DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3,4, 8, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Sarkis et al., U.S. Application Publication No. 2020/0008235 A1 ("Sarkis"), in view of Shen et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0055018 A1 ("Shen").
Prior-art status. Sarkis was published January 2, 2020 and claims priority to Greek Patent Application No.
2018/0100290, filed June 29, 2018. Shen identifies a May 14, 2020 PCT filing and predates the March 26,
2021 priority date reflected for the present application. Sarkis, cover page and ¶[0001]; Shen, cover page.
Regarding claim 1, Sarkis discloses the following limitations: "A terminal, comprising:"
Sarkis discloses a user equipment (UE) including a processing system, processor, transceiver, and circuitry configured to determine a number of PDCCH repetitions and monitor the PDCCH based on the determined nu0m0ber of repetitions. (Sarkis ¶¶[0008]-[0010], [0079]; Figs. 4, 12, and 14).
"control circuitry,"
Sarkis discloses a processor and associated circuitry configured to determine a number of PDCCH repetitions and to control monitoring of the repetitions. (Sarkis ¶¶[0050]-[0052], [0079]; Figs. 4 and 12).
"which, in operation, configures a reception frequency resource for a certain control signal received
after receiving a data signal assigned by a first control signal in a first frequency resource,"
Sarkis teaches multiple PDCCH repetitions having the same DCI payload and/or a grant for the same data channel allocation, with the repetitions scheduling the same PDSCH. In the partially non-causal example,
PDCCH 706 is transmitted/received after PDSCH 704, although the PDSCH is scheduled by the PDCCH
repetitions. Thus, an earlier PDCCH corresponds to the first control signal, PDSCH 704 corresponds to the assigned data signal, and later PDCCH 706 corresponds to the certain control signal received after the data signal. (Sarkis ¶¶[0047], [0051], [0061]-[0063]; Fig. 7; claim 9).
"to be a second frequency resource including a frequency resource different from the first frequency
resource,"
Sarkis discloses monitoring different PDCCH repetitions in different CORESETs and expressly teaches that
different CORESETs may use the same time resources and different frequency resources. Sarkis further
teaches two CORESETs configured on different OFDM symbols and different PRBs as repetition in
frequency and time. (Sarkis ¶[0073]; Embodiments 16 and 18; claims 16 and 18).
"the certain control signal being referred to as a second control signal; and"
Sarkis discloses a plurality of PDCCH repetitions, including an earlier and a later PDCCH repetition having
the same DCI payload and/or a grant for the same data-channel allocation. The later PDCCH repetition is the claimed second control signal. (Sarkis ¶¶[0047], [0051], [0063]; Fig. 7).
"reception circuitry,"
Sarkis discloses transceiver 1208 coupled to processing system 1202 and configured to transmit and receive signals for the UE. (Sarkis ¶[0079]; Fig. 12).
"which, in operation, receives the second control signal in the second frequency resource,"
Sarkis teaches that the UE monitors each PDCCH repetition in a CORESET and may monitor different
repetitions in different CORESETs that occupy different frequency resources. Accordingly, the later PDCCH repetition is received in the CORESET corresponding to the second frequency resource. (Sarkis ¶[0052]; Embodiments 16 and 18; claims 16 and 18).
"wherein the control circuitry, in operation, configures the second frequency resource to include a
frequency resource within a third frequency resource for the data signal assigned by the first control
signal,"
Sarkis does not expressly disclose this complete limitation. Sarkis teaches PDCCH repetitions carrying DCI that points to the same PDSCH allocation and teaches frequency-domain PDCCH repetition using different CORESET frequency resources. Sarkis, however, does not expressly identify the second CORESET resource as including a resource within the claimed third frequency resource occupied by the assigned PDSCH. (Sarkis¶¶[0047], [0051]; Embodiment 18).
