DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This office action is in response to the communication(s) filed on 09/03/2026.
Claim(s) 1-18, and 21-22 is/are currently presenting for examination.
Claim(s) 1 and 12 is/are independent claim(s).
Claim(s) 1-18, and 21-22 is/are rejected.
This action has been made NON-FINAL.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/04/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 10-14, 17-18, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US_20230354059_A1_Hong in view of US_20220182850_A1_Ramachandra.
Regarding claim 1, Hong discloses a transmission method performed by a terminal, comprising: reporting a first report to a network side in a case that one or more of a first service, a first slice, a first session, a first channel, a first request, and a first radio bearer satisfy a condition (Hong figure 2 steps S201 and S202),
but do not explicitly disclose wherein the condition comprises: a first condition and/or a second condition, the first condition comprises one or more of following: disconnection of the first service, disconnection, release, or re-mapping of the first slice, initiation failure of the first slice, a bit error rate of the first channel exceeding a preset threshold, failing to detect the first channel in a serving cell, an indicator parameter of the first slice, the first session, the first channel, or the first radio bearer being lower than a preset threshold; the second condition comprises one or more of following: recovery of the first service, recovery of the first slice, recovery of the first session, reconstruction of the first radio bearer.
Ramachandra from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the condition comprises: a first condition and/or a second condition, the first condition comprises one or more of following: disconnection of the first service, disconnection, release, or re-mapping of the first slice, initiation failure of the first slice, a bit error rate of the first channel exceeding a preset threshold, failing to detect the first channel in a serving cell, an indicator parameter of the first slice, the first session, the first channel, or the first radio bearer being lower than a preset threshold (Ramachandra paragraph 27, “Event A2 in LTE provides an event triggered reporting when the serving cell quality becomes worse than a threshold…”, and figures 16, 18); the second condition comprises one or more of following: recovery of the first service, recovery of the first slice, recovery of the first session, reconstruction of the first radio bearer.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Ramachandra into Hong, since Hong suggests a technique for reporting the MDT measurement information, and Ramachandra suggests the beneficial way of reporting when the serving cell quality becomes worse than a threshold so that/thus to capture coverage holes and poor signal areas (Ramachandra paragraph 64) in the analogous art of communication.
Regarding claim 2, Hong and Ramachandra disclose the method according to claim 1, and Hong further discloses further comprising: receiving configuration information, wherein the configuration information is configured to configure the terminal to report the first report to the network side in case that one or more of the first service, the first slice, the first session, the first channel, the first request, and the first radio bearer satisfy the condition (Hong figure 3 step S302).
Regarding claim 4, Hong and Ramachandra disclose the method according to claim 1, and Hong further discloses further comprising: if the terminal is located in a first region, determining whether one or more of the first service, the first slice, the first session, the first channel, the first request, and the first radio bearer satisfy the condition (Hong figure 2, and paragraph 35, tracking area).
Regarding claim 5, Hong and Ramachandra disclose the method according to claim 4, and Hong further discloses wherein the information of the first region comprises: a group of geographic location information (Hong paragraph 35, “…an identifier of a corresponding base station and identifier(s) of network slice(s) supported by the corresponding base station, as well as an identifier of a corresponding TAs and identifier(s) of network slice(s) supported by the corresponding TA”), or a cell list, or a tracking area list, or a bluetooth identifier, or a wireless local area network (WLAN) identifier.
Regarding claim 6, Hong and Ramachandra disclose the method according to claim 4, and Hong further discloses wherein the information of the first region is configured by a network side (Hong paragraph 35, the MDT measurement configuration information of the network slice) or agreed by a protocol.
Regarding claim 7, Hong and Ramachandra disclose the method according to claim 1, and Hong further discloses further comprising: reporting a terminal capability, wherein the terminal capability indicates whether the terminal supports reporting the first report to the network side in a case that one or more of the first service, the first slice, the first session, the first channel, the first request, and the first radio bearer satisfy the condition (Hong figure 3, paragraph 34, “A base station may determine whether the UE supports the MDT based on capability information reported by the UE. For a UE supporting the MDT, the base station may generate the MDT measurement configuration information of the network slice”, and paragraph 64).
Regarding claim 10, Hong and Ramachandra disclose the method according to claim 2, and Hong further discloses wherein the configuration information further comprises one or more of following: first time information, wherein the first time information indicates a time interval at which the terminal reports the first report; a quantity of initiation failures or disconnections of the first service and/or a duration of initiation failure or disconnection of the first service; a quantity of initiation failures, disconnections, releases, or remapping of the first slice and/or a duration of initiation failure, disconnection, release, or remapping of the first slice; a quantity of disconnections of a session of the first service and/or a duration of disconnection of a session of the first service; a quantity of disconnections of a radio bearer of the first service and/or a duration of disconnection of a radio bearer of the first service; an identifier of the first service; an identifier of the first session; an identifier of the first slice (Hong paragraph 35); an identifier of the first radio bearer; an identifier of the first channel; an identifier of the first request.
