DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejections.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the line connecting end points of a portion of the easy-tear line defining the boundary of each flaring section forms a taper angle of 25 to 60 degrees with respect to the width direction, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the boundary". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites “25 to 60 degrees with respect to the width direction” – Examiner notes that multiple width directions have been claimed, it is unclear as to which the language is referring to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uno et al. (WO 2020004025 A1 – hereinafter Uno) in view of Hirose et al. (JP 2004208765 A – hereinafter Hirose).
Re Claim 1:
Uno discloses a packaged product comprising: a flexible packaging film (1) made of resin (see paragraph [0039]); and a bundle of sanitary tissue paper (3) packaged therewith, the packaged product having a dispenser-port-forming region (10) formed with an easy-tear line disposed in a loop in a top face of the product, wherein the dispenser-port-forming region (10) is shaped to have a narrowed section (12) extending in a width direction of the product in a middle of a depth direction of the product, flaring sections (initial portion of outer opening at 11) each continued from a corresponding end of the narrowed section (12) and gradually flaring with increasing distance from the narrowed section (12) outward in the width direction, and curved convex sections (following portion of outer opening at 11) each continued from a corresponding flaring section (initial portion of outer opening at 11) and bulging convexly outward in the width direction, and wherein a dimension in the width direction of the dispenser-port-forming region (10) is 70% or more a width of the top face of the bundle(see paragraphs [0038, 0048 and 0065]), a maximum dimension in the depth direction of the dispenser-port-forming region (10) is 10 to 40% a dimension in the depth direction of the top face of the bundle (see paragraphs [0038, 0048, and 0065] –Examiner notes that Uno teaches the package size similar to the bundle size, thus, given a particular bundle size between 80-130mm, then the maximum dimension in the depth direction would be achievable), a dimension in the width direction of the narrowed section (12) is 50 to 70% a length of the top face of the bundle (see paragraphs [0038, 0048, 0062, and 0065] – see Figs. 7a-7b) and a dimension in the depth direction of the narrowed section (12) is 0.5 to 10% a dimension in the depth direction of the top face of the bundle, (see paragraphs [0038, 0048, 0042, 0049, and 0065 – Examiner notes that (13) is at maximum 5mm, (12) is larger than (13), since the bundle can be 80-130mm, then greater than 5mm would be capable of achieving 0.5 to 10% a top since the top would range similar to the bundle). Furthermore, Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art is expected to routinely experiment with the parameters, especially when the specifics are not disclosed, so as to ascertain the optimum or workable ranges for a particular use, but fails to teach wherein an angle of the easy-tear line with respect to the width direction in each flaring section gradually increases outward in the width direction of the bundle, and a line connecting end points of a portion of the easy-tear line defining the boundary of each flaring section forms a taper angle of 25 to 60 degrees with respect to the width direction.
Hirose teaches wherein an angle of a line with respect to a width direction in each flaring section gradually increases outward in a width direction of a bundle, and a line connecting end points of a portion of the easy-tear line defining a boundary of each flaring section forms a taper angle of 25 to 60 degrees with respect to the width direction (see Examiner’s Drawing of Fig. 4) (see Figs. 1-12). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one or ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Uno with that of Hirose, so that when a product is taken out, it does not become caught on corners at the edge portions, thus, allowing the product to be taken out more smoothly. Examiner further notes that it would have been obvious, through routine experimentation and optimization, for one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify their invention to include the most optimum results and efficiency necessary for their particular invention since it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Examiner’s Drawing of Fig. 4
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uno in view of Hirose, and further in view Hirasawa et al. (US 2008/0257903 A1 – hereinafter Hirasawa).
Re Claim 2:
Uno in view of Hirose does not specifically disclose wherein a dimension in the depth direction of the curved convex sections (following portion of outer opening at 11) is 25 to 45 mm (10 to 20mm), and a dimension in the width direction of bulging of the curved convex sections is 2.5 to 12.5 mm (10 to 20mm) (see paragraphs [0038, 0048, 0062, and 0065] – see Figs. 7a-7b), however, it would have been obvious for one or ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, through routine experimentation and optimization, to modify their invention to include the most optimum results and efficiency necessary for their particular invention since it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, especially since Uno discloses changing sizes to fit a particular need. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Hirasawa further in view teaches wherein a dimension in the depth direction (W1) of the curved convex sections is 25 to 45 mm, and a dimension in the width (y) direction of bulging of the curved convex sections is 2.5 to 12.5 mm (see paragraph [0044-0045). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one or ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Uno in view of Hirose, with that of Hirasawa, to include the most optimum results and efficiency necessary for their particular invention since it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art through routine experimentation and optimization. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.L.R/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651