DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Remboski et al. (US 20190148952).
Re claim 1, Remboski et al. teaches:
A method of battery management (abstract), said method comprising providing a number of cells (22) interconnectable to form a battery pack (20), said number of cells comprising at least one set of cells that are interconnectable in series to form a battery (FIG. 1) in which each cell has a state of health and a state of charge,
said method comprising measuring parameters relating to the state of health (SoH) of each cell of said number of cells (paragraph [0086]+ “… determine the condition or healthy of the battery cells 22” and paragraph [0043]+ which teaches providing parameter threshold values including heat, current, stage of charge, voltage, etc. of the cells within the module),
comparing the state of health of each cell in said set of cells (FIG. 3A+ parameters being measured and comparing vs a threshold and paragraph [0086]+ teaching the health of the battery cells being determined, such as per the state of charge values), and
identifying in said set of cells at least one cell having a poorer state of health than the remainder of the cells and at least one cell having a better state of health than the remainder of the cells (see step 120 in FIG. 3B and paragraph [0086]+),
selectively disconnecting (bypass circuit 30) said at least one cell having a better state of health during a charging cycle if a maximum state of charge (SoCmax) threshold has been reached for that cell and/or selectively disconnecting said at least one cell having a poorer state of health during discharging cycle if a minimum state of charge SoCmin threshold has been reached for that cell (pee paragraphs [0039]+, [0047]+, and [0088]+).
Re claim 2, Remboski et al. teaches a method according to claim 1, further comprising the measurement of parameters indicative of the state of charge (SoC) of each of said cells so as to determine whether said maximum state of charge (SoCmax) threshold and/or said a minimum state of charge (SoCmin) threshold has been reached (see paragraph [0043]+).
Re claim 5, the limitations have been discussed above, also noting paragraph [0058]+ and
FIG. 1+, wherein a computer control and topology are implicit in the teachings.
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by McLean et al. (US 20220029431).
Mclean et al. teaches the limitations of a series of batteries (abstract) with a battery management system. Based on the health of the batteries, they are selectively disconnected (claim 1, paragraph [0120]+), which reads on the claimed limitations. Specifically, re claim 1,
McLean et al. teaches method of battery management (abstract+), said method comprising providing a number of cells (such as module 206) interconnectable to form a battery pack (such as 204/202), said number of cells comprising at least one set of cells that are interconnectable in series to form a battery (FIG. 2A+) in which each cell has a state of health and a state of charge (the state of charge can determine the state of health),
said method comprising measuring parameters relating to the state of health (SoH) of each cell of said number of cells (paragraph [0094]+ which teaches sensors in the battery system obtained information to determine the state of charge, state of health, etc.),
comparing the state of health of each cell in said set of cells (FIG. 3A+ parameters being measured and comparing vs a threshold and paragraph [0086]+ teaching the health of the battery cells being determined, such as per the state of charge values), and
identifying in said set of cells at least one cell having a poorer state of health than the remainder of the cells and at least one cell having a better state of health than the remainder of the cells (paragraph [0104]+ teaches switching in our out a battery module to remove a defective module)
selectively disconnecting (switches 238) said at least one cell having a better state of health during a charging cycle if a maximum state of charge (SoCmax) threshold has been reached for that cell and/or selectively disconnecting said at least one cell having a poorer state of health during discharging cycle if a minimum state of charge SoCmin threshold has been reached for that cell (battery switches 238 such as per FIG. 2e+ which are able to disconnect modules, paragraph [0006]+ which teaches disconnecting as a function for state of health, state of charge, power demands, etc. , paragraph [0089]+ which teaches the sensors monitor the health and operating parameters of each module 206, and paragraph [0094]+ which teaches that state of health and state of charge are monitored, and the Examiner notes that based on those sensor measurements , the state of health can be measured such as by looking at the state of charge and/ or other measurements for example, and cells are disconnected or connected in series accordingly).
Re claim 5, a computer and topology are implicit in the teachings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Remboski et al., as discussed above.
The teachings of Remboski et al. have been discussed above but is silent to wherein according to a predetermined scheme each cell is furthermore disconnected for performance of measurements of said parameters relating to the state of health during one of a charging cycle and a discharging cycle (re claim 3) and wherein the measured parameters relating to the state of health comprise one or more of cell voltage, current, or temperature (re claim 4). Rembowski et al. teaches cell parameters can include heat flux, current, state of charge, temperature, and a voltage. Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that voltages and current and temperatures are taught above as parameters, using such measured parameters to disconnect based on the sensors values a part of a scheme, would have been an obvious expedient in order to perform disconnecting on specified measurements in order to control the health of the battery such that performance is ideal for the applications.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Remboski et al., as discussed above, in view of Katsuya (WO 2012/157747).
The teachings of Remboski et al. have been discussed above but is silent to wherein according to a predetermined scheme each cell is furthermore disconnected for performance of measurements of said parameters relating to the state of health during one of a charging cycle and a discharging cycle (re claim 3) and wherein the measured parameters relating to the state of health comprise one or more of cell voltage, current, or temperature (re claim 4). Rembowski et al. teaches cell parameters can include heat flux, current, state of charge, temperature, and a voltage but is silent to specifically reciting a scheme for disconnecting.
Katsuya teaches such limitations (FIG. 1-3 and paragraph [0035]+).
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings in order to effectively measure the necessary parameters related to health of the battery to allow a determination.
Measuring these parameters at and during disconnection of cells allows a determination of the state of health of the individual cells.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Re the Applicants argument that McLean et al. does not teach cells, the Examiner has interpreted the modules 206 as cells, absent a more explicit definition recited in the claims.
Re the Applicants argument that Rembowski does not teach individual cells, the abstract+ teaches switching and sensing of each cell.
The Examiner notes that the state of the health can be intpereted as based on the state of charge or any of a plurality of parameters that are sensed by the prior art to disconnect cells as taught above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL I WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876