DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/22/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a communication unit configured to perform communication” in claims 1 and 5, with the corresponding structure as disclosed in Applicant’s Specification filed 09/22/2023, Paragraph 0038, “a transceiver (or “communication unit”) 22”.
“a switching unit for switching” in claims 1 and 6 with the corresponding structure as disclosed in Applicant’s Specification filed 09/22/2023, Paragraph 0038, “a relay (or “switching unit”) 23”.
“a control unit for controlling the switching” in claim 2 with the corresponding structure as disclosed in Applicant’s Specification filed 09/22/2023, Paragraph 0038, “a microcomputer (or “control unit”) 21” with the corresponding algorithm in Paragraphs 0045-0047.
“a storage unit for storing a setting value” in claim 3 with the corresponding structure as disclosed in Applicant’s Specification filed 09/22/2023, Paragraph 0078, “a storage unit such as ROM or RAM”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sumitomo (Machine Translation of Japanese Patent Application JP 2019-205038 A published 11-28-2019, See Attached NPL, and Figures 1-11 of JP 2019-205038 A) in view of Muth (US 2014/0129748).
Regarding claim 1, Sumitomo teaches a vehicle-mounted communication apparatus (Figs. 1-2, Vehicle apparatus 100; Paragraph 0039, The communication system 100 according to the first embodiment has a configuration in which seven ECUs 2a to 2g mounted on a vehicle 1) comprising: a first connection unit (Fig. 3, Second connector 44), a second connection unit (Fig. 3, Left side connector 43), and a third connection unit (Fig. 3, Right side connector 43) to which communication lines provided in a vehicle are respectively connected (Fig. 3, Communication lines 43a and 44a are coupled to the vehicle ECUs); an electronic control unit (ECU) configured to perform communication via the communication lines (Fig. 3, First connector 44 is coupled to ECU 2c shown in Fig. 2 which performs communication via lines 43a and 44a; Paragraph 0040, The ECUs 2 a to 2 g can communicate with each other via the communication lines); a first communication path disposed between the first connection unit and the ECU (Fig. 3, Communication path 44a connects first connector 44 with ECU 2c to second connector 44 with ECU 2d in Figure 2); a second communication path (Fig. 3, Communication path 43a) that directly connects the second connection unit and the third connection unit (Fig. 3, Left side connector 43 is directly coupled to right side connector 43); and a switching unit (Fig. 3, Switch SW; Paragraph 0047, a switch and a current detection unit 45 are provided on each line of the internal wiring 44a) for switching between a connected state where the first communication path and the second communication path are connected (Fig. 3, Switch SW connects first communication path 44a to second communication path 43a) and a cut-off state where the first communication path and the second communication path are cut off (Fig. 3, Switch SW can disconnect 44a from 43a; Paragraph 0047, The switch SW switches between energizing and cutting off the internal wiring 44a).
Sumitomo does not teach the vehicle-mounted communication apparatus comprising: a communication unit; the first communication path disposed between the first connection unit and the communication unit.
Muth teaches the vehicle-mounted communication apparatus comprising: a communication unit (Fig. 1, CAN transceiver 120 of ECU #1 102); the first communication path disposed between the first connection unit and the communication unit (Fig. 1, CAN bus between CAN transceiver 120 of ECU #1 102 (i.e. the communication unit) to ECU #2 102 which has connector in Figure 5A, 244 (i.e. the first connection unit)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sumitomo’s vehicle-mounted communication apparatus to incorporate the teachings of Muth and include a communication transceiver using the CAN protocol into the ECU of Sumitomo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the modifications in order to provide the high data rate CAN communication protocol that is commonly known and widely used in the automotive industry, thus providing compatibility with heterogeneous vehicle systems (See Muth: Paragraphs 0002 and 0034).
