DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to Applicant’s response submitted 10 February 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 10-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2008/0205823 to Luther et al.
In regards to claims 1, 5 and 13, Luther recites a combination of a fiber optic ferrule and a fiber optic ferrule holder (Figures 1-8) comprising: a fiber optic ferrule (18) including a pair of guide pins (24) movable between a non-mating position and a mating position via a spring mechanism (20), the fiber optic ferrule (Figures 3 & 4) including a top cut-out (28) on a top portion and a bottom cut-out (28) on a bottom portion of the fiber optic ferrule [0027], each of the top cut-out and the bottom cut-out having with a ferrule stop surface (30) associated therewith; a ferrule holder (12 & 16 together) having a body with a first side, a second side opposite the first side, a top side, and a bottom side opposite the top side, a central opening in the body defined at least in part by the first side, the second side, the top side, and the bottom side; and a first holder extension (Figure 7; 14) extending longitudinally and forward of the first side and a second holder extension (Figure 7; 14) extending longitudinally and forward of the second side, each of the first holder extension and the second holder extension including a rear stop surface configured to engage a respective ferrule stop surface on the fiber optic ferrule. Luther further recites the ferrule holder includes a fiber slot through which a plurality of optical fibers are disposed within the central opening.
In regards to claim 6, Luther recites the plurality of optical fibers are in the form of an optical fiber ribbon.
In regards to claims 10 and 15, Luther recites each of the first holder extension and the second holder extensions further comprises a head portion having the rear stop surface, wherein the head portion of each the first holder extension and the second holder extension functions to align the fiber optic ferrule with a receptacle. (Figure 10)
In regards to claim 11, Luther recites the fiber optic ferrule includes a pair of guide-pin bores to longitudinally receive respective ones of the pair of guide pins, a front end of each guide pin in the pair of guide pins partially extending outward and away from an end face of the fiber optic ferrule in an unmated state of the fiber optic ferrule, and wherein the front end extends further outward from the end face in a mated state of the fiber optic ferrule inside the receptacle than in the unmated state of the fiber optic ferrule.
In regards to claim 12, Luther recites the spring mechanism is under a maximum compression when in the mated state and is under a partial compression in the unmated state, the partial compression being less than the maximum compression. (Figure 10)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2008/0205823 to Luther et al as applied to claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 4, although Luther does not expressly recite the fiber optic ferrules are miniature MT ferrules, forming optical ferrules in a smaller size, such as miniature MT ferrules would have been an obvious matter of design choice. Forming optical ferrules in a miniature size is advantageous in the optical art in order to provide a more compact device. Since a modification would have involved a mere change in size of the component and a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the fiber optic ferrules to be a miniature MT ferrule.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2008/0205823 to Luther et al as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0377138 to Wong et al.
In regards to claim 7, Luther recites a spring mechanism (20) is formed by a spring. But Luther fails to expressly recite the spring is formed around each of the guide pins, each of the springs being positioned rearward of the fiber optic ferrules. However, Wong teaches an optical fiber ferrule and ferrule combination having a dual springs having a main spring (106), similar to the spring disclosed by Luther, and an additional set of springs (Figure 8; 806a & 806b) formed around each guide pin (815a & 815b), each of the springs being positioned rearward of the fiber optic ferrule. Luther further recites the additional set of springs to provide further securement of the optical components and placing the set of springs around the guide pins reduces the rattling of the springs and therefore decrease connector failure during use. [0027] Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the spring is formed around each of the guide pins, each of the springs being positioned rearward of the fiber optic ferrules.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2008/0205823 to Luther et al as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2003/0175000 to Caracci et al.
In regards to claim 8, Luther fails to expressly recite the fiber optic ferrule has an end face that is angled polished. However, optical ferrules having an endface with an angle is well known in the optical art. This is further evidenced by Caracci. Caracci recites polishing the endface of an optical ferrule at an angle to reduce back reflection of light. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the fiber optic ferrule having an end face that is angled polished.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 9 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claims 2 and 14, the prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest a pair of guide pin stops within the central opening and engageable with a rear portion of the guide pins of the fiber optic ferrule in addition to the accompanying features of the independent claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 3, the prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest the spring mechanism is under greater compression when the rear stop surfaces of the holder extensions are forward of the ferrule stop surfaces on the fiber optic ferrule than when the rear stop surfaces of the holder extensions are engaged with the ferrule stop surfaces in addition to the accompanying features of the independent claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 9, the prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest the guide pins move relative to the fiber optic ferrule during insertion and removal of the fiber optic ferrule from a receptacle in addition to the accompanying features of the independent claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-8, 10-13 and 15 filed 10 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Luther fails to recite “a pair of guide pins movable between a mating and non-mating position via a spring mechanism.” However, the quoted limitation is only a portion of the claim language. The claim language recites “a fiber optic ferrule including a pair of guide pins movable between a non-mating position and a mating position via a spring mechanism.” The full claim limitation does not require the guide pins to perform the mating and non-mating functions. As the claim language reads, the fiber optic ferrule includes a pair of guide pins and the fiber optic ferrule is movable between the non-mating and mating position. Luther clearly teaches both of these limitations.
Applicant further argues Luther fails to teach “a ferrule holder that includes a fiber slot through which a plurality of optical fibers are dispersed within the central opening.” However, the Examiner disagrees. Luther clearly shows in Figure 5 a central slot in element 16, the fibers extend through the central slow, between elements 14 and into the ferrule.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TINA WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874