DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The response filed 09/22/2023 is accepted, in which, claims 7 and 11 are amended and claims 12-20 are newly added. Claims 1-20 await an action on the merits as follows.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected for indefiniteness.
Regarding claim 6, the claim states, " the side of the second portion … the side away from the horizontal arm." There is insufficient antecedent basis for, "the side off …" and "the side away…" To further prosecution, Examiner will assume the claim should read, "a side of the second portion" and "a side away from the horizontal arm."
Regarding claim 11, the claim states, "the first ion-doped" and " the second ion-doped," there is insufficient antecedent basis for these elements. To further prosecution, Examiner will assume the claim should read ""a first ion-doped" and " a second ion-doped."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan (US 20050023608 A), and further in view of Yoshida (US 20120119267 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Chan teaches a semiconductor device, and a method of fabricating said semiconductor device, (MOSFET device, [Abs.], Fig 3A), comprising: a semiconductor-on-insulator (SOI) substrate (SOI, [0013]) comprising,
stacked from the bottom upward (shown stacked from bottom up, Fig 2B), a lower substrate (1), a buried insulating layer (2) and a semiconductor layer (3);
a gate electrode layer (5) formed on (shown on) the semiconductor layer (3),
the gate electrode layer (5) comprising a main gate (5A: horizontal portion of 5 parallel to line 2B in Fig 2A) and an extended gate (5B: vertical portion of 5 parallel to line 2C in Fig 2A),
a source region (7A: portion of 7 above 5A and to the left of 5B in Fig 4A) and a drain region (7B: portion of 7 below 5A and left of 5B in Fig 4A), which are formed in (shown in) the semiconductor layer (3) respectively on opposing sides (shown on opposing sides) of the main gate (5A),
Chan fails to explicitly teach the extended gate comprising a first portion joined to the main gate and a second portion located on a side of the first portion away from the main gate, the first portion joined to the second portion; the second portion having a length smaller than a length of the first portion on the semiconductor layer.
However, Yoshida teaches the extended gate comprising a first portion (207a, Fig 15P) joined (shown joined) to the main gate and a second portion (218) located on a side (207aT: top of 207a) of the first portion (207a) away (shown away) from the main gate,
the first portion (207a) joined (shown joined; contact plug electrically connected to gate electrode, [0084]) to the second portion (218);
the second portion (218) having a length (218L: length of 218 in horizontal direction in Fig 15P) smaller (shown smaller) than a length (207aL: length of 207a in horizontal direction of Fig 15P) of the first portion (207a) on (shown on) the semiconductor layer;
Chan then goes on to teach a body contact region (6, Fig 3A) formed in (shown in) the semiconductor layer (3) on (shown on) the side of the first portion away (shown away) from the main gate (5A),
the body contact region (6) at least in contact (shown in contact) with the second portion.
Chan and Yoshida are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are from the same field of endeavor of semiconductor SOI devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the device of Chan with the features of Yoshida to create a device wherein the extended gate comprising a first portion joined to the main gate and a second portion located on a side of the first portion away from the main gate, the first portion joined to the second portion; the second portion having a length smaller than a length of the first portion on the semiconductor layer which can operate at a high speed at a low voltage due to a decrease in threshold voltage (Yoshida, [0003]) and reduces the size of the capacitor electrode region which generates a parasitic capacitance which serves to reduce the parasitic capacitance (Yoshida, [0022]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Chan and Yoshida discloses the device of claim 1. Chan goes on to teach wherein a shallow trench isolation structure (4, Fig 3A) is formed on (shown on , Fig 1B) the buried insulating layer (2), the shallow trench isolation structure (4, Fig 3A) surrounding (shown surrounding) the source region (7A), the drain region (7B) and the body contact region (6).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Chan and Yoshida discloses the device of claim 2. Yoshida teaches the first portion (207a, Fig 15P).
Chan goes on to teach wherein the main gate (5A, Fig 3A) extends (shown extending) on a side (5B-B: left side of 5B in Fig 3A, which would be the bottom of first portion 207a in Fig 15P of Yoshida) away (shown away) from the first portion from over (shown over) the semiconductor layer (3) to over (shown over) the shallow trench isolation structure (4).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Chan and Yoshida discloses the device of claim 2. Yoshida teaches the first portion (207a, Fig 15P).
Chan goes on to teach wherein the first portion extends (shown extending) on (shown on) both sides from over (shown over) the semiconductor layer (3) to over (shown over) the shallow trench isolation structure (4).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Chan and Yoshida discloses the device of claim 1. Chan teaches the main gate (5A, Fig 3A).
