Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 41, 51 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 41 includes “the fiber optic wire” in line 4 which lacks antecedent basis noting there is only an earlier recitation of a fiber optic cable. For purposes of claim interpretation, “fiber optic wire” is being treated as though it reads “fiber optic cable”.
Claim 51 recites “the imaging” in line 2 which lacks antecedent basis. As best understood, it appears that claim 51 should depend from claim 50 (which introduces a step of imaging) and is being thus treated for purposes of claim interpretation.
Claim 52 includes “wherein flushing the segment of the blood vessel in proximity to the tubular housing with the fluid further comprises…” which is unclear as there is no previous step of “flushing the segment of the blood vessel in proximity to the tubular housing with the fluid”. For purposes of claim interpretation, “wherein flushing the segment of the blood vessel in proximity to the tubular housing with the fluid further comprises…” is being treated as though it reads ‘wherein flushing the field comprises…” in view of lines 12-13 of claim 48.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 37-40, 46-48, 52 and 59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gifford, III et al. (US 5,071,425; “Gifford”) in view of Honda et al. (US 5,152,277). Regarding claim 37, Gifford discloses an atherectomy device for removing atherosclerotic material within a blood vessel comprising a tubular housing (96) coupled to or extending from a distal end of a catheter (82) (see col. 4, ll. 52-55), wherein the tubular housing comprises a housing lumen configured to be in fluid communication with a catheter lumen of the catheter, a cutting window (100) defined along a portion of the tubular housing, and a rotatable cutter (98) configured to debulk atherosclerotic material extending into the cutting window, a collection chamber (106; fig. 3) coupled to the tubular housing, wherein the collection chamber is configured to collect the atherosclerotic material debulked by the cutter (col. 5, ll. 62-68), and an inflatable balloon (102) coupled to an exterior side of the tubular housing (see figs. 1, 3), the balloon comprising a balloon lumen (space inside balloon). Gifford fails to disclose that the balloon lumen is in fluid communication with the housing lumen such that fluid introduced into the housing lumen via the catheter lumen clears a field in proximity to the cutting window and inflates the inflatable balloon. Instead, Gifford discloses a dedicated inflation channel for inflating the balloon, which is not in fluid communication with the housing lumen.
Honda discloses another catheter comprising a single, multi-purpose lumen (4c; fig. 9) and a balloon (3c) near the distal end of the catheter. Fluid introduced into the lumen (4c) clears a field in proximity to an opening at the distal end of the catheter (see fig. 11; col. 11, ll. 46-65). Honda discloses that the catheter may have an opening (5c) that allows this same fluid to also serves as the balloon inflating liquid (col. 11, ll. 9-40). In this manner, the catheter tube can be reduced in diameter because the number of necessary lumens is reduced (col. 11, ll. 35-40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the prior art of Gifford to remove the dedicated inflation channel and place the balloon lumen in fluid communication with the housing lumen and catheter lumen via an aperture in view of the teachings of Honda in order to reduce the diameter of the catheter.
Regarding claim 48, Gifford discloses a method of debulking atherosclerotic material within a blood vessel, comprising: introducing a tubular housing (96) of an atherectomy device into the blood vessel and into proximity to the atherosclerotic material (col. 1, ll. 27-50), wherein the tubular housing is coupled to or extending from a distal end of a catheter (82), and wherein the tubular housing comprises: a housing lumen (see fig. 5) configured to be in fluid communication with a catheter lumen of the catheter, a cutting window (100; fig. 3) defined along a portion of the tubular housing, and a rotatable cutter (98); inflating a balloon (102) coupled to an exterior side of the tubular housing (col. 1, ll. 35-36) and flushing a field in proximity to the tubular housing with the fluid introduced into the housing lumen (via flush port 20 and annular lumen 91; col. 5, ll. 15-22). Gifford does not expressly disclose inflating the balloon using a fluid introduced into the housing lumen via the catheter lumen, wherein a balloon lumen of the balloon is in fluid communication with the housing lumen.
Honda discloses another catheter comprising a single, multi-purpose lumen (4c; fig. 9) and a balloon (3c) near the distal end of the catheter. Flushing fluid introduced into the lumen (4c) clears a field in proximity to an opening at the distal end of the catheter. Honda discloses that the catheter may have an opening (5c) that allows this same fluid to also serves as the balloon inflating liquid. In this manner, the catheter tube can be reduced in diameter because the number of necessary lumens is reduced. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the prior art of Gifford to remove the dedicated inflation channel and place the balloon lumen in fluid communication with the housing lumen via an aperture in view of the teachings of Honda in order to reduce the diameter of the catheter. With such a modification, it would have been obvious to inflate the balloon of Gifford using the fluid introduced into the housing lumen via the catheter lumen (i.e., via flush port 20) since this fluid serves as both the flushing fluid and inflation fluid as taught by Honda.
Regarding claims 38 and 52, the tubular housing further comprises a dorsal side (side with balloon) and a ventral side (side with cutting window) opposite the dorsal side. The tubular housing has an opening as taught by Honda (see 5c in fig. 9 of Honda) to allow fluid to flow from the housing lumen into the balloon lumen. Honda discloses that there should be at least one side aperture per balloon and thus makes obvious the use of multiple apertures connecting the tubular housing lumen with the balloon lumen, which are considered the claimed “housing port openings” (col. 11, ll. 10-23). As understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, it would have been obvious to position the housing port openings on the side of the housing over which the balloon is disposed (i.e., the dorsal side) since they serve to pass inflation fluid into the balloon. Since the step of flushing also results in inflation of the balloon as taught by Honda, the step of flushing further directs the fluid through the plurality of housing port openings (and into the balloon).
