DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 19-20, 22-23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tunnell et al. (US 2020/0342499 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tunnell et al. teach a method of operating an electronic device in a proximity sensing system, the electronic device comprising a motion sensor for monitoring the motion of the electronic device and a wireless communication system for communication with one or more other electronic devices of the proximity sensing system, the method comprising:
scanning for communication signals transmitted to the wireless communication system from another electronic device; transmitting communication signals from the wireless communication system for detection by another electronic device (see fig. 1; par. 0056 and pars. 0060-0061: Devices may be detected or sensed by a number of methods and system, including but not limited to beacons, advertisements (such as Bluetooth communicated advertisements, or advertisements communicated using other communications systems), notifications, prompts, wake-up signals, triggers, or other communication methods or systems that prompt or communicate information to or from a device or service. For example, a first device may make a second device aware of its presence. As a user or first device comes within a zone or range of a second device, the second device senses proximate presence of the first device or a location of the first device, and arranges for the provision of services to the user or to the first device responsive to the proximate device or location); and when one or more communication signals are received from another electronic device, determining a proximity of users of the respective electronic devices based on the one or more received communications signals (see par. 0061: As a user or first device comes within a zone or range of a second device, the second device senses proximate presence of the first device or a location of the first device, and arranges for the provision of services to the user or to the first device responsive to the proximate device or location); the method further comprising optimising power usage of the wireless communication system according to the motion of the electronic device by: detecting a change of the motion of the electronic device from a first motion state to a second motion state; and modifying the transmission of communication signals from the wireless communication system in dependence on the detected change (see paragraphs 64-69; "When motion is detected, the interval between beacons or other communication signals may be changed based upon the characterization of the motion(s). For a non- limiting example, walking may be differentiated from handling or small movements, driving, falling, or stationary, collectively called “motion states” hereafter. Motion may be characterized or detected via several methods and devices including but not limited to an accelerometer, gyro, piezo device, magnetometer or other motion sensing components or devices. Using such components, motion states may be detected based on measured acceleration and/or direction over some interval or duty cycle"; Like communication, motion measurements may also be controlled via duty cycles and intervals and dynamically changed based on the state of the device to conserve power).
Regarding claim 19, Tunnell et al. teach a control system for an electronic device of a proximity sensing system, the electronic device comprising a motion sensor for monitoring the motion of the electronic device and a wireless communication system for communication with one or more other electronic devices of the proximity sensing system, the control system being configured to execute instructions to: scan for communication signals transmitted to the wireless communication system from another electronic device; transmit communication signals from the wireless communication system for detection by another electronic device (see fig. 1; par. 0056 and pars. 0060-0061: Devices may be detected or sensed by a number of methods and system, including but not limited to beacons, advertisements (such as Bluetooth communicated advertisements, or advertisements communicated using other communications systems), notifications, prompts, wake-up signals, triggers, or other communication methods or systems that prompt or communicate information to or from a device or service. For example, a first device may make a second device aware of its presence. As a user or first device comes within a zone or range of a second device, the second device senses proximate presence of the first device or a location of the first device, and arranges for the provision of services to the user or to the first device responsive to the proximate device or location); and when one or more communication signals are received from another electronic device, determining a proximity of users of the respective electronic devices based on the one or more received communications signals (see par. 0061: As a user or first device comes within a zone or range of a second device, the second device senses proximate presence of the first device or a location of the first device, and arranges for the provision of services to the user or to the first device responsive to the proximate device or location); and when one or more communication signals are received from another electronic device, determine a proximity of users of the respective electronic devices based on the one or more received communications signals (see par. 0061: As a user or first device comes within a zone or range of a second device, the second device senses proximate presence of the first device or a location of the first device, and arranges for the provision of services to the user or to the first device responsive to the proximate device or location); wherein the control system is further configured to execute instructions to optimise power usage of the wireless communication system according to the motion of the electronic device by:
receiving a motion signal indicative of the motion of the electronic device; detecting a change of the motion of the electronic device from a first motion state to a second motion state based on the motion signal; and modifying the transmission of communication signals from the wireless communication system in dependence on the detected change (see paragraphs 64-69; "When motion is detected, the interval between beacons or other communication signals may be changed based upon the characterization of the motion(s). For a non- limiting example, walking may be differentiated from handling or small movements, driving, falling, or stationary, collectively called “motion states” hereafter. Motion may be characterized or detected via several methods and devices including but not limited to an accelerometer, gyro, piezo device, magnetometer or other motion sensing components or devices. Using such components, motion states may be detected based on measured acceleration and/or direction over some interval or duty cycle"; Like communication, motion measurements may also be controlled via duty cycles and intervals and dynamically changed based on the state of the device to conserve power).