Regarding claim 11, Hong and Ramachandra disclose the method according to claim 1, and Hong further discloses wherein the first report comprises one or more of following: information of a source cell; information of a target cell; information of a reconnected cell; beam information of a source cell; beam information of a target cell; location information of the terminal; second time information, wherein the second time information indicates a time instant at which the terminal obtains or records the first report; third time information, wherein the third time information represents a time instant at which the condition is satisfied or a duration for which the condition is satisfied; information of a slice (Hong figure 3 , step S305) and/or a quantity of initiation failures, disconnections, release, or remapping of the slice and/or a duration of initiation failure, disconnection, release, or remapping of the slice; an identifier of a radio bearer and/or a quantity of disconnections of the radio bearer and/or a duration of disconnection of the radio bearer; an identifier of a service and/or a quantity of initiation failures or disconnections of the service and/or a duration of initiation failure or disconnection of the service; an identifier of a session and/or a quantity of disconnections of the session and/or a duration of disconnection of the session; an identifier of a channel and/or a quantity of disconnections of the channel and/or a duration of disconnection of the channel; an identifier of a request and/or a quantity of disconnections of the request and/or a duration of disconnection of the request.
Regarding claim 12, Hong and Ramachandra disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Hong and Ramachandra disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 14, Hong and Ramachandra disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 17, Hong and Ramachandra disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 10.
Regarding claim 18, Hong and Ramachandra disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 11.
Regarding claim 21, Hong and Ramachandra disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 22, Hong and Ramachandra disclose a network side device, comprising: a processor, a memory, and a program stored on the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the program is executed by the processor, the steps of the method according to claim 12 is implemented (Hong figure 8).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US_20230354059_A1_Hong in view of US_20220182850_A1_Ramachandra and US_20230209384_A1_Pantelidou.
Regarding claim 3, Hong and Ramachandra disclose the method according to claim 1, but do not disclose wherein reporting the first report to the network side comprises: if the terminal is in a connected state, reporting the first report to the network side; if the terminal is in an idle state or an inactive state, recording the first report, and reporting the first report to the network side.
Pantelidou discloses if the terminal is in a connected state, reporting the first report to the network side; if the terminal is in an idle state or an inactive state, recording the first report, and reporting the first report to the network side (Pantelidou paragraph 33, “…Immediate MDT reporting means that a user device generates, while it is in connected state, real time report of radio measurements after measurements are carried out. In Logged MDT reporting, the user device is configured for measurements when it is in connected mode and the user device collects MDT data when it enters idle or inactive states. The user device in Logged MDT sends reports in a form of logs when it enters connected state…”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Pantelidou’s real time reporting for user device in connected mode, and logged the reports when it is in idle or inactive states and sends reports in a form of logs when it enters connected state in Hong and Ramachandra’s system to improve network performance and quality. This method for improving the system of Hong and Ramachandra was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Pantelidou. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Hong, Ramachandra and Pantelidou to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
Claim(s) 8-9, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US_20230354059_A1_Hong in view of US_20220182850_A1_Ramachandra and US_20130070594_A1_Garcia.
Regarding claim 8, Hong and Ramachandra disclose the method according to claim 1, but do not disclose wherein the first condition further comprises one or more of following: disconnection of the first session, disconnection of the first radio bearer, initiation failure of the first service, failure of the first request, an indicator parameter of the first service, or the first request being lower than a preset threshold.
Garcia discloses wherein the first condition further comprises one or more of following: disconnection of the first session, disconnection of the first radio bearer, initiation failure of the first service (Garcia paragraph 35, “…the user terminal 112 reports the failure to initiate a service request to the P-GW 212…”), failure of the first request, an indicator parameter of the first service, or the first request being lower than a preset threshold.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Garcia’s the user terminal reports the failure to initiate a service request in Hong and Ramachandra’s system to better manage the resource allocation in order to fulfill the service request of user terminal with high priority (Garcia paragraphs 22, 37). This method for improving the system of Hong and Ramachandra was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Garcia. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Hong, Ramachandra and Garcia to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Hong, Ramachandra and Garcia disclose the method according to claim 8, and Garcia further discloses wherein the initiation failure of the first slice or the first service indicates that the terminal initiates the first slice or the first service, but is rejected by a protocol layer in the terminal, rejected by the network side, or prohibited by a protocol; the failure of the first request indicates that the terminal initiates the first request, but is rejected by a protocol layer in the terminal, rejected by the network side, or prohibited by a protocol (Garcia paragraph 35, “The user terminal 114, or the LTE access network 102, determines that it is unable to provide the requested QoS. In the scenario shown in FIG. 3, the user terminal 112 reports the failure to initiate a service request to the P-GW 212…”, and paragraph 22, “…If the LTE access network 102 is congested, the service request by user terminal 114 to initiate a video streaming application may be denied....”).
Regarding claim 15, Hong, Ramachandra and Garcia disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 8.
Regarding claim 16, Hong, Ramachandra and Garcia disclose the limitations as set forth in claim 9.
Conclusion
/W.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471