DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The proposed reply filed on June 29th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 7 and 21 have been amended. Claims 3, 14 and 20 have been canceled. New claims 22-24 have been added. Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-13, 16-19 and 21-24 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki et al. (US 2021/0194548 A1) in view of Pezeshki et al. (US 2021/0195462 A1) (Pezeshki’462 hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Pezeshki et al. teach a method for transmitting a compressed codebook, comprising, acquiring a channel state information (CSI) for subsequent feedback (Figs. 1-2, [0031, 0046, 0064], an autoencoder configuration 200 may include an encoder 202 and a decoder 208 which communicate over a channel 206. The encoder 202 may be part of a first wireless communications device and the decoder 208 part of a second wireless communications device. For example, the encoder 202 may be part of a UE 115 and communicate with a decoder 208 that is part of a BS 105 or another UE 115 in various examples. The first wireless communications device may be a user equipment (UE) and the second wireless communications device may be a base station. An input S may traverse the layers 204a and normalization layer 204b, resulting in a compressed codeword A. BS 105 may transmit cell specific reference signals (CRSs) and/or channel state information—reference signals (CSI-RSs) to enable a UE 115 to estimate a DL channel),
Pezeshki et al. teach inputting the CSI into an encoder network structure to acquire a first compressed codebook corresponding to the CSI (Fig. 2, [0046, 0065], the encoder 202 may include one or more layers 204a, including for example an input layer and one or more hidden layers. Each layer may include one or more nodes that are connected to nodes in another layer. Weights may be applied to data as it traverses the one or more layers 204a. The encoder 202 may also include a normalization layer 204b. The decoder 208 may include one or more hidden layers 210a, followed by an activation layer 210b. For example, an input S may traverse the layers 204a and normalization layer 204b, resulting in a compressed codeword A. The compressed codeword A that has a reduced dimensionality to that of input S. As the codeword A traverses the channel 206, arriving at the receiving decoder 208 as received codeword B. The original input S may be reconstructed by the hidden layers 210a and activation layer 210b as S′. The encoder 202 and the decoder 208 are trained jointly in order to recover the input S at the output as S′. BS 105 may transmit cell specific reference signals (CRSs) and/or channel state information—reference signals (CSI-RSs) to enable a UE 115 to estimate a DL channel),
Pezeshki et al. teach wherein a number of elements of the first compressed codebook is less than a number of elements of the CSI (Fig. 2, [0033, 0065], upon completion of training, compression of input data will result in a codeword of reduced dimensionality that improves transmission efficiency and reduces resource utilization, which is recoverable at the decoder side. For example, an input S may traverse the layers 204a and normalization layer 204b, resulting in a compressed codeword A. The compressed codeword A that has a reduced dimensionality to that of input S),
Pezeshki et al. teach receiving a plurality of sets of network parameters of encoder network structures sent by the base station through high-layer signaling or physical layer signaling, to acquire a set of network parameters from the plurality sets of network parameters of encoder network structure (Figs. 2-4 [0065, 0082, 0093], the encoder 202 may include one or more layers 204a, including for example an input layer and one or more hidden layers. the first wireless communications device 502 (UE) and the second wireless communications device 504 (base station) are UEs 115, the transmission 514 may be done via sidelink control or sidelink higher-layer signaling. The neural network configuration module 408 may receive neural network parameters used (either from preconfigured AI modules or generally) at the encoding end based on the configuration of the encoding end's antennas. The neural network communication module 408 may receive antenna configuration information and neural network information from the encoder side. The neural network communication module 308 may be used as part of an encoder for a first or a third wireless communications device according to the fig. 1 example, which determines and implements, or receives and implements, neural network parameters and/or weights, respectively),
Pezeshki et al. teach and sending an index of the acquired set of network parameters of encoder network structure to the base station (Figs. 2 and 5, [0091, 0101], the action 512 involved selecting from a number of pre-provisioned AI modules, action 514 may involve the first wireless communications device 502 (UE) transmitting an index (e.g., an implicit signaling of neural network parameters) that identifies the AI module selected to the second wireless communications device 504 (Base station) together with the antenna configuration information. The second wireless communications device 504 (base station) may identify the neural network parameters (e.g., an index for an AI module where pre-provisioned, or explicit neural network parameters such as number/type of layers, number of nodes, etc.).
