Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MAK (US 2019/0371279).
As per claim 1 MAK discloses: A wearable device 1160 configured to be used by being worn by a user, the wearable device 1160 {figure 11} comprising:
at least one processor 1170 {figure 11},
configured to: control a display to display a virtual image 1200/1300 {figures 12, 13A & 13B} located inside a space and having a front surface and a rear surface on an opposite side from the front surface { [0204] FIGS. 13A-13B illustrates an example double-sided web pages, according to some embodiments. FIG. 13A shows a smoothie drink while FIG. 13B illustrates an example back side/second side of the smoothie drink including ingredients and directions for making the smoothie},
the front surface of the virtual image 1200/1300 has a first region and a strip-shaped second region that is smaller than the first region, and the rear surface of the virtual image 1200/1300 has a third region that is larger than the second region and a fourth region corresponding to the second region {figures 12, 13A & 13B}, and
determine that the rear surface of the virtual image 1200/1300 inside the space faces the user; receive a user input to select the third region facing the user, in response to determining that the rear surface of the virtual image 1200/1300 inside the space faces the user; and control the display to change a display mode of the virtual image 1200/1300 from the rear surface facing the user to the front surface facing the user, in response to the user input selecting the third region {[0204] In this example, the user 1108 would have to walk around the main wall 1180 to see both sides of the double-sided web page. In some embodiments, the front side of the main wall 1180 may include both sides of the double-sided web page. In this example, the user 1108 may toggle between the two sides of the double-sided web page via user input. The double-sided web page may appear to flip from a first side to a second side in response to user input. Note: it is seen that the “third region” which receives a “user input” is disclosed by Mak since the “third region” lacks specificity.}.
As per claim 2 MAK discloses: The wearable device 1160 according to claim 1, wherein the display includes a display member that is transparent to light, and the at least one processor 1170 causes the virtual image 1200/1300 to be displayed on a display surface of the display member with the virtual image 1200/1300 visible in the space that is visible through the display member { [0237] Additionally, virtual objects may also include objects that have surfaces for displaying content (e.g., a transparent display screen in close proximity to the user for viewing certain content) that are not even in the physical presence of the user's physical environment 1105, but from a displaying content perspective, may be an ideal display surface to present certain content to the user.}.
As per claim 3 MAK discloses: The wearable device 1160 according to claim 1, further comprising: a camera 1164 {figure 11} configured to capture an image of the space, wherein the at least one processor 1170 {figure 11} causes the display to display an image of the space captured by the camera 1164 and the virtual image 1200/1300 superimposed on the image of the space { [0196] The sensors 1164 may include, for example, a generally outward-facing camera or a scanner for interpreting scene information, for example, through continuously and/or intermittently projected infrared structured light.}.
As per claim 4 MAK discloses: The wearable device 1160 according to claim 1, wherein the second region is a region in which a function bar is displayed {figures 12, 13A & 13B}.
As per claim 5 MAK discloses: The wearable device 1160 according to claim 1, wherein the second region is a region in which a title or an icon relating to display content of the first region is displayed {figures 12, 13A & 13B}.
As per claim 6 MAK discloses: The wearable device 1160 according to claim 1, is a plurality of virtual images 1200/1300 on which the user input can be performed displayed on the display, in response to the user input being performed on one of the plurality of virtual images 1200/1300, the at least one processor 1170 changes a display mode of another one of the plurality of virtual images 1200/1300 to the display mode {[0202] As an example, content accessed or displayed by the web browser 1110 may be a web page having multiple tabs, wherein a current active tab 1260 is displayed and a secondary tab 1250 is currently hidden until selected upon to display on the web browser 1110. Displayed within the active tab 1260 is typically a web page. In this particular example, the active tab 1260 is displaying a YOUTUBE page including a main video 1220, user comments 1230, and suggested videos 1240. As depicted in this exemplary FIG. 12, the main video 1220 may be matched/mapped to display on vertical surface 1182, the user comments 1230 may be matched/mapped to display on horizontal surface 1192, and suggested videos 1240 may be matched/mapped to display on a different vertical surface 1186 from the vertical surface 1182.}.
