DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Below is the Final Action on the Merits for claims 1 – 20.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 13 and 17 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shintaku (JP 2008174246 A) – See Machine translation provided in view of Thaletec (DE 102009049296 B4) – See Machine translation provided.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Shintaku teaches a cleaning apparatus for containers (container, 12; Fig. 2), comprising: means for feeding the containers (star wheel, 18) into the cleaning apparatus (Paragraph [0040]); means for discharging the containers (star wheel, 19) from the cleaning apparatus (Paragraph [0040]); a transport apparatus (rotary table, 15) for transporting the containers (12) within the cleaning apparatus (Paragraph [0040]); at least one holder (lifting platforms, 20 with air cylinder, 28) for holding at least one of the containers (12) during a cleaning process (Paragraph [0016]), such that a longitudinal axis of each of the containers (12) extends substantially in a vertical direction (Fig. 6); and at least one cleaning station (Fig. 6) for cleaning the containers (12), wherein each cleaning station (Fig. 6) comprises at least one substantially cylindrically formed annular nozzle (nozzle, 1; Figs. 3 and 6 – 7) configured to completely surround (Fig. 7) one of the containers (12) during a cleaning process (Fig. 7), wherein each cleaning station (Fig. 6) is provided on its inner side with a first row of outlet openings disposed circumferentially in a first vertical position (nozzle, 1 is provided with a ring-shaped slit 6 is formed between the lower end of the inner circumference of the ring-shaped nozzle body 13 and the inner peripheral edge of the lower cover 5 fixed to close the air chamber 3), and wherein each cleaning station (Fig. 6) is configured to discharge a cleaning medium substantially identically downwardly at an angle to a radial direction to form a cyclone of cleaning medium (Paragraph [0037] – a ring-shaped slit 6 is formed between the lower end of the inner circumference of the ring-shaped nozzle body 13 and the inner peripheral edge of the lower cover 5 fixed to close the air chamber 3, so that the air blowing speed is approximately 150 m/s. The gap T of this slit 6 is 0.6 to 0.8 mm and is angled at about 15 degrees relative to the inner wall 4 of the main body, preventing turbulence when the air is ejected and increasing the amount of secondary air 10b entrained), wherein the nozzle (1) rotates (Paragraph [0042]).
Shintaku does not explicitly teach a second row of outlet openings disposed circumferentially at a second vertical position above the first position with respect to a horizontal axis of each of the containers, and wherein each cleaning station is configured to discharge a cleaning medium via the first row of outlet opening and the second row of outlet openings, wherein the cleaning medium is discharged a) via the first row of outlet openings substantially identically inwardly and downwardly at a first angle to the horizontal axis of each of the containers and at a first angle to a radial direction to form a first cyclone of cleaning medium, and b) via the second row of outlet openings substantially identically inwardly and downwardly at a second angle to the horizontal axis of each of the containers and at a second angle to the radial direction to form a second cyclone of cleaning medium, wherein the second angle to the horizontal axis is greater than the first angle to the horizontal axis and the first cyclone and the second cyclone are co-rotating.
Thaletec, however, teaches wherein the annular nozzle (18) comprises a first row (outlet openings of 22 forming a first row; Fig. 5a) and a second row of outlet openings (outlet openings of 24 forming a second row; Fig. 5a) disposed circumferentially at a second vertical position (Fig. 5a) above the first position (B; Fig. 5a) with respect to a horizontal axis of each of the containers (container, 10), and wherein each cleaning station (component, 14) is configured to discharge a cleaning medium via the first row of outlet opening (B; Fig. 5a) and the second row of outlet openings (outlet openings of 24; Fig. 5a), wherein the cleaning medium is discharged a) via the first row of outlet openings (22; Fig. 5a) substantially identically inwardly and downwardly at a first angle (angle α or β as shown in Figs, 5a and 6) to the horizontal axis of each of the containers (10) and at a first angle to a radial direction to form a first cyclone of cleaning medium (angle α or β as shown in Figs, 5a and 6), and b) via the second row of outlet openings (outlet openings of 24 forming a second row; Fig. 5a) substantially identically inwardly and downwardly at a second angle (Paragraph [0040]) to the horizontal axis of each of the containers (10) and at a second angle to the radial direction to form a second cyclone of cleaning medium (Paragraph [0040]), wherein the second angle to the horizontal axis is greater than the first angle to the horizontal axis and the first cyclone and the second cyclone are co-rotating (Fig. 4; Paragraphs [0010], [0013], [0015] – [0018], [0033] and [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning station of Shintaku to further include a second row of outlet openings disposed circumferentially at a second vertical position above the first position with respect to a horizontal axis of each of the containers, and wherein each cleaning station is configured to discharge a cleaning medium via the first row of outlet opening and the second row of outlet openings, wherein the cleaning medium is discharged a) via the first row of outlet openings substantially identically inwardly and downwardly at a first angle to the horizontal axis of each of the containers and at a first angle to a radial direction to form a first cyclone of cleaning medium, and b) via the second row of outlet openings substantially identically inwardly and downwardly at a second angle to the horizontal axis of each of the containers and at a second angle to the radial direction to form a second cyclone of cleaning medium, wherein the second angle to the horizontal axis is greater than the first angle to the horizontal axis and the first cyclone and the second cyclone are co-rotating, as taught by Thaletec, to provide a cleaning station where the turbulence of the introduced medium occurs and thus improves the spray pattern.
