DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The newly added limitation “and wherein at least one or more sensors are configured to determine an excess of halogen stabilizing compound” appears to be new matter because no support could be found for this limitation in the original disclosure. The specification does not disclose a sensor for “halogen stabilization compound,” or any specific configuration for a sensor to automatically determine the overstabilization from a sensed value like ORP, pH or halogen concentration. The only disclosure that can be found is in [0027], which states, “This goal can be accomplished by monitoring one or more parameters of the water being treated such as the ORP, pH, or halogen content.” Monitoring means observing, or keeping track of, which does not amount to “configured to determine … halogen stabilizing compound.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-5, 7-15, 18 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by, or in the alternate, under 35 USC 103 as unpatentable over, Boal et al (US 2018/0282882).
Claims 1 and 18: Boal teaches a system for making a mixed halogen solution as claimed. In [0014], Boal teaches using mixed halogens in any combination or concentration. See the abstract and the figures. Figure 3 is copied herein with some annotations. The system has brine intake through line 60 (first piping), a telemetric sensor 62 immersed in the water in the pipe 60, solution tanks 64/70/76 carrying halogen ions, acid, etc., [0035,0038,] (Note: claims are for an apparatus. Therefore, what is in these tanks is only intended use or the material worked upon.) all connected to the first piping, electro-halogenater 82, storage tank 90 and halogenated water output 92. A second sensor 88 measures the halogen content in the water, and which is used to control halogen concentration as claimed. Boal, Id., also teaches additional sensors not explicitly shown, and use of such sensors are taught as well-known to those skilled in the art.
Regarding “halogen overstabilization,” under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Boal teaches controlling halogen concentration, which is stabilization, meaning, less variation. See [0027] on use of halogen stabilizer compounds. Even though not expressly stated, “overstabilization” (increase in concentration with time) of sulfamic acid, being an acid, can be controlled by halogen content or pH, see [0035]-[0036.] Therefore, this is implicit (anticipated,) or, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill that sulfamic acid could be controlled using pH as control variable. Note that applicant provides no particular disclosure for the details of how “overstabilization” is controlled, other than a generic statement, Id. About halogen species, see [0014.] Please note that applicant’s disclosure is similar to that of Boal, that is, brine (salt solutions) and other components are electrolyzed together, which results in multiple halogen species.
Regarding the “at least one or more sensors are configured to determine halogen overstabilization,” applicant discloses in [0027], “This goal can be accomplished by monitoring one or more parameters [emphasis by examiner] of the water being treated such as the ORP, pH, or halogen content.” Monitoring a change in the cited parameter would not automatically control for overstabilization. The control disclosed in [0027] appears to be a manual control. Boal teaches in [0038]: “Sensor 88 measures desired properties of the electrolyzed solution, including pH.” This paragraph also teaches use of other sensors not explicitly shown for control aspects well known to those skilled in the art.
Claim 2: water is contained in a reservoir: the treated water is in a tank (90) – a reservoir. Plus, the added solutions tanks in figures 2 and 3.
Claims 4, 20: Boal teaches at least a halogen and pH sensor [0035]
Claims 5-14: Boal teaches three tanks with pumps in fig. 3 for the various solutions, inlet pipe 60, outlet pipe 92, and the pumps are being controlled by the controller – see [0038]. The various solutions are taught in [0039], even though they are not patentable limitations in an apparatus claims. Control system – see [0034.]
For claim 15, in addition to the elements claimed in claim 1 and the dependent claims, the added element of varying relative amounts of aqueous solution pumped by varying injection rates: At the least, the pH of the system is controlled in Boal, which requires varying the solution pumped from at least two tanks.
Claims 21 and 22: data transmission through a conduit is implied, or obvious, to transmit data from the sensors to the controller. The oxidizing solution from the electrolyzer 82 is added to the water in the tank 90.
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over, Boal et al (US 2018/0282882) in view of Kim et al (US 2011/0114569.)
Claims 16 and 17 recite an inline mixer, which Boal fails to teach. Kim teaches such inline mixer (vortex generator 19, fig. 1) for the purpose of properly mixing the solution in [0094]. Using inline mixers to assure proper mixing of reagents is also well-known and common sense. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide an inline mixer to mix the solutions in figures 2 and 3 of Boal.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. They are addressed in the rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRISHNAN S MENON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777