Regarding claim 39, the fluid may a saline solution (col. 10, ll. 46-52 of Honda).
Regarding claim 40, it is noted that the fluid is not part of the claimed atherectomy device. Because heparinized saline can be introduced into the housing lumen via the catheter lumen, the prior art of Gifford in view of Honda meets this limitation.
Regarding claims 46 and 59, the rotatable cutting is coupled to the drive shaft (94) extending through the catheter and the tubular housing, wherein the rotatable cutter is translatable longitudinally within the housing lumen via the drive shaft (col. 5, ll. 30-47 of Gifford).
Regarding claim 47, the balloon and tubular housing are configured to substantially restrict fluid flow through the blood vessel when the balloon is inflated in the same manner as the device of the instant application (i.e., by blocking a portion of the blood vessel).
Claim(s) 42-43 and 55-56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gifford in view of Honda as applied to claims 37 and 48 above, and further in view of Muni et al. (US 2008/0015540). Gifford in view of Honda discloses the invention substantially as stated above including apertures that allow fluid to flow into the balloon lumen from the tubular housing lumen, but fails to expressly disclose a valve as claimed.
Muni discloses another catheter (figs. 1a-1c) having a balloon (14) disposed on a distal end thereof, the balloon lumen being in fluid communication with a central lumen of the catheter via an aperture (28) formed in the central lumen. Muni discloses a one-way valve (26) that prevents backflow from the balloon into the central lumen (13) by only allowing fluid flow into the balloon lumen (see [0096]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the prior art of Gifford in view of Honda to include a one-way valve as taught by Muni in order to ensure that the balloon remains inflated by preventing backflow from the balloon into the central lumen ([0022]). Additionally, all the claimed elements were known in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have merely yielded predictable results.
Claim(s) 42, 44, 55, and 57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gifford in view of Honda as applied to claims 37 and 48 above, and further in view of Jackson (US 3,565,079). Gifford in view of Honda discloses the invention substantially as stated above including an aperture (see 5c in figs. 9 and 11 of Honda) that allow fluid to flow into the balloon lumen from the tubular housing lumen, but fails to expressly disclose a valve as claimed.
Jackson discloses another catheter having a balloon disposed on a distal end thereof, the balloon lumen being in fluid communication with a central lumen of the catheter such that flushing fluid delivered out the distal end of the catheter also serves to inflate the balloon. Jackson discloses a bi-directional valve (sheet 46 and slit 44) that prevents over and under-inflation of the balloon (col. 3, ll. 10-15). The valve permits inflation of the balloon until pressure in the balloon equalizes pressure inside the central lumen of the catheter and no further inflation fluid will pass therein (col. 3, ll. 20-40). When the pressure inside the tube drops, inflation fluid will slowly exit from the inflatable balloon through the valve. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the prior art of Gifford in view of Honda to include a bidirectional valve as taught by Jackson that allows controlled flow into and out of the balloon lumen in order to prevent over and under-inflation of the balloon. Additionally, all the claimed elements were known in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have merely yielded predictable results.
Claim(s) 41, 50 and 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gifford in view of Honda as applied to claim 48 above, and further in view of Maschke (US 2010/0241147). Gifford in view of Honda discloses the invention substantially as stated above.
Honda further teaches that an imaging catheter (bundle 7a may be coated in Teflon, which is considered to form the catheter; col.6, ll. 3-15) and a fiber optic wire/cable (7a) extending at least partially through the imaging catheter, wherein the fiber optic wire/cable is configured to image the blood vessel and material surrounding the tubular housing (as understood in view of col. 5, ll. 58-col. 6, ll. 2). Honda teaches flushing the field in proximity to the distal end of the fiber optic wire in order to clear a visual field. Gifford discloses flushing the field in proximity to the tubular housing. It would have been obvious to perform the imaging after flushing with the fluid in order to ensure a clearer view as taught by Honda. Honda does not expressly disclose imaging through optical coherence tomography (OCT).
Maschke discloses another atherectomy catheter and further discloses that the device may comprise optical fibers configured to transmit light to an analysis apparatus where the interference of the reflected light with the reference light is analyzed in order to generate an image based on optical coherence tomography ([0025]). According to Maschke, OCT imaging delivers high-resolution images which comparatively accurately reproduce in particular the structures close to the vessel surface ([0025]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the prior art of Gifford and Honda to configure the fiber optic wire bundle to transmit an optical coherence tomography signal, and to include the step of imaging the blood vessel and atherosclerotic material through optical coherence tomography in order to deliver high-resolution images of structures close to the vessel surface as taught by Maschke.
Claim(s) 45 and 58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gifford in view of Honda as applied to claims 37 and 48 above, and further in view of Wolinsky et al. (US 5,087,244). Gifford in view of Honda discloses the invention substantially as stated above including a balloon, but fails to disclose that the balloon further comprises one or more weep holes configured to seep fluid out of the balloon lumen.
Wolinsky discloses a catheter device having a balloon (16; figs. 1-2) on a distal end thereof, wherein the balloon includes weep holes (29) configured to seep fluid out of the balloon lumen in order to allow targeted delivery of a high concentration of medication to tissue adjacent the balloon (see abstract; col. 4, ll. 1-33). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the prior art of Gifford to include weep holes in the balloon configured to seep fluid out of the balloon lumen as taught by Wolinsky in order to facilitate drug delivery to tissue adjacent the balloon.
Conclusion
KSH 5/23/2025
/KATHLEEN S HOLWERDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771