Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, Specie II, claims 1,3,10-13,19,20, in the reply filed on January 8, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3,10,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sizov et al (WO 2019/147589).
Regarding claim 1, Sizov teaches a display system comprising: an array of light-emitting diodes configured to emit light in a first direction (figs. 3 to 8); and a driver die with driver circuitry (COMOS driver 400, fig. 3B, paragraph [0088]) that controls the array of light- emitting diodes (paragraph [0088]), wherein the array of light-emitting diodes are mounted on the driver die, wherein each light-emitting diode comprises an n-type semiconductor layer (104, paragraph [0055], fig. 7) and a p-type semiconductor layer (108), wherein each light-emitting diode comprises a respective contact pad (180, fig. 7, paragraph [0065]) for a selected one of the n-type semiconductor layer and a p-type semiconductor layer, wherein the array of light-emitting diodes share a common contact pad (190, paragraph [0064]) for a remaining one of the n-type semiconductor layer and a p-type semiconductor layer, and wherein the common contact pad overlaps the respective contact pads in the first direction.
Regarding claim 3, Sizov teaches the display system defined in claim 1, wherein each respective contact pad is electrically connected to the p-type semiconductor layer for that light-emitting diode and wherein the array of light-emitting diodes shares a common contact pad for the n-type semiconductor layer (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 10, Sizov teaches the display system defined in claim 1, wherein the respective contact pads are interposed between the driver die and the common contact pad (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 19, Sizov teaches a display system comprising: an array of light-emitting diodes configured to emit illumination light; and a substrate with driver circuitry that controls the array of light-emitting diodes (COMOS driver 400, fig. 3B, paragraph [0088]), wherein the array of light-emitting diodes are mounted on the substrate, wherein each light-emitting diode comprises an n-type semiconductor layer (104, fig. 7, paragraph [0055]) and a p-type semiconductor layer (108), wherein each light-emitting diode comprises an respective p contact pad (180) that electrically connects the p-type semiconductor layer for that light-emitting diode to the driver circuitry, wherein the array of light-emitting diodes share a common n contact pad (190) that electrically connects the n-type semiconductor layer for each light-emitting diode to the driver circuitry, and wherein the p contact pads are interposed between the substrate and the n contact pad.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sizov et al (WO 2019/147589) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Choi (PG Pub 2021/0183301 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Sizov remains as applied in claim 10.
Sizov does not teach a current spreading layer that is electrically connected to the common contact pad.
In the same field of endeavor, Choi teaches a current spreading layer (260, fig. 4) that is electrically connected to the common contact pad (246), wherein the current spreading layer is formed from indium tin oxide (paragraph [0095]), for the benefit of increasing emission efficiency (paragraph [0095]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a current spreading layer that was electrically connected to the common contact pad, for the benefit of increasing emission efficiency.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sizov et al (WO 2019/147589) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Maki (PG Pub 2016/0027973 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Sizov remains as applied in claim 10.
Sizov teaches the common contact pad is formed over the array of light-emitting diodes (fig. 7).
Sizov does not teach the common contact pad is formed as a mesh.
In the same field of endeavor, Maki teaches forming a contact pad as a mesh allows light to transmit through (paragraph [0085]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the common contact pad as a mesh, for the benefit of allowing light to transmit through.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sizov et al (WO 2019/147589) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al (PG Pub 2017/0179192 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Sizov remains as applied in claim 1.
Sizov does not teach the array of light-emitting diodes has at least a first subset of light-emitting diodes that emits light at a first wavelength and a second subset of light-emitting diodes that emits light at a second wavelength that is different than the first wavelength.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the array of light-emitting diodes has at least a first subset of light-emitting diodes that emits light at a first wavelength and a second subset of light-emitting diodes that emits light at a second wavelength that is different than the first wavelength (different color LEDs, paragraph [0045]), for the benefit of providing a color display without phosphor layers (paragraph [0045]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the array of light-emitting diodes to have at least a first subset of light-emitting diodes that emitted light at a first wavelength and a second subset of light-emitting diodes that emitted light at a second wavelength that was different than the first wavelength, for the benefit of providing a color display without phosphor layers.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sizov et al (WO 2019/147589) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Cho et al (PG Pub 2007/0257269 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Sizov remains as applied in claim 19.
Sizov teaches wherein each light-emitting diode additionally includes an active layer (106, fig. 7) that is interposed between the n-type semiconductor layer and the p-type semiconductor layer for that light-emitting diode.
Sizov does not teach the active layer to be a multi-quantum wells layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Cho teaches an active layer to be a multi-quantum wells layer (paragraph [0337]), for the benefit of increasing brightness (paragraph [0337]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the active layer a multi-quantum wells layer for the benefit of increasing brightness.
Conclusion
/FEIFEI YEUNG LOPEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899