DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-8 and 10-46 are pending:
Claims 1-8 and 10-46 are rejected.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. DE10 2021 107 068 filed on 03/22/2021 and DE20 2021 003 987 filed on 09/01/2021.
Duplicate Claim Warning
Applicant is advised that should claims 7 and 10 be found allowable, claims 22, 24, 39 and 41 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 10-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Dependent claims are hereby rejected due to dependency from rejected claim 1.
Claim 1 recites “its”; the claim is unclear and indefinite because “its” is not clearly defined in the claim.
Claim 1 recites “the sealed connection”; there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites “the wall of the tank base”; there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 1-3, 7, 19, 20, 22-23, 25-26 and 38-40 recite “and/or”; it is unclear what “/” is intended to convey.
Claims 1-8 and 10-46 recite “wherein…” which is used to further narrow the limitations previously recited but appear to be introducing new or additional elements. It is unclear if limitations are requiring additional elements or narrower the scope of a previously recited element? See MPEP 2111.03 regarding transitional phrases. If Applicant intends to amend to either “comprising” or “further comprising”, the scope of the claims will change.
Claims 2, 14-15 and 44 recite “the wall”; it is unclear if this wall is referring to the wall recited in claim 1 or something different?
Claim 2 recites “the lower end”; there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites “the operating position”; there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites “the latter”; there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites “the external surroundings”; there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites “the interior”; there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites “the sealed connection”; there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites “the annular filter sealing surface”; there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites “the operating temperature”; there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites “which is dimensionally stable at the operating temperature and which is in particular stronger than an elastomer”; the term “stronger than” is a relative term and the entire scope of the limitation is unclear because is requiring a specific stability standard with respect to an operating temperature and strength of elastomer and it is unclear how this limitation further limits the structure of the annular filter connection piece. Additionally, the relative term nor is the phrase defined by claim and the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claims 4-5 recite “the annular filter connection piece”; there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 4-8 recite “the filter sealing surface”; there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites “the arrangement”; there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites “the tank”; there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 37 recites “it”; the claim is unclear and indefinite because “it” is not clearly defined in the claim.
Claims 37-38 and 44-45 recite “the centering element”; there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Clams 39-41 recite “the centering mandrel”; there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 43-44 recite “the annular outer surface”; there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 17-21, 23, 25-27, 36-8, 40 and 42-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wawrla (USPN 8,524,078).
Regarding claim 1, Wawrla teaches a water tank (tank 1) for a domestic appliance,
having a connection (surface surrounding tank outlet 3) for a filter cartridge , wherein an annular tank sealing surface (filter cartridge connection apparatus 6) is provided on the tank base for the sealed connection of the filter cartridge (see Fig. 4) and the tank sealing surface encloses a tank passage opening (tank outlet 3) for the water to flow out of the filter cartridge through the wall of the tank base to the domestic appliance (see Fig. 4), wherein the tank sealing surface has a varying radius along its circumference in relation to a central axis (see Fig. 4), such that the tank sealing surface comprises radial indentations (corresponds to radial recesses adjacent to connecting element 5) and and/or radial protuberances (connecting element 5), wherein the radial protuberances and and/or radial indentations of the tank sealing surface have a round profile (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Wawrla teaches the water tank for a domestic appliance as claimed in claim 1, wherein the water tank has a filter cartridge (9) which is provided with a filter housing (see C2/L55-65), the wall of which separates a housing inner side from a housing outer side (see Figs. 2-3) in a water-tight manner, wherein a filter inlet opening , which is arranged at the lower end region of the filter cartridge in the operating position of the latter and is open with respect to the external surroundings of the filter housing (see C2/L55-65), is provided, wherein a device, which has at least one filter chamber comprising at least one filter medium and ends in a filter outlet opening for drawing water out of the filter cartridge by suction, for conducting water in the interior of the filter housing is provided adjoining the filter inlet opening with respect to the flow direction during operation, and wherein a filter connection element with an annular filter connection port is provided which has an annular filter sealing surface (surface surrounding tank outlet 3) for the sealed connection of the filter cartridge to a tank sealing surface in the water tank (tank 1), wherein the profile of the filter sealing surface along the circumference of the annular filter connection piece has a varying radius in relation to a central axis, such that the filter sealing surface comprises radial protuberances (recesses adjacent to connecting elements 5) and/or radial indentations (connecting elements 5), wherein the protuberances and/or indentations of the filter sealing surface have a round profile (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, wherein the annular tank sealing surface is designed in a radially sealing manner over their entire closed circumference (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, wherein the filter sealing surface forms an outer surface of the annular filter connection piece of the filter connection element, said outer surface pointing away from the central axis of the filter outlet opening (the o-ring 8 is a sealing surface that faces outward therefore points away from the central axis).