Regarding claim 2, Sumitomo in view of Muth teaches the vehicle-mounted communication apparatus of claim 1. Sumitomo teaches the vehicle-mounted communication apparatus further comprising a control unit for controlling the switching by the switching unit (Fig. 3, Control unit 41 controls switch SW), wherein the control unit controls the switching unit to switch to a connected state where the first communication path and the second communication path are connected (Fig. 3, Control unit 41 closes switch SW to enable connection; Paragraph 0048, The control unit 41 also outputs a control signal to each switch SW to switch between energization and cutoff), and controls, when an abnormality has been detected for communication performed by the ECU, the switching unit to place the first communication path and the second communication path in the cut-off state (Fig. 3, Control unit 41 opens the switch SW in cut-off when abnormality is detected at the ECU 2c in Figure 2; Paragraph 0048, control unit 41 detects abnormalities in each communication branch line 6 based on the detection results of the current detection unit 45, and controls the communication branch line 6 in which an abnormality is detected to be isolated from the communication system 100 by turning off the switch SW of the communication branch line 6).
Muth teaches the vehicle-mounted communication apparatus comprising: the communication unit (Fig. 1, CAN transceiver 120 of ECU #1 102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sumitomo’s vehicle-mounted communication apparatus to incorporate the teachings of Muth and include a communication transceiver using the CAN protocol into the ECU of Sumitomo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the modifications in order to provide the high data rate CAN communication protocol that is commonly known and widely used in the automotive industry, thus providing compatibility with heterogeneous vehicle systems (See Muth: Paragraphs 0002 and 0034).
Regarding claim 3, Sumitomo in view of Muth teaches the vehicle-mounted communication apparatus of claim 1. Sumitomo teaches the vehicle-mounted communication apparatus further comprising a storage unit for storing a setting value relating to the switching by the switching unit (Fig. 3, Storage unit 42 stores abnormality setting data; Paragraph 0049, storage unit 42 is configured using a data-rewritable nonvolatile memory element such as an EEPROM (Electrically Erasable Programmable Read Only Memory) or a flash memory… log information stored in the memory unit 42 may include, for example, information indicating which communication branch line 6 the abnormality was detected in); and a control unit for controlling the switching by the switching unit in keeping with the setting value stored in the storage unit (Fig. 3, Control unit 41 uses abnormality setting data in storage unit 42; Paragraph 0049, control unit 41 can read and write data from and to the storage unit 42 . When the control unit 41 detects an abnormality in the communication branch line 6, it writes log information relating to the abnormality into the storage unit 42).
Regarding claim 5, Sumitomo teaches a vehicle-mounted communication system (Figs. 1-2, Vehicle system 1 with vehicle apparatus 100; Paragraph 0039, The communication system 100 according to the first embodiment has a configuration in which seven ECUs 2a to 2g mounted on a vehicle 1) comprising: a vehicle-mounted communication apparatus (Figs. 1-2, 100) including a first connection unit (Fig. 3, Second connector 44), a second connection unit (Fig. 3, Left side connector 43), and a third connection unit (Fig. 3, Right side connector 43) to which communication lines provided in a vehicle are respectively connected (Fig. 3, Communication lines 43a and 44a are coupled to the vehicle ECUs); an electronic control unit (ECU) configured to perform communication via the communication lines (Fig. 3, First connector 44 is coupled to ECU 2c shown in Fig. 2 which performs communication via lines 43a and 44a; Paragraph 0040, The ECUs 2 a to 2 g can communicate with each other via the communication lines), a first communication path disposed between the first connection unit and the ECU (Fig. 3, Communication path 44a connects first connector 44 with ECU 2c to second connector 44 with ECU 2d in Figure 2), a second communication path (Fig. 3, Communication path 43a) that directly connects the second connection unit and the third connection unit (Fig. 3, Left side connector 43 is directly coupled to right side connector 43), and a switching unit (Fig. 3, Switch SW; Paragraph 0047, a switch and a current detection unit 45 are provided on each line of the internal wiring 44a) for switching between a connected state where the first communication path and the second communication path are connected (Fig. 3, Switch SW connects first communication path 44a to second communication path 43a) and a cut-off state where the first communication path and the second communication path are cut off (Fig. 3, Switch SW can disconnect 44a from 43a; Paragraph 0047, The switch SW switches between energizing and cutting off the internal wiring 44a), wherein a vehicle-mounted device installed at a front of the vehicle is connected via the communication lines to the first connection unit or the second connection unit (Fig. 1, ECUs 2c-e are mounted in the front of the vehicle 1; Paragraph 0041, ECU 2c is disposed on the front left side of vehicle 1, ECU 2d is disposed on the front center of vehicle 1, and ECU 2e is disposed on the front right side of vehicle 1), and a vehicle-mounted device installed at a rear of the vehicle is connected via communication lines to the third connection unit (Fig. 1, ECUs 2f and 2g are mounted in the back of vehicle 1; Paragraph 0041, ECU 2f is disposed on the rear left side of the vehicle 1, and the ECU 2g is disposed on the rear right side of the vehicle 1).
