DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
This is a final office action in response to applicant's arguments and remarks filed on 08/20/2026.
Status of Rejections
The rejection(s) of claim(s) 13 is/are obviated by applicant’s cancellation.
The rejection of claim(s) 3-4 and 10-11 under 35 USC 112(b) is/are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendment.
All other previous rejections are maintained and modified only in response to the amendments to the claims.
Claims 2-4, 9-12 and 20-21 are pending and under consideration for this Office Action.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, line 3, “each comprise” should read “each comprises”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byszewski et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,352,345) in view of Nakamura et al. (JP 2000354772 A, citations based on translation), and further in view of Gao et al. (“Regenerating spent acid produced by HZSM-5 zeolite preparation by bipolar membrane electrodialysis”, Sep. Purif. Technol., 2014).
Regarding claim 2, Byszewski teaches a wastewater treatment system for treating regeneration wastewater generated by a regeneration process using an acidic solution for a desalination device for desalting water (see e.g. Col. 1, lines 15-42, Col. 2, lines 62-68, and Claims 6 and 14, treatment of exhausted regenerating solution, i.e. wastewater, from acid regeneration of cation exchange column, i.e. desalination device, for water purification) comprising:
a bipolar membrane electrodialyzer (see e.g. Fig. 1, electrodialytic unit having at least one bipolar membrane; Col. 2, lines 66-68, and Col. 3, lines 41-42) that separates an aqueous solution containing a same acidic solute as the acidic aqueous solution as a regeneration acidic aqueous solution from either one of the regeneration wastewater containing a salt produced by reaction between an ion captured by the desalination device and the acidic aqueous solution, or a solution derived from the regeneration wastewater (see e.g. Col. 1, lines 39-42 and 47-51, and Col. 2, lines 64-68, exhausted regenerant stream containing salts formed of the acid anions and cationic impurities from the cation exchange column converted into fresh acid regenerating solution),
wherein the regeneration acidic aqueous solution is used as at least part of the acidic aqueous solution for regeneration of the desalination device (see e.g. Col. 2, line 65-Col. 3, lines 4, and Claims 6 and 9, recovered fresh aqueous acid product stream from electrodialytic treatment used to regenerate cation exchange column);
the bipolar membrane electrodialyzer comprises:
an anode (see e.g. Fig. 1, anode 1; Col. 3, line 43);
a cathode (see e.g. Fig. 1, cathode 2; Col. 3, line 44); and
a cell between the anode and the cathode (see e.g. Fig. 1, electrodialytic cell formed between separating cation membranes 3 and 5 adjacent anode 1 and cathode 5, respectively; Col. 3, lines 43-45),
the cell comprises:
a first bipolar membrane comprising a first anion exchange membrane and a first cation exchange membrane (see e.g. Fig. 1, bipolar membrane 6 with anion layer (-) and cation layer (+); Col. 3, lines 45-46);
a second cation exchange membrane (see e.g. Fig. 1, cation membrane 4; Col. 3, line 48); and
a second bipolar membrane comprising a second anion exchange membrane facing the second cation exchange membrane and a third cation exchange membrane (see e.g. Fig. 1, bipolar membrane 7 with anion layer (-) facing cation membrane 4 and outer cation layer(-); Col. 3, lines 48-50);
the regeneration wastewater is supplied to one of a plurality of first chambers defined by the first bipolar membrane and the second cation exchange membrane (see e.g. Fig. 1, spent regenerant solution fed via line 10 to salt compartment, which is between bipolar membrane 6 and cation membrane 4, in one of several repeating cells; Col. 3, lines 45-48, 51-55 and 59-61),
the regeneration acidic aqueous solution is discharged from the one of the plurality of first chambers (see e.g. Fig. 1, formed acid in aqueous solution recovered via line 18 from acid compartment, which is between bipolar membrane 6 and cation membrane 4; Col. 3, lines 45-48 and 62-64, and Col. 4, lines 13-18),
cations in the regeneration wastewater supplied to the one of the plurality of first chambers move through the second cation exchange membrane into a second chamber defined by the second cation exchange membrane and the second bipolar membrane, a basic aqueous solution being discharged from the second chamber (see e.g. Fig. 1, Na+ cations in regeneration solution fed to salt compartment via line 10 cross cation membrane 4 into base compartment defined by cation membrane 4 and bipolar membrane 7, with base formed by the cations and hydroxide ions being discharged therefrom along with the fed aqueous solution via line 21; Col. 3, lines 48-50 and 62-67, and Col. 4, lines 10-13 and 19-20), and
the wastewater treatment system further comprising a basic aqueous solution return line branched from a basic aqueous solution supply line through which the basic solution discharged from the second chamber flows, the basic aqueous solution return line being connected to the second chamber such that a part of the basic aqueous solution is supplied back to the second chamber (see e.g. Fig. 5, base returned back into base compartment of electrodialytic unit 428 via line 436 splitting off from line 434 exiting base compartment; Col. 8, lines 7-10).
