DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: line, replace “resister” with --resistor--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takagi et al. (JP2002075714; translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Takagi teaches a resistor comprising a resistance body (rectangular plate resistor body; see at least fig. 4 and paragraph starting with “FIG. 4 shows” in the translation) and electrodes (20a) provided on the resistance body, wherein the resistance body has an upper surface, side surfaces, and a lower surface, the lower surface includes a mounting surface of the resister and is exposed (the electrodes are for mounting), and the lower surface has an oxide film on a surface thereof (oxide film 20 is removed at the electrode area, but cover the resistor area between the electrodes 20a; see fig. 4).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Takiga teaches a manufacturing method of a resistor, the resistor comprising a resistance body (rectangular plate resistor body; see at least fig. 4 and paragraph starting with “FIG. 4 shows” in the translation), having an upper surface, side surfaces, and a lower surface, the lower surface having a mounting surface of the resistor and being exposed (oxide film 20 is removed at the electrode area, but cover the resistor area between the electrodes 20a; see fig. 4), and the lower surface having an oxide film surface thereon, and electrodes provided on the resistance body, wherein the manufacturing method having a forming step of forming an oxide film on a surface of the resistance body by at least subjecting the resistance body to a heat treatment (high-temperature oxidizing atmosphere to form the oxide film).
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saito et al.
Regarding claim 1, Saito teaches a resistor comprising a resistance body (rectangular shaped body) and electrodes (electrode 5 and 7) provided on the resistance body, wherein the resistance body has an upper surface, side surfaces, and a lower surface, the lower surface includes a mounting surface of the resister and is exposed (mounting electrodes are exposed), and the lower surface has an oxide film on a surface thereof (oxide film pointed by reference number 3c in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Saito teaches the resistor according to claim 1, wherein
the resistance body is configured so as to contain a metal for the resistance body, and
the electrodes are configured so as to contain a metal having a lower specific resistance than
the resistance body (electrodes are Ag and resistance body is MnO; see at least col. 4, lines 56-68 and col. 5, lines 43-51).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Saito teaches the resistor according to claim 2, wherein
the metal for the resistance body contains manganese (manganese as a major component), and the oxide film of manganese is formed on the surface of the resistance body (see at least col. 4, lines 56-68, col. 5, lines 43-51 and col. 6, lines 15-28).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 7 and 10, the prior art does not teach or suggest a method for manufacturing the resistor, wherein the resistance body containing copper and manganese is subjected to the heat treatment in an atmosphere with an oxygen concentration of 30 ppm or lower at 400 °C or more and 800 °C or less, for 10 minutes or more and 300 minutes or less.
Claims 8-9 and 11 depend on claim 7.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYUNG S LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831