Sumitomo does not teach the vehicle-mounted communication system comprising: a communication unit; the first communication path disposed between the first connection unit and the communication unit.
Muth teaches the vehicle-mounted communication system comprising: a communication unit (Fig. 1, CAN transceiver 120 of ECU #1 102); the first communication path disposed between the first connection unit and the communication unit (Fig. 1, CAN bus between CAN transceiver 120 of ECU #1 102 (i.e. the communication unit) to ECU #2 102 which has connector in Figure 5A, 244 (i.e. the first connection unit)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sumitomo’s vehicle-mounted communication system to incorporate the teachings of Muth and include a communication transceiver using the CAN protocol into the ECU of Sumitomo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the modifications in order to provide the high data rate CAN communication protocol that is commonly known and widely used in the automotive industry, thus providing compatibility with heterogeneous vehicle systems (See Muth: Paragraphs 0002 and 0034).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sumitomo (Machine Translation of Japanese Patent Application JP 2019-205038 A published 11-28-2019 and Figures 1-11 of JP 2019-205038 A) in view of Muth (US 2014/0129748) and further in view of Stern (US 2015/0009640).
Regarding claim 4, Sumitomo in view of Muth teaches the vehicle-mounted communication apparatus of claim 1. Sumitomo teaches the vehicle-mounted communication apparatus comprising wherein the first communication path and the second communication path are wiring patterns provided on a circuit board (Fig. 2, CAN bus uses wires on a vehicle-mounted circuit board; Paragraph 0043, a bus-type network is configured using two-wire communication lines, so-called twisted pair cables… Paragraph 0048, control unit 41 can be configured using, for example, a CPU (Central Processing Unit) or an IC (Integrated Circuit) such as a microcomputer).
Neither Sumitomo nor Muth teaches the vehicle-mounted communication apparatus comprising wherein the switching unit is a circuit element that is detachably attached to the circuit board, and the first communication path and the second communication path are placed in the connected state by attaching the circuit element.
Stern teaches the vehicle-mounted communication apparatus (Fig. 1, Vehicle apparatus 10; Paragraph 0019, Automotive grade relays) comprising wherein the switching unit is a circuit element that is detachably attached to the circuit board (Fig. 1, Switching relay 14 is detachably mounted; Paragraph 0019, Automotive grade relays suitable for mounting to printed circuit boards are available from a variety of suppliers), and the first communication path and the second communication path are placed in the connected state by attaching the circuit element (Fig. 6, Switching relay 14 provides a path from bottom 16 to top 16 and to left and right).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sumitomo/Muth’s vehicle-mounted communication apparatus to incorporate the teachings of Stern and enable the switch of Sumitomo to be attached and detached.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the modifications in order to conveniently add or subtract electrical components and loads to a vehicle system based on required functionality, power, and load requirements (See Stern: Paragraphs 0002 and 0003).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sumitomo (Machine Translation of Japanese Patent Application JP 2019-205038 A published 11-28-2019 and Figures 1-11 of JP 2019-205038 A) in view of Muth (US 2014/0129748) and further in view Kotera (US 2017/0240148).
Regarding claim 6, Sumitomo in view of Muth teaches the vehicle-mounted communication system of claim 5. Sumitomo teaches the vehicle-mounted communication system further comprising wherein a vehicle-mounted device for braking on front of the vehicle is connected via a communication line to the first connection unit (Fig. 1, ECUs 2c-e on the front are used for braking and coupled to the connector in Figure 3, 44 (i.e. the first connection unit); Paragraph 0039, ECUs 2a to 2g may include various ECUs, such as… an ECU that controls the operation of the ABS (Antilock Brake System)); and a vehicle-mounted device for braking on rear of the vehicle is connected via a communication line to the second connection unit or the third connection unit (Fig. 1, ECUs 2f-g on the rear are used for braking and coupled to the connectors in Figure 3, 43 and 44 (i.e. the second or third connection units); Paragraph 0039, ECUs 2a to 2g may include various ECUs, such as… an ECU that controls the operation of the ABS (Antilock Brake System)).