Byszewski does not explicitly teach the water to be desalted containing ammonia, with ammonia being the ion captured by the desalination device and the cation which moves through the second cation exchange membrane to form ammonia water as the basic aqueous solution, but does teach the desalination device being used to treat boiler feed water by ion exchange to remove cationic impurities (see e.g. Col. 1, lines 15-31).
Nakamura teaches a method for treating regenerated wastewater from a boiler condensate demineralizer to remove ammonium ions, which are cationic (see e.g. Paragraphs 0001-0002), wherein the demineralizer treats condensate containing ammonia using a cation exchange resin that must periodically be regenerated with an acid, resulting in discharge of an acidic waste liquid containing ammonium ions (see e.g. Paragraphs 0003-0004 and 0006).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Byszewski to be used with a demineralization/desalination device treating ammonium ion-containing water, and thereby have ammonium as the cation crossing the second cation exchange membrane to form ammonia water as the basic aqueous solution, as taught by Nakamura as an exemplary particular boiler feed treatment using a cation exchange resin that produces a cation impurity containing regeneration wastewater solution that can be treated by the system of Byszewski. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Modified Byszewski does not teach the second cation exchange membrane facing the first cation exchange membrane, instead teaching an anion exchange membrane being provided between the second cation exchange membrane and the first cation exchange membrane of the first bipolar membrane (see e.g. Byszewski Fig. 1, anion membrane 8 between cation layer (+) of bipolar membrane 6 and cation membrane 4; Col. 3, lines 45-48). Byszewski does however teach that different membrane configurations may be used for the electrodialyzer (see e.g. Byszewski Col. 2, line 68-Col. 3, line 1, and Col. 6, lines 41-45).
Gao teaches a method of treating a salt-containing acid wastewater from an ion exchange process to regenerate acid and base by bipolar membrane electrodialysis (see e.g. Abstract and Page 97, Col. 2, lines 20-23), wherein the bipolar membrane electrodialysis may have multiple configurations to generate the acid and base, including one with an anion exchange membrane and cation exchange membrane between two bipolar membranes (BP-A-C-BP) and one with only a cation exchange membrane between two bipolar membranes (BP-C-BP) (see e.g. Figs. 1a-1b and Page 98, Col. 2, lines 3-25), the BP-C-BP configuration providing lower energy consumption in comparison to the BP-A-C-BP configuration due to smaller electrical resistance (see e.g. Page 98, Col. 2, bottom paragraph, lines 9-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cell of modified Byszewski to have only a cation exchange membrane between the outer bipolar membranes, instead of an anion exchange membrane and cation exchange membrane, as taught by Gao as an alternate suitable bipolar membrane electrodialysis configuration for producing acid and base from an acidic salt-containing ion exchange wastewater that further provides lower energy consumption due to its smaller electrical resistance. MPEP § 2143(I)(B) states that “simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results” may be obvious.
Regarding claim 3, Byszewski as modified by Gao teaches the cell further comprising, between the second bipolar membrane and the cathode, one or more repeating units that each comprises: a fourth cation exchange membrane facing the third cation exchange membrane; and a third bipolar membrane comprising a third anion exchange membrane facing the fourth cation exchange membrane and a firth cation exchange membrane, and another of the plurality of first chambers being defined by the second bipolar membrane and the fourth cation exchange membrane (see e.g. Byszewski Fig. 1, several repeating units with respective acid/salt compartments formed of the cell bounded by the bipolar membranes 6 and 7 with the final bipolar membrane of a preceding cell, e.g. bipolar membrane 7, forming the first bipolar membrane of the next cell, Col. 3, lines 50-58; see e.g. Gao Fig 1b, each repeated cell comprising a cation exchange membrane bounded by bipolar membranes, i.e. adding another cation exchange membrane and bipolar membrane with its anion exchange (-) layer facing the cation exchange membrane, with the salt solution added between the preceding bipolar membrane and the cation exchange membrane, i.e. as the first chamber).