Shintaku, as modified by Thaletec, would further teach the first and second cyclone are co-rotating as the rotating nozzle of Shintaku having the cross-section of the annular gap reduced on the side opposite the nozzle produces a higher flow velocity which results there due to the Bernoulli effect modified to comprise the two cleaning rows of Thaletec.
Regarding Claim 2, Shintaku, as modified, teaches the cleaning apparatus of claim 1 as discussed above.
Shintaku does not explicitly teach the second angle to the horizontal axis being greater than the first angle to the horizontal axis directs the cleaning medium discharged via the second row of outlet openings downwardly at a steeper angular orientation as compared to the cleaning medium discharged via the first row of outlet openings.
Thaletec, however, teaches the second angle (Paragraph [0040]) to the horizontal axis being greater than the first angle to the horizontal axis directs the cleaning medium discharged via the second row of outlet openings downwardly at a steeper angular orientation as compared to the cleaning medium discharged via the first row of outlet openings (Fig. 4; Paragraphs [0013] – [0018] and [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning station of Shintaku to further include the second angle to the horizontal axis being greater than the first angle to the horizontal axis directs the cleaning medium discharged via the second row of outlet openings downwardly at a steeper angular orientation as compared to the cleaning medium discharged via the first row of outlet openings, as taught by Thaletec, to provide a cleaning station where the turbulence of the introduced medium occurs and thus improves the spray pattern.
Regarding Claim 3, Shintaku, as modified, teaches the cleaning apparatus of claim 2 as discussed above.
Shintaku does not explicitly teach the outlet openings of the first row of outlet openings are each adapted to discharge the cleaning medium at the first angle to a side of the container with respect to the radial direction and the outlet openings of the second row of outlet openings are each adapted to discharge the cleaning medium at the second angle to the same side with respect to the radial direction to form co-rotating.
Thaletec, however, teaches the outlet openings of the first row of outlet openings (24) are each adapted to discharge the cleaning medium at the first angle to the radial direction towards a side of the container with respect to the radial direction and the outlet openings of the second row of outlet openings (22a) are each adapted to discharge the cleaning medium at the second angle to the radial direction towards the same side of the containers (Fig. 4; Paragraphs [0013], [0015] – [0018] and [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning station of Shintaku to further include the outlet openings of the first row of outlet openings are each adapted to discharge the cleaning medium at the first angle to a side of the container with respect to the radial direction and the outlet openings of the second row of outlet openings are each adapted to discharge the cleaning medium at the second angle to the same side of the containers, as taught by Thaletec, to provide a cleaning station where the turbulence of the introduced medium occurs and thus improves the spray pattern.
Regarding Claim 4, Shintaku, as modified, teaches the cleaning apparatus (Fig. 2)
further comprising: at least one pair of annular nozzles (1) supported in a substantially symmetrical manner on a common holder (Figs. 6 and 7); and a supply channel (9) provided within the common holder for delivering cleaning medium to the at least one pair of annular nozzles (1; Paragraph [0016]).
Regarding Claim 5, Shintaku, as modified, teaches the cleaning apparatus of claim 4 as discussed above.
Shintaku does not explicitly teach each outlet opening of one or more of the first row of outlet openings or a second row of outlet openings is assigned an annular channel running around the at least one pair of annular nozzles for transport of the cleaning medium, via which each such outlet opening is supplied, a transition between the supply channel and each of the annular channels being realized via a connection and bores running obliquely with respect to the direction in which the common holder extends.
