DETAILED ACTION
1. It is hereby acknowledged that 18/551911 the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Remark date 09/22/23
2. The present application, file on or after March 16, 2013, is being examiner under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Objections
4. Claims 1-9,14,15,17-24 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1 and 15 states, and indication information…. It is unclear what the indication information is and what it is being used for (i.e. if it is being received relating to configuration of candidate cells or something else). The specification discloses, In some embodiments, in S101, the base station device transmits the indication information when transmitting the configuration of the candidate cells to the UE, where the indication information indicates whether the UE needs to save the configuration of the candidate cells after change. Specifically, a signaling carrying the configuration of the candidate cells may be a conditional change command, for example, Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling. (see paragraph [0044])
It seems the dependent claims may add more clarity as well. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
6. Claims 1-9, 14, 15, 17-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over DA SILVA (WO 2020117118A1) in view of LI (WO 2020216167A1),
Regarding claim 1, DA Silva teaches a cell change method, comprising:
receiving configuration of candidate cells and indication information; (see DA SILVA page 18 paragraph [0002] explains… A significant aspect to be highlighted here is that the network may configure one or more candidate cells for conditional handover (CHO). One possible solution in CHO may be that the UE receives a message similar to RRCConditionalReconfiguration that may contain an RRCReconfiguration with a reconfigurationWithSync prepared by each candidate. Hence, if the source cell decides to configure the UE with more than one candidate cell….Fig.1, 5, 8A,8B)
determining the candidate cell that meets a change condition as a target cell or receiving a change command to determine the target cell, and performing cell change; (see DA Silva page 18 paragraph [0002] explains … the UE receives more than one RRCReconfiguration message with reconfigurationWithSync field, including one message for each potential target candidate. It may be assumed for example that the UE has received a conditional handover associated to target cells A, B and C i.e. under the assumption that all these three cells are prepared for a UE handover execution…. When the UE has handed over to a target candidate cell, the target can decide which conditional handover configurations and triggering conditions should be maintained, modified or released….)
and determining to save the configuration of other candidate cells based on the indication information, wherein the other candidate cells comprise the candidate cells other than the target cell, (see DA Silva page 19 paragraph [0004] explains… functionality in a UE or wireless device for the handling of stored configuration(s) of cells, e.g. candidate cells, which are not the target cell upon the triggering of conditional handover or completion of handover.)
and the saved configuration of the other candidate cells is used for subsequent conditional change. (see DA Silva explains…. See page 44 paragraph [0004]…. Thus, the UE can be configured with this set of configurations with e.g. a RRCConditionalReconfiguration message. When the UE executes a conditional handover towards any of these candidate targets, the target node is already aware of the default configurations to configure for all other candidates. Thus, the new target only needs to add conditional configurations if a cell doesn’t belong to this preconfigured set of cells... …..page 46 paragraph [0004] explains… Hence, one could say that upon the failure detection e.g. T304 expiry or equivalent failure, the UE shall revert back to the UE configuration used in the source PCell, except the stored conditional handover or handover configurations for other target candidate cells (i.e. not including these as part of the PCell configuration). In some embodiments, when the UE reverts its configuration to the configuration used in the PCell including the conditional handover configurations (or handover configuration(s) in more general terms) i.e. the UE maintains all storedconfigurations it had prior to the failure, and once it receives the RRCReestablishment message, it will again consider the stored configurations for handover. Alternatively, the UE awaits the reception of the first RRCReconfiguration message after the Re-establishment…. In the procedure shown in Fig. 2 and elsewhere, these configurations are updated by the UE e.g. upon a failure declaration as of action 200 in Fig. 2, which may be followed by a re-establishment attempt.In some embodiments, upon trying to re-establish while having stored configurations for one or multiple cells (e.g. conditional configurations or handover configurations or RRCReconfiguration(s)), the UE releases (i.e. discards) the mentioned stored configuration received prior to the failure)
While it can be understood Da Silva teaches indication information as explained above especially since it is not specifically defined
However to further explain and clarify this limitation Li explains a terminal device searches for a first candidate cell; the terminal device receives a system message of the first candidate cell, and the system message of the first candidate cell includes an indication Information of the following content: the PLMN of the first candidate cell is the PLMN selected by NAS, or the PLMN of the first candidate cell is a registered PLMN, or the PLMN of the first candidate cell is in the equivalent PLMN list PLMN; the first candidate cell is a cell that is not barred; the TAI of the first candidate cell is not a TAI in the roaming prohibited tracking area list; (See page 2 paragraph [0005])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Da silva with Li . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improve communication quality in a cell and user experience. (See background technique)
Regarding claim 2, the modified Da Silva taught the cell change method according to claim 1, as described above. The modified Da Silva further teaches wherein said receiving configuration of candidate cells and indication information comprises: receiving the configuration of the candidate cells along with the indication information, wherein the configuration of the candidate cells and the indication information are carried in a same signaling. (see DA Silva page 18 paragraph [0002] explains… A significant aspect to be highlighted here is that the network may configure one or more candidate cells for conditional handover (CHO). One possible solution in CHO may be that the UE receives a message similar to RRCConditionalReconfiguration that may contain an RRCReconfiguration with a reconfigurationWithSync prepared by each candidate. Hence, if the source cell decides to configure the UE with more than one candidate cell….)