Sarkis does not disclose the newly added switching-dependent limitations
"the control circuitry, in operation, configures the second frequency resource in both of a first sub-band
corresponding to the first frequency resource and a second sub-band corresponding to the third
frequency resource,"
Sarkis does not expressly disclose this complete limitation. Sarkis teaches different CORESETs and different frequency resources, but does not expressly configure the claimed second frequency resource in both recited sub-bands with the required correspondence to the first and third frequency resources. (Sarkis ¶[0073];Embodiments 16 and 18).
"the control circuitry, in operation, determines to receive the second control signal in the second
sub-band when a frequency switching from the first sub-band to the second sub-band is performed, and
determines to receive the second control signal in the first sub-band when frequency switching is not
performed."
Sarkis does not expressly disclose this complete limitation. Sarkis does not expressly disclose selecting the sub-band for the later PDCCH repetition based on whether frequency switching is performed. Sarkis
¶¶[0063], [0073].
"configures the second frequency resource in both of a first sub-band ... and a second sub- band ..."
Shen discloses determining a sub-band location associated with CORESET transmissions and receiving the CORESET transmissions according to a frequency-hopping pattern across a set of sub-bands, each sub- band being a subset of a system bandwidth and one sub-band being active at a time. (Shen Abstract; Fig. 8; claim 1).
"determines to receive the second control signal in the second sub-band when a frequency switching ...
is performed"
Shen illustrates PDCCH monitoring occasions in a first sub-band, an RF-retuning interval, and subsequent
monitoring occasions in another sub-band. This teaches monitoring the control channel in the second subband after the receiver performs the frequency hop/retuning operation.( Shen Fig. 4; ¶¶[0044]-[0050]).
"and determines to receive the second control signal in the first sub-band when frequency
switching is not performed."
Shen describes configurable sub-band hopping and monitoring in an active sub-band. When hopping is not performed or is disabled, the monitoring location remains in the existing sub-band. This portion is relied upon as the predictable operation of Shen's enabled/disabled hopping framework rather than as verbatim disclosure of the entire claim clause. Shen Figs. 4-6; ¶¶[0044]-[0061].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Sarkis's frequency-domain PDCCH repetition arrangement according to Shen's known sub-band CORESET/PDCCH hopping arrangement. Sarkis already teaches an earlier PDCCH, an assigned PDSCH, a later PDCCH repetition received after the PDSCH, and different CORESETs using different frequency resources. Shen teaches organizing PDCCH/CORESET resources as sub-bands of a wider system bandwidth and retuning between those sub-bands for reduced-bandwidth UE operation. The modification would have permitted Sarkis's repeated control channel to be monitored in the sub-band in which the reduced-bandwidth receiver is presently operating, thereby supporting control-channel reliability without requiring simultaneous reception of the entire system bandwidth. The combination would predictably result in receipt of the later PDCCH repetition in the second sub-band after switching and continued receipt in the first sub-band when the switching operation is Accordingly not performed. Sarkis ¶¶[0047], [0063], [0073]; Shen Abstract, Fig. 4,¶¶[0044]-[0050]., claim 1 would have been obvious over Sarkis in view of Shen.
Regarding claim 3, Sarkis in view of Shen discloses the terminal of claim 1. Sarkis further discloses that the UE monitors PDCCH repetitions in respective CORESETs, that the CORESETs and associated search spaces may be configured or reconfigured using RRC signaling, and that the UE may determine the number and manner of PDCCH repetitions based on the CORESET or search space monitored for the PDCCH. Sarkis ¶¶[0043]–[0045], [0052], [0055]–[0056].
Sarkis does not expressly disclose:
“the control circuitry, in operation, determines a configuration of the second frequency resource based on a resource configuration associated with a bandwidth part allocated to the terminal.”