Regarding claim 4, Byszewski as modified by Gao teaches the cell further comprising two or more, preferably 50 to 200, of the repeating units (see e.g. Byszewski Col. 3, lines 53-55, several repeating cells, preferably between 50 and 200), and yet another of the plurality of first chambers being defined by the third bipolar membrane of one of two adjacent repeating units and the fourth cation exchange membrane of the other of the two adjacent repeating units (see e.g. Byszewski Fig. 1, several repeating units with respective acid/salt compartments formed of the cell bounded by the bipolar membranes 6 and 7 with the final bipolar membrane of a preceding cell, e.g. bipolar membrane 7, forming the first bipolar membrane of the next cell, Col. 3, lines 50-58; see e.g. Gao Fig 1b, each repeated cell comprising a cation exchange membrane bounded by bipolar membranes, i.e. adding another cation exchange membrane and bipolar membrane with its anion exchange (-) layer facing the cation exchange membrane, with the salt solution added between the preceding bipolar membrane and the cation exchange membrane, i.e. as the first chamber).
Regarding claim 12, Byszewski as modified by Nakamura teaches a concentrator that concentrates the ammonia salt of the regeneration wastewater before flowing in the bipolar membrane electrodialyzer (see e.g. Byszewski Col. 1, lines 39-42 and 47-51, Col. 4, lines 39-43, Col. 5, lines 3-9, and Claims 7 and 14, spent regenerant containing salt of cationic impurities first concentrated via RO or ED before being treated in the electrodialytic water splitter; see e.g. Nakamura Paragraphs 0004 and 0006, ammonium anions as cationic impurities in regeneration wastewater from acid regeneration).
Regarding claim 20, Byszewski as modified by Nakamura teaches the water containing ammonia being condensate from a boiler (see e.g. Byszewski Col. 1, lines 20, boiler feed water; see e.g. Nakamura Paragraphs 0002 and 0006, boiler condensate containing ammonia).
Claims 9-11 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byszewski in view of Nakamura.
Regarding claim 9, Byszewski teaches a wastewater treatment system for treating regeneration wastewater generated by a regeneration process using an acidic solution for a desalination device for desalting water (see e.g. Col. 1, lines 15-42, Col. 2, lines 62-68, and Claims 6 and 14, treatment of exhausted regenerating solution, i.e. wastewater, from acid regeneration of cation exchange column, i.e. desalination device, for water purification) comprising:
a bipolar membrane electrodialyzer (see e.g. Fig. 1, electrodialytic unit having at least one bipolar membrane; Col. 2, lines 66-68, and Col. 3, lines 41-42) that separates an aqueous solution containing a same acidic solute as the acidic aqueous solution as a regeneration acidic aqueous solution from either one of the regeneration wastewater containing a salt produced by reaction between an ion captured by the desalination device and the acidic aqueous solution, or a solution derived from the regeneration wastewater, (see e.g. Col. 1, lines 39-42 and 47-51, and Col. 2, lines 64-68, exhausted regenerant stream containing salts formed of the acid anions and cationic impurities from the cation exchange column converted into fresh acid regenerating solution),
wherein the regeneration acidic aqueous solution is used as at least part of the acidic aqueous solution for regeneration of the desalination device (see e.g. Col. 2, line 65-Col. 3, lines 4, and Claims 6 and 9, recovered fresh aqueous acid product stream from electrodialytic treatment used to regenerate cation exchange column);
the bipolar membrane electrodialyzer comprises:
an anode (see e.g. Fig. 1, anode 1; Col. 3, line 43);
a cathode (see e.g. Fig. 1, cathode 2; Col. 3, line 44); and
a cell between the anode and the cathode (see e.g. Fig. 1, electrodialytic cell formed between separating cation membranes 3 and 5 adjacent anode 1 and cathode 5, respectively; Col. 3, lines 43-45),
the cell comprises:
a first bipolar membrane comprising a first anion exchange membrane and a first cation exchange membrane (see e.g. Fig. 1, bipolar membrane 6 with anion layer (-) and cation layer (+); Col. 3, lines 45-46);
a second anion exchange membrane facing the first cation exchange membrane (see e.g. Fig. 1, anion membrane 8 facing cation layer (+) of bipolar membrane 6; Col. 3, lines 45-47);
a second cation exchange membrane facing the second anion exchange membrane (see e.g. Fig. 1, cation membrane 4 facing anion membrane 8; Col. 3, line 48); and
a second bipolar membrane comprising a third anion exchange membrane facing the second cation exchange membrane and a third cation exchange membrane (see e.g. Fig. 1, bipolar membrane 7 with anion layer (-) facing cation membrane 4 and outer cation layer (-); Col. 3, lines 48-50),