Regarding claim 3, the modified Da Silva taught the cell change method according to claim 1, as described above. The modified Da Silva further teaches wherein the indication information is an independent information element for each candidate cell which indicates whether to save the configuration of the candidate cell. (see page 46 paragraph [0004] explains… Hence, one could say that upon the failure detection e.g. T304 expiry or equivalent failure, the UE shall revert back to the UE configuration used in the source PCell, except the stored conditional handover or handover configurations for other target candidate cells (i.e. not including these as part of the PCell configuration). In some embodiments, when the UE reverts its configuration to the configuration used in the PCell including the conditional handover configurations (or handover configuration(s) in more general terms) i.e. the UE maintains all storedconfigurations it had prior to the failure, and once it receives the RRCReestablishment message, it will again consider the stored configurations for handover. Alternatively, the UE awaits the reception of the first RRCReconfiguration message after the Re-establishment)
Regarding claim 4, the modified Da Silva taught the cell change method according to claim 3, as described above. The modified Da Silva further teaches wherein said determining to save the configuration of the other candidate cells based on the indication information comprises: based on that the independent information elements for the other candidate cells all indicate saving configuration, saving the configuration of the other candidate cells. (see DA Silva page 46 paragraph [0004] explains… Hence, one could say that upon the failure detection e.g. T304 expiry or equivalent failure, the UE shall revert back to the UE configuration used in the source PCell, except the stored conditional handover or handover configurations for other target candidate cells (i.e. not including these as part of the PCell configuration). In some embodiments, when the UE reverts its configuration to the configuration used in the PCell including the conditional handover configurations (or handover configuration(s) in more general terms) i.e. the UE maintains all storedconfigurations it had prior to the failure, and once it receives the RRCReestablishment message, it will again consider the stored configurations for handover. Alternatively, the UE awaits the reception of the first RRCReconfiguration message after the Re-establishment)
Regarding claim 5, the modified Da Silva taught the cell change method according to claim 1, as described above. The modified Da Silva further teaches wherein the indication information comprises an effective area. (see Li page 2 paragraph [0005] explains ….the terminal device receives a system message of the first candidate cell, and the system message of the first candidate cell includes an indication Information of the following content: the PLMN of the first candidate cell is the PLMN selected by NAS, or the PLMN of the first candidate cell is a registered PLMN, or the PLMN of the first candidate cell is in the equivalent PLMN list PLMN; the first candidate cell is a cell that is not barred; the TAI of the first candidate cell is not a TAI in the roaming prohibited tracking area list; paragraph [0048]….The communication system 3300 further includes the UE 3330 already referred to. Its hardware 3335 may include a radio interface 3337 configured to set up and maintain a wireless connection 3370 with a base station serving a coverage area in which the UE 3330 is currently located. The hardware 3335 of the UE 3330 further includes processing circuitry 3338, which may comprise one or more programmable processors, application-specific integrated circuits, field)
Regarding claim 6, the modified Da Silva taught the cell change method according to claim 5, as described above. The modified Da Silva further teaches wherein the effective area comprises a cell list or a tracking area list. (see Li page 2 paragraph [0005] explains ….the terminal device receives a system message of the first candidate cell, and the system message of the first candidate cell includes an indication Information of the following content: the PLMN of the first candidate cell is the PLMN selected by NAS, or the PLMN of the first candidate cell is a registered PLMN, or the PLMN of the first candidate cell is in the equivalent PLMN list PLMN; the first candidate cell is a cell that is not barred; the TAI of the first candidate cell is not a TAI in the roaming prohibited tracking area list; paragraph [0048]….The communication system 3300 further includes the UE 3330 already referred to. Its hardware 3335 may include a radio interface 3337 configured to set up and maintain a wireless connection 3370 with a base station serving a coverage area in which the UE 3330 is currently located. The hardware 3335 of the UE 3330 further includes processing circuitry 3338, which may comprise one or more programmable processors, application-specific integrated circuits, field)