Shen discloses a reduced-bandwidth UE operating within an active bandwidth part and receiving CORESET/PDCCH transmissions in sub-bands that are subsets of the active bandwidth part. Shen further discloses determining the sub-band locations and frequency-hopping pattern based on the active bandwidth-part size and the configured sub-band arrangement. (Shen ¶¶[0035]–[0043], Figs. 2–4.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine Sarkis’s second CORESET frequency resource using Shen’s bandwidth-part and sub-band resource configuration because Sarkis already determines PDCCH monitoring resources from configured CORESETs and search spaces, and Shen teaches defining the available PDCCH sub-band locations within the active bandwidth part allocated to the UE. The modification would predictably permit a reduced-bandwidth UE to monitor Sarkis’s repeated PDCCH in a frequency resource selected from the UE’s allocated bandwidth-part configuration. Accordingly, claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Sarkis in view of Shen.
Regarding claim 4, Sarkis in view of Shen discloses the terminal of claim 1. Sarkis further discloses monitoring different PDCCH repetitions in different CORESETs, including CORESETs configured using different frequency resources and different PRBs. (Sarkis ¶[0073]; Embodiments 16 and 18).
Sarkis does not expressly disclose:
“the control circuitry, in operation, determines a configuration of the second frequency resource based on a configuration of the first frequency resource.”
Shen discloses configuring a frequency-hopping pattern across a set of sub-bands and determining each subsequent CORESET/PDCCH sub-band location relative to the configured sub-band arrangement and the preceding or initial sub-band location. Shen’s Figures 3–6 illustrate movement from an initial sub-band to another sub-band according to the configured hopping pattern and RF-retuning operation. ( Shen ¶¶[0042]–[0061], Figs. 3–6.)
It would have been obvious to determine Sarkis’s second CORESET frequency resource based on the configuration of the first CORESET frequency resource by applying Shen’s known relative sub-band hopping arrangement. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized that selecting the second frequency location relative to the configured first frequency location provides a predictable mechanism for coordinating PDCCH repetitions across frequency while allowing the UE to determine where to retune and monitor the subsequent repetition. Accordingly, claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Sarkis in view of Shen.
Regarding claim 8, Sarkis discloses the following limitations: "A base station, comprising:"
Sarkis discloses a base station having a processing system, processor, transceiver, and circuitry for
determining a number of PDCCH repetitions and transmitting the PDCCH based on the determined number. (Sarkis ¶¶[0012], [0053]-[0054]; Figs. 5, 13, and 14). "control circuitry, which, in operation, configures a frequency resource for a certain control signal received by a terminal after the terminal receives a data signal assigned by a first control signal in a first frequency resource," Sarkis teaches a base station configuring and transmitting multiple PDCCH repetitions that schedule the same PDSCH and have the same DCI payload and/or grant for the same data-channel allocation. The partially
non-causal example places a later PDCCH repetition after the scheduled PDSCH. Sarkis ¶¶[0035], [0047],
[0054], [0063]; Fig. 7."to be a second frequency resource including a frequency resource different from the first frequency resource, the certain control signal being referred to as a second control signal; and"
Sarkis discloses transmitting different PDCCH repetitions in different CORESETs and expressly teaches
different CORESETs using the same time resources and different frequency resources. (Sarkis Embodiments 45 and 49).
"transmission circuitry, which, in operation, transmits the second control signal in the second frequency
resource,"
Sarkis discloses circuitry and a transceiver configured to transmit the PDCCH based on the determined
number of repetitions and to transmit different repetitions in different CORESETs occupying different
frequency resources. (Sarkis ¶[0054]; Fig. 13; Embodiments 45 and 49).
"wherein the control circuitry, in operation, configures the second frequency resource to include a
frequency resource within a third frequency resource for the data signal assigned by the first control
signal,"
Sarkis does not expressly disclose this complete limitation. Sarkis teaches repeated PDCCHs carrying grants for the same PDSCH allocation and teaches different frequency-domain CORESETs, but does not expressly disclose the complete claimed inclusion relationship between the second frequency resource and the third frequency resource occupied by the assigned PDSCH. (Sarkis ¶[0047]; Embodiment 49).
