DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 410 & 411 & 412.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 2: “hybrid motor, configured” should be changed to --hybrid motor
In claim 1, line 3: “there through and comprising” should be changed to --there through and comprising: --; (for clarity).
In claim 1, lines 3-4: “a housing configured to receive a tangential-flow turbomachine itself configured to generate the airflow” should be changed to -- a housing configured to receive a tangential-flow turbomachine that is configured to generate the airflow --; (for clarity).
In claim 8, lines 2-4: “the turbine has a second end located opposite the first end, and in that this second end has a component configured to form a direct pivot connection to the collector housing” should be changed to -- the turbine has a second end located opposite a first end, and wherein the second end has a component configured to form a direct pivot connection to the
In claim 8, line 4: “the collector housing” should be changed to -- the housing--; (for consistency).
In claim 9, lines 2-3: “wherein the component configured to form a direct pivot connection to the collector housing is a bearing or a rolling bearing located inside the collector housing” should be changed to -- wherein the component configured to formthe direct pivot connection to the
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the transmission" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, this limitation will be interpreted as “a transmission of rotary motion”.
Claim 6 is vague and indefinite because it sets forth that “the motor is located at a first end”. In particular, with respect to the recitation of the “first end”, it is unclear whether the claim is attempting to require the first end of the housing or first end of the turbine or first end of the rotor or something else. For examination purposes, this limitation will be interpreted as “the motor is located at a first end of the turbine”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the value" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, this limitation will be interpreted as “a value of a diameter of the motor”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the first end" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, this limitation will be interpreted as “a first end”.
Claim 8 is vague and indefinite because it sets forth that “a component configured to form a direct pivot connection to the collector housing”. As presently worded, it is unclear whether the claim is attempting to require a separate, distinct “collector housing” or further defines the “housing”, as recited in line 3 of claim 1, or something else. For examination purposes, this limitation will be interpreted as “the housing”.
Claim 9 is rejected for its dependency from claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AZZOUZ et al. (hereinafter “AZZOUZ”) (Pub. No.: WO 2020/188191 A1, cited in IDS filed 09/22/2023, English translation appended) in view of WATANABE (Patent No.: JP H0865983 A, cited in IDS filed 09/22/2023, English translation appended).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, AZZOUZ discloses a cooling module (cooling nodule 22, as discussed in Paragraphs [0039]-[0041]&[0044]) for a motor vehicle (motor vehicle 10, as stated in Abstract) with an electric or hybrid motor (with electric motor 12, as stated in Paragraph [0039]), configured to have an airflow passing there through and comprising
a housing (housing 24, as stated in Paragraphs [0041]-[0044]) configured to receive a tangential-flow turbomachine (to receive at least one tangential-flow turbomachine 28, as stated in Abstract) itself configured to generate the airflow (generating an air flow F to be as “fresh” as possible in air-conditioning mode and/or to generate the air flow F intended for the set of heat exchangers),
the tangential-flow turbomachine (the tangential turbomachine 28 comprises a turbine 32 (or tangential propeller), as detailed in Paragraph [0051]) including a turbine (a rotor or turbine 32 (or tangential propeller), as presented in Paragraphs [0051]-[0052]) mounted so as to rotate about an axis of rotation (as s stated in Paragraph [0056], the turbine 32 is mounted so as to be able to rotate about an axis of rotation A32, which is for example parallel to the lateral direction Y), the turbine (turbine 32) including at least one blade stage (as noted in Paragraphs [0051]-[0052], the turbine 32 having several stages of blades 34 (or vanes)), the turbomachine (turbine 32) also including a motor (motor 36, as shown in annotated Figure 2, configured to drive the turbine 32 in rotation, see Paragraphs [0056]-[0057]) configured to drive the turbine in rotation about the axis of rotation (motor 36 (visible in FIG. 2) is undoubtedly configured to set the turbine 32 in rotation, as discussed in Paragraph [0056]).