the regeneration wastewater is supplied to one of a plurality of first chambers defined by the second anion exchange membrane and the second cation exchange membrane (see e.g. Fig. 1, spent regenerant solution fed via line 10 to salt compartment, which is between anion membrane 8 and cation membrane 4, in one of several repeating cells; Col. 3, lines 45-48, 51-55 and 59-61),
the regeneration acidic aqueous solution is discharged from one of a plurality of second chambers defined by the first bipolar membrane and the second anion exchange membrane (see e.g. Fig. 1, formed acid in aqueous solution recovered via line 18 from acid compartment, which is between bipolar membrane 6 and anion membrane 8, in one of several repeating cells; Col. 3, lines 45-47, 51-55 and 62-64, and Col. 4, lines 13-18),
a basic aqueous solution is discharged from a third chamber defined by the second cation exchange is discharged from a third chamber defined by the second cation exchange membrane and the second bipolar membrane (see e.g. Fig. 1, aqueous base solution recovered via line 21 from base compartment, i.e. third chamber, between cation membrane 4 and bipolar membrane 7, Col. 3, lines 48-50 and 62-65, and Col. 4, lines 10-20),
a dilution solution that is a remaining component of the regeneration wastewater from which the regeneration acidic aqueous solution and the basic aqueous solution have been separated is discharged from the one of the plurality of first chambers (see e.g. Fig. 1, depleted salt solution removed via line 24 from salt compartment, i.e. first chamber; Col. 4, lines 20-22), and
the wastewater treatment system further comprises:
a concentrator that concentrates the salt of the regeneration wastewater before flowing in the bipolar membrane electrodialyzer (see e.g. Col. 1, lines 39-42 and 47-51, Col. 4, lines 39-43, Col. 5, lines 3-9, Col. 11, lines 19-26 and Claims 7 and 14, spent regenerant containing salt of cationic impurities first concentrated via RO or ED before being treated in the electrodialytic water splitter); and
a dilution solution return line that supplies the dilution solution discharged from the one of the plurality of first chambers to the regeneration wastewater before flowing in the concentrator (see e.g. Col. 5, lines 10-14, Col. 8, lines 13-25, and Col. 11, lines 19-26, 29-35 and 40-41, depleted salt stream sent to inlet of concentrating ED or RO, i.e. joining the spend regenerant to be concentrated).
Byszewski does not explicitly teach the water to be desalted containing ammonia as the salt, with ammonia being the ion captured by the desalination device, such that ammonia water is the discharged basic aqueous solution, but does teach the desalination device being used to treat boiler feed water by ion exchange to remove cationic impurities (see e.g. Col. 1, lines 15-31).
Nakamura teaches a method for treating regenerated wastewater from a boiler condensate demineralizer to remove ammonium ions, which are cationic (see e.g. Paragraphs 0001-0002), wherein the demineralizer treats condensate containing ammonia using a cation exchange resin that must periodically be regenerated with an acid, resulting in discharge of an acidic waste liquid containing ammonium ions (see e.g. Paragraphs 0003-0004 and 0006).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Byszewski to be used with a demineralization/desalination device treating ammonium ion-containing water, resulting in ammonia water being the basic aqueous solution, as taught by Nakamura as an exemplary particular boiler feed treatment using a cation exchange resin that produces a cation impurity containing regeneration wastewater solution that can be treated by the system of Byszewski. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Regarding claim 10, modified Byszewski teaches the cell further comprising, between the second bipolar membrane and the cathode, one or more repeating units that each comprises: a fourth anion exchange membrane facing the third cation exchange membrane; a fourth cation exchange membrane facing the fourth anion exchange membrane; and a third bipolar membrane comprising a fifth anion exchange membrane facing the fourth cation exchange membrane and a fifth cation exchange membrane, another of the plurality of first chambers being defined by the fourth anion exchange membrane and the fourth cation exchange membrane, and another of the plurality of second chambers being defined by the second bipolar membrane and the fourth anion exchange membrane (see e.g. Byszewski Fig. 1, several repeating units with respective acid/salt compartments formed of the cell bounded by the bipolar membranes 6 and 7 with the final bipolar membrane of a preceding cell, e.g. bipolar membrane 7, forming the first bipolar membrane of the next cell, i.e. adding an additional anion membrane, cation membrane and bipolar membrane with its anion layer facing the cation membrane for each repeating unit, the salt compartment, i.e. first chamber, of each cell being formed between the anion membrane 8 and cation membrane 4, and the acid compartment, i.e. second chamber, being formed between the preceding bipolar membrane 6 and the anion membrane 4; Col. 3, lines 45-58).