Neither Sumitomo nor Muth teaches the vehicle-mounted communication system further comprising wherein a vehicle-mounted device for controlling brakes on front wheels of the vehicle is connected via a communication line to the first connection unit; and a vehicle-mounted device for controlling brakes on rear wheels of the vehicle is connected via a communication line to the second connection unit or the third connection unit.
Kotera teaches the vehicle-mounted communication system further comprising wherein a vehicle-mounted device for controlling brakes on front wheels of the vehicle is connected via a communication line to the first connection unit (Fig. 1, Front-left wheel brake mechanism is an ECU coupled to first connection unit 28); and a vehicle-mounted device for controlling brakes on rear wheels of the vehicle is connected via a communication line to the second connection unit or the third connection unit (Fig. 1, Rear-left brake mechanism 24 is an ECU coupled to second connection unit 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sumitomo/Muth’s vehicle-mounted communication system to incorporate the teachings of Kotera and include the braking ECU mechanism on the front and rear wheels of the vehicle of Sumitomo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the modifications in order to implement critical safety functions in vehicles that prevent crashes (See Kotera: Paragraphs 0003-0005).
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sumitomo (Machine Translation of Japanese Patent Application JP 2019-205038 A published 11-28-2019 and Figures 1-11 of JP 2019-205038 A) in view of Muth (US 2014/0129748) and further in view Ochida (US 2021/0163026).
Regarding claim 7, Sumitomo in view of Muth teaches the vehicle-mounted communication system of claim 5. Sumitomo teaches the vehicle-mounted communication system further comprising wherein a vehicle-mounted device is connected via a communication line to the first connection unit (Fig. 1, ECUs 2c-e on the front coupled to the connector in Figure 3, 44 (i.e. the first connection unit); Paragraph 0039, ECUs 2a to 2g may include various ECUs, such as… an ECU that controls the operation of the ABS (Antilock Brake System)); and a vehicle-mounted device of the vehicle is connected via a communication line to the second connection unit or the third connection unit (Fig. 1, ECUs 2f-g on the rear are used for braking and coupled to the connectors in Figure 3, 43 and 44 (i.e. the second or third connection units); Paragraph 0039, ECUs 2a to 2g may include various ECUs, such as… an ECU that controls the operation of the ABS (Antilock Brake System)).
Neither Sumitomo nor Muth teaches the vehicle-mounted communication system comprising wherein a vehicle-mounted device for controlling a transmission of the vehicle is connected via a communication line; and a vehicle-mounted device for controlling a parking brake of the vehicle is connected via a communication line.
Ochida teaches the vehicle-mounted communication system comprising wherein a vehicle-mounted device for controlling a transmission of the vehicle is connected via a communication line to the first connection unit (Fig. 1, Transmission control device 132 coupled to communication line BS1); and a vehicle-mounted device for controlling a parking brake of the vehicle is connected via a communication line (Fig. 1, Electric parking brake device 211 coupled to communication line BS2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sumitomo/Muth’s vehicle-mounted communication system to incorporate the teachings of Ochida and include transmission controls on the front and parking brakes on the back of the vehicle of Sumitomo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the modifications in order to perform vehicle functionalities such as steering, driving, braking, autonomous driving, etc. efficiently and enable stable traveling (See Ochida: Paragraphs 0002, 0007, and 0016).
Regarding claim 8, Sumitomo in view of Muth teaches the vehicle-mounted communication system of claim 5. Sumitomo teaches the vehicle-mounted communication system further comprising wherein a first vehicle-mounted device is connected via a communication line to the first connection unit (Fig. 1, ECUs 2c-e on the front coupled to the connector in Figure 3, 44 (i.e. the first connection unit); Paragraph 0039, ECUs 2a to 2g may include various ECUs, such as… an ECU that controls the operation of the ABS (Antilock Brake System)); and a second vehicle-mounted device of the vehicle is connected via a communication line to the second connection unit or the third connection unit (Fig. 1, ECUs 2f-g on the rear are used for braking and coupled to the connectors in Figure 3, 43 and 44 (i.e. the second or third connection units); Paragraph 0039, ECUs 2a to 2g may include various ECUs, such as… an ECU that controls the operation of the ABS (Antilock Brake System)).