Pezeshki et al. is teaching of compressing the input to compressed codewords with the encoders and transmit the compressed codebook to the base station. Pezeshki et al., however, fail to expressly disclose for inputting the CSI into an encoder network structure to acquire a first compressed codebook corresponding to the CSI. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 1, Pezeshki’462 teaches inputting the CSI into an encoder network structure to acquire a first compressed codebook corresponding to the CSI (Fig. 5, [0057, 0087], a communication system 500 for feedback signaling using AI compression, in accordance with certain aspects of the present disclosure. For example, the communication system 500 may include a UE 502 that may receive, from a BS 504, the reference signal 506. The UE 502 may perform one or more measurements and compress the one or more measurements using an AI encoder 508 (e.g., via one of AI module(s) 512). Wherein the at least one reference signal comprises at least one channel state information (CSI)-reference signal (RS)),
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chen et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Pezeshki’462 in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of inputting the CSI into an encoder network structure to acquire a first compressed codebook corresponding to the CSI. The motivation is to support an improved method for techniques to feedback signal compression (see [0002]).
Claim(s) 2, 16-17 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki et al. (US 2021/0194548 A1) in view of Pezeshki et al. (US 2021/0195462 A1) (Pezeshki’462 hereinafter) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2024/0137093 A1).
Pezeshki et al. and Pezeshki’462 disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 7 above.
Regarding claim 22, Pezeshki’462 teach wherein, the encoder network structure comprises at least one network parameter each comprising a compression ratio that is indicative of a ratio of the number of elements of the first compressed codebook to the number of elements of the CSI, and at least one of, a network layer type, a network layer number, a network layer mapping, a network layer weight, a network layer bias, a network layer weight normalization coefficient, and a network layer activation function; and the encoder network structure comprises at least one network layer each having a network weight (Fig. 5, [0028-0029, 0051, 0060], the configuration to be used for the compression may include an indication of a compression ratio associated with the compression. A compression ratio generally refers to a ratio between a size of a compressed output of an encoder and a size of the input to be compressed by the encoder. As an example, when compression is performed using a neural network, different compression ratios may correspond to different neural network architectures used for the compression. The BS may determine the compression ratio based on the one or more parameters to be calculated. For instance, the compression ratio may be determined based on a type of the one or more parameters to be calculated, a quantity of data associated with the one or more parameters to be calculated, or any combination thereof. The configuration 510 may be an indication of a compression ratio to be used for the compression of the one or more measurements corresponding to the reference signal 506, an indication of at least one AI module (one of AI module(s) 512) to be used for the compression of the one or more measurements corresponding to the reference signal 506, or both. In layered neural network architectures, the output of a first layer of artificial neurons becomes an input to a second layer of artificial neurons, the output of a second layer of artificial neurons becomes an input to a third layer of artificial neurons, and so on. For instance, the encoder and decoder may each have multiple layers having neurons. Each of the neurons may be associated with a weight. During training, an error between the input and the output may be determined, and each weight's contribution to the error may be determined. The weights may be adjusted accordingly using gradient descent to facilitate training of the autoencoder, allowing the compressed version of the input to more closely represent the input.
Pezeshki et al. and Pezeshki’462 do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 2, wherein transmitting the first compressed codebook to the base station comprises, successively quantizing, encoding, and modulating the first compressed codebook to generate a second compressed codebook; regarding claim 16, a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing thereon a computer program which, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to carry out the method as claimed in claim 1; regarding claim 17, an electronic apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory storing a computer program, which when executed by the processor, causes the processor to carry out the method.
Regarding claim 2, Chen et al. teach wherein transmitting the first compressed codebook to the base station comprises, successively quantizing, encoding, and modulating the first compressed codebook to generate a second compressed codebook; and transmitting the second compressed codebook to the base station (Fig. 11, [0138, 0147], since the correlation of the real part of the CSI matrix and the correlation of the imaginary part of the CSI matrix are similar, parameters of the compression encoders used to encode the real part and the imaginary part are often similar or the same. Therefore, optionally, based on model parameters of the first target CSI compression encoder, a second target CSI compression encoder is constructed, the real part and the imaginary part of the target CSI matrix are extracted, and the real part and the imaginary part of the target CSI matrix are respectively input into corresponding target CSI compression encoders for encoding. That is, the UE deploys two target CSI compression encoders at the same time, and may input the real part of the target CSI matrix into one of the target CSI compression encoders and input the imaginary part of the target CSI matrix into the other of the target CSI compression encoders in parallel. In the embodiments of the disclosure, since two target CSI compression encoders are deployed simultaneously in the parallel encoding mode, the real part and the imaginary part. Encoding module 11 is configured to encode, based on a first target CSI compression encoder, a target CSI matrix in a delay domain and an angle domain, to generate a compressed encoded value, in which the first target CSI compression encoder includes N composite convolution layers and one fully-connected layer, each composite convolution layer includes a delay-domain convolution step and an angle-domain convolution step, and the delay-domain convolution step of the first composite convolution layer in the N composite convolution layers is smaller than the angle-domain convolution step of the first composite convolution layer in the N composite convolution layers, where N is a positive integer).