Regarding claim 6, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, wherein the arrangement of the protuberances and indentations of the filter sealing surface is rotationally symmetrical about the circumference (see Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 8, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, wherein the protuberances and indentations of the filter sealing surface are arranged with the same angles about the circumference (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 17, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, wherein the filter outlet opening of the filter cartridge (9) is designed as an annular screen opening (see Fig. 2) (the limitations “annular screen opening” has been interpret as an opening since there is no screen that has been positively claimed).
Regarding claim 18, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, wherein the annular filter connection piece (filter cartridge connection apparatus 6) of the filter connection element, which has the filter sealing surface (see Fig. 2), has, at least in the region of the filter sealing surface , a wall having a wall outer side running parallel or inclined to a wall inner side and comprising or forming the filter sealing surface (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, wherein the annular filter connection piece (filter cartridge connection apparatus 6) of the filter connection element has an outer wall and/or an inner wall which, in relation to the operating position of the filter cartridge (filter cartridge 9), slants by an angle ol and/or c2 relative to the vertical, such that the outer wall and the inner wall of the filter cartridge converge from the top downward (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, wherein the beveled outer wall has an outer filter sealing surface an outer and/or the beveled inner wall has an inner filter sealing surface (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 21, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, wherein the tank sealing surface forms an inner surface of an annular tank connection element, said inner surface pointing toward the central axis of the tank passage opening (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 23, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, wherein the indentations and/or protuberances of the tank sealing surface have a round profile (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 25, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, wherein the annular tank connection element comprises an annular elastomer seal (o-ring 8), in which the radial protuberances and/or radial indentations of the tank sealing surface are preformed (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 26, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, wherein the tank sealing surface is arranged on the inside of the radial protuberances and/or radial indentations (see Fig. 2) of the elastomer seal (o-ring 8) .
Regarding claim 27, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, wherein the tank sealing surface has an oblique profile leading from the top down toward the central axis (hexagon coding structure shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 36, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, wherein a centering element (body 7) for insertion into the filter cartridge (filter cartridge 9) is provided on the tank base (base 2).
Regarding claim 37, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, wherein the centering element (body 7) has a base plate which lies in a receptacle in the elastomer seal (o-ring 8) and engages behind it at the edge (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 38, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, wherein a centering mandrel protrudes upward from the base plate of the centering element (body 7), which centering mandrel has an annular outer surface having a varying radius with respect to the central axis, such that the outer surface comprises radial indentations (corresponds to radial recesses adjacent to connecting element 5) and/or radial protuberances (connecting elements 5) (see Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 40, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, wherein the indentations (corresponds to radial recesses adjacent to connecting element 5) and/or protuberances (connecting elements 5) of the outer surface of the centering mandrel have a round profile.
Regarding claim 42, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one tooth (connecting element 4) projecting upward is arranged above the annular outer surface (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 43, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one through-opening (tank outlet 3) leading to the tank passage opening is provided in the centering element (body 7) above the annular outer surface (see Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 44, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one guide rib (corresponds to a portion of element 5 and fixing means 10) is provided in the centering element above the wall bearing the annular outer surface (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 45, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, wherein the guide rib or the guide ribs (corresponds to a portion of element 5 and fixing means 10) are beveled at the top toward the central axis (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 46, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, characterized in claims that an insert piece (filter cartridge connection apparatus 6) belonging to the tank base (base 2) is provided on the tank base, which insert piece comprises the parts provided on the tank for connection of the filter cartridge (see Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wawrla (USPN 8,524,078) in view of Osendorf (USPN 8,864,866).
Regarding claim 4, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, wherein the annular filter connection piece of the filter connection element, which has the filter sealing surface (o-ring 8).
Wawrla does not teach wherein the annular filter connection piece consists, at least in the region of the filter sealing surface, of a plastic which is dimensionally stable at the operating temperature and which is in particular stronger than an elastomer.
In a related field of endeavor, Osendorf teaches filter assemblies (see ABS) of a filter consisting of plastic (see C19/L50-55).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the material of Wawrla with the plastic material of Osendorf because plastic can be conveniently molded into a filter component (Osendorf, see C19/L50-55).
Regarding claim 7, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1.
Wawrla does not teach wherein the protuberances and/or indentations of the filter sealing surface are designed oscillating periodically around a circular line.
In a related field of endeavor, Osendorf teaches filter assemblies (see ABS) wherein the protuberances and/or indentations of the filter sealing surface are designed oscillating periodically around a circular line (see wavy pattern which are concave/convex shown in Fig. 34C and see C27/L14-27).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the protuberances and indentations of Wawrla by configuring to be designed oscillating periodically around a circular line as disclosed by Osendorf because it helps to reduce friction and increase structure stability.
Claims 10, 24 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wawrla (USPN 8,524,078).