Neither Sumitomo nor Muth teaches the vehicle-mounted communication system comprising wherein a first vehicle-mounted device for controlling a steering mechanism of the vehicle is connected via a communication line; and a second vehicle-mounted device of the vehicle for controlling the steering mechanism is connected via a communication line.
Ochida teaches the vehicle-mounted communication system comprising wherein a first vehicle-mounted device for controlling a transmission of the vehicle is connected via a communication line (Fig. 1, First steering ECU 300a coupled to BS1; Paragraph 0034, a first steering ECU 300a for driving an electric motor of an electromotive power steering device 300); and a second vehicle-mounted device of the vehicle for controlling a parking brake is connected via a communication line (Fig. 1, Second steering ECU 300b coupled to BS2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sumitomo/Muth’s vehicle-mounted communication system to incorporate the teachings of Ochida and include transmission controls on the front and parking brakes on the back of the vehicle of Sumitomo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the modifications in order to perform vehicle functionalities such as steering, driving, braking, autonomous driving, etc. efficiently and enable stable traveling (See Ochida: Paragraphs 0002, 0007, and 0016).
Regarding claim 9, Sumitomo in view of Muth teaches the vehicle-mounted communication system of claim 5. Sumitomo teaches the vehicle-mounted communication system further comprising wherein a first vehicle-mounted device is connected via a communication line to the first connection unit (Fig. 1, ECUs 2c-e on the front coupled to the connector in Figure 3, 44 (i.e. the first connection unit); Paragraph 0039, ECUs 2a to 2g may include various ECUs, such as… an ECU that controls the operation of the ABS (Antilock Brake System)); and a second vehicle-mounted device of the vehicle is connected via a communication line to the second connection unit or the third connection unit (Fig. 1, ECUs 2f-g on the rear are used for braking and coupled to the connectors in Figure 3, 43 and 44 (i.e. the second or third connection units); Paragraph 0039, ECUs 2a to 2g may include various ECUs, such as… an ECU that controls the operation of the ABS (Antilock Brake System)).
Neither Sumitomo nor Muth teaches the vehicle-mounted communication system comprising wherein a first vehicle-mounted device that performs control relating to autonomous driving of the vehicle is connected via a communication line; and a second vehicle-mounted device that performs control relating to autonomous driving of the vehicle is connected via a communication line.
Ochida teaches the vehicle-mounted communication system comprising wherein a first vehicle-mounted device that performs control relating to autonomous driving of the vehicle is connected via a communication line (Fig. 1, First control device 140 coupled to BS1 is used for autonomous driving; Paragraph 0076, autonomous driving mode is, for example, a driving mode… are controlled by the traveling controller 148 of the first control device 140); and a second vehicle-mounted device that performs control relating to autonomous driving of the vehicle is connected via a communication line (Fig. 1, Second control device 240 coupled to BS2 has redundant capabilities to autonomous driving such as vehicle stabilization in device 210; Paragraph 0032, autonomous driving control system 100 and the driving assistance control system 200 have a redundant configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sumitomo/Muth’s vehicle-mounted communication system to incorporate the teachings of Ochida and include transmission controls on the front and parking brakes on the back of the vehicle of Sumitomo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the modifications in order to perform vehicle functionalities such as steering, driving, braking, autonomous driving, etc. efficiently and enable stable traveling (See Ochida: Paragraphs 0002, 0007, and 0016).
Regarding claim 10, Sumitomo in view of Muth teaches the vehicle-mounted communication system of claim 5. Sumitomo teaches the vehicle-mounted communication system further comprising wherein a vehicle-mounted device is connected via a communication line to the first connection unit (Fig. 1, ECUs 2c-e on the front coupled to the connector in Figure 3, 44 (i.e. the first connection unit); Paragraph 0039, ECUs 2a to 2g may include various ECUs, such as… an ECU that controls the operation of the ABS (Antilock Brake System)); and a vehicle-mounted device of the vehicle is connected via a communication line to the second connection unit or the third connection unit (Fig. 1, ECUs 2f-g on the rear are used for braking and coupled to the connectors in Figure 3, 43 and 44 (i.e. the second or third connection units); Paragraph 0039, ECUs 2a to 2g may include various ECUs, such as… an ECU that controls the operation of the ABS (Antilock Brake System)).