Thaletec, however, teaches each outlet opening of one or more of the first row of outlet openings or a second row of outlet openings is assigned an annular channel running around the at least one pair of annular nozzles for transport of the cleaning medium, via which each such outlet opening is supplied (Paragraph [0007], via th annular gap), a transition between the supply channel and each of the annular channels being realized via a connection and bores running obliquely with respect to the direction in which the common holder extends (Paragraphs [0007] and [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning station of Shintaku to further include each outlet opening of one or more of the first row of outlet openings or a second row of outlet openings is assigned an annular channel running around the at least one pair of annular nozzles for transport of the cleaning medium, via which each such outlet opening is supplied, a transition between the supply channel and each of the annular channels being realized via a connection and bores running obliquely with respect to the direction in which the common holder extends, as taught by Thaletec, to provide a cleaning station where the turbulence of the introduced medium occurs and thus improves the spray pattern.
Regarding Claim 6, Shintaku, as modified, teaches the cleaning apparatus of claim 1 as discussed above.
Shintaku does not explicitly teach at least one flat seal for sealing the at least one annular nozzle.
Thaletec, however, teaches at least one flat seal for sealing the at least one annular nozzle (Paragraph [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning station of Shintaku to further include at least one flat seal for sealing the at least one annular nozzle, as taught by Thaletec, to prevent the cleaning stations from leaking, thus preventing damage to the equipment.
Regarding Claim 7, Shintaku, as modified, teaches the cleaning apparatus (Fig. 2) further comprising a drying station disposed downstream of the cleaning station with respect to the transport apparatus (Paragraph [0012]).
Regarding Claim 8, Shintaku, as modified, teaches the cleaning apparatus (Fig. 2) wherein the drying station including at least one annular drying unit and one or more of the at least one annular nozzle (1) or the at least one annular drying unit are displaceable in the vertical direction in a manner coordinated with the transport apparatus (Paragraph [0012]).
Regarding Claim 9, Shintaku, as modified, teaches the cleaning apparatus (Fig. 2) wherein the at least one holder (28) is configured as a gripper associated with the transport apparatus (Fig. 8), wherein the at least one holder is configured to hold the at least one container of the containers at an upper end of the at least one container (12; Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 10, Shintaku, as modified, teaches the cleaning apparatus (Fig. 2) wherein the at least one holder (28) is configured to grip one or more of vials, ampoules, or carpules (Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 11, Shintaku, as modified, teaches the cleaning apparatus (Fig. 2) wherein the at least one holder gripper (20) is configured to grip a container (12) of the containers (12) in a neck portion of the container with a gripping portion (Fig. 6) and wherein the at least one holder comprises a receiving space for receiving a head portion of the container in a gripped state (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 12, Shintaku, as modified, teaches the cleaning apparatus (Fig. 2) wherein the gripping portion is configured to grip the container in a sealed manner such that the receiving space is sealed from an environment with the container in the gripped state (Fig. 2), the cleaning apparatus further comprising means for applying a gaseous medium at an elevated pressure to the receiving space (Paragraph [0002]).
Regarding Claim 13, Shintaku, as modified, teaches the cleaning apparatus (Fig. 2) further comprising at least one height-displaceable support apparatus (lifting device, 23) configured to support a container of the containers below one of the at least one pair of annular nozzles(1) or below at least one annular drying unit configured to completely surround one of the containers during a drying process (Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 17, Shintaku, as modified, teaches the cleaning apparatus (Fig. 2) wherein the cleaning apparatus is further configured to be operable in a repeat cleaning mode in which, in an event of a malfunction of one or more of the cleaning station or the drying station, one or more of the containers that have already been treated in the cleaning station or the drying station are re-treated (Paragraph [0047]).
Regarding Claim 18, Shintaku, as modified, teaches the cleaning apparatus of claim 2 as discussed above.
Shintaku does not explicitly teach wherein the second angle is thirty degrees.
Thaletec, however, teaches the second angle is thirty degrees Paragraph [0017].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning station of Shintaku to further include the second angle is thirty degrees, as taught by Thaletec, to provide a cleaning station where the turbulence of the introduced medium occurs and thus improves the spray pattern.
Regarding Claim 19, Shintaku, as modified, teaches the cleaning apparatus (Fig. 2) wherein the connection comprises a blind hole (3).
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shintaku (JP 2008174246 A) – See Machine translation provided in view of Thaletec (DE 102009049296 B4) – See Machine translation provided and Till (U. S. Patent No. 7,121,062 B2).
Regarding Claim 14, Shintaku, as modified, teaches the cleaning apparatus of claim 1 as discussed above.
Shintaku does not teach a blow-off station disposed downstream of the cleaning station with respect to the transport apparatus between the cleaning station and a drying station wherein the blow-off station is configured to blow off the holders associated with the transport apparatus by means of at least one air curtain.