Regarding claim 16, Chen et al. teach a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing thereon a computer program which, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to carry out the method (Fig. 15, [0217] a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, the memory 1620 may be configured to store non-transitory software programs, non-transitory computer executable programs and modules, such as program instructions/modules corresponding to the method in the embodiments of the disclosure. The processor 1610 is configured to execute various functional applications and data processing of the server by operating non-transitory software programs, instructions and modules stored in the memory 1620, that is, implements the encoding method for CSI or the decoding method for CSI according to the disclosure).
regarding claim 17, Chen et al. teach an electronic apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory storing a computer program, which when executed by the processor, causes the processor to carry out the method as claimed in claim 1 (Fig. 15, [0215-0216], the communication device includes: one or more processors 1610, a memory 1620, and interfaces for connecting various components, including a high-speed interface and a low-speed interface. Various components are connected to each other by different buses and may be installed on a common main board or in other ways as required. The processor may process instructions executed within the communication device, including instructions stored in. The memory 1620 is a non-transitory computer readable storage medium provided by the disclosure. The memory is configured to store instructions executed by at least one processor, to enable the at least one processor to execute the encoding method for CSI or the decoding method for CSI according to the disclosure. The non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to the disclosure is configured to store computer instructions. The computer instructions are configured to enable a computer to execute the encoding method for CSI or the decoding method for CSI according to the disclosure).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pezeshki et al. with Pezeshki’462 by incorporating the features as taught by Chen et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of transmitting the first compressed codebook to the base station comprises, successively quantizing, encoding, and modulating the first compressed codebook to generate a second compressed codebook; and transmitting the second compressed codebook to the base station. The motivation is to support an improved method for transmitting and receiving channel state information in a wireless communication system (see [0002]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki et al. (US 2021/0194548 A1) in view of Pezeshki et al. (US 2021/0195462 A1) (Pezeshki’462 hereinafter) and as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Jassal et al. (US 2020/0366326 A1).
Pezeshki et al. and Pezeshki’462 disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 7 above. Pezeshki et al. and Pezeshki’462 do not expressly disclosed the following features: regarding claim 4, wherein before inputting the channel state information matrix into the encoder network structure to acquire the first compressed codebook corresponding to the CSI matrix, the method further comprises: receiving a plurality sets of network parameters of encoder network structures sent by a base station through high-layer signaling or physical layer signaling; and acquiring a set of network parameters from the plurality sets of network parameters of encoder network structures according to a channel condition, wherein the channel condition comprises at least one of a channel scenario, or a channel feature.
Regarding claim 4, Jassal et al. teach wherein before inputting the channel state information matrix into the encoder network structure to acquire the first compressed codebook corresponding to the CSI matrix, the method further comprises: receiving a plurality sets of network parameters of encoder network structures sent by a base station through high-layer signaling or physical layer signaling; and acquiring a set of network parameters from the plurality sets of network parameters of encoder network structures according to a channel condition, wherein the channel condition comprises at least one of a channel scenario, or a channel feature (Fig. 8, [0103-0104, 0110], the UE's NN can be configured using one or more objects defined by higher-layer signaling. The one or more objects configure the behavior the UE should adopt while performing channel compression. The higher-layer signaling object will carry parameters relevant for the configuration of a NN, e.g. the number of layers, the type of each layer (convolutional, fully connected), the number of neurons in each layer, the coefficients of the link between neurons of neighboring layers. The network trains its NNs such that it matches the input and the output as closely as possible by learning salient properties of the downlink channel (e.g. angles of departure and arrival, spatial correlations between antenna ports, temporal correlations). Some of the technical advantages of this embodiment are that: it can directly work with received pilot signals to derive a codeword; the UE is directly configured with encoding functions trained offline at the network side; this helps reduce uplink feedback overhead in terms of bits transmitted by having the UE use more compact channel representations and reduce the frequency at which pilot signals are transmitted);
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pezeshki et al. with Pezeshki’462 by incorporating the features as taught by Jassal et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of inputting before the channel state information matrix into the encoder network structure to acquire the first compressed codebook corresponding to the CSI matrix, the method further comprises: receiving a plurality sets of network parameters of encoder network structures sent by a base station through high-layer signaling or physical layer signaling; and acquiring a set of network parameters from the plurality sets of network parameters of encoder network structures according to a channel condition, wherein the channel condition comprises at least one of a channel scenario, or a channel feature, and having a number of elements of the first compressed codebook less than a number of elements of the CSI matrix. Receiving a plurality sets of network parameters sent by a base station through high-layer signaling, and acquiring a set of network parameters according to a channel condition. The motivation is to support an improved method for reporting CSI feedback to the base station (see [0011]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki et al. (US 2021/0194548 A1) in view of Pezeshki et al. (US 2021/0195462 A1) (Pezeshki’462 hereinafter) and Jassal et al. (US 2020/0366326 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2024/0137093 A1).