Particularly, AZZOUZ demonstrates the cooling module 22, wherein, as stated in Paragraph [0051], “the turbine 32 has a substantially cylindrical shape. The turbine 32 advantageously has several stages of blades 34 (or vanes), in this case sixteen stages of blades 34. Of course, this number of blade stages 34 is not limiting and the turbine 32 may comprise, more generally, at least one blade stage 34.”
Similarly, in Paragraph [0052], AZZOUZ also teaches that: Each stage of blades 34 comprises the same number of blades 34, equally distributed angularly around the axis of rotation A32 of the turbine 32. Advantageously, the blade stages 34 are angularly offset so that the blades 34 are not aligned, preferably so that no blade 34 is aligned with another blade 34 of another blade stage 34, in the lateral direction Y of the cooling module 22. This prevents the blades 34 of the turbine 32 from generating significant noise, in particular because all the blades 32 would work in synchronization. By offsetting the blades 34, on the contrary, we ensure that the blades 34 work in separate groups, which reduces the noise generated. This gives a tangential turbomachine 28 whose noise pollution can be limited. This is particularly important in the case of a cooling module 22 for a motor vehicle with an electric motor, since an electric motor is notoriously less noisy than a thermal engine. Furthermore, the cooling module 22 is intended to be implemented also while the electric motor is stopped, in particular when the batteries are being recharged. The noise of the tangential turbomachine 28 could then be considered annoying by users.
However, most importantly in AZZOUZ is his specific arrangement and/or structure of the cooling module 22, wherein the turbine 32 has a substantially cylindrical shape while advantageously has several stages of blades (or vanes) (see Paragraph [0051]).
Clearly, with reference to annotated Figure 4, AZZOUZ evidently illustrates as how the turbine 32 being configured as a cross-flow or tangential or transverse fan in which a plurality of blades being disposed between disk- or ring-shaped end plates in a circumferential arrangement at fixed mounting pitches in a ring-shaped configuration a plurality of blades and including at least one blade stage forming a hollow cylinder.
Essentially, AZZOUZ’s cooling nodule is designed such that the housing 24 being configured to further receive at least one tangential turbomachine 28 itself so as to generate the air flow F intended for the set of heat exchangers, as otherwise, the system cannot normally operate.
Although AZZOUZ discloses the majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, he does not explicitly disclose specifics regarding the motor.
Nevertheless, the use of a motor having the claimed structure and/or arrangement is well-known in the art, as taught by WATANABE.
WATANABE in the same field of endeavor teaches as indoor blower for air conditioners which, as stated in ABSTRACT, is formed by integrating a cross-flow fan 101 and an outer rotor type DC brushless motor 200 into one”.
WATANABE, in Paragraphs [0007], explicitly teaches as how: when an outer rotor type motor is used, the bearings must be small in size because they are attached to the inner stator. As a result, the shaft support structure of the cross-flow fan tends to rattle, which also causes noise due to vibration.
Especially, in Paragraph [0018], WATANABE further discloses as how: the cross-flow fan 101 has a bearing 120 at its left end in the figure, and an outer rotor brushless motor is provided at its right end in the figure, and is connected to the outer rotor of this brushless motor by a fixing screw 201. The outer rotor has a shaft 204 supported by a bearing 203 provided at the left end of the inner stator 202 in the figure, and this shaft 204 is fixed to the cross-flow fan 101 through a yoke 205.
In fact, WATANABE explicitly exhibits as how the DC brushless motor including a stator or inner stator 202 and a rotor or outer rotor that is mounted rotatably about the stator 202, wherein the stator of the motor is secured to the housing so that blades of the at least one blade stage being arranged around the rotor or outer rotor of the motor.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a motor and/or rotor and/or stator, as taught by WATANABE, to the cooling module of AZZOUZ, as part of an obvious combination of known prior art structures, in this case the use of a motor and/or rotor and/or stator, to achieve predictable results, in this case, to control the fluid flow through the system. See KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the cooling module would be further comprising the motor that would be further including a stator and a rotor mounted rotatably about the stator and/or the stator of the motor would be further secured to the housing so that the blades of the at least one blade stage would be further arranged circumferentially around the rotor of the motor and in that the at least one blade stage of the turbine would be further mechanically connected to the rotor of the motor so as to be further driven in rotation by the latter and/or a longitudinal axis of the rotor of the motor would be further coinciding with the axis of rotation of the turbine, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 6, AZZOUZ and WATANABE substantially disclose the cooling module, as claimed and as detailed above.
