DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(e) as being anticipated by Tanimoto (US11,101,427, hereinafter Tanimoto).
Regarding claim 1, Tanimoto discloses a piezoelectric base material comprising: an elongated inner conductor (12B); and a piezoelectric layer (14A) covering a periphery of the inner conductor, the piezoelectric layer comprising: a piezoelectric yarn (col. 8:38-40) wound around the inner conductor; and an adhering section (column 13:50) that maintains a state in which the piezoelectric yarn is wound around the inner conductor, the piezoelectric yarn comprising an optically active polypeptide fiber that is a fiber comprising an optically active polypeptide (Col. 20:5,4:36-45). Tanimoto is silent regarding the limitation of the piezoelectric layer having an elastic modulus Y of from 1.0 GPa to 8.0 GPa as measured by a microhardness measurement in accordance with JIS Z 2255. However, considering the piezoelectric material is exactly the same as that of the present invention, the limitation is considered to be anticipated.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Tanimoto discloses the main orientation direction of the optically active polypeptide included in the piezoelectric body are substantially parallel to each other and the piezoelectric body has a degree of orientation F of from 0.50 to less than 1.00 (col. 4:40-42).
Regarding claim 4, the piezoelectric yarn is helically wound in a single direction (col. 9:37-45).
Regarding claim 5, the helix angle of from 20°-70° (col. 9:27-28).
Regarding claim 6, the adhering section comprises the claimed materials (see col. 13:65 to col:14:9)
Regarding claim 7, Tanimoto discloses the outer conductor (22).
Regarding claim 8, Tanimoto discloses the β-sheet structure (Col. 6:16-18).
Regarding claims 9-11, the optically active polypeptide is one of fibroin or refined silk protein (Col. 6:19-42).
Regarding claim 12, Tanimoto discloses each piezoelectric yarn comprises a plurality of optically active polypeptide fibers, and a number of twists of the piezoelectric yarn is not more than 500 T/m. (Col. 8:57-52)
Regarding claim 13, Tanimoto discloses the electrical insulator at an outermost periphery (Col. 13:15-24).
Regarding claims 14-16, Tanimoto discloses the sensor, actuator and biological information acquisition device (Col. 1:8-10),
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,101,427.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the claims within the reference application feature the same invention and are within the scope of the claims of the present application. As explained above, the limitation of the elastic modulus is an inherent characteristic of the material, and considering the material is exactly the same as that of the instant application, the limitation is considered to be anticipated.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/J. San Martin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837