission of the first sidelink message relative to a priority of feedback reception for a second sidelink message within the first feedback resource (LEE2 - FIG. 15 & ¶0214 See Claim 4 ; ¶0215 See claim 4; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0215 i.e. step S1540, the fourth UE may determine the PSFCH to which the HARQ feedback will be transmitted based on a pre-configured maximum number of transmissions reads on: assigning the first feedback resource, per ¶0214 […] step S1510, a fourth UE may perform a first PSSCH reception […] step S1530, the fourth UE may perform the third PSSCH reception, per ¶0215 i.e. , the three PSFCH transmissions may be the number before dropping a specific number of PSFCH transmissions based on the priority of the PSFCH reads on: based at least in part on a priority of feedback transmission of the first sidelink message as corresponds to the individual PSSCH messages received, where i.e. dropping a specific number of PSFCH transmissions reads on: relative to a priority of feedback reception for a second sidelink message within the first feedback resource );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YEO in view of LI and Eriksson with teachings of LEE2, since LEE2 enables procedures where a UE may effectively perform sidelink communications, and for efficiently handling PSFCH transmission/reception (LEE2 - ¶0016 & ¶0172 ).
Regarding Claim 26. (Original) YEO in view of LI and Eriksson teaches: The apparatus of claim 19,
(See the rejection of Claim 8, Claim 26 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 8, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 8 applies similarly to Claim 26. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: assign each feedback resource of the plurality of feedback resources for transmission or reception of feedback for a respective sidelink message of a plurality of sidelink messages based at least in part on a priority of each sidelink message of the plurality of sidelink messages (See the rejection of Claim 8, Claim 26 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 8, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 8 applies similarly to Claim 26. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 27. (Original) YEO in view of LI and Eriksson teaches: The apparatus of claim 19,
(See the rejection of Claim 9, Claim 27 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 9, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 9 applies similarly to Claim 27. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the instructions to assign the first feedback resource are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: assign the first feedback resource for transmission or reception of feedback for the first sidelink message that differs from a second feedback resource indicated in the feedback channel configuration based at least in part on a priority of the first sidelink message (See the rejection of Claim 9, Claim 27 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 9, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 9 applies similarly to Claim 27. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 28. (Original) YEO in view of LI and Eriksson teaches: The apparatus of claim 19,
(See the rejection of Claim 10, Claim 28 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 10, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 10 applies similarly to Claim 28. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the instructions to assign the first feedback resource are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: assign the first feedback resource for transmission or reception of feedback for the first sidelink message that differs from a second feedback resource indicated in the feedback channel configuration based at least in part on a priority of feedback transmission of the first sidelink message relative to a priority of feedback reception for a second sidelink message within the first feedback resource (See the rejection of Claim 10, Claim 28 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 10, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 10 applies similarly to Claim 28. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
16. Claims 11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YEO in view of LI and Eriksson, further in view of LIU et al. (WO2021081935A1), i.e.
Regarding Claim 11. (Original) YEO in view of LI and Eriksson teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore YEO teaches: wherein assigning the first feedback resource further comprises: assigning the first feedback resource for transmission or reception of feedback for the first sidelink message (YEO – FIG. 26 & ¶0331 See above; ¶0333 […] See above; ¶0332 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶00332 i.e. terminal 2 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback and i.e. terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback i.e. terminal 2 transmits the HARQ-ACK feedback and terminal 1 transmits the HARQ-ACK feedback i.e. In accordance with the feedback transmission timing reads on: wherein assigning the first feedback resource further comprises: assigning the first feedback resource for transmitting the respective HARQ feedback , where both feedbacks i.e. terminal 2 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 1 to terminal 2 in slot 1, and i.e. terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 2 to terminal 1 in slot 2 used to convey the respective feedbacks within PSFCH 2622, such as i.e. resources comprising UE 1 both transmitting HARQ-ACK and separately UE 1 receiving HARQ-ACK at the same time within PFSCH 2622. Furthermore per ¶0332 i.e. terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback reads on: for transmission of feedback by UE1, and in the alternative i.e. terminal 2 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback reads on: or reception of feedback, where i.e. for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 1 to terminal 2 in slot 1, and for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 2 to terminal 1 in slot 2 reads on: for the first sidelink message as applicable to the respective the PSSCH mapped to the corresponding HARQ-ACK);
