DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filled on 12/22/2025 has been entered.
Claims 1, 5-7, 10, 12-14, 16, 20-22, 24, 31-32 are amended.
Claims 3, 11, 18 and 23 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments filed on 12/22/2025 have been fully considered and but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection(s)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3,5,10,11,13,16,18,21-24,30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei to (WO2020/142974 A1) from IDS in view of “CSI enhancement for multi-TRP and FDD” from IDS
Regarding claims 1,10,16,22,30 Wei teaches an information reporting method, comprising: estimating, by a terminal, downlink channel information;( [0058], fig. 3, "As shown in Fig. 3, and by reference number 305, the BS 110 may transmit reference signal transmissions to the UE 120.[...] the UE 120 may perform channel estimation or another operation
based at least in part on the reference signal transmissions in order to
determine CSI feedback") determining, by the terminal, frequency-domain basis vector information in accordance with the downlink channel information; ( [0058] and [0060], fig. 3, "As shown in Fig. 3, and by reference number 305, the BS 110 may transmit reference signal transmissions to the UE 120. [...] the UE 120 may perform channel estimation or another operation based at least in part on the reference signal transmissions in order to determine CSI feedback", and "As shown by reference number 320, the UE may transmit CSI feedback based at least in part on the set of non-zero FD complex coefficients. The CSI feedback is described in more detail in connection with [...] reference numbers 345 through 365 (e.g., the second part of the CSI feedback) ") transmitting, by the terminal, the frequency-domain basis vector information to a network device ( [0065], "As shown by reference number 355, the second part may identify a selected FD basis vector subset".. [0079], "a second part of the CSI feedback includes: a first index identifying a particular frequency domain basis vector of a selected subset of frequency domain basis vectors, and a second index identifying remaining frequency domain basis vectors of the selected subset of frequency domain basis vectors")
Wei does not explicitly teach receiving, by the terminal, a set of frequency-domain basis vectors configured by the network device; determining, by the terminal, the frequency-domain basis vector information in accordance with the downlink channel information and the set of frequency-domain basis vectors
However, “CSI enhancement for multi-TRP and FDD” teaches receiving, by the terminal, a set of frequency-domain basis vectors configured by the network device;( Page,2-3, section 2.1-2.2, discloses In Rel. 16 enhanced Type II PS codebook-based CSI feedback scheme, the CSI-RS ports are beamformed and transmitted by the gNB. …) determining, by the terminal, the frequency-domain basis vector information in accordance with the downlink channel information and the set of frequency-domain basis vectors (Page,2-3, section 2.1-2.2, discloses In Rel. 16 enhanced Type II PS codebook-based CSI feedback scheme, the CSI-RS ports are beamformed and transmitted by the gNB. The UE performs measurement on the received CSI-RS ports, selects L consecutive ports, and reports the index of the first selected port of the L consecutive ports as part of the CSI feedback to the gNB. The UE also select Mv frequency domain basis vector(s), if the reported Rank is v, for the purpose of frequency domain compression. The UE reports indication of the selected frequencydomain basis vector(s) for each layer as part of the CSI feedback. If the gNB can estimate the DL angle(s) and delay(s) based on SRS measurement on the UL, and utilize these information to generate beamformed CSI-RS ports, it is possible that with the appropriately beamformed CSI-RS ports, the UE only needs to feedback a small number of FD basis vector(s), e.g., Mv = 1 or 2)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Wei include
receiving, by the terminal, a set of frequency-domain basis vectors configured by the network device; determining, by the terminal, the frequency-domain basis vector information in accordance with the downlink channel information and the set of frequency-domain basis vectors, as suggested by “CSI enhancement for multi-TRP and FDD”. This modification would benefit the system to efficiently utilize available the network resources.