Neither Sumitomo nor Muth teaches the vehicle-mounted communication system comprising wherein a vehicle-mounted device for controlling a sensor for detecting objects present in a surrounding area of the vehicle is connected via a communication line; and a vehicle-mounted device for controlling a camera that captures images of the surrounding area of the vehicle is connected via a communication line.
Ochida teaches the vehicle-mounted communication system comprising wherein a vehicle-mounted device for controlling a sensor for detecting objects present in a surrounding area of the vehicle is connected via a communication line (Fig. 1, Camera sensor 102 and object recognition ECU 106; Paragraph 0039, object recognition device 106 recognizes, for example, the position, type, speed, movement direction, or the like of a nearby vehicle by performing a sensor fusion process on each detection result of the first camera 102 and the viewfinder 104); and a vehicle-mounted device for controlling a camera that captures images of the surrounding area of the vehicle is connected via a communication line (Fig. 1, Second camera sensor 202; Paragraph 0097, second camera 202, for example, repeatedly captures an image of the vicinity of the host vehicle M periodically).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sumitomo/Muth’s vehicle-mounted communication system to incorporate the teachings of Ochida and include transmission controls on the front and parking brakes on the back of the vehicle of Sumitomo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the modifications in order to perform vehicle functionalities such as steering, driving, braking, autonomous driving, etc. efficiently and enable stable traveling (See Ochida: Paragraphs 0002, 0007, and 0016).
Regarding claim 11, Sumitomo in view of Muth teaches the vehicle-mounted communication system of claim 5. Sumitomo teaches the vehicle-mounted communication system further comprising wherein a vehicle-mounted device is connected via a communication line to the first connection unit (Fig. 1, ECUs 2c-e on the front coupled to the connector in Figure 3, 44 (i.e. the first connection unit); Paragraph 0039, ECUs 2a to 2g may include various ECUs, such as… an ECU that controls the operation of the ABS (Antilock Brake System)); and a vehicle-mounted device of the vehicle is connected via a communication line to the second connection unit or the third connection unit (Fig. 1, ECUs 2f-g on the rear are used for braking and coupled to the connectors in Figure 3, 43 and 44 (i.e. the second or third connection units); Paragraph 0039, ECUs 2a to 2g may include various ECUs, such as… an ECU that controls the operation of the ABS (Antilock Brake System)).
Neither Sumitomo nor Muth teaches the vehicle-mounted communication system comprising wherein a vehicle-mounted device for performing display control of a meter provided in an interior of the vehicle is connected via a communication line; and a car navigation apparatus is connected via a communication line.
Ochida teaches the vehicle-mounted communication system comprising wherein a vehicle-mounted device for performing display control of a meter provided in an interior of the vehicle is connected via a communication line (Fig. 1, Second display device 212 coupled to BS2; Paragraph 0107, second display device 212 is installed at, for example, a dashboard on the front of a driver's seat, and functions as a meter panel for displaying a speedometer, an odometer, a tachometer); and a car navigation apparatus is connected via a communication line (Fig. 1, Navigation device 110 coupled to ECU 140 via a line).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sumitomo/Muth’s vehicle-mounted communication system to incorporate the teachings of Ochida and include transmission controls on the front and parking brakes on the back of the vehicle of Sumitomo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the modifications in order to perform vehicle functionalities such as steering, driving, braking, autonomous driving, etc. efficiently and enable stable traveling (See Ochida: Paragraphs 0002, 0007, and 0016).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PGPUB 2014/0207994 to Cherkaoui discloses a switching unit that switches a first communication line on the top and a second communication line on the bottom.
US PGPUB 2011/0208884 to Horihata discloses a relay apparatus between multiple ECUs that performs signal routing based on abnormalities.
/H.Z.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2184
/HENRY TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2184