Additionally, as best seen in annotated Figure 5, AZZOUZ evidently demonstrates the motor 36 is fixed to a plate secured to a side wall of the housing 24, so that the motor 36 is located at a first end of the turbine 32.
As such, according to the combination, one skilled in the art would surely recognize that the stator would be further fixed to a plate secured to a side wall of the housing 24, so that the motor 36 is located at a first end of turbine 32, as instantly claimed.
9. Claims 3 and 4 are rejected 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AZZOUZ in view of WATANABE, and further in view of ISHIZAKI et al. (hereinafter “ISHIZAKI”) (Patent No.: US 10,563,660 B2).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, AZZOUZ and WATANABE substantially disclose the cooling module, as claimed and as detailed above. Additionally, as best seen in annotated Figure 3, AZZOUZ evidently illustrates the rotor and/or motor having radial arm which is extending radially from the rotor to the turbine so as to secure the rotor to the turbine.
However, the combination of AZZOUZ and WATANABE is still silent as to the number of radial arms.
Nevertheless, ISHIZAKI in the same field of endeavor teaches a support plate that is accommodated in the interior of a casing, wherein, as stated in Abstract, the support plate having a bearing member that rotatably supports a rotating shaft of a brushless motor, together with supporting a circuit substrate on which a control circuit is provided. Notably, in column 6 lines 31-45, ISHIZAKI discloses as how: the upper side half body 20 includes a hollow tubular member 50 having the air introduction port 22 formed therein, a first lid portion 52 continuous with the tubular member 50 so as to form a substantially L-shaped section therewith that closes an upper opening of the straight portion 24, and a second lid portion 54 that closes upper openings of the large semicircular portion 26 and the small semicircular portion 28. The second lid portion 54 is substantially circular shaped when viewed in plan, and on a peripheral edge thereof, stays 56a to 56c are formed to connect the air conditioner blower motor unit 10 to a predetermined member (not shown). Specifically, stays 56a 56b, and 56c radially projecting out from the peripheral edge of the second lid portion 54 at roughly 120-degrees intervals.
Surely, ISHIZAKI explicitly exhibits as how radial arms being arranged at regular angular intervals around an axis of rotation or rotating shaft 68.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the plurality of radial arms and/or arrangement of the plurality of radial arms, as taught by ISHIZAKI, with the cooling module of AZZOUZ/ WATANABE, in order to further increase the rigidity of the support plate, as motivated by ISHIZAKI in column 3 lines 35-38.
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably apprised that the rotor would be further having radial arms which would be further extending radially from the rotor to the turbine so as to further secure the rotor to the turbine and/or the radial arms connecting the rotor to the turbine would be further arranged at regular angular intervals around the axis of rotation of the turbine, as instantly claimed.
10. Claim 5 is rejected 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AZZOUZ in view of WATANABE, and further in view of MAMMERI et al. (hereinafter “MAMMERI”) (Pub. No.: US 2023/0327512 A1).
Regarding claim 5, AZZOUZ and WATANABE substantially disclose the cooling module, as claimed and as detailed above.
However, the combination of AZZOUZ and WATANABE is silent as to the fact that a longitudinal axis of the rotor of the motor and the axis of rotation of the turbine being offset and/or an output shaft of the motor and the turbine being connected by a transmission mechanism.
Nevertheless, the use of a cooling module having the claimed structure and/or arrangement is well-known in the art, as taught by MAMMERI.
MAMMERI in the same field of endeavor teaches another cooling module, very similar to that seen in annotated Figure 1, and successfully performs as how a longitudinal axis of the motor and the axis of rotation of the turbine being offset.
