DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6-22-2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wintermantel, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0194115, published June 24, 2021 in view of Holyoak, et. al., U.S. Patent Number 11,251,525 filed June 11, 2019.
As per claim 1, Wintermantel discloses an electronic device comprising:
a plurality of transmission antennas each configured to transmit a transmission wave; a plurality of reception antennas each configured to receive a reflected wave that is the transmission wave having been reflected (Wintermantel, ¶27);
and an electronic component configured to output respective transmission signals to the plurality of transmission antennas and receive respective reception signals from the plurality of reception antennas (Wintermantel, ¶27-28),
wherein the electronic component has a first edge where a plurality of transmission terminals each configured to output a respective one of the transmission signals to a respective one of the plurality of transmission antennas is arranged, and a second edge where a plurality of reception terminals each configured to receive a respective one of the reception signals from a respective one of the plurality of reception antennas is arranged, and at least one of the first edge or the second edge is located relative to at least one of a direction in which respective feeding points of the plurality of transmission antennas are arranged or a direction in which respective feeding points of the plurality of reception antennas are arranged (Wintermantel, Fig. 1).
Wintermantel fails to expressly disclose an oblique relationship between the chip edge and the antenna edges.
Holyoak teaches oblique chip placement relative to antennas (Fig. 2, and Col. 4, lines 14-30).
Wintermantel discusses the importance of path length, reducing loss and footprint therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the oblique position of Holyoak in order to gain the benefit of achieving a reduced path length.
As per claim 2, Wintermantel as modified by Holyoak discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the respective feeding points of the plurality of transmission antennas are each connected to a respective one of the plurality of transmission terminals by a transmission line, and the respective feeding points of the plurality of reception antennas are each connected to a respective one of the plurality of reception terminals by a transmission line (Wintermantel, ¶28).
As per claims 3 and 4, Wintermantel as modified by Holyoak further discloses the device of claim 2 but fails to expressly disclose the transmission line being the shortest path.
Wintermantel discusses various path lengths (¶47) and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the length limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As per claims 5-9, Wintermantel as modified by Holyoak further discloses the device according to claim 2 including adjusting phases as desired (Wintermantel, ¶39).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use the various phase adjustments, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by Wintermantel in providing for the correct phase shift at each antenna element.
As per claim 10, Wintermantel as modified by Holyoak further discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the direction in which the respective feeding points of the plurality of transmission antennas are arranged and the direction in which the respective feeding points of the plurality of reception antennas are arranged are parallel to each other (Wintermantel, Fig. 1).
As per claim 11, Wintermantel as modified by Holyoak further discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the first edge and the second edge of the electronic component are not parallel to each other (Wintermantel, Fig. 1).
As per claim 12, Wintermantel as modified by Holyoak further discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of transmission antennas and the plurality of reception antennas are disposed on a surface on an identical side to a surface on which the electronic component is disposed (Wintermantel, Fig. 1).
As per claim 13, Wintermantel and modified by Holyoak further discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of transmission antennas and the plurality of reception antennas are disposed on a surface on an opposite side to a surface on which the electronic component is disposed (Wintermantel, ¶29 using multiple layers).
As per claim 14, Wintermantel as modified by Holyoak further discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the electronic device is configured to detect an object that reflects the transmission wave, based on the transmission signals each transmitted as the transmission wave and the reception signals each received as the reflected wave (Wintermantel, ¶12).
As per claim 15, Wintermantel as modified by Holyoak further discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the first edge and the second edge are located obliquely relative to a direction in which respective feeding points of the plurality of transmission antennas are arranged and a direction in which respective feeding points of the plurality of reception antennas are arranged (Lee, Fig. 6 where both RX2 and TX2 feed lines are oblique to their respective edges and Holyoak, Fig. 2).
As per claim 16, Wintermantel as modified by Holyoak further discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein a corner at which the first edge and the second edge meet is between feeding points of the plurality of transmission antennas and the feeding points of the plurality of reception antennas along a direction in which respective feeding points of the plurality of transmission antennas arranged and along the direction in which respective feeding points of the plurality of reception antennas are arranged (Holyoak, Fig. 2 and Col. 4, lines 14-50).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646