Regarding claim 7, the modified Da Silva taught the cell change method according to claim 5, as described above. The modified Da Silva further teaches wherein said determining to save the configuration of the other candidate cells based on the indication information comprises: determining whether the target cell or the other candidate cells belong to the effective area; and based on that the target cell or the other candidate cells belong to the effective area, saving the configuration of the other candidate cells. (see Li page 2 paragraph [0005] explains ….the terminal device receives a system message of the first candidate cell, and the system message of the first candidate cell includes an indication Information of the following content: the PLMN of the first candidate cell is the PLMN selected by NAS, or the PLMN of the first candidate cell is a registered PLMN, or the PLMN of the first candidate cell is in the equivalent PLMN list PLMN; the first candidate cell is a cell that is not barred; the TAI of the first candidate cell is not a TAI in the roaming prohibited tracking area list; paragraph [0048]….The communication system 3300 further includes the UE 3330 already referred to. Its hardware 3335 may include a radio interface 3337 configured to set up and maintain a wireless connection 3370 with a base station serving a coverage area in which the UE 3330 is currently located. The hardware 3335 of the UE 3330 further includes processing circuitry 3338, which may comprise one or more programmable processors, application-specific integrated circuits, field)
Regarding claim 8, the modified Da Silva taught the cell change method according to claim 1, as described above. The modified Da Silva further teaches further comprising: saving configuration of a source serving cell before change as the configuration of the candidate cells. (see DA Silva page 46 paragraph [0004] explains… Hence, one could say that upon the failure detection e.g. T304 expiry or equivalent failure, the UE shall revert back to the UE configuration used in the source PCell, except the stored conditional handover or handover configurations for other target candidate cells (i.e. not including these as part of the PCell configuration). In some embodiments, when the UE reverts its configuration to the configuration used in the PCell including the conditional handover configurations (or handover configuration(s) in more general terms) i.e. the UE maintains all storedconfigurations it had prior to the failure, and once it receives the RRCReestablishment message, it will again consider the stored configurations for handover. Alternatively, the UE awaits the reception of the first RRCReconfiguration message after the Re-establishment….see Li explains ….the terminal device may determine whether it has stored bandwidth information of the candidate cell. If the bandwidth information of the candidate cell is not stored, the terminal device may obtain the bandwidth information of the candidate cell by receiving the system message of the candidate cell, and the system message of the candidate cell includes the bandwidth information)
Regarding claim 9, the modified Da Silva taught the cell change method according to claim 1, as described above. The modified Da Silva further teaches comprising: determining whether the candidate cell that meets the change condition exists based on configuration of candidate cells that has been saved; and determining the candidate cell that meets the change condition as the target cell, and performing cell change, in response to the candidate cell that meets the change condition existing. (see DA Silva page 18 paragraph [0002] explains … the UE receives more than one RRCReconfiguration message with reconfigurationWithSync field, including one message for each potential target candidate. It may be assumed for example that the UE has received a conditional handover associated to target cells A, B and C i.e. under the assumption that all these three cells are prepared for a UE handover execution…. When the UE has handed over to a target candidate cell, the target can decide which conditional handover configurations and triggering conditions should be maintained, modified or released….)