Regarding claim 11, modified Byszewski teaches the cell further comprising two or more, preferably 50-200, of the repeat units (see e.g. Byszewski Col. 3, lines 53-55, several repeating cells, preferably between 50 and 200), yet another of the plurality of first chambers being defined by the fourth anion exchange membrane and the fourth cation exchange membrane in each of the repeating units, and yet another of the plurality of second chambers being defined by the third bipolar membrane of one of two adjacent repeating units and the fourth anion exchange membrane of the other of the two adjacent repeating units (see e.g. Byszewski Fig. 1, the salt compartment, i.e. first chamber, of each cell being formed between the anion membrane 8 and cation membrane 4, and the acid compartment, i.e. second chamber, being formed between the preceding bipolar membrane 6 and the anion membrane 4, Col. 3, lines 45-58).
Regarding claim 21, Byszewski as modified by Nakamura teaches the water containing ammonia being condensate from a boiler (see e.g. Byszewski Col. 1, lines 20, boiler feed water; see e.g. Nakamura Paragraphs 0002 and 0006, boiler condensate containing ammonia).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 11, Applicant argues that none of the cited references teach an ammonia water return line branched from an ammonia water supply line through which water discharge from the second chamber flows, the ammonia water return line being connected such that a part of ammonia water is supplied back to the second chamber. This is not considered persuasive. Byszewski teaches a portion of the base recovered from the respective chamber of the electrodialytic water splitter being directed back through the same chamber of the electrodialytic water splitter for further concentration (see e.g. Byszewski Fig. 5, base returned via line 436 splitting off from line 434 exiting electrodialytic unit 428; Col. 8, lines 7-10)
On pages 11-13, Applicant argues that the BP-C-BP configuration of Gao would defeat Byszewski purpose of converting exhausted regenerating solutions into fresh, i.e. pure acid and pure base, solutions, as the BP-C-BP configuration yields a mixture of acid (HCl) and salt (NaCl). This is not considered persuasive. Byszewski does not state that the converted “fresh” regenerating solutions must be pure acid or pure base solutions. In fact, Byszewski provides multiple examples, even with the BP-A-C-BP configuration, that produce a mixture including NaCl and HCl as the recovered “fresh” acid solution (see e.g. Byszewski Col. 10, lines 25-28 and 66-68). Gao further teaches the recycled acid mixture solution being a completely suitable replacement for a pure acid solution used for an ion exchange process (see e.g. Gao Fig. 2 and connecting paragraph of pages 101-102), indicating that it would be similarly suitable in the system of Byszewski.
On pages 16-17, Applicant argues that Byszewski does not teach a dilution solution return line that supplies dilution solution discharged from the first chamber to the regeneration wastewater before flowing in the concentrator, as Byszewski in Fig. 5 only exemplifies depleted salt being concentrated in electrodialytic unit 438 before being recycling into the electrodialytic water splitter 428, but does not teach this depleted salt being supplied to the exhausted regenerant before flowing into the electrodialysis unit 438. This is not considered persuasive. Though not explicitly shown in the Figures, Byszewski teaches that the spent regenerant may be concentrated via reverse osmosis or electrodialysis before being treated in the electrodialytic water splitter (see e.g. Byszewski Col. 4, lines 39-43, and Col. 5, lines 3-9), and that the depleted salt solution, i.e. dilution solution, from the electrodialytic water splitter may be returned to the inlet of this same concentrating ED or RO process, i.e. joining the inlet spent regenerant to be concentrated (see e.g. Byszewski Col. 5, lines 10-14, and Col. 8, lines 13-25), as exemplified particularly in Example 5, which describes the depleted feed stream after electrodialytic water splitting being recycled to the water removing RO unit to which the initial spent regenerant is continuously fed (see e.g. Byszewski Col. 11, lines 19-26, 29-35 and 40-41).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1795
/LUAN V VAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1795