Pezeshki et al., Pezeshki’462 and Jassal et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 7 above. Pezeshki et al., Pezeshki’462 and Jassal et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 5, wherein after acquiring the set of network parameters from the plurality of network parameters of encoder network structures according to the channel condition, the method further comprises, transmitting the acquired set of network parameters to the base station, to instruct the base station to process the first compressed codebook according to a decoder network structure corresponding to the set of network parameters to acquire the CSI.
Regarding claim 5, Chen et al. teach wherein after acquiring the set of network parameters from the plurality of network parameters of encoder network structures according to the channel condition, the method further comprises, transmitting the acquired set of network parameters to the base station, to instruct the base station to process the first compressed codebook according to a decoder network structure corresponding to the set of network parameters to acquire the CSI (Fig. 10, [0133-0134, 0147], since the correlation of the real part of the CSI matrix and the correlation of the imaginary part of the CSI matrix are similar, parameters of the compression encoders used to encode the real part and the imaginary part are often similar or the same. Therefore, optionally, based on model parameters of the first target CSI compression encoder, a second target CSI compression encoder is constructed, the real part and the imaginary part of the target CSI matrix are extracted, and the real part and the imaginary part of the target CSI matrix are respectively input into corresponding target CSI compression encoders for encoding. The UE sends s.sub.re or s.sub.im to the network device through the feedback link. The network device inputs s.sub.re or s.sub.im into the CSI decoder. The deconvolution layer of the first composite deconvolution layer in the CSI decoder adopts a deconvolution kernel with a size of f×1×3×3. The convolution layer of the second composite deconvolution layer and the convolution layer of the third deconvolution layer both adopt a deconvolution kernel with a size of f×f×3×3 and a deconvolution step of (1,1). The deconvolution layer of the fourth deconvolution layer adopts a deconvolution kernel with a size of f×1×3×5 and a deconvolution step of (1,2). The network device inputs s.sub.re or s.sub.im into the fully-connected layer for the fully-connected processing to output a vector of 1×(N.sub.cc×(N.sub.t/2)) for reconstructing to output a tensor with a size of 1×N.sub.cc×(N.sub.t/2) as the input of the first composite deconvolution layer. After the deconvolution layer of the first composite deconvolution layer performs the deconvolution processing on the tensor with the size of 1×N.sub.cc×(N.sub.t/2) to output a tensor with a size of f×N.sub.cc×(N.sub.t/2).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pezeshki et al. with Pezeshki’462 and Jassal et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Chen et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of acquiring the set of network parameters from the plurality of network parameters of encoder network structures according to the channel condition, the method further comprises, transmitting the acquired set of network parameters to the base station, to instruct the base station to process the first compressed codebook according to a decoder network structure corresponding to the set of network parameters to acquire the CSI matrix. And utilizing decoder network structure comprises at least one network parameter each comprising at least one of, a network layer type, a network layer number, a network layer mapping, a network layer weight, a network layer bias, a network layer weight normalization coefficient, a network layer activation function, or a compression ratio, wherein the compression ratio is indicative of a ratio of the number of elements of the first compressed codebook to the number of elements of the CSI. The motivation is to support an improved method for channel state information (CSI), a decoding method for CSI, and a communication device (see [0002]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki et al. (US 2021/0194548 A1) in view of Pezeshki et al. (US 2021/0195462 A1) (Pezeshki’462 hereinafter) and as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2023/0084164 A1) (Chen’164 herein after).