Till, however, teaches a blow-off station (Fig. 5A) disposed downstream of the station (5) with respect to the transport apparatus between the station (5) and a drying station wherein the blow-off station is configured to blow off the holders associated with the transport apparatus by means of at least one air curtain (@417 via conduit, 413).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning station of Shintaku to further include a blow-off station disposed downstream of the cleaning station with respect to the transport apparatus between the cleaning station and a drying station wherein the blow-off station is configured to blow off the holders associated with the transport apparatus by means of at least one air curtain, as taught by Till, to prevent container from being contaminated thus ensuring the quality of the cleaning process.
Regarding Claim 20, Shintaku, as modified, teaches the cleaning apparatus of claim 1 as discussed above.
Shintaku does not teach the drying station comprises at least one annular drying unit configured to completely surround one of the containers during a drying process.
Till, however, teaches the drying station (@417; Fig. 5A) comprises at least one annular drying unit configured to completely surround one of the containers during a drying process (via conduit 413).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning station of Shintaku to further include the drying station comprises at least one annular drying unit configured to completely surround one of the containers during a drying process, as taught by Till, to prevent container from being contaminated thus ensuring the quality of the cleaning process.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shintaku (JP 2008174246 A) – See Machine translation provided in view of Thaletec (DE 102009049296 B4) – See Machine translation provided and Bock (DE102018133121 A1) – See Machine translation provided.
Regarding Claim 15, Shintaku, as modified, teaches the cleaning apparatus of claim 1 as discussed above.
Shintaku does not explicitly teach the cleaning apparatus wherein the transport apparatus is further configured to implement an empty space compensation system, the cleaning apparatus further comprising
Bock, however, teaches the transport apparatus is further configured to implement an empty space compensation system, the cleaning apparatus further comprising
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning station of Shintaku to further include at least one flat seal for sealing the at least one annular nozzle, as taught by Bock, to prevent the damage to the containers thus preventing damage to the equipment.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shintaku (JP 2008174246 A) – See Machine translation provided in view of Thaletec (DE 102009049296 B4) – See Machine translation provided and Weber at al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2006/0219275 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Shintaku, as modified, teaches the cleaning apparatus of claim 7 as discussed above.
Shintaku does not explicitly teach wherein the transport apparatus is further configured to be operable in a start-up mode in which all of the holders are moved out of an area of the cleaning station and, of the drying station when the cleaning apparatus is started up.
Weber, however, teaches an analogous cleaning/drying and transporting system wherein the transport apparatus is further configured to be operable in a start-up mode in which all of the holders are moved out of an area of the cleaning station and, of the drying station when the cleaning apparatus is started up (Paragraphs [0007] and [0008]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning station of Shintaku to further include the transport apparatus is further configured to be operable in a start-up mode in which all of the holders are moved out of an area of the cleaning station and, of the drying station when the cleaning apparatus is started up, as taught by Weber, to prevent the damage to the containers thus preventing damage to the equipment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated March 26, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 – 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been maintained.
Applicant argues “the reference does not teach multiple rows of openings having respective angles, wherein a second angle is greater than the first.
Examiner respectfully disagrees as Thaletec explicitly teaches a first row formed at openings 22, Fig. 5a and a second row of openings formed at 24, Fig. 5a. Paragraph [0040] further teaches The described examples of implementation can be varied or combined in many different ways. For example, it is possible that – the recesses 24 are inclined in addition to the holes 22 or instead by an angle α, by an angle β and/or an angle θ. This opening 29 can be inclined at three different angles, analogous to the angles α, β, θ. If more than one opening 29 is present, the size, shape and/or inclinations of the individual openings may differ; – at least one opening 30 is provided in the cover plate 28 (see also Fig. 8). This causes axial spraying from the upper area of component 14 . This opening 30 can be inclined at three different angles, analogous to the angles α, β, θ. If more than one opening 30 is present, the size, shape and/or inclinations of the individual openings may differ. Paragraph [0017] further teaches The values for the angles β and θ can range between -90 and +90 degrees. Values in the range of -60 to +60 degrees are particularly advantageous, with values between -30 and +30 degrees proving especially effective. The angles β and θ can also be different for the individual openings of the inner ring body.
The reference does not disclose co-rotating cyclones formed by cleaning medium discharged via multiple rows of openings.
Examiner respectfully disagrees as Shintaku teaches a rotating nozzle, 1 in (Paragraph [0042]) having the cross-section of the annular gap reduced on the side opposite the nozzle produces a higher flow velocity which results there due to the Bernoulli effect. Thaletec, further teaches the two rows of nozzles, therefore Shintaku as modified by Thaletec teach co-rotating cyclones formed by cleaning medium discharged via multiple rows of openings.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723