Regarding claim 2, Tunnell et al. also teach wherein modifying the transmission of communication signals from the wireless communication system comprises modifying an activation state of a transmitter of the wireless communication system (see pars. 0072-0074).
Regarding claim 3, Tunnell et al. also teach wherein modifying the transmission of communication signals from the wireless communication system comprises modifying:
a rate of transmission of communication signals from the wireless communication system; and/or a power of the communication signals transmitted from the wireless communication system (see par. 0178).
Regarding claim 4, Tunnell et al. also teach wherein the change from the first motion state to the second motion state comprises: a reduction of the motion of the electronic device from a first motion value to a second motion value; and/or a reduction of the motion of the electronic device below a motion threshold associated with the second motion state (see par. 0069).
Regarding claim 5, Tunnell et al. also teach detecting a subsequent change in the motion of the electronic device; and cancelling the modification in dependence on the subsequently detected change being a change from the second motion state back to the first motion state (see par. 0178).
Regarding claim 6, Tunnell et al. also teach wherein the transmission of communication signals from the wireless communication system is modified to reduce power usage of the wireless communication system (see pars. 0067-0069).
Regarding claim 7, Tunnell et al. also teach wherein the power usage of the wireless communication system is reduced by deactivating the transmitter of the wireless communication system, and thereby interrupting the transmission of communication signals from the wireless communication system (see par. 0070).
Regarding claim 8, Tunnell et al. also teach wherein the transmission of communication signals from the wireless communication system is modified for a predetermined period before cancelling the modification (see pars. 0067-0069 and 0073: intevals/duty cycle).
Regarding claim 10, Tunnell et al. also teach wherein the motion threshold corresponds to a stationary condition of the electronic device (see par. 0069).
Regarding claim 20, Tunnell et al. also teach at least one among a motion sensing module for converting the motion signal into one or more motion values representing the motion of the electronic device and detecting the change from the first motion state to the second motion state based, at least in part, on the one or more motion values (see par. 0069); and (b) a proximity sensing module for determining the proximity of the detected electronic devices based, at least in part, on a received signal strength indication of the one or more received communication signals (see pars. 0060-0061 and par. 0104: DETECTING PRESENCE OF DEVICES FOR DELIVERY OF PERSONAL SERVICES: Devices may be detected or sensed by a number of methods and system, including but not limited to beacons, advertisements (such as Bluetooth communicated advertisements, or advertisements communicated using other communications systems), notifications, prompts, wake-up signals, triggers, or other communication methods or systems that prompt or communicate information to or from a device or service. For example, a first device may make a second device aware of its presence; As a user or first device comes within a zone or range of a second device, the second device senses proximate presence of the first device or a location of the first device, and arranges for the provision of services to the user or to the first device responsive to the proximate device or location).
Regarding claim 22, Tunnell et al. also teach recording the detected change, the modified transmission of communication signals, the one or more communication signals received from the other electronic device, and/or the determined proximity of the other electronic device (see pars. 0060-0061 and par. 0069).
Regarding claim 23, Tunnell et al. also teach an electronic device for a proximity sensing system, the electronic device comprising a control system according to any of claims 19 to 22 (see par. 00134).
Regarding claim 25, Tunnell et al. also teach a proximity sensing system for contact tracing comprising one or more electronic devices according to claim 23 (see all pars cited above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tunnell et al. (US 2020/0342499 A1) in view of Mendelson (US 9,204,257 B1).
Regarding claim 11, Tunnell et al. do not mention threshold corresponds to a stationary condition of the electronic device being maintained for at least a threshold duration. Mendelson teaches wherein the motion threshold corresponds to a stationary condition of the electronic device being maintained for at least a threshold duration (the range is shorter (see col. 4, lines 41-45: typically 10-15 m, although there are tags with a range of over 300 feet)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective the filling date of claimed invention (AIA ) to modify threshold corresponds to a stationary condition of the electronic device being maintained for at least a threshold duration of Mendelson to the method of Tunnell et al. in order for or the indoor guide navigation and local based services, or navigation in crowded urban areas, where GPS based systems, due to lack of access to satellites or the GPS limitations detailed previously, cannot achieve the required results.