Pezeshki et al. and Pezeshki’462 disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 7 above. Pezeshki et al. and Pezeshki’462 do not expressly disclosed the following features: regarding claim 6, wherein the encoder network structure comprises at least one of, a fully connected network structure, a convolution neural network structure, a recurrent neural network structure, or a residual network structure.
Regarding claim 6, Chen’164 teaches wherein the encoder network structure comprises at least one of, a fully connected network structure, a convolution neural network structure, a recurrent neural network structure, or a residual network structure (Fig. 6, is a block diagram illustrating an exemplary auto-encoder 600, in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure, [0074-0075] in machine learning (ML) based channel state information (CSI) compression and feedback, a user equipment (UE) trains an encoder/decoder neural network (NN) pair and sends the trained decoder model to a base station (e.g., gNB). The UE uses the encoder NN to create and to feed back the channel state feedback (CSF). The encoder NN may take the raw channel as input. A base station uses the decoder NN to recover the raw channel from the CSF. The UE uses a certain loss metric to train the encoder/decoder NN. The auto-encoder 600 includes an encoder 610 having a neural network (NN). The encoder 610 receives the channel realization and/or interference realization as an input and compresses the channel/interference realization).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pezeshki et al. with Pezeshki’462 by incorporating the features as taught by Chen’164 in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of having an the encoder and a decoder network structure comprises at least one of, a fully connected network structure, a convolution neural network structure, a recurrent neural network structure, or a residual network structure. The motivation is to support an improved method for configurable 5G new radio (NR) channel state feedback (CSF) learning (see [0001]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9, 11-13, 18-19, 21 and 23-24 are allowed.
Reason for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance.
An updated search has been performed and applicant’s remarks filed on 06/02/2026 have been fully considered, and these remarks, in combination with the amendment filed therein have overcome the submitted prior art. The closet prior arts of record, Pezeshki et al. (US 2021/0195462 A1) and Park et al. (US 2021/0409991 A1) individually or in any reasonable combination fail to fairly show or suggest claimed underlined features of each independent claim 1, 13, 14 and 29 as described below:
Regarding claim 7, A method for acquiring a channel state information (CSI), comprising, receiving a first compressed codebook or a second compressed codebook transmitted by a terminal device, wherein the first compressed codebook is generated by an encoder network structure into which the CSI is input by the terminal device, the second compressed codebook is generated by a successively quantizing, encoding, and modulating the first compressed codebook, and a number of elements of the first compressed codebook is less than a number of elements of the CSI; and inputting the first compressed codebook or the second compressed codebook into a decoder network structure corresponding to the encoder network structure to generate the CSI; transmitting a plurality of sets of network parameters of encoder network structures to the terminal device through high-layer signaling or physical layer signaling, to instruct the terminal device to acquire a set of network parameters from the plurality sets of network parameters of encoder network structures; receiving an index of the acquired set of network parameters of encoder network structure sent by the terminal device; acquiring at least one corresponding parameter of decoder network structure according to the index of the acquired set of network parameters of encoder network structure; and processing the first compressed codebook or the second compressed codebook according to the decode network structure corresponding to the set of network parameters to acquire the CSI.
Regarding claim 21, A method for acquiring a channel state information (CSI), comprising, receiving a first compressed codebook or a second compressed codebook transmitted by a terminal device, wherein the first compressed codebook is generated by an encoder network structure into which the CSI is input by the terminal device, the second compressed codebook is generated by a successively quantizing, encoding, and modulating the first compressed codebook, and a number of elements of the first compressed codebook is less than a number of elements of the CSI; inputting the first compressed codebook or the second compressed codebook into a decoder network structure corresponding to the encoder network structure to generate the CSI; transmitting a plurality of sets of network parameters of encoder network structures to the terminal device through high-layer signaling or physical layer signaling, to instruct the terminal device to acquire a set of network parameters from the plurality sets of network parameters of encoder network structures; receiving both the acquired set of network parameters of encoder network structure, and an index of the acquired set of network parameters of encoder network structure sent by the terminal device; acquiring at least one corresponding parameter of decoder network structure according to either one of, the index of the acquired set of network parameters of encoder network structure, or the acquired set of network parameters of encoder network structure; and processing the first compressed codebook or the second compressed codebook according to the decoder network structure corresponding to the set of network parameters to acquire the CSI.
Therefore, the independent claims 7 and 21, together with their respective dependent claims are allowed for the reason given above.
Claims 8-9, 11-12, 13, 18-19, 23 and 24 are allowed since they depend on claims 1 and 21 respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 16-17 and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SYED M BOKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473 7/8/2026
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473