"the control circuitry, in operation, configures the second frequency resource in both of a first sub-band
corresponding to the first frequency resource and a second sub-band corresponding to the third
frequency resource," Sarkis does not expressly disclose this complete limitation. Sarkis does not expressly disclose this complete correspondence. (Sarkis Embodiments 45 and 49).
"the control circuitry, in operation, determines to transmit the second control signal in the second
sub-band when a frequency switching from the first sub-band to the second sub-band is performed, and
determines to transmit the second control signal in the first sub-band when frequency switching is not
performed."
Sarkis does not expressly disclose this complete limitation. Sarkis does not expressly disclose selecting the sub-band for transmission of the later PDCCH repetition based on whether the terminal performs frequency switching. (Sarkis ¶[0063]; Embodiment 49).
Shen discloses corresponding base-station transmission of CORESET/PDCCH transmissions following a frequency-hopping pattern across a set of sub-bands, with the transmission location corresponding to the active sub-band monitored by the UE. Shen's Figure 4 depicts monitoring before and after RF retuning and therefore teaches the corresponding transmission in the first sub-band before the hop and in the second subband after the hop. (Shen Fig. 4; ¶¶[0044]-[0050]; claims 11-12 and 19-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sarkis's BS-side repetition arrangement according to Shen so that the
base station transmits the later PDCCH repetition in the sub-band presently monitored by the reduced bandwidth terminal. This would provide predictable control-channel availability before and after the
terminal's RF retuning operation. Sarkis ¶[0054], Embodiments 45 and 49; Shen Abstract, Fig. 4.
Accordingly, claim 8 would have been obvious over Sarkis in view of Shen.
Regarding claim 9, Sarkis discloses the following limitations: "A communication method, comprising:" Sarkis discloses UE-side wireless communication operations for determining a number of PDCCH repetitions and monitoring the repetitions.( Sarkis ¶¶[0008], [0050]-[0052]; Fig. 4).
"configuring, by a terminal, a reception frequency resource for a certain control signal received after
receiving a data signal assigned by first control signal in a first frequency resource by the terminal,"
Sarkis teaches multiple PDCCH repetitions scheduling the same PDSCH and expressly teaches a later
PDCCH repetition received after the PDSCH scheduled by the repetitions. (Sarkis ¶¶[0061], [0063]; Fig. 7;claim 9).
"to be a second frequency resource including a frequency resource different from the first frequency
resource, the certain control signal being referred to as a second control signal; and"
Sarkis teaches monitoring different PDCCH repetitions in different CORESETs using different frequency
resources. (Sarkis ¶[0073]; Embodiments 16 and 18; claims 16 and 18).
"receiving, by the terminal, the second control signal in the second frequency resource, wherein"
Sarkis teaches monitoring each PDCCH repetition in a CORESET, including different repetitions in
CORESETs occupying different frequency resources. (Sarkis ¶[0052]; Embodiments 16 and 18).
"the second frequency resource is configured to include a frequency resource within a third frequency
resource for the data signal assigned by the first control signal," Sarkis does not expressly disclose this complete limitation. Sarkis teaches that repeated PDCCHs point to the
same PDSCH allocation and may occupy different frequency-domain CORESETs, but does not expressly
disclose the claimed inclusion relationship. (Sarkis ¶[0047]; Embodiment 18).
"the second frequency resource is configured in both of a first sub-band corresponding to the first
frequency resource and a second sub-band corresponding to the third frequency resource,"
Sarkis does not expressly disclose this complete limitation. Sarkis does not expressly disclose this complete sub-band correspondence. (Sarkis ¶[0073]; Embodiment 18).
"the method includes determining, by the terminal, to receive the second control signal in the second
sub-band when a frequency switching from the first sub-band to the second sub-band is performed, and
determining, by the terminal, to receive the second control signal in the first sub- band when frequency
switching is not performed."
Sarkis does not expressly disclose this complete limitation. Sarkis does not expressly disclose this
switching-dependent selection rule. (Sarkis ¶[0063]).
