DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed 09 January 2026 containing remarks and amendments to the claims.
Claims 1-15 and 19-23 are pending.
The previous rejections have been updated by amendments to the claims. The rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tate (US 4,670,129).
Regarding claims 1-8, 13-15, and 19-23, Tate teaches mixing xylene or benzene with formaldehyde and sulfuric acid at a temperature of 70-130°C to produce a pitch composition (column 3, line 25-column 4, line 40). The pitch produced by Tate comprises aromatic rings bridged together via a methylene group (column 3, lines 50-67). Tate pitch is further heated to produce a mesophase pitch having a softening point of 225°C, and the mesophase is further treated and carbonized to produce fibers (column 8, example 3).
Tate does not explicitly disclose the molecular weight, MCR, or percent mesophase, what the heat treatment induces, or ARC contents.
However, since Tate teaches the same process steps applied to the same feeds at the same conditions as claimed, it is expected that the same or similar products would result. Examiner additionally notes that Applicant’s instant specification examples teaches the same xylene feedstocks as described by Tate. In this regard, it is not seen where Applicant has distinguished the process steps from the prior art of record.
Regarding claims 9-12, Tate teaches using specific amounts of aromatic, formaldehyde, and sulfuric acid (column 7, example 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have appropriately selected the amounts of each reactant, in order to produce the desired mesophase pitch and fiber.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 and 19-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of copending Application No. 18/279,805 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to overlapping subject matter regarding pitch compositions having overlapping properties including molecular weight, softening point, and MCR.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner considers Applicant’s arguments to be:
Tate teaches the same aromatic class (ARC1) connected via at least one methylene bridge. Tate does not teach two distinct aromatic classes linked via a methylene bridge. Such a difference would result in a composition having different properties.
In response, Examiner notes that the current claim language does not specify whether the aromatic classes are the same or different. In this regard, it is not seen where Applicant has distinguished from Tate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP H05209321A – cited in IDS 12/12/25, teaches formation of an optically isotropic pitch
JPS6279214A – cited in IDS 12/12/25, teaches formation of optically anisotropic pitch
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE STEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771