Regarding claim 10, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1.
Wawrla does not teach wherein six protuberances and six indentations are provided along a circular line that has a diameter of less than 3 cm.
Regarding claim 24, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1.
Wawrla does not teach wherein six indentations and six protuberances are provided along a circular line of the tank sealing surface that has a diameter of less than 3 cm.
Regarding claim 41, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1.
Wawrla does not teach wherein six indentations and six protuberances along a circular line with a diameter of less than 3 cm are provided in the outer surface of the centering mandrel.
Regarding claims 10, 24 and 41, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the protuberance and indentations of Wawrla by providing 6 of each having a diameter of less 3 cm because it is a mere change in shape or form obviously resulting in a suitable design choice. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Claims 22 and 39 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wawrla (USPN 8,524,078) in view of Osendorf (USPN 8,864,866).
Regarding claim 22, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1.
Wawrla does not teach wherein the indentations and/or protuberances of the tank sealing surface are designed oscillating periodically around a circular line.
In a related field of endeavor, Osendorf teaches filter assemblies (see ABS) wherein the protuberances and/or indentations of the filter sealing surface are designed oscillating periodically around a circular line (see wavy pattern which are concave/convex shown in Fig. 34C and see C27/L14-27).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the protuberances and indentations of Wawrla by configuring to be designed oscillating periodically around a circular line as disclosed by Osendorf because it helps to reduce friction and increase structure stability.
Regarding claim 39, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, wherein the indentations (corresponds to radial recesses adjacent to connecting element 5) and/or protuberances (connecting elements 5).
Wawrla does not teach the outer surface of the centering mandrel are designed oscillating periodically around a circular line.
In a related field of endeavor, Osendorf teaches filter assemblies (see ABS) wherein the protuberances and/or indentations of the filter sealing surface are designed oscillating periodically around a circular line (see wavy pattern which are concave/convex shown in Fig. 34C and see C27/L14-27).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the protuberances and indentations of Wawrla by configuring to be designed oscillating periodically around a circular line as disclosed by Osendorf because it helps to reduce friction and increase structure stability.
Claims 11-16 and 28-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wawrla (USPN 8,524,078) in view of Wallerstorfer (USPN 8,202,419).
Regarding claim 11, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1.
Wawrla does not teach wherein a guide structure for guiding and receiving a centering element on the tank is provided within the filter connection piece .
In a related field of endeavor, Wallerstorfer teaches a tank (see ABS) comprising a guide structure (guide webs 15) for guiding and receiving a centering element on the tank is provided within the filter connection piece .
Regarding claim 12, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1.
Wawrla does not teach the guide structure has at least one guide groove for receiving at least one guide rib of the centering element on the tank.
In a related field of endeavor, Wallerstorfer teaches a tank (see ABS) wherein the guide structure (guide webs 15) has at least one guide groove for receiving at least one guide rib (projection 16) of the centering element on the tank.
Regarding claim 13, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1.
Wawrla does not teach wherein the guide structure (guide webs 15) has multiple guide grooves distributed about the circumference.
In a related field of endeavor, Wallerstorfer teaches a tank (see ABS) wherein the guide structure (guide webs 115) has multiple guide grooves distributed about the circumference (implied in Figs 33 and 35).
Regarding claim 14, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1.
Wawrla does not teach wherein the wall of the guide grooves is rounded in such a way that the groove width tapers from the bottom upward in relation to the operating position.
In a related field of endeavor, Wallerstorfer teaches a tank (see ABS) wherein the wall of the guide grooves (guide structures 115) is rounded in such a way that the groove width tapers from the bottom upward in relation to the operating position (tapered at an end shown in Fig. 33).
Regarding claim 15, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1.
Wawrla does not teach wherein the wall of the guide grooves is rounded in such a way that the groove width tapers from the inside to the outside.
In a related field of endeavor, Wallerstorfer teaches a tank (see ABS) wherein the wall of the guide grooves (guide structures 115) is rounded in such a way that the groove width tapers from the inside to the outside (tapered at an end shown in Fig. 33).
Regarding claim 16, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1.
Wawrla does not teach wherein the tapering shape of the guide grooves is formed as an inner curvature in a wall connecting the guide grooves.
In a related field of endeavor, Wallerstorfer teaches a tank (see ABS) wherein the tapering shape of the guide grooves (guide structures 115) is formed as an inner curvature in a wall connecting the guide grooves (tapered at an end shown in Fig. 33).
Regarding claims 11-16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Wawrlaby incorporating the guide structure of Wallerstorfer because it allows for mechanical coding for a correct filter cartridge (Wallerstorfer, see C3/L30-45).
Regarding claim 28, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, wherein the tank base comprises a fastening ring (groove) and an elastomer seal (o-ring) inserted into the fastening ring (i.e. groove).