Shen discloses a UE determining a sub-band location for CORESET/PDCCH transmissions and receiving
those transmissions according to a frequency-hopping pattern across first and second sub-bands. Shen further illustrates monitoring in a first sub-band, RF retuning, and subsequent monitoring in a second sub- band. (Shen Figs. 4 and 8; ¶¶[0044]-[0050]; claim 1). For the reasons stated for claim 1, it would have been obvious to apply Shen's sub-band monitoring arrangement to Sarkis's UE-side PDCCH repetition method, thereby receiving the later repetition in the sub- band corresponding to the receiver's switched or unswitched state.(Sarkis ¶[0063], Embodiment 18; Shen Fig. 4).
Accordingly, claim 9 would have been obvious over Sarkis in view of Shen.
Regarding claim 10, Sarkis discloses the following limitations:
"A communication method, comprising:" Sarkis discloses BS-side wireless communication operations for determining a number of PDCCH repetitions and transmitting the PDCCH based on the determined number. (Sarkis ¶¶[0012], [0053]-[0054]; Fig. 5).
"configuring, by a base station, a frequency resource for a certain control signal received by a terminal
after the terminal receives a data signal assigned by a first control signal in a first frequency resource,"
Sarkis teaches a base station transmitting PDCCH repetitions that schedule the same PDSCH and a later
PDCCH repetition transmitted after the scheduled PDSCH. (Sarkis ¶¶[0047], [0063]; Fig. 7).
"to be a second frequency resource including a frequency resource different from the first frequency
resource, the certain control signal being referred to as a second control signal; and"
Sarkis teaches transmitting different PDCCH repetitions in different CORESETs using different frequency
resources. (Sarkis Embodiments 45 and 49).
"transmitting, by the base station, the second control signal in the second frequency resource, wherein"
Sarkis teaches that the base station transmits the PDCCH based on the determined number of repetitions and may transmit different repetitions in different frequency-domain CORESETs. (Sarkis ¶[0054]; Embodiments 45 and 49).
"the second frequency resource is configured to include a frequency resource within a third frequency
resource for the data signal assigned by the first control signal,"
Sarkis does not expressly disclose this complete limitation. Sarkis teaches repeated PDCCHs pointing to the same PDSCH allocation and different CORESETs occupying different frequency resources, but does not expressly disclose the complete claimed inclusion relationship. (Sarkis ¶[0047]; Embodiment 49).
"the second frequency resource is configured in both of a first sub-band corresponding to the first
frequency resource and a second sub-band corresponding to the third frequency resource,"
Sarkis does not expressly disclose this complete limitation. Sarkis does not expressly disclose this complete sub-band correspondence. (Sarkis Embodiment 49).
"the method includes determining, by the base station, to transmit the second control signal in the
second sub-band when a frequency switching from the first sub-band to the second sub-band is
performed, and determining, by the base station, to transmit the second control signal in the first
sub-band when frequency switching is not performed."
Sarkis does not expressly disclose this complete limitation. Sarkis does not expressly disclose this
switching-dependent transmission rule. (Sarkis ¶[0063]; Embodiment 49).
Shen discloses the corresponding base-station method of transmitting CORESET/PDCCH transmissions
according to a frequency-hopping pattern across multiple sub-bands. The UE monitoring depicted before and after RF retuning requires corresponding base-station transmission in the respective first and second subbands.(Shen Fig. 4; ¶¶[0044]-[0050]; claims 11-12 and 19-20). For the reasons stated for claims 1 and 8, itwould have been obvious to modify Sarkis's BS-side method according to Shen's sub-band CORESET/PDCCH hopping arrangement so that the later control transmission occurs in the sub-band presently monitored by the terminal. Sarkis ¶[0054], Embodiment 49; Shen Fig. 4.
Accordingly, claim 10 would have been obvious over Sarkis in view of Shen.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarkis and Shen in view of Lu (US 2020/0037245 A1, hereinafter Lu).