furthermore LI teaches: assigning the first feedback resource for feedback for the first sidelink message that differs from a second feedback resource indicated in the feedback channel configuration (LI – FIG. 3, FIG. 4, FIG. 5 & ¶0045 See claim 1 ;¶0063 See claim 1 ; ¶0065 See claim 1; ¶0066 See claim 1; ¶0067 See claim 1; ¶0068 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0066 i.e. resource reallocation information is configured to instruct the target second device to reallocate resources where per ¶0067 i.e. when the overlapping resources are used to transmit […] PSFCH resource, the identification information of the overlapping resources may be the ID of the time-frequency resource block occupied by the […] PSFCH resource reads on: assigning the first feedback resource for feedback for the first sidelink message , where per FIG. 3 and FIG. 4 and ¶0067 i.e. the resource reallocation information includes identification information of the overlapping resources, where furthermore per ¶0066 i.e. resource reallocation information is configured to instruct the target second device to reallocate resources reads on: that differs from due to reallocation, where per ¶0063 […] In step 502, the first device determines the resources allocated by the second device based on i.e. the resource allocation information transmitted by the second device reads on: a second feedback resource indicated in the feedback channel configuration where ¶0068 after the target second device receives the resource reallocation information transmitted by the first device, the target second device reallocates resources for the direct communication information and per ¶0045 and per ¶0066 resource allocation and resource relocation can be via “SCI”);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YEO in view of LI and Eriksson further with the teachings of LI, since LI enables procedures where a resource collision can be detected, improving resolution probability of the resource collision and avoiding the occurrence of resource collision to the utmost extent, and thereby fully ensuring the success rate of transmitting and receiving information in the V2X direct communication scenario, and furthermore facilitating to improve spectrum efficiency (LI - ¶0060 ).
While YEO in view of LI and Eriksson teaches: wherein assigning the first feedback resource further comprises: assigning the first feedback resource for transmission or reception of feedback for the first sidelink message that differs from a second feedback resource indicated in the feedback channel configuration;
YEO in view of LI and Eriksson does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: See Italicized portions): assigning the first feedback resource based at least in part on a location of a guard band assigned by the UE within the plurality of feedback resources or indicated by the feedback channel configuration;
LIU teaches: assigning the first feedback resource based at least in part on (note: limitations subsequent to a recitation “at least in part on” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) a location of a guard band assigned by the UE within the plurality of feedback resources (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) indicated by the feedback channel configuration (LIU – FIG. 4 & ¶0048 […] At block 410, the first device 310-1 obtains information indicating mapping between a plurality of sidelink channels and a plurality of feedback channels within a period of time [...] ; ¶0051 […] PSFCH resource groups are continuous in frequency except guard bands may be inserted between them.; ¶0055 […] At block 430, the first device 310-1 selects at least one feedback channel associated with the at least one sidelink channel from the plurality of feedback channels based on the information; ¶0058 […] With the resource mapping, candidate PSFCHs have index [l: 1 + S - 1] occupying physically continuous resources in the PSFCH time slot. The PSFCH in the middle of candidate PSFCHs set (e.g., with index 1 + lS/2J if S is odd, or with index 1 + lS/2J or 1 + lS/2J - 1 if S is 15 even) is used for transmitting HARQ feedback for the PSSCH. The other PSFCH resources at two sides or at one side are left unused as guard bands; ¶0059 […] it introduces guard bands around HARQ feedback transmissions; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0048 i.e. At block 410, the first device 310-1 obtains information indicating mapping between a plurality of sidelink channels and a plurality of feedback channels within a period of time and per ¶0055 At block 430, the first device 310-1 selects at least one feedback channel reads on: assigning the first feedback resource , and per ¶0058 i.e. The other PSFCH resources at two sides or at one side are left unused as guard bands and ¶0059 i.e. introduces guard bands around HARQ feedback transmissions reads on: based at least in part on a location of a guard band, i.e. ¶0055 […] At block 430, the first device 310-1 selects at least one feedback channel associated with the at least one sidelink channel from the plurality of feedback channels i.e. based on the information reads on: indicated by the feedback channel configuration);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YEO in view of LI and Eriksson with teachings of LIU, since LIU enables protection to HARQ feedback corresponding to one sidelink channel occupying multiple sub-channels and it reduces mutual interference (IBI in-band emission interference) between HARQ feedbacks to different transmitting terminal devices (LIU - ¶0059 ).