Wawrla does not teach that the groove is a fastening ring.
In a related field of endeavor, Wallerstorfer teaches a tank (see ABS) comprising a fastening ring (bayonet fitting BJ shown in Fig. 84)
Regarding claim 29, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in wherein the elastomer seal (o-ring 8) has a sealing surface for the sealed closure of the elastomer seal.
Wawrla does not teach the elastomer seal with respect to the fastening ring.
In a related field of endeavor, Wallerstorfer teaches a tank (see ABS) comprising a fastening ring (bayonet fitting BJ shown in Fig. 84).
Regarding claim 30, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, wherein the elastomer seal (o-ring 8) has a sealing surface for the sealed closure of the fastening ring with respect to the tank base.
Wawrla does not teach the fastening ring with respect to the tank base .
In a related field of endeavor, Wallerstorfer teaches a tank (see ABS) comprising a fastening ring (bayonet fitting BJ shown in Fig. 84)
Regarding claims 28-31 and 35, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the seal of Wawrla by incorporating the fastening ring as disclosed by Wallerstorfer said device in conjuction with the seal is advantageous and it offers a corresponding tightening torque in the axial direction for the seal (Wallerstorfer, see C4/L10-20).
Regarding claim 31, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, comprising an elastomer seal (o-ring 8).
Wawrla does not teach wherein a bypass channel for unfiltered water from the water tank is provided in the tank base and runs from the water tank interior through the fastening ring and through the elastomer seal.
In a related field of endeavor, Wallerstorfer teaches a tank (see ABS) comprising a bypass channel (bypass port BY shown in Fig. 53) for unfiltered water from the water tank is provided in the tank base and runs from the water tank interior through the fastening ring (bayonet fastening BJ) and through the seal (the bypass ports are in this case formed preferably in the sealing surface, so that, when the filter cartridge is inserted, all the ports, with the exception of the port provided as a bypass port, are sealed off by means of a correspondingly shaped connecting seal of the filter cartridge, see ¶13).
Regarding claim 32, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1, comprising an elastomer seal (o-ring 8).
Wawrla does not teach wherein the bypass channel comprises an annular gap in the seal (see Fig. 56).
In a related field of endeavor, Wallerstorfer teaches a tank (see ABS) wherein the bypass channel (bypass port BY shown in Fig. 56) comprises an annular gap in the elastomer seal.
Regarding claim 33, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1.
Wawrla does not teach wherein the elastomer seal comprises a closure element, by means of which the bypass channel can be closed.
In a related field of endeavor, Wallerstorfer teaches a tank (see ABS) wherein the elastomer seal comprises a closure element, by means of which the bypass channel can be closed (bypass openings 65 are arranged such that they are closed in a sealed manner by the longer sealing walls 58 when the filter cartridge 53 is plugged on, see C12/L10-20).
Regarding claim 34, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1.
Wawrla does not teach wherein the closure element comprises two opposite annular sealing surfaces in the annular gap , through which the annular gap can be closed by deformation of the elastomer seal .
In a related field of endeavor, Wallerstorfer teaches a tank (see ABS) wherein the closure element (the bypass or short-circuiting openings 165, which are essentially closed by the three housing projections 136.1, can be seen in the lower, bottom area of the tank-side filter connecting element 101, see C16/L1-10) comprises two opposite annular sealing surfaces (axial projections 136.1) in the annular gap (see Fig. 39), through which the annular gap can be closed by deformation of the elastomer seal (axial seal 202.1 is in the form of a circular elastically deformable sealing lip with a certain axial longitudinal extent, in order in particular and advantageously to also make it possible to compensate for certain axial insertion tolerances, securely, reliably and in a sealing manner, see C16/L45-55 and Figs. 40-45).
Regarding claims 31-35, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the seal of Wawrla by incorporating the bypass channel as disclosed by Wallerstorfer because it allows unfiltered water to pass when the seal is ineffective (Wallerstorfer, see C16/L5-15).
Regarding claim 35, Wawrla teaches the water tank as claimed in claim 1.
Wawrla does not teach wherein the fastening ring comprises a latching element for latching the fastening ring onto the tank base .
In a related field of endeavor, Wallerstorfer teaches a tank (see ABS) wherein the fastening ring (bayonet fitting BJ) (see Fig. 84) comprises a latching element for latching the fastening ring onto the tank base (a bayonet fitting is for latching or clipping-in of a filter cartridge, see C6/L50-60).
Conclusion
Wallerstorfer (US 2023/0271116), Wallerstorfer (US 2023/0256366), Wallerstorfer (USPN 12,358,811) and Wallerstorfer (US 2023/0256367) are all related to the instant invention and are all patentably distinct from the instant invention.
/EKANDRA S. MILLER-CRUZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773