Regarding claim 12, Tunnell et al. do not mention determining a motion signal indicative of the motion of the electronic device; determining a motion value representing the motion of the electronic device based on the motion signal; and comparing the determined motion value to a motion threshold value of the motion threshold. Mendelson teaches determining a motion signal indicative of the motion of the electronic device; determining a motion value representing the motion of the electronic device based on the motion signal; and comparing the determined motion value to a motion threshold value of the motion threshold (see fig. 4, col. 55, lines 15-37: the user with mobile cellular phone (101) approach a facility/area where he can download the facility/area map (200) with RF wireless Bluetooth and or Wi-Fi beacons (102) installed in the facility area in a known place. The user mobile cellular phone (101) application will scan the area/facility for the known list of the beacons (102), if beacons was found then a location determination process (303) where is location of the user is determine as proximity to the find and match beacon ID, being in a close proximity to a beacon and recognize the beacon ID as well as calculating the Signal strength from the detect beacons (102) allow determination of the precise location indoor and ability to show the location over the indoor mapping (200), scanning is continue if no beacons (407) was found, when found the location is display on the loaded map gyroscope over the mobile cellular phone (101) or Bluetooth device (103-106), part of the detection is to notify of existence “I am her” (304) to the local area as a way of automatic check-in method where the user “notify” his local existence to the local area business to establish his local location (303) and receive local contents, according to his location a heading navigation (305) between Points Of Interest (POI) can be establish).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective the filling date of claimed invention (AIA ) to modify determining a motion signal indicative of the motion of the electronic device; determining a motion value representing the motion of the electronic device based on the motion signal; and comparing the determined motion value to a motion threshold value of the motion threshold of Mendelson to the method of Tunnell et al. in order for or the indoor guide navigation and local based services, or navigation in crowded urban areas, where GPS based systems, due to lack of access to satellites or the GPS limitations detailed previously, cannot achieve the required results.
Regarding claim 13, Mendelson teaches wherein the motion signal comprises an acceleration measurement determined by an accelerometer of the motion sensor and a rotation measurement determined by a gyroscope of the motion sensor, and wherein the method further comprises determining the motion value in a normalised form using the acceleration measurement and the rotation measurement (see col. 15, lines 1-11: determining an approximate location determine by proximity to the RF beacons, providing the approximate location to the remote server, receiving a list of floor plans associated with indoor environments proximate to the approximate location, and selecting the building floor plan from the list. The method may include identifying the user's direction of travel by at least one of determining a relative orientation using the first location and the second location, or using at least one of an user device built-in sensors, accelerometer, a gyroscope, or a compass).
Regarding claim 15, Tunnell et al. do not mention the proximity of the users of the respective electronic devices is determined based, at least in part, on a received signal strength indication of the one or more received communication signals. Mendelson teaches the proximity of the users of the respective electronic devices is determined based, at least in part, on a received signal strength indication of the one or more received communication signals (see fig. 4, col. 55, lines 15-37: the user with mobile cellular phone (101) approach a facility/area where he can download the facility/area map (200) with RF wireless Bluetooth and or Wi-Fi beacons (102) installed in the facility area in a known place. The user mobile cellular phone (101) application will scan the area/facility for the known list of the beacons (102), if beacons was found then a location determination process (303) where is location of the user is determine as proximity to the find and match beacon ID, being in a close proximity to a beacon and recognize the beacon ID as well as calculating the Signal strength from the detect beacons (102) allow determination of the precise location indoor and ability to show the location over the indoor mapping (200), scanning is continue if no beacons (407) was found, when found the location is display on the loaded map over the mobile cellular phone (101) or Bluetooth device (103-106), part of the detection is to notify of existence “I am her” (304) to the local area as a way of automatic check-in method where the user “notify” his local existence to the local area business to establish his local location (303) and receive local contents, according to his location a heading navigation (305) between Points Of Interest (POI) can be establish).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective the filling date of claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the proximity of the users of the respective electronic devices is determined based, at least in part, on a received signal strength indication of the one or more received communication signals of Mendelson to the method of Tunnell et al. in order for or the indoor guide navigation and local based services, or navigation in crowded urban areas, where GPS based systems, due to lack of access to satellites or the GPS limitations detailed previously, cannot achieve the required results.
Regarding claim 16, Mendelson teaches detecting a contact event when the proximity of the users of the respective electronic devices is within a proximity threshold; and notifying the user of the electronic device in response to detecting the contact event (the range is shorter (see col. 4, lines 41-45: typically 10-15 m, although there are tags with a range of over 300 feet)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record does not mention recording respective timestamps for a start and an end of a period of modification; and in dependence on receiving one or more communication signals from another electronic device during the period of modification: outputting the recorded timestamps and the determined proximity of the users of the respective electronic devices to allow for data reconciliation of the other electronic device, as specified in claim 9. Therefore, it is objected.
Conclusion
/DAVID Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643