10. (canceled)
11. (canceled)
12. (canceled)
13. (canceled)
Regarding claim 14, Da Silva teaches the A non-transitory storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising computer instructions, which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to: receive configuration of candidate cells and indication information; determine the candidate cell that meets a change condition as a target cell or receive a change command to determine the target cell, and perform cell change; and determine to save the configuration of other candidate cells based on the indication information, wherein the other candidate cells comprise the candidate cells other than the target cell, and the saved configuration of the other candidate cells is used for subsequent conditional change. (see DA Silva explains…. See page 44 paragraph [0004]…. Thus, the UE can be configured with this set of configurations with e.g. a RRCConditionalReconfiguration message. When the UE executes a conditional handover towards any of these candidate targets, the target node is already aware of the default configurations to configure for all other candidates. Thus, the new target only needs to add conditional configurations if a cell doesn’t belong to this preconfigured set of cells... …..page 46 paragraph [0004] explains… Hence, one could say that upon the failure detection e.g. T304 expiry or equivalent failure, the UE shall revert back to the UE configuration used in the source PCell, except the stored conditional handover or handover configurations for other target candidate cells (i.e. not including these as part of the PCell configuration). In some embodiments, when the UE reverts its configuration to the configuration used in the PCell including the conditional handover configurations (or handover configuration(s) in more general terms) i.e. the UE maintains all storedconfigurations it had prior to the failure, and once it receives the RRCReestablishment message, it will again consider the stored configurations for handover. Alternatively, the UE awaits the reception of the first RRCReconfiguration message after the Re-establishment…. In the procedure shown in Fig. 2 and elsewhere, these configurations are updated by the UE e.g. upon a failure declaration as of action 200 in Fig. 2, which may be followed by a re-establishment attempt.In some embodiments, upon trying to re-establish while having stored configurations for one or multiple cells (e.g. conditional configurations or handover configurations or RRCReconfiguration(s)), the UE releases (i.e. discards) the mentioned stored configuration received prior to the failure)
Regarding claim 15, Da Silva teaches a user equipment, comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the memory stores one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising computer instructions, which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: receive configuration of candidate cells and indication information; (see DA SILVA page 18 paragraph [0002] explains… A significant aspect to be highlighted here is that the network may configure one or more candidate cells for conditional handover (CHO). One possible solution in CHO may be that the UE receives a message similar to RRCConditionalReconfiguration that may contain an RRCReconfiguration with a reconfigurationWithSync prepared by each candidate. Hence, if the source cell decides to configure the UE with more than one candidate cell….)
determine the candidate cell that meets a change condition as a target cell or receive a change command to determine the target cell, and perform cell change; (see DA Silva page 18 paragraph [0002] explains … the UE receives more than one RRCReconfiguration message with reconfigurationWithSync field, including one message for each potential target candidate. It may be assumed for example that the UE has received a conditional handover associated to target cells A, B and C i.e. under the assumption that all these three cells are prepared for a UE handover execution…. When the UE has handed over to a target candidate cell, the target can decide which conditional handover configurations and triggering conditions should be maintained, modified or released….)
and determine to save the configuration of other candidate cells based on the indication information, wherein the other candidate cells comprise the candidate cells other than the target cell, and the saved configuration of the other candidate cells is used for subsequent conditional change. (see Da Silva explains…. See page 44 paragraph [0004]…. Thus, the UE can be configured with this set of configurations with e.g. a RRCConditionalReconfiguration message. When the UE executes a conditional handover towards any of these candidate targets, the target node is already aware of the default configurations to configure for all other candidates. Thus, the new target only needs to add conditional configurations if a cell doesn’t belong to this preconfigured set of cells... …..page 46 paragraph [0004] explains… Hence, one could say that upon the failure detection e.g. T304 expiry or equivalent failure, the UE shall revert back to the UE configuration used in the source PCell, except the stored conditional handover or handover configurations for other target candidate cells (i.e. not including these as part of the PCell configuration). In some embodiments, when the UE reverts its configuration to the configuration used in the PCell including the conditional handover configurations (or handover configuration(s) in more general terms) i.e. the UE maintains all storedconfigurations it had prior to the failure, and once it receives the RRCReestablishment message, it will again consider the stored configurations for handover. Alternatively, the UE awaits the reception of the first RRCReconfiguration message after the Re-establishment…. In the procedure shown in Fig. 2 and elsewhere, these configurations are updated by the UE e.g. upon a failure declaration as of action 200 in Fig. 2, which may be followed by a re-establishment attempt.In some embodiments, upon trying to re-establish while having stored configurations for one or multiple cells (e.g. conditional configurations or handover configurations or RRCReconfiguration(s)), the UE releases (i.e. discards) the mentioned stored configuration received prior to the failure)