Specifically, in Paragraph [0056], MAMMERI discloses that: The tangential-flow turbomachine 28 comprises a turbine 32 that can also be described as a tangential blower-wheel. The turbine 32 has a substantially cylindrical shape and has an axis of rotation A32. Advantageously, this axis of rotation A32 is oriented substantially parallel to the lateral direction Y of the at least one heat exchanger 30a-30c, as illustrated more particularly in FIG. 2.
More specifically, in Paragraphs [0079]-[0080], MAMMERI further discloses as how: According to another embodiment shown diagrammatically in FIGS. 9 and 10 , the second intake opening 24 c of the housing 24 is positioned between the tangential-flow turbomachine 28 and the at least one heat exchanger 30a-30c. In this particular configuration, the second air stream F2 expelled by the air outlet 39 of the cover 40 joins the first air stream F1 at the outlet of the at least one heat exchanger 30a-30c before following a tangential trajectory level with the turbine 32 of the tangential-flow turbomachine 28. The motor is offset so that the axes A40 and A36 are not coincident, as shown in FIG. 9. According to another embodiment, the second intake opening 24c of the housing 24 is for example positioned between two heat exchangers of the plurality of heat exchangers 30a-30c. This configuration is shown diagrammatically in FIGS. 11,12, 13, and 14. More particularly, the second intake opening 24c of the housing 24 is positioned between the heat exchanges 30b and 30c in FIGS. 11 and 12, while in FIGS. 13 and 14, the second intake opening 24c of the housing 24 is positioned between the heat exchangers 30a and 30b. In these examples, the motor 36 is offset so that the axes A40 and A36 are not coincident, as shown in FIGS. 11 and 13.
As best seen in annotated Figure 9, MAMMERI evidently illustrates as how a longitudinal axis A40 of the motor and the axis A32 of rotation of the turbine being offset while connected by a transmission mechanism TM that is surely configured to ensure the transmission of rotary motion between the output shaft of the motor A40 and the turbine 32, as otherwise, the system cannot normally operate.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the positioning of the motor, as taught by MAMMERI, to the cooling module of AZZOUZ/ WATANABE, in order to further increase the cooling performance of the motor of the tangential-flow turbomachine while preventing excessive consumption by said electric motor, as motivated by MAMMERI in Paragraph [0006].
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably apprised that a longitudinal axis of the rotor of the motor and the axis of rotation of the turbine would be offset and/or an output shaft of the motor and the turbine would be further connected by a transmission mechanism configured to further ensure the transmission of rotary motion between the output shaft of the motor and the turbine, as instantly claimed.
11. Claim 7 is rejected 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AZZOUZ in view of WATANABE, and further in view of SIEGEL (Patent No.: US 3,493,796).
Regarding claim 7, AZZOUZ and WATANABE substantially disclose the cooling module, as claimed and as detailed above.
Although the combination of AZZOUZ and WATANABE does not explicitly disclose that a longitudinal dimension of the motor is greater than the value of a diameter of the motor.
Nonetheless, electric motors having the claimed structure and/or arrangement are well known in the art, as taught by SIEGEL.
Specifically, SIEGEL discloses an electric motor that, as stated in column 4 lines 40-60, is “having a stator core mounted within a stationary housing, a hollow rotor shaft journaled in said housing, a rotor core positioned outside the stator core and with its outside surface radially adjacent the housing, magnetic flywheel means secured to said hollow shaft and supporting the rotor core, and output shaft rotatably journaled within the rotor shaft, a stationary magnetic ring secured to the housing and positioned radially adjacent to and outside the flywheel means, an annular clutch coil secured to the stationary ring and positioned axially adjacent to the flywheel means, a composite ring formed with concentric magnetic outer and inner rings separated by an integrally cast non-magnetic spacer ring, means securing the inner ring to the flywheel means, said concentric rings having end surfaces lying in a common plane normal to the axis of the rotor shaft and presenting an annular rotatable bipolar structure, and magnetic clutch disc means se cured for rotation with the output shaft and positioned axially adjacent to the bipolar structure for attraction thereto when the clutch coil is energized”.
As best seen in annotated Figure 1, SIEGEL performs the difference between the dimensions of the roto/motor diameter and longitudinal dimension of the outer rotor motor and/or the ratio of the motor’s axial length to its rotor/ motor outer diameter.