Regarding Claim 13. (Original) YEO in view of LI and Eriksson teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore YEO teaches: wherein the communicating further comprises: communicating the feedback data for the first sidelink message in the first feedback resource of the feedback channel (YEO – FIG. 26 & ¶0331 See Claim 1; ¶0333 See Claim 1; ¶0332 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: ¶0332 i.e. terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback reads on: wherein the communicating further comprises: communicating the feedback data where i.e. for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 2 to terminal 1 in slot 2 reads on: for the first sidelink message as applicable to the respective the PSSCH mapped to the corresponding HARQ-ACK, and i.e. ¶0332 i.e. terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620 reads on: in the first feedback resource of the feedback channel );
YEO in view of LI and Eriksson does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: See Italicized portions): communicating the feedback data based at least in part on using a second feedback resource of the plurality of feedback resources as a guard band, wherein the feedback channel configuration indicates the second feedback resource is a transmission feedback resource or a reception feedback resource;
LIU teaches: communicating the feedback data based at least in part on (note: limitations subsequent to a recitation “at least in part on” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) using a second feedback resource of the plurality of feedback resources as a guard band wherein the feedback channel configuration indicates the second feedback resource is a transmission feedback resource (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) a reception feedback resource (LIU – FIG. 4 & ¶0048 See claim 11 ; ¶0051 See claim 11; ¶0055 See claim 11; ¶0056 […] At block 440, the first device 310-1 transmits at least one feedback for the at least one data packet on the at least one feedback channel to the second device 310-2; ¶0058 See claim 11; ¶0059 See claim 11; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0048 i.e. At block 410, the first device 310-1 obtains information indicating mapping between a plurality of sidelink channels and a plurality of feedback channels within a period of time and per ¶0055 At block 430, the first device 310-1 selects at least one feedback channel and per At block 440, the first device 310-1 transmits at least one feedback for the at least one data packet on the at least one feedback channel reads on: communicating the feedback data, and per ¶0058 i.e. The other PSFCH resources at two sides or at one side are left unused as guard bands and ¶0059 i.e. introduces guard bands around HARQ feedback transmissions reads on: at least in part on using a second feedback resource of the plurality of feedback resources as a guard band, i.e. ¶0055 […] At block 430, the first device 310-1 selects at least one feedback channel associated with the at least one sidelink channel from the plurality of feedback channels i.e. based on the information (per ¶0048 information of step 410)reads on: wherein the feedback channel configuration indicates the second feedback resource is a transmission feedback resource);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YEO in view of LI and Eriksson with teachings of LIU, since LIU enables protection to HARQ feedback corresponding to one sidelink channel occupying multiple sub-channels and it reduces mutual interference (IBI in-band emission interference) between HARQ feedbacks to different transmitting terminal devices (LIU - ¶0059 ).
17. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YEO in view of LI and Eriksson, further in view of Stern-Berkowitz et al. (US 20190068334 A1), i.e. “Stern”
Regarding Claim 12. (Original) YEO in view of LI and Eriksson teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore YEO teaches: wherein the feedback channel configuration indicates the first feedback resource (YEO – FIG. 26 & ¶0331 See above; ¶0333 […] See above; ¶0332 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0332 i.e. In accordance with the feedback transmission timing, the feedback timing may be determined so that terminal 2 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 1 to terminal 2 […] , and terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback for the PSSCH transmitted from terminal 2 to terminal 1 i.e. the feedback transmission timing reads on: wherein the feedback channel configuration, where per ¶00332 In accordance with the feedback transmission timing i.e. terminal 2 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback and i.e. terminal 1 transmits, in slot 4 2620, the HARQ-ACK feedback i.e. terminal 2 transmits the HARQ-ACK feedback i.e. and terminal 1 transmits the HARQ-ACK feedback reads on: indicates the first feedback resource);
YEO in view of LI and Eriksson does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: See Italicized portions): that the first feedback resource is a guard band;
Stern teaches: wherein the feedback channel configuration indicates that the first feedback resource is a guard band (Stern FIG. 7B & ¶0178 […] the number of S-PRBs may be determined based on an indication from a broadcasting channel (for example, a master information block (MIB), or a SIB) and the number of G-PRBs may be determined based on at least one of following: an indication from a higher layer signaling; FIG. 9 & ¶0187 […] HARQ feedback may use guard-band PRBs. A PUSCH, a PDSCH or both may be transmitted in S-PRBs and the associated HARQ feedback may be transmitted in G-PRBs; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: where per ¶0187 i.e. HARQ feedback may be transmitted in G-PRBs, per ¶0178 i.e. the number of G-PRBs may be determined based on at least one of following: an indication from a higher layer signaling reads on: wherein the feedback channel configuration and per ¶0187 i.e. HARQ feedback may be transmitted in G-PRBs reads on: indicates that the first feedback resource is a guard band).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YEO in view of LI and Eriksson with teachings of Stern, since Stern enables that latency can be improved because WTRU may send HARQ feedback on the UL part of a special subframe sooner than the WTRU may send HARQ feedback in UL sTTI (Stern - ¶0130).
Allowable Subject Matter
18. Claims 7, 14-18, 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable contingent upon or subject to all of the following conditions:
(1) that the claims are rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as presented by applicant and referenced herein,
(2) that all independent claims were amended with similar, identical and parallel features and amendments in the independent claims representing identical features were submitted in a formal response,
(3) that the claim limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations,
(4) that all pending issues associated with the claims including:
(a) clarifying applicable issues related with claim objections under minor informalities and 112 (b) rejections,
(b) issues related with the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations, including the independent claims,
are all acceptably resolved, and do not result in a case where, given the scope of any applicant claimed amendments and/or arguments, examination would require would require further consideration and search.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 7. (Original) The method of claim 1, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the communicating further comprises: transmitting the feedback data for the first sidelink message on a transmit feedback resource and receiving second feedback data for a second sidelink resource on a receive feedback resource having a guard band between the transmit feedback resource and the receive feedback resource, wherein a first location of the guard band within the plurality of feedback resources differs from a second location of the guard band indicated in the feedback channel configuration”.
Regarding Claim 14. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the assigning is
Regarding Claim 15. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the assigning further comprises: assigning the plurality of feedback resources to increase or maximize a number of transmit feedback resources in the plurality of feedback resources for a transmission time interval, wherein a number of feedback resources assigned [[to be]] as a receive feedback resource in the plurality of feedback resources satisfies a threshold”.
Regarding Claim 16. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the assigning further comprises: assigning the plurality of feedback resources to increase or maximize a number of receive feedback resources in the plurality of feedback resources for a transmission time interval, wherein a number of feedback resources assigned [[to be]] as a transmit feedback resource in the plurality of feedback resources satisfies a threshold”.
Regarding Claim 17. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the assigning further comprises: determining that an initial assignment of the plurality of feedback resources does not satisfy one or more constraints; and switching a transmit feedback resource in the initial assignment to [[be]] a receive feedback resource, or switching a receive feedback resource the initial assignment to [[be]] a transmit feedback resource based at least in part on the determining, or both”.
Regarding Claim 18. (Original) The method of claim 1, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the assigning further comprises: determining that an initial assignment of the plurality of feedback resources does not satisfy one or more constraints; and changing a second feedback resource in the initial assignment to [[be]] a guard band between a transmit feedback resource and a receive feedback resource”.
Regarding Claim 25. (Original) The apparatus of claim 19, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the instructions to communicate are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit the feedback data for the first sidelink message on a transmit feedback resource and receiving second feedback data for a second sidelink resource on a receive feedback resource having a guard band between the transmit feedback resource and the receive feedback resource, wherein a first location of the guard band within the plurality of feedback resources differs from a second location of the guard band indicated in the feedback channel configuration”.
Please note: The examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitation, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MALICK A SOHRAB whose telephone number is (571)272-4347. The examiner can normally be reached on Mo-Fri 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
04/29/2026
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414