Regarding claim 7, Sarkis in view of Shen discloses the terminal according to claim 1. Sarkis discloses PDCCH repetitions associated with a scheduled PDSCH, including partially non-causal operation in which a later PDCCH repetition may be received after the scheduled PDSCH, and further discloses monitoring different PDCCH repetitions in different CORESET frequency resources. (Sarkis ¶¶[0061]–[0063], [0073], Embodiments 16 and 18).
Sarkis and Shen do not expressly disclose:
“wherein the control circuitry, in operation, determines, when reception timing of the data signal assigned by the first control signal and reception timing of the second control signal are the same, to switch a reception frequency from the first frequency resource to either one of the second frequency resource and a third frequency resource to which the data signal is assigned, based on at least one of a signal type and/or a process on a signal.”
Lu discloses that a UE monitoring PDCCH may receive or buffer downlink symbols for a potential PDSCH before completing reception and decoding of the corresponding DCI, particularly where the gap is insufficient to complete DCI decoding. Lu ¶[0326].
Lu further discloses that, before completion of DCI decoding, the UE may receive over a bandwidth smaller than the active bandwidth part, such as a bandwidth similar to or the same as the bandwidth of the monitored CORESET. Lu ¶[0327].
Lu discloses determining a specific symbol based on the time required for the UE to finish reception and/or decoding of the DCI or the time required for the UE to prepare for reception of the PDSCH. Lu further discloses that the UE may need to adjust its reception bandwidth from the smaller bandwidth of the monitored CORESET to the larger bandwidth of the active bandwidth part. Lu ¶[0328].
Lu further discloses that the gNB informs the UE whether the frequency-domain resource allocation of the PDSCH is restricted to a portion of the active bandwidth part depending on the first symbol of the PDSCH. The restricted portion may correspond to the bandwidth, frequency resources, or physical resource blocks of the CORESET monitored by the UE. Lu ¶[0340].
Lu discloses that when the first symbol of the PDSCH is earlier than a specific symbol, the frequency-domain resource allocation may be restricted to a portion of the active bandwidth part, whereas when the first symbol is later than the specific symbol, the frequency-domain allocation may extend over the entire active bandwidth part. The specific symbol may be determined according to the time required for the UE to finish reception and/or decoding of the DCI or to prepare for reception of the PDSCH. Lu ¶[0341].
Lu further discloses adjusting the reception bandwidth from a smaller bandwidth, such as the bandwidth of the monitored CORESET, to a larger bandwidth, such as the active bandwidth part, based on completion of DCI reception and decoding and readiness for PDSCH reception. Lu ¶[0342].
Lu discloses that an early PDSCH may be received only within the restricted portion of the active bandwidth part before the UE decodes the corresponding DCI, whereas a PDSCH allocated outside the restricted portion starts later, thereby allowing the UE to prepare for PDSCH reception and adjust its reception bandwidth. Lu ¶¶[0343]–[0345].
Lu further discloses that the restricted bandwidth may be determined based on the CORESET monitored by the UE, the resource allocation of a previous PDSCH, or the frequency allocation of the current active downlink bandwidth part. Lu ¶[0347].
Lu discloses that when the frequency restriction is enabled, the next PDSCH is transmitted only within the frequency range of the monitored CORESET, such that the UE receives potential PDSCH only within the CORESET range and does not monitor the complete active bandwidth part. When the restriction is disabled, the PDSCH may be allocated outside the CORESET frequency range, such that the UE monitors the complete active bandwidth part. Lu ¶[0350], Fig. 16.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further modify the terminal of Sarkis in view of Shen according to Lu so that the terminal selects or switches its reception frequency between the frequency resource associated with control-channel monitoring and the frequency resource associated with the scheduled data signal based on the processing required to receive and decode the control information and prepare for reception of the data signal. Such a modification would have reduced the bandwidth monitored before completion of DCI decoding and thereby reduced UE power consumption. Lu ¶¶[0327]–[0328], [0340]–[0345], [0350].
Conclusion
/ANGEL T BROCKMAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2412