DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12-29-2025 have been fully considered.
With respect to applicant’s arguments that Wintermantel doesn’t disclose the advantages discussed with the oblique sides, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Wintermantel discusses the advantages of path length (¶39) as well as providing for a smaller footprint and reducing signal loss (¶28-29). During the interview, a shorter path length was discussed as perhaps providing a shorter delay in signal propagation and eventually vehicle response time however applicant has not provided any evidence that the oblique lines in Fig. 5 and 6 of the application provide a better time. In addition, the length of feed lines alone does not dictate overall response speed. The examiner sees no patentably distinct difference between the feed line angles of the application and the feed line angles of Wintermantel.
With respect to the amended claims, please see below.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wintermantel, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0194115, published June 24, 2021 in view of Lee, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0072956, published March 5, 2020.
As per claim 1, Wintermantel discloses an electronic device comprising:
a plurality of transmission antennas each configured to transmit a transmission wave; a plurality of reception antennas each configured to receive a reflected wave that is the transmission wave having been reflected (Wintermantel, ¶27);
and an electronic component configured to output respective transmission signals to the plurality of transmission antennas and receive respective reception signals from the plurality of reception antennas (Wintermantel, ¶27-28),
wherein the electronic component has a first edge where a plurality of transmission terminals each configured to output a respective one of the transmission signals to a respective one of the plurality of transmission antennas is arranged, and a second edge where a plurality of reception terminals each configured to receive a respective one of the reception signals from a respective one of the plurality of reception antennas is arranged, and at least one of the first edge or the second edge is located relative to at least one of a direction in which respective feeding points of the plurality of transmission antennas are arranged or a direction in which respective feeding points of the plurality of reception antennas are arranged (Wintermantel, Fig. 1).
Wintermantel fails to expressly disclose an oblique relationship between the edge and the feed point.
Lee teaches oblique feed lines off a chip (Fig. 6, TX2 and RX2).
Wintermantel discusses the importance of path length, reducing loss and footprint therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the oblique lines of Lee in order to gain the benefit of achieving a desired phase shift as discussed by Lee (¶35).
As per claim 2, Wintermantel as modified by Lee discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the respective feeding points of the plurality of transmission antennas are each connected to a respective one of the plurality of transmission terminals by a transmission line, and the respective feeding points of the plurality of reception antennas are each connected to a respective one of the plurality of reception terminals by a transmission line (Wintermantel, ¶28).
As per claims 3 and 4, Wintermantel as modified by Lee further discloses the device of claim 2 but fails to expressly disclose the transmission line being the shortest path.
Wintermantel discusses various path lengths (¶47) and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the length limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As per claims 5-9, Wintermantel as modified by Lee further discloses the device according to claim 2 including adjusting phases as desired (¶38).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use the various phase adjustments, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by Wintermantel in providing for the correct phase shift at each antenna element.
As per claim 10, Wintermantel as modified by Lee further discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the direction in which the respective feeding points of the plurality of transmission antennas are arranged and the direction in which the respective feeding points of the plurality of reception antennas are arranged are parallel to each other (Wintermantel, Fig. 1).
As per claim 11, Wintermantel as modified by Lee further discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the first edge and the second edge of the electronic component are not parallel to each other (Wintermantel, Fig. 1).
As per claim 12, Wintermantel as modified by Lee further discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of transmission antennas and the plurality of reception antennas are disposed on a surface on an identical side to a surface on which the electronic component is disposed (Wintermantel, Fig. 1).
As per claim 13, Wintermantel and modified by Lee further discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of transmission antennas and the plurality of reception antennas are disposed on a surface on an opposite side to a surface on which the electronic component is disposed (Wintermantel, ¶29 using multiple layers).
As per claim 14, Wintermantel as modified by Lee further discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the electronic device is configured to detect an object that reflects the transmission wave, based on the transmission signals each transmitted as the transmission wave and the reception signals each received as the reflected wave (Wintermantel, ¶12).
As per claim 15, Wintermantel as modified by Lee further discloses the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the first edge and the second edge are located obliquely relative to a direction in which respective feeding points of the plurality of transmission antennas are arranged and a direction in which respective feeding points of the plurality of reception antennas are arranged (Lee, Fig. 6 where both RX2 and TX2 feed lines are oblique to their respective edges).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646