While it can be understood Da Silva teaches indication information as explained above especially since it is not specifically defined
However to further explain and clarify this limitation Li explains a terminal device searches for a first candidate cell; the terminal device receives a system message of the first candidate cell, and the system message of the first candidate cell includes an indication Information of the following content: the PLMN of the first candidate cell is the PLMN selected by NAS, or the PLMN of the first candidate cell is a registered PLMN, or the PLMN of the first candidate cell is in the equivalent PLMN list PLMN; the first candidate cell is a cell that is not barred; the TAI of the first candidate cell is not a TAI in the roaming prohibited tracking area list; (See page 2 paragraph [0005])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Da Silva with Li . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improve communication quality in a cell and user experience . (See background technique)
16. (canceled)
Regarding claim 17, the modified Da Silva taught the user equipment according to claim 15, as described above. The modified Da Silva further teaches wherein the processor is further caused to: receive the configuration of the candidate cells along with the indication information, wherein the configuration of the candidate cells and the indication information are carried in a same signaling. (see Da Silva page 18 paragraph [0002] explains… A significant aspect to be highlighted here is that the network may configure one or more candidate cells for conditional handover (CHO). One possible solution in CHO may be that the UE receives a message similar to RRCConditionalReconfiguration that may contain an RRCReconfiguration with a reconfigurationWithSync prepared by each candidate. Hence, if the source cell decides to configure the UE with more than one candidate cell….)
Regarding claim 18, the modified Da Silva taught the user equipment according to claim 15, as described above. The modified Da Silva further teaches wherein the indication information is an independent information element for each candidate cell which indicates whether to save the configuration of the candidate cell. (see Da Silva page 46 paragraph [0004] explains… Hence, one could say that upon the failure detection e.g. T304 expiry or equivalent failure, the UE shall revert back to the UE configuration used in the source PCell, except the stored conditional handover or handover configurations for other target candidate cells (i.e. not including these as part of the PCell configuration). In some embodiments, when the UE reverts its configuration to the configuration used in the PCell including the conditional handover configurations (or handover configuration(s) in more general terms) i.e. the UE maintains all storedconfigurations it had prior to the failure, and once it receives the RRCReestablishment message, it will again consider the stored configurations for handover. Alternatively, the UE awaits the reception of the first RRCReconfiguration message after the Re-establishment)
Regarding claim 19, the modified Da Silva taught the user equipment according to claim 18, as described above. The modified Da Silva further teaches wherein the processor is further caused to: based on that the independent information elements for the other candidate cells all indicate saving configuration, save the configuration of the other candidate cells. (see Da Silva page 46 paragraph [0004] explains… Hence, one could say that upon the failure detection e.g. T304 expiry or equivalent failure, the UE shall revert back to the UE configuration used in the source PCell, except the stored conditional handover or handover configurations for other target candidate cells (i.e. not including these as part of the PCell configuration). In some embodiments, when the UE reverts its configuration to the configuration used in the PCell including the conditional handover configurations (or handover configuration(s) in more general terms) i.e. the UE maintains all storedconfigurations it had prior to the failure, and once it receives the RRCReestablishment message, it will again consider the stored configurations for handover. Alternatively, the UE awaits the reception of the first RRCReconfiguration message after the Re-establishment)
Regarding claim 20, the modified Da Silva taught the user equipment according to claim 15, wherein the indication information comprises an effective area. (see Da Silva page 46 paragraph [0004] explains… Hence, one could say that upon the failure detection e.g. T304 expiry or equivalent failure, the UE shall revert back to the UE configuration used in the source PCell, except the stored conditional handover or handover configurations for other target candidate cells (i.e. not including these as part of the PCell configuration). In some embodiments, when the UE reverts its configuration to the configuration used in the PCell including the conditional handover configurations (or handover configuration(s) in more general terms) i.e. the UE maintains all storedconfigurations it had prior to the failure, and once it receives the RRCReestablishment message, it will again consider the stored configurations for handover. Alternatively, the UE awaits the reception of the first RRCReconfiguration message after the Re-establishment)