Yoshida goes on to teach wherein the second portion (218, Fig 15P) is aligned (shown aligned) with the main gate on the side (207aT) of the first portion (207a) away (shown away) from the main gate.
Regarding claims 6 and 10, the combination of Chan and Yoshida discloses the device of claim 1 and the method of claim 9. Yoshida teaches the side (218T: top of 218 in Fig 15P) of the second portion (218, Fig 15P), the first portion (207a), and the side away (207aT).
Chan goes on to teach wherein the body contact region (6, Fig 3A) has a Π-like shape (shown with Π-shape), a horizontal arm (6A: vertical portion of 6 to the right of topographical projection of right edge of 4; please see annotated figure below) of the Π-like shape located in (shown in) the semiconductor layer (3) on (shown on) the side of the second portion away (shown away) from the first portion, and vertical arms (6B; please see annotated figure below) of the Π-like shape coming into contact (shown in contact) with the first portion or not on the side away from the horizontal arm (6A).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Chan and Yoshida discloses the device of claim 1. Chan teaches the main gate (5A, Fig 3A), the source region (7A, Fig 4A), the drain region (7B), and the body contact region (6, Fig 3A).
Yoshida goes on to teach wherein a first ion-doped region (Iwn, Fig 13) is formed in (shown in) the main gate (5A, Fig 3A) and the first portion (207a, Fig 15P) and a second ion-doped region (Iwp) in (shown in) the second portion (218), wherein the source region (7A, Fig 4A), the drain region (7B) and the first ion-doped region (Iwn) are of the same conductivity type (n-type); the body contact region (6, Fig 3A) and the second ion-doped region (Iwp) are of the same conductivity type (p-type).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Chan and Yoshida discloses the device of claim 1. Chan goes on to teach wherein a gate dielectric layer (10, Fig 2B) is formed between (shown between) the gate electrode layer (5) and the semiconductor layer (3).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Chan and Yoshida discloses the method of claim 9. Chan teaches forming the main gate (5A, Fig 3A), the source region (7A, Fig 4A), the drain region (7B), the semiconductor layer (3, Fig 3A), and the body contact region (6).
Yoshida goes on to teach wherein the first ion-doped region (Iwn, Fig 14) is formed in (shown formed in) the main gate and the first portion (207a) at the same time (shown formed at the same time) as the formation of the source region and the drain region in (shown in) the semiconductor layer on opposing sides (shown on opposing sides) of the main gate and the second ion-doped region (Iwp) is formed in (shown formed in) the second portion (218) at the same time (shown formed at the same time) as the formation of the body contact region in (shown in) the semiconductor layer on (shown on) the side (207aT) of the first portion (207a) away (shown away) from the main gate, wherein the source region, the drain region and the first ion- doped region (Iwn) are of the same conductivity type (n-type); the body contact region and the second ion-doped region (Iwp) are of the same conductivity type (p-type).
Regarding claims 13 and 15, the combination of Chan and Yoshida discloses the device of claim 7 and the method of claim 11. Chan teaches the body contact region (6, Fig 3A) and the source region (7A, Fig 4A).
Yoshida goes on to teach wherein the conductivity type (p-type) of the body contact region (6, Fig 3A) is different (different) from that (n-type) of the source region (7A, Fig 4A).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Chan and Yoshida discloses the device of claim 1. Yoshida teaches the first portion (207a, Fig 15P).
Chan goes on to teach wherein the main gate (5A, Fig 3A) and the first portion make up a T-shaped structure (shown making a T-shape), the main gate (5A) forming a vertical arm (shown forming a vertical arm; figures of Chan would be rotated counter clockwise 90 degrees to agree with figures of Yoshida) of the T-shaped structure, and the first portion forming a horizontal arm (shown forming a horizontal arm) of the T-shaped structure.
Regarding claim 16, Chan teaches a semiconductor device (MOSFET device, [Abs.], Fig 3A), comprising: a semiconductor layer (3) of a substrate (SOI, [0013]);
a gate electrode layer (5) formed on (shown on) the semiconductor layer (3), the gate electrode layer (5) comprising a main gate (5A: horizontal portion of 5 parallel to line 2B in Fig 2A) and an extended gate (5B: vertical portion of 5 parallel to line 2C in Fig 2A),
Chan fails to explicitly teach the extended gate comprising a first portion joined to the main gate and a second portion located on a side of the first portion away from the main gate, the first portion joined to the second portion; the second portion has a length smaller than a length of the first portion on the semiconductor layer.
