DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/22/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
4. Acknowledgement is made of the preliminary amendment(s) filed 9/22/2023.
Specification
5. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract (lines 2, 3 & 8) includes the claim language “comprises”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1 describes a pressure gauge for an inflatable article, claims 24 and 25 do not further describe a pressure gauge.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 15-18 & 22-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wiseman et al. (US 20040261513 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 24, 25 & 26 Wiseman et al teaches a housing 101; an indicating chamber 111 119 defined within the housing 101 ; a resilient diaphragm 107 located within the housing 101 and configured to expand upon an increase in pressure within the inflatable article (interpreted as a tire)[Abstract][Entire Spec.], the diaphragm 107 having a first surface and a second, opposing surface (inherent)[0021][0023](fig. 4) , wherein the first surface of the diaphragm 107 is configured to be in fluid communication with the interior of the inflatable article (interpreted as tire) and wherein the second surface of the diaphragm 107 defines a boundary of the indicating chamber 111 119 ; and an indicating element 109 located within the indicating chamber 111 119, wherein the pressure gauge 100 is configured so that the indicating element 109 is moveable [0021], by an expansion of the diaphragm 107, in a first direction away from a first position and the position of the indicating element 109 relative to the housing 101 provides an indication of the pressure within the inflatable article [0019]-[0038]. Claims 24 and 25 are being reviewed as intended use recitations.
Regarding claims 2 & 3 Wiseman et al teaches a biasing element 120 located within the indicating chamber, wherein the biasing element is configured to move the indicating element 109 in a second direction towards the first position [0026][0027][0037].
Regarding claim 4 Wiseman et al teaches the housing 101 is mountable or coupleable to an inflatable article (interpreted as a tire)(figs. 1-4.
Regarding claim 5 Wiseman et al teaches the housing 101 comprises a base (figs. 1-4) portion configured to be coupled to the inflatable article (figs. 1-9).
Regarding claim 6 Wiseman et al teaches the base portion (figs. 1-4) of the housing 101 is flanged (figs. 2-4)
Regarding claim 7 Wiseman et al teaches the housing 101 defines an air inlet 106 that establishes a fluid communication between the interior of the inflatable article (interpreted as tire) and the first surface of the diaphragm 107.
Regarding claim 8 Wiseman et al teaches the indicating element 109 is configured to be visible through an indicating portion 127 of the housing 101 [0024].
Regarding claim 9 Wiseman et al teaches the indicating element comprises a first indicator [0021][0032] , preferably wherein the first indicator comprises a marking, a notch, or a scale (Abstract).
Regarding claim 10 Wiseman et al teaches the housing 101 comprises an opening, wherein the position of the first indicator [0021][0032]relative to the opening provides an indication of the pressure within the inflatable article. (Abstract)
Regarding claim 15 Wiseman et al teaches the target operating pressure of the inflatable article is between about 20 psi (about 1.4 bar) and about 22 psi (about 1.5 bar). (Inherent / implied)
Regarding claim 16 Wiseman et al teaches the diaphragm 107 protrudes into the indicating chamber 111 119, preferably the diaphragm 107 being concave (figs. 1-6).
Regarding claim 17 Wiseman et al teaches the indicating element 109 abuts or is coupled to the second surface of the diaphragm 107 (figs. 2-4).
Regarding claim 18 Wiseman et al teaches the indicating element 109 is located between the diaphragm 107 and the biasing element 120.
Regarding claim 22 Wiseman et al teaches an inflation valve 106, preferably wherein the inflation valve comprises a Presta valve or a Schrader valve (figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 23 Wiseman et al teaches the pressure gauge 100 and the inflation valve 106 form a single integral unit (figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 27 Wiseman et al teaches the pressure gauge 100 is coupled to an outer wall of the inflatable article (interpreted as a tire)(abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20250089908 A1 MULTI-CHAMBER INFLATABLE PRODUCT WITH AN INTERNAL PRESSURE REGULATING STRUCTURE
/ANDRE J ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855