Regarding claim 21, the modified Da Silva taught the user equipment according to claim 20, as described above. The modified Da Silva further teaches wherein the effective area comprises a cell list or a tracking area list. (see Li page 2 paragraph [0005] explains ….the terminal device receives a system message of the first candidate cell, and the system message of the first candidate cell includes an indication Information of the following content: the PLMN of the first candidate cell is the PLMN selected by NAS, or the PLMN of the first candidate cell is a registered PLMN, or the PLMN of the first candidate cell is in the equivalent PLMN list PLMN; the first candidate cell is a cell that is not barred; the TAI of the first candidate cell is not a TAI in the roaming prohibited tracking area list; paragraph [0048]….The communication system 3300 further includes the UE 3330 already referred to. Its hardware 3335 may include a radio interface 3337 configured to set up and maintain a wireless connection 3370 with a base station serving a coverage area in which the UE 3330 is currently located. The hardware 3335 of the UE 3330 further includes processing circuitry 3338, which may comprise one or more programmable processors, application-specific integrated circuits, field)
Regarding claim 22, the modified Da Silva taught the user equipment according to claim 20, as described above. The modified Da Silva further teaches wherein the processor is further caused to: determine whether the target cell or the other candidate cells belong to the effective area; and based on that the target cell or the other candidate cells belong to the effective area, save the configuration of the other candidate cells. (see Da Silva page 46 paragraph [0004] explains… Hence, one could say that upon the failure detection e.g. T304 expiry or equivalent failure, the UE shall revert back to the UE configuration used in the source PCell, except the stored conditional handover or handover configurations for other target candidate cells (i.e. not including these as part of the PCell configuration). In some embodiments, when the UE reverts its configuration to the configuration used in the PCell including the conditional handover configurations (or handover configuration(s) in more general terms) i.e. the UE maintains all storedconfigurations it had prior to the failure, and once it receives the RRCReestablishment message, it will again consider the stored configurations for handover. Alternatively, the UE awaits the reception of the first RRCReconfiguration message after the Re-establishment)
Regarding claim 23, the modified Da Silva taught the user equipment according to claim 15, as described above. The modified Da Silva further teaches wherein the processor is further caused to: save configuration of a source serving cell before change as the configuration of the candidate cells. (see Li page 2 paragraph [0005] explains ….the terminal device receives a system message of the first candidate cell, and the system message of the first candidate cell includes an indication Information of the following content: the PLMN of the first candidate cell is the PLMN selected by NAS, or the PLMN of the first candidate cell is a registered PLMN, or the PLMN of the first candidate cell is in the equivalent PLMN list PLMN; the first candidate cell is a cell that is not barred; the TAI of the first candidate cell is not a TAI in the roaming prohibited tracking area list; paragraph [0048]….The communication system 3300 further includes the UE 3330 already referred to. Its hardware 3335 may include a radio interface 3337 configured to set up and maintain a wireless connection 3370 with a base station serving a coverage area in which the UE 3330 is currently located. The hardware 3335 of the UE 3330 further includes processing circuitry 3338, which may comprise one or more programmable processors, application-specific integrated circuits, field)
Regarding claim 24, the modified Da Silva taught the user equipment according to claim 15, as described above. The modified Da Silva further teaches wherein the processor is further caused to: determine whether the candidate cell that meets the change condition exists based on configuration of candidate cells that has been saved; and determine the candidate cell that meets the change condition as the target cell, and perform cell change, in response to the candidate cell that meets the change condition existing. . (see DA Silva page 18 paragraph [0002] explains … the UE receives more than one RRCReconfiguration message with reconfigurationWithSync field, including one message for each potential target candidate. It may be assumed for example that the UE has received a conditional handover associated to target cells A, B and C i.e. under the assumption that all these three cells are prepared for a UE handover execution…. When the UE has handed over to a target candidate cell, the target can decide which conditional handover configurations and triggering conditions should be maintained, modified or released….)
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Gerald Smarth whose telephone number is (571) 270-1923. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 6am-4:30pm ET. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-7784. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GERALD A SMARTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478