Examiner Note
Examiner notes that the claimed “1st, 2nd, 3rd,” messages are in different claim tree branches. They have no limiting impact upon the claim limitations in each claim tree branch.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains superfluous (according to the present disclosure) and exemplary language (present disclosure relates to). Emend to remove this language. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15, 17-19, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kronander et al (USPGPN 20210013750; hereinafter Krona).
Independent Claim 1, Krona discloses a charging method (Figs. [2a-7, esp. 2b, 3b, 4]), performed by a terminal (110, Figs. [1a, 1b, 2a, 3a, esp. [1b, 3a]),
the method (Fig. 3b) comprising:
sending a wireless charging request to a base station (100, Figs. [1a, 2a], note that Fig. 2a has a typo and should be 100, see ¶[61]) to request the base station to perform wireless charging on the terminal (s302, s304, ¶[91]).
Independent Claim 12, Krona discloses a charging method (Figs. [2a-7, esp. 2b, 3b, 4]), performed by a base station (100, Figs. [1a, 2a], note that Fig. 2a has a typo and should be 100, see ¶[61]), and the method (Fig. 2b) comprising:
receiving a wireless charging request (s202, s204) sent by a terminal (110, Figs. [1a, 1b, 2a, 3a, esp. [1b, 3a]), and performing wireless charging on the terminal (s206, s214).
Independent Claim 22, Krona discloses an electronic device (110, Figs. [1a, 1b, 2a, 3a, esp. [1b, 3a], described as a phone, ¶’s [11, 58], i.e. an electronic device), comprising:
a processor (112); and
a memory (114) configured to store instructions executable by the processor (Figs. [2a-7, esp. 2b, 3b, 4]);
wherein the processor is configured to (Fig. 3b);
send a radio charging request to a base station to request the base station (100, Figs. [1a, 2a], note that Fig. 2a has a typo and should be 100, see ¶[61]) to perform radio charging on the terminal (s302, s304, ¶’s [08, 09, 29, 66, 67, 85, 91, esp. 29, 67, 91], with “radiation pattern of the charging beam… radiated electromagnetic far field” interpreted to mean radio charging).
Dependent Claim 2, Krona discloses the sending a wireless charging request to a base station comprises: sending information matched with a current state of the terminal to the base station, wherein the information carries the wireless charging request (s302 of s302 & s304 describes this information on the current state: ¶’s [26-28, 39, 62-64, 85, 91, 101, esp. 26, 39])
Dependent Claim 3, Krona discloses the sending information matched with a current state of the terminal to the base station comprises: determining the terminal being in an idle state or an inactive state, and sending a specified preamble to the base station, wherein the specified preamble is configured to indicate the base station to perform wireless charging on the terminal (RRC_connected interpreted to be a specified preamble for active state, while RRC_idle interpreted to be a specified preamble for inactive/idle state and/or the random access procedure of ¶’s [31, 88], see ¶’s [26-32, 86-88, esp. 29-31, 88]).
Dependent Claim 4, Krona discloses the sending a specified preamble to the base station comprises: sending a first message in a random access process carrying the specified preamble to the base station (¶’s [31, 88]).
Dependent Claim 5, Krona discloses the sending information matched with a current state of the terminal to the base station comprises: determining the terminal being in an idle state or an inactive state, and sending a second message in a random access process to the base station (RRC_connected interpreted to be a specified preamble for active state, while RRC_idle interpreted to be a specified preamble for inactive/idle state and/or the random access procedure of ¶’s [31, 88], see ¶’s [26-32, 86-88, esp. 29-31, 88]).
Dependent Claim 6, Krona discloses the terminal is in the idle state, and the second message is RRCSetupRequest or RRCReestablishmentRequest; or,
the terminal is in the inactive state, and the second message is RRCResumeRequest (in light of the message being described to be sent to setup charging, see ¶’s [30, 31, 87, 88], the RRC would correspond to a setup-request).
Dependent Claim 7, Krona discloses the sending information matched with a current state of the terminal to the base station comprises: determining the terminal being in an idle state or an inactive state, and sending a third message in a random access process to the base station (RRC_connected interpreted to be a specified preamble for active state, while RRC_idle interpreted to be a specified preamble for inactive/idle state and/or the random access procedure of ¶’s [31, 88], see ¶’s [26-32, 86-88, esp. 29-31, 88]).
Dependent Claim 8, Krona discloses the terminal is in the idle state, and the third message is RRCSetupComplete or RRCReestablishmentComplete; or, the terminal is in the inactive state, and the third message is RRCResumeComplete (¶’s [26-28, 39, 62-64, 85, 91, esp. 91] describes the registration/request being used to describe completion of the registration procedure along with the requesting of power transfer, where ¶’s [30, 31, 87, 88] describes the communication is performed with RRC methods, i.e. at least RRC of setup complete).