However, Yoshida teaches the extended gate comprising a first portion (207a, Fig 15P) joined (shown joined) to the main gate and a second portion (218) located on a side (207aT: top of 207a) of the first portion (207a) away (shown away) from the main gate,
the first portion (207a) joined (shown joined; contact plug electrically connected to gate electrode, [0084]) to the second portion (218);
the second portion (218) has a length (218L: length of 218 in horizontal direction in Fig 15P) smaller (shown smaller) than a length (207aL: length of 207a in horizontal direction of Fig 15P) of the first portion (207a) on (shown on) the semiconductor layer;
Chan goes on to teach a body contact region (6, Fig 3A) formed in (shown in) the semiconductor layer (3) on (shown on) the side of the first portion away (shown away) from the main gate (5A),
the body contact region (6) at least in contact (shown in contact) with the second portion.
Chan and Yoshida are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are from the same field of endeavor of semiconductor SOI devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the device of Chan with the features of Yoshida to create a device wherein the extended gate comprising a first portion joined to the main gate and a second portion located on a side of the first portion away from the main gate, the first portion joined to the second portion; the second portion has a length smaller than a length of the first portion on the semiconductor layer which can operate at a high speed at a low voltage due to a decrease in threshold voltage (Yoshida, [0003]) and reduces the size of the capacitor electrode region which generates a parasitic capacitance which serves to reduce the parasitic capacitance (Yoshida, [0022]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Chan and Yoshida discloses the device of claim 16. Chan goes on to teach wherein the substrate (SOI, Fig 2B) is a semiconductor- on-insulator (SOI) substrate (SOI, [0013]), the SOI substrate (SOI) comprising, stacked from the bottom upward (shown stacked from bottom up), a lower substrate (1), a buried insulating layer (2) and the semiconductor layer (3).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Chan and Yoshida discloses the device of claim 16. Yoshida teaches the first portion (207a, Fig 15P) and the second portion (218).
Chan goes on to teach wherein the body contact region (6, Fig 3A) contacts (shown contacting) both the first portion and the second portion, the body contact region (6) surrounding (shown surrounding) the second portion together with the first portion.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Chan and Yoshida discloses the device of claim 16. Chan teaches the main gate (5A, Fig 3A).
Yoshida goes on to teach wherein the second portion (218, Fig 15P) is aligned (shown aligned) with the main gate (5A, Fig 3A) on the side (207aT) of the first portion (207a) away (shown away) from the main gate.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Chan and Yoshida discloses the device of claim 16. Yoshida teaches the first portion (207a, Fig 15P).
Chan goes on to teach wherein the main gate (5A, Fig 3A) and the first portion (207a, Fig 15P) make up a T-shaped structure (shown making a T-shape), the main gate (5A) forming a vertical arm (shown forming a vertical arm; figures of Chan would be rotated counter clockwise 90 degrees to agree with figures of Yoshida) of the T-shaped structure, and the first portion forming a horizontal arm (shown forming a horizontal arm) of the T-shaped structure.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan (US 20050023608 A), in view of Yoshida (US 20120119267 A1), and further in view of Athanasiou (US 20170288059 A1).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Chan and Yoshida discloses the device of claim 1. Chan teaches the body contact region (6, Fig 3A). Yoshida teaches the second portion (218, Fig 15P).
The combination fails to explicitly teach the body contact region has a T-like shape with a vertical arm extending toward and coming into contact with the second portion.
However, Athanasiou teaches the body contact region has a T-like shape (body contact 1 shown with T-shape, Fig 1) with a vertical arm (1A: vertical arm under 5; figure 1 of Athanasiou would be rotated counter clockwise 90 degrees to agree with figure of Yoshida and Chan) extending (shown extending) toward and coming into contact (shown in contact) with the second portion.
Chan, Yoshida, and Athanasiou are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are from the same field of endeavor of semiconductor SOI devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the device of Chan and Yoshida with the features of Athanasiou to create a device wherein the body contact region has a T-like shape with a vertical arm extending toward and coming into contact with the second portion so the contact is close to the substrate of the transistor which makes it possible to reduce the spurious capacitive effects and the substrate access resistance (Athanasiou, [0044]), wherein such a device notably makes it possible to obtain a very significant current gain (Athanasiou, [0049]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tseng (US 20220320343 A1) - Body tie example with air gap between body tie and S/D.
/JEREMY DANIEL WATTS/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897