Double Patenting
***The ODP rejections found in the non-final rejection mailed 03/26/2026 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
***The 112 rejections found in the non-final rejection mailed 03/26/2026 have been withdrawn. The rejection of claims 4 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 13, 15, 17-20, 24-26, and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0109321 to Kuo et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0053058 to Tabor et al.
As to claims 1, 7, 10, Kuo discloses an acetoacetate functional polyester comprising residues of diols, polyols, and polycarboxylic acids to prepare an hydroxy functional polyester having an hydroxyl number that ranges from 10 to about 200 mgKOH/g and acid numbers that range from 0 to 30 mg KOH/g (0053). Kuo discloses reaction of 50 to 95% by weight of the hydroxyl functional polyester with 5 to 50% by weight of alkyl acetoacetate, such as methyl or ethyl acetoacetate to obtain the acetoacetate functional polyester (0061-0069).
Kuo does not expressly disclose the use of virgin or recycled thermoplastic polyester when preparing the hydroxyl-functional polyester.
However, the use of virgin PET or recycled PET to prepare polyester polyols was known at the time of filing. This is supported by Tabor (0015).
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include virgin PET or recycled PET taught in Tabor within the reaction product of Kuo to provide a sustainable alternative to polyester polyols based on petrochemical or biochemical based polyester polyols (0015) which at the same time help to both reduce waste streams and provide further options for using under-utilized recycled polymer streams (0014).
As to claims 2-3 and 17-20, Kuo discloses wherein the hydroxy-functional polyester polyol is derived from an hydroxyl component comprising a diol and a polyol and dicarboxylic acid component such as dimethyl terephthalate, adipic acid, or azelaic acid (0059).
As to claim 5, Kuo discloses a number average molecular weight of the acetoacetate functional polyester of 1724 g/mol (0099).
As to claims 13 and 15, Kuo in view of Tabor teaches the addition of greater than 10 mol% (See 0263) of dimer fatty acid residues selected from linoleic acid or linolenic acid to the hydroxyl functional polyester polyol (0215).
As to claims 20, 23, and 37, Kuo discloses a coating composition comprising the acetoacetate functional polyester that is free of isocyanates (0003-0004).
As to claims 24-25 and 38, Kuo discloses a polymer composition used in coatings comprising the acetoacetate functional polyester and acrylate monomers (0049).
As to claim 26, Kuo discloses a polymer composition further comprising catalysts (0084-0086).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 13, 15, 17-20, 24-26, and 37-38have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL L LEONARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763