As per claim 7 MAK discloses: The wearable device 1160 according claim 1, wherein the user input includes a pointing operation in which an intersection between a virtual line displayed in a direction in which a hand of the user extends and the virtual image 1200/1300 is specified as a specified position in the virtual image 1200/1300 {[0193] The user interface may include receiving content and selecting elements within the content by user input through the user interface. The user interface may be at least one or a combination of a haptics interface devices, a keyboard, a mouse, a joystick, a motion capture controller, an optical tracking device and an audio input device. [0195] For example, a user (e.g., the user 1108) viewing a virtual keyboard on a desk (e.g., the table 1188) may gesture with their fingers as if the user were typing on the virtual keyboard. The motion of the fingers moving may be captured by the sensors 1164 and provided to the head-mounted system 1160 as input, wherein the input may be used to change the virtual world or create new virtual objects.}.
As per claim 8 MAK discloses: The wearable device 1160 according to claim 1, wherein the user input includes a pointing operation in which a location where a position of a finger of the user in a real space overlaps the virtual image 1200/1300 is specified as a specified position in the virtual image 1200/1300 {[0172] In some embodiments, the gesture of the user may be a hand gesture that may include an indication of (a) selection of the content from a first surface, (b) movement of the content from the first surface to a second surface, and (c) placing the content at the second surface.}.
As per claim 9 MAK discloses: The wearable device 1160 according to claim 7, wherein the user input includes a selection operation in which the specified position specified by the pointing operation is selected {[0172] In some embodiments, the gesture of the user may be a hand gesture that may include an indication of (a) selection of the content from a first surface, (b) movement of the content from the first surface to a second surface, and (c) placing the content at the second surface.}.
As per claim 10 MAK discloses: The wearable device 1160 according to claim 9, wherein the at least one processor 1170 causes an image of the front surface to be displayed on the rear surface of the virtual image 1200/1300 surface { [0204] FIGS. 13A-13B illustrates an example double-sided web pages, according to some embodiments. FIG. 13A shows a smoothie drink while FIG. 13B illustrates an example back side/second side of the smoothie drink including ingredients and directions for making the smoothie}in response to the user input {[0172] In some embodiments, the gesture of the user may be a hand gesture that may include an indication of (a) selection of the content from a first surface, (b) movement of the content from the first surface to a second surface, and (c) placing the content at the second surface.}.
As per claim 11 MAK discloses: The wearable device 1160 according to claim 9, wherein the user input further includes a prescribed movement of a hand of the user made while the pointing operation and the selection operation are performed, and the at least one processor 1170 causes an image of the front surface to be displayed on the rear surface of the virtual image 1200/1300 in response to the user input { [0204] FIGS. 13A-13B illustrates an example double-sided web pages, according to some embodiments. FIG. 13A shows a smoothie drink while FIG. 13B illustrates an example back side/second side of the smoothie drink including ingredients and directions for making the smoothie}in response to the user input {[0172] In some embodiments, the gesture of the user may be a hand gesture that may include an indication of (a) selection of the content from a first surface, (b) movement of the content from the first surface to a second surface, and (c) placing the content at the second surface.}.
As per claim 18 MAK discloses: The wearable device 1160 according to claim 1, wherein each virtual image 1200/1300 can be set to either a first mode in which the virtual image 1200/1300 can be changed to the display mode or a second mode in which the virtual image 1200/1300 cannot be changed to the display mode, and the at least one processor 1170 causes the virtual images 1200/1300 set to the first mode and the virtual images 1200/1300 set to the second mode to be displayed in a distinguishable manner when causing the display to display the virtual images 1200/1300 {figures 12, 13A & 13B}.
As per claim 19 MAK discloses: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program configured to cause a computer provided in a wearable device 1160 configured to be used by being worn by a user to execute:
controlling a display to display a virtual image 1200/1300 {figures 12, 13A & 13B} located inside a space and having a front surface and a rear surface on an opposite side from the front surface { [0204] FIGS. 13A-13B illustrates an example double-sided web pages, according to some embodiments. FIG. 13A shows a smoothie drink while FIG. 13B illustrates an example back side/second side of the smoothie drink including ingredients and directions for making the smoothie},
wherein the front surface of the virtual image 1200/1300 has a first region and a strip-shaped second region that is smaller than the first region, and the rear surface of the virtual image 1200/1300 has a third region that is larger than the second region and a fourth region corresponding to the second region {figures 12, 13A & 13B}, and
determining that the rear surface of the virtual image inside the space faces the user, receiving a user input to select the third region facing the user, in response to determining that the rear surface of the virtual image inside the space faces the user, and controlling the display to change a display mode of the virtual image 1200/1300 from the rear surface facing the user to the front surface facing the user in response to the user input selecting on the third region {[0204] In this example, the user 1108 would have to walk around the main wall 1180 to see both sides of the double-sided web page. In some embodiments, the front side of the main wall 1180 may include both sides of the double-sided web page. In this example, the user 1108 may toggle between the two sides of the double-sided web page via user input. The double-sided web page may appear to flip from a first side to a second side in response to user input. Note: it is seen that the “third region” which receives a “user input” is disclosed by Mak since the “third region” lacks specificity.}.