Dependent Claim 9, Krona discloses the sending information matched with a current state of the terminal to the base station comprises: determining the terminal being in a connected state, and sending a radio resource control (RRC) message carrying the wireless charging request to the base station (RRC_connected interpreted to be a specified preamble for active state, while RRC_idle interpreted to be a specified preamble for inactive/idle state and/or the random access procedure of ¶’s [31, 88], see ¶’s [26-32, 86-88, esp. 29-31, 88]).
Dependent Claim 10, Krona discloses the RRC message is at least one of:
User equipment (UE) assistance information (as the device 110 is described as a UE, a request for charging would be UE assistance information, ¶’s [58, 103]); or
defined target information for carrying the wireless charging request (registration of registration would represent a defined target, ¶’s [26-28, 39, 62-64, 85, 91).
Dependent Claim 11, Krona discloses the method further comprises:
receiving charging configuration information sent by the base station; and
receiving, based on the charging configuration information, a signal sent by the base station and for wireless charging (Figs. [2b, 3], configuration information including feedback).
Dependent Claim 13, Krona discloses wherein the performing wireless charging on the terminal comprises: determining, based on a current state of the base station, whether wireless charging is performed on the terminal ([s206-s212, s218] of Fig. 2b shows this determination on whether wireless charging should be performed, and why, and further, s202, if the device has or has not been registered, the base may not perform charging).
Dependent Claim 14, Krona discloses determining, based on the current state of the base station, that wireless charging is performed on the terminal, the method further comprises: determining charging configuration information on wireless charging for the terminal based on the current state of the base station; and performing wireless charging on the terminal based on the charging configuration information ([s202, s218, s208] at least describe these features).
Dependent Claim 15, Krona discloses the current state of the base station comprises at least one of: an antenna use condition of the base station; or a load condition of the base station (both apply to the load condition and antenna use of the base station when sweeping the charging beam, since the antenna is in use and is thus loaded, where the feedback of s208 represents this current state applied to the charging configuration).
Dependent Claim 17, Krona discloses the method further comprises:
sending the charging configuration information to the terminal to indicate the terminal to receive, based on the charging configuration information, a signal sent by the base station (see [s206, s216, s222] along with registration information ¶’s [26-28, 39, 62-64, 85, 91] & Fig. 4).
Dependent Claim 18, Krona discloses the charging configuration information comprises at least one of: antenna information for wireless charging; time information for wireless charging; or power for wireless charging (scan procedure of Figs. [2b, 4], at least ¶[101] describes “a message is sent from the base station 100 to indicate to the wireless device 110 that the scan procedure now commences”, i.e. at least power for wireless charging [wireless power scan starting implies power starting to be emitted in the high frequency] and time information for wireless charging [now implies a start time] based on the antenna [i.e. antenna information for wireless charging implying the antenna is used ], see scan procedure shown in Figs. [5a-7]).
Dependent Claim 19, Krona discloses the sending the charging configuration information to the terminal comprises at least one of: sending an RRCReconfiguration signaling carrying the charging configuration information to the terminal; sending an RRCSetupComplete signaling carrying the charging configuration information to the terminal; sending an RRCReestablishmentComplete signaling carrying the charging configuration information to the terminal; and sending an RRCResumeComplete signaling carrying the charging configuration information to the terminal (RRC_connected interpreted to be a specified preamble for active state, while RRC_idle interpreted to be a specified preamble for inactive/idle state and/or the random access procedure of ¶’s [31, 88], see ¶’s [26-32, 86-88, esp. 29-31, 88], thus a RRC-setup-complete at least is demonstrated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kronander et al (USPGPN 20210013750; hereinafter Krona) in view of Lee et al (USPGPN 20160359375)
Dependent Claim 16, Krona is silent to the determining, based on a current state of the base station, whether wireless charging is performed on the terminal comprises:
determining that wireless charging is not performed on the terminal, wherein the current state is that a number of spare antennae of the base station is less than a preset number threshold;
or,
determining that wireless charging is not performed on the terminal, wherein the current state is that a load of the base station is greater than a preset load threshold.
Lee teaches the determining, based on a current state of the base station, whether wireless charging is performed on the terminal comprises:
determining that wireless charging is not performed on the terminal, wherein the current state is that a number of spare antennae of the base station is less than a preset number threshold;
or,
determining that wireless charging is not performed on the terminal, wherein the current state is that a load of the base station is greater than a preset load threshold (abstract, ¶’s [126, 128, 280, 285, 286, 319, esp. 285] describes giving the denial as due to there not being enough power for more than a quantity, the device may be declined, i.e. a load of the base station is greater than a preset load threshold). Lee teaches by performing these steps, it provides improved efficiency (¶[84], by preventing the load from experiencing wasted power due to under-voltage [i.e. when not enough power can be sent to charge, power is wasted if it is tried])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Krona with Lee to provide improved efficiency.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN T TRISCHLER whose telephone number is (571)270-0651. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30A-3:30P (often working later), M-F, ET, Flexible. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 5712722312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859