Regarding claims 5,13,21,24 Wei teaches wherein the frequency-domain basis vector information comprises indication information corresponding to the frequency-domain basis vector ([0079], "a second part of the CSI feedback includes: a first index identifying a particular frequency domain basis vector of a selected subset of frequency domain basis vectors, and a second index identifying remaining frequency domain basis vectors of the selected subset of frequency domain basis vectors")wherein the indication information corresponding to the frequency-domain basis vector is used to indicate a frequency-domain basis vector selected by the terminal, a frequency-domain basis vector selected by the terminal in a set of frequency-domain basis vectors predetermined in the terminal([0079], "a second part of the CSI feedback includes: a first index identifying a particular frequency domain basis vector of a selected subset of frequency domain basis vectors, and a second index identifying remaining frequency domain basis vectors of the selected subset of frequency domain basis vectors")
Claim(s) 6,14,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei to (WO2020/142974 A1) from IDS in view of “CSI enhancement for multi-TRP and FDD” from IDS further in view of HINDY to (WO 2022162593 A1)
Regarding claims 6, 14,20 Wei does not explicitly teach wherein subsequent to receiving, by the terminal, the set of frequency-domain basis vectors configured by the network device, the information reporting method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal, a triggering state transmitted by the network device, the triggering state being used to indicate a reporting mode of the terminal and used to indicate a codebook parameter configured by the network device for the terminal, the codebook parameter comprising one or more of: the set of frequency-domain basis vectors, a size of the set of frequency-domain basis vectors, or start point information of the set of frequency-domain basis
vectors; determining, by the terminal, the codebook parameter in accordance with the triggering
state
However, Hindy teaches wherein subsequent to receiving, by the terminal, the set of frequency-domain basis vectors configured by the network device, the information reporting method further comprises( [0131] discloses multi-TRP transmission may be indicated to the UE via introducing a higher-layer parameter, e.g., mTRP-CSI-Enabled 702, in the CSI-ReportConfig Reporting Setting. An example of the ASN.1 code that corresponds to the CSI-ReportConfig Reporting Setting IE is provided in Figure 7A, with a higher-layer parameter that triggers joint TRP transmission)
receiving, by the terminal, a triggering state transmitted by the network device, the
triggering state being used to indicate a reporting mode of the terminal and used to indicate a
codebook parameter configured by the network device for the terminal,
([0132] discloses the UE via introducing a higher-layer parameter which triggers the UE to report a given number of CSI Reports, e.g., numberOfReports, in the CSI-ReportConfig Reporting Setting or any of its elements, e.g., codebookConfig. Examples of the ASN.1 code the correspond to the CSI-ReportConfig Reporting Setting IE are provided in Figures 7B and 7C, where the number of CSI Reports is triggered within the Reporting Setting 704 or the codebook configuration 706, 708, respectively) the codebook parameter
comprising one or more of:the set of frequency-domain basis vectors, a size of the set of
frequency-domain basis vectors, or start point information of the set of frequency-domain basis
vectors;( [0148] discloses a UE is configured by higher layers with one or more CSI-ReportConfig Reporting Settings, wherein each Reporting Setting may configure at least one CodebookConfig Codebook Configuration or one reportQuantity Reporting Quantity, or both, for CSI Reporting. Each Codebook Configuration represents at least one codebookType Codebook type, which includes indicators representing at least one or more of a CSI-RS Resource Indicator (“CRI”), a Synchronization-Signal Block Resource Indicator (“SSBRI”), a Rank Indicator (“RI”), a Precoding Matrix Indicator (“PMI”))
determining, by the terminal, the codebook parameter in accordance with the triggering
state( [0133] discloses multi-TRP transmission may be indicated to the UE via triggering two CodebookConfig codebook configurations within one Reporting Setting, each corresponding to one or more CSI Reports. An example of the ASN.1 code the corresponds to the CSI-ReportConfig Reporting Setting IE is provided in Figure 7D, wherein two codebook configurations 710, 712 are triggered under the same Reporting Setting)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Wei include wherein subsequent to receiving, by the terminal, the set of frequency-domain basis vectors configured by the network device, the information reporting method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal, a triggering state transmitted by the network device, the triggering state being used to indicate a reporting mode of the terminal and used to indicate a codebook parameter configured by the network device for the terminal, the codebook parameter comprising one or more of: the set of frequency-domain basis vectors, a size of the set of frequency-domain basis vectors, or start point information of the set of frequency-domain basis vectors; determining, by the terminal, the codebook parameter in accordance with the triggering state, as suggested by Hindy. This modification would benefit the system to efficiently utilize available the network resources.