As per claim 20 MAK discloses: A display method for use in a wearable device 1160 configured to be used by being worn by a user, the method comprising: controlling a display to display a virtual image 1200/1300 located inside a space and having a front surface and a rear surface on an opposite side from the front surface { [0204] FIGS. 13A-13B illustrates an example double-sided web pages, according to some embodiments. FIG. 13A shows a smoothie drink while FIG. 13B illustrates an example back side/second side of the smoothie drink including ingredients and directions for making the smoothie},
wherein the front surface of the virtual image 1200/1300 has a first region and a strip-shaped second region that is smaller than the first region, and the rear surface of the virtual image 1200/1300 has a third region that is larger than the second region and a fourth region corresponding to the second region {figures 12, 13A & 13B}, and
determining that the rear surface of the virtual image inside the space faces the user, receiving a user input to select the third region facing the user, in response to determining that the rear surface of the virtual image inside the space faces the user, and
controlling the display to change, a display mode of the virtual image 1200/1300 from the rear surface facing the user to the front surface facing the user, in response to the user selecting the third region {[0204] In this example, the user 1108 would have to walk around the main wall 1180 to see both sides of the double-sided web page. In some embodiments, the front side of the main wall 1180 may include both sides of the double-sided web page. In this example, the user 1108 may toggle between the two sides of the double-sided web page via user input. The double-sided web page may appear to flip from a first side to a second side in response to user input. Note: it is seen that the “third region” which receives a “user input” is disclosed by Mak since the “third region” lacks specificity.}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAK (US 2019/0371279) in view of Henckel et al (US 5,463,725).
Regarding claim 12 MAK is silent as to: The wearable device 1160 according to claim 11, wherein the prescribed movement of the hand of the user is a turning motion mimicking an action of turning a piece of paper. Regarding claim 13 MAK is silent as to: The wearable device 1160 according to claim 12, wherein the at least one processor 1170 causes an image of the front surface to be displayed on the rear surface of the virtual image 1200/1300 when a movement speed of the hand of the user in the turning motion is greater than or equal to a prescribed speed. Regarding claim 14 MAK is silent as to: The wearable device 1160 according to claim 12, wherein the at least one processor 1170 causes an image of the front surface to be displayed on the rear surface of the virtual image 1200/1300 when a movement distance of the hand of the user in the turning motion is greater than or equal to a prescribed distance.
With respect to claims 12-14 Henckel et al: [ column 7, lines 5-9] The speed of movement of the vertical line matches the movement of the user's finger during the swipe. This is somewhat less intuitive than the animated turning page, but easier to implement on systems lacking in computational capacity or adequate graphics support.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the wearable device of MAK with a prescribed movement of the hand of the user is a turning motion mimicking an action of turning a piece of paper when a movement speed of the hand of the user in the turning motion is greater than or equal to a prescribed speed as taught by Henckel et al. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a wearable device with a prescribed movement of the hand of the user is a turning motion mimicking an action of turning a piece of paper when a movement speed of the hand of the user in the turning motion is greater than or equal to a prescribed speed so as to make the skeuomorphism of the animation more realistic to the user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts in the first paragraph on page 2 the following:
Applicant respectfully submits that MAK, whether taken alone or in any combination with the secondary references, fails to disclose, suggest, or otherwise render obvious the combinations of limitations recited in amended independent claims 1, 19, and 20, including to "determine that the rear surface of the virtual image inside the space faces the user." For example, MAK fails to disclose, suggest, or otherwise render obvious determining whether the first side of the double-sided web page or the second side of the double-sided web page (see MAK at ¶¶ 203-204, FIGS. 13A-B) is facing the user.
As stated supra, Mak discloses the following in [0204]:
In this example, the user 1108 would have to walk around the main wall 1180 to see both sides of the double-sided web page. In some embodiments, the front side of the main wall 1180 may include both sides of the double-sided web page. In this example, the user 1108 may toggle between the two sides of the double-sided web page via user input. The double-sided web page may appear to flip from a first side to a second side in response to user input.
Therefore, contrary to applicant’s assertion the applied prior art discloses determining “that the rear surface of the virtual image inside the spaces faces the user” as required by the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/DAVID D DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627
DDD