In other words, SIEGE explicitly exhibits as how the longitudinal dimension of the outer rotor motor is greater than outer diameter of the rotor or the outer diameter of the motor.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using ratio differences, as taught by SIEGEL, in the cooling module of AZZOUZ/ WATANABE, since the use thereof would have applied a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. KSR, 550 U.S. (2007).
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that a longitudinal dimension of the motor 36 would be necessarily greater than the value of a diameter of the motor, as instantly claimed.
12. Claims 8 and 9 are rejected 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AZZOUZ in view of WATANABE, and further in view of RICKETTS (Pub. No.: US 2010/0178171 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, AZZOUZ and WATANABE substantially disclose the cooling module, as claimed and as detailed above.
Additionally, as best seen in annotated Figure 5, AZZOUZ explicitly teaches that: tangential turbomachine 28 comprises a turbine 32 (or tangential propeller). The turbine 32 has a substantially cylindrical shape, as is more particularly visible in FIG. 5. The turbine 32 comprises several stages of blades 34 (or vanes), in this case sixteen stages of blades 34. Of course, this number of blade stages 34 is not limiting and the turbine 32 may comprise, more generally, at least one blade stage 34.
In fact, with reference to annotated Figure 5, AZZOUZ explicitly exhibits as how the turbine 32 has a second end E2 located opposite the first end E1.
Furthermore, in Paragraph [0018], WATANABE expressly states that: The outer rotor has a shaft 204 supported by a bearing 203 provided at the left end of the inner stator 202 in the figure, and this shaft 204 is fixed to the cross-flow fan 101 through a yoke 205.
However, the combination of AZZOUZ and WATANABE is still silent as to the fact that the second end has a component configured to form a direct pivot connection to the collector housing.
RICKETTS in the same field of endeavor teaches another transverse fan assembly, very similar to that seen in annotated Figure 5 of AZZOUZ, and performs as how the fan assembly 10 comprises “an elongated transverse or cross-flow fan 42 within an air plenum 44, with fan 42 extending generally transversely across a great extent, preferably substantially the entire width, of the combine harvester 12.” (see Paragraph [0057]).
Notably, RICKETTS illustrates the transverse or cross-flow fan 42 includes a fan motor and, as stated in Paragraph [0062], air plenum 44 extends along substantially and somewhat beyond the entire expanse of the fan 42, which is generally disposed within air plenum 44 extending generally transversely to the forward direction of travel of combine harvester 12. Axle 46 of fan 42 is typically supported and rotatably mounted in bearing blocks 58 and 60 secured at opposite sides of the air plenum 44, although it will be understood that various other constructions could be equally as well utilized to provide such support and that various constructions and systems of known design and operation can be readily employed to effect rotation of the fan 42 about its axis of rotation 48.
With reference to annotated Figure 5, RICKETTS explicitly exhibits as how the fan has a second end located opposite a first end, and in that this second end has a component C58 which is clearly configured to further form a direct pivot connection to the collector housing while this component C58 being a bearing or a rolling bearing located inside the collector housing.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the component or bearing or bearing block, as taught by RICKETTS, to the cooling module of AZZOUZ/ WATANABE, in order to further permit the production by the transverse fan assembly with which the improved cut-off construction being employed of greater air flow volume at lower fan revolutions per minute and to further increase the ability of the fan to carry a higher pressure load, as motivated by RICKETTS in Paragraph [0002].
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the second end of the turbine would be further having a component being configured to further form a direct pivot connection to the collector housing and/or the component would be further configured to further form a direct pivot connection to the collector housing would be further being a bearing or a rolling bearing located inside the collector housing, as instantly claimed.
Prior Art
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and consists of two patents.
US 2022/0153128 A1 and US 2022/0153127 A1 are cited to show different cooling modules for a motor vehicle with an electric motor, comprising: at least one heat exchanger; at least one tangential-flow turbomachine capable of creating an air flow that comes into contact with the plurality of heat exchangers.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/CHARLES G FREAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/L.P/Examiner, Art Unit 3746