Claim(s) 7,13,31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei to (WO2020/142974 A1) from IDS in view of “CSI enhancement for multi-TRP and FDD” from IDS further in view of Wu to (WO2020/164083A1) from IDS
Regarding claims 7,13,31,32 Wei does not explicitly teach wherein prior to
transmitting, by the terminal, the frequency-domain basis vector information to the network
device, the information reporting method further comprises:
determining target bit information in accordance with the frequency-domain basis vector
information, the target bit information is used to indicate the quantity of frequency-domain basis
vectors and/or indication information corresponding to the frequency-domain basis vector, and the indication information corresponding to the frequency-domain basis vector is used to indicate the frequency-domain basis vector selected by the terminal in the set of frequency-domain basis
vectors configured by the network device or a frequency-domain basis vector selected by the
terminal in a set of frequency-domain basis vectors predetermined in the terminal,
wherein the transmitting, by the terminal, the frequency-domain basis vector information
to the network device comprises: transmitting, by the terminal to the network device, the frequency-domain basis vector information indicated through the target bit information
However, Wu teaches transmitting, by the terminal, the frequency-domain basis vector information to the network device, the information reporting method further comprises:
determining target bit information in accordance with the frequency-domain basis vector
information, the target bit information is used to indicate the quantity of frequency-domain basis
vectors and/or indication information corresponding to the frequency-domain basis vector, (Page 5, lines 1-11 discloses the wireless device compresses the complex coefficients {a} to reduce the overhead in reporting CSI to the base station. At block 230 the UE determines M FD basis vectors {4} 4,...,Up yy.» Up} over L, and over all the layers 1 of rank R, and at block 240 the UE determines complex coefficients … over L, M and over all the layers r of rank R..., the network and the UE ensure that the number of bits needed to report the FD basis vectors and the complex coefficients is lower than the number of bits needed to report {c} thus reducing the overhead in CSI feedback reporting after the compression (for example, by the selection of M)) and the indication information corresponding to the frequency-domain basis vector is used to indicate the frequency-domain basis vector selected by the terminal in the set of frequency-domain basis vectors configured by the network device or a frequency-domain basis vector selected by the terminal in a set of frequency-domain basis vectors predetermined in the terminal, (page 5, lines 5-10 discloses The UE selects the FD basis vectors and complex coefficients {c} such that a combination of the FD basis vectors and the complex coefficients {c} (e.g., a linear combination} determines the complex coefficients {a} of block 220. .., the network and the UE ensure that the number of bits needed to report the FD basis vectors and the complex coefficients is lower than the number of bits needed to report {c} thus reducing the overhead in CSI feedback reporting after the compression (for example, by the selection of M)) wherein the transmitting, by the terminal, the frequency-domain basis vector information to the network device comprises: transmitting, by the terminal to the network device, the frequency-domain basis vector information indicated through the target bit information( page 5, lines 13-16, fig. 2, "the UE ensure that the number of bitsneeded to report the FD basis vectors and the complex coefficients {c} is lower than the number of bits needed to report … the wireless device generates a CSI feedback report based on, the spatial basis vectors, the FD basis vectors, the complex coefficients {c}, and other additional parameters described below. That is, rather than reporting the complex coefficients {a}, the UE can report, at a reduced overhead, the complex coefficients {c} along with the FD basis vectors)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Wei include wherein prior to
transmitting, by the terminal, the frequency-domain basis vector information to the network
device, the information reporting method further comprises: determining target bit information in accordance with the frequency-domain basis vector information, the target bit information is used to indicate the quantity of frequency-domain basis vectors and/or indication information corresponding to the frequency-domain basis vector, and the indication information corresponding to the frequency-domain basis vector is used to indicate the frequency-domain basis vector selected by the terminal in the set of frequency-domain basis
vectors configured by the network device or a frequency-domain basis vector selected by the
terminal in a set of frequency-domain basis vectors predetermined in the terminal,
wherein the transmitting, by the terminal, the frequency-domain basis vector information
to the network device comprises: transmitting, by the terminal to the network device, the frequency-domain basis vector information indicated through the target bit information, as suggested by Wu. This modification would benefit the system to efficiently utilize available the network resources.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461