DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
With respect to the claim objection, applicant amended claim 28 filed on 08/12/2026, which overcome the claim objection. Therefore, the claim objection is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues reference Yamada does not teach the limitation “a heating chamber configured to heat an aerosol-forming substrate, the heating chamber being in fluid communication with both the air inlet and the aerosol outlet and being configured to define an airflow pathway through the heater assembly; a heater mount, the heating chamber being mounted on the heater mount; and a seal configured to seal the airflow pathway, wherein the seal is mounted on the heater mount such that the seal is spaced apart from the heating chamber, and wherein the seal is mounted on a first end of the heater mount and the heating chamber is mounted on a second end of the heater mount, the second end being axially opposite the first end.”
Examiner respectfully disagree. Yamada teaches supporter 46 defines a chamber that contains the heating wire 42, so that supporter 46 is capable to heat an aerosol-forming substrate. As shown in figure 3, the flavor inhaler 10 is assembled, O-ring 34 is mounted on the surface of partition member 30 directly/indirectly such that O-ring 34 is spaced apart from the supporter 46, and O-ring 34 is mounted on a first end portion of partition member 30 and the supporter 46 is mounted on a second end portion of partition member 30 directly/indirectly, the second end being axially opposite the first end. Therefore, the claim rejection is respectfully maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-24, 29-30, 32, and 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada (US 2019/0053544).
Regarding claim 21, Yamada teaches a heater assembly (See figures) for an aerosol-generating device, the heater assembly comprising:
a first heater casing (outer housing 43) comprising an air inlet (air hole 60);
a second heater casing (flow passage pipe 22) comprising an aerosol outlet (outlet; see the annotation of fig.3); and
a heating chamber (supporter 46) configured to heat an aerosol-forming substrate (See para.[0070] “The heating wire 42 is configured to heat and atomize the liquid held in the first liquid holding member 41 to generate the aerosol.” Supporter 46 contains the heating wire 42, so that supporter 46 is capable to heat an aerosol-forming substrate.), the heating chamber (supporter 46) being in fluid communication with both the air inlet (air hole 60) and the aerosol outlet (outlet) and being configured to define an airflow pathway through the heater assembly (See figs.2-3, supporter 46, air hole 60, outlet, and other structure define an airflow pathway.);
a heater mount (partition member 30), the heating chamber (supporter 46) being mounted on the heater mount (partition member 30) (see fig.3); and
a seal (O-ring 34) configured to seal the airflow pathway (See figures and para.[0073] “The first O-ring 34 seals between the partition member 30 and the lid member 23.” Partition member 30 and lid member 23 are parts of the airflow pathway. Hence O-ring 34 seals the airflow pathway.),
wherein the seal (O-ring 34) is mounted on the heater mount (partition member 30) such that the seal (O-ring 34) is spaced apart from the heating chamber (supporter 46) (see fig.3), and
wherein the seal (O-ring 34) is mounted on a first end of the heater mount (partition member 30) and the heating chamber (supporter 46) is mounted on a second end of the heater mount (partition member 30), the second end being axially opposite the first end (see fig.2).
Regarding claim 22, Yamada teaches wherein the first and the second heater casings (outer housing 43 and flow passage pipe 22) are attached to each other and enclose the heating chamber (supporter 46) and the heater mount (partition member 30) (see fig.3, outer housing 43 and flow passage pipe 22 are attached to each other and enclose supporter 46 and partition member 30.), and
wherein the seal (O-ring 34) is arranged between the heater mount (partition member 30) and an internal surface of one of the first and the second heater casings (See fig.3, O-rings 34 is arranged between partition member 30 and an internal surface of outer housing 43 in horizontal direction.).
Regarding claim 23, Yamada teaches the seal (O-ring 34) is arranged between the heater mount (partition member 30) and an internal surface of the first heater casing (outer housing 43) (See fig.3, O-rings 34 is arranged between partition member 30 and an internal surface of outer housing 43 in horizontal direction.).
Regarding claim 24, Yamada teaches the heater mount (partition member 30) is arranged upstream of the heating chamber (supporter 46).
Regarding claim 29, Yamada teaches the first heater casing (outer housing 43), the second heater casing (flow passage pipe 22), the heating chamber (supporter 46), and the heater mount (partition member 30) each have an airflow channel (see figures, each of outer housing 43, flow passage pipe 22, supporter 46, and partition member 30 has a hollow air airflow channel), the airflow channels communicating to define the airflow pathway through the heater assembly (See figures, all of air airflow channels align to define the airflow pathway.).
Regarding claim 30, Yamada teaches the heating chamber (supporter 46) comprises a tubular heating chamber (See figures).
Regarding claim 32, Yamada teaches each end of the tubular heating chamber is flared or funnel shaped (See fig.3, one end of supporter 46 is flared shape and the other end is funnel shaped.).
Regarding claim 36, Yamada teaches the heating chamber (supporter 46) is further configured to receive at least a portion of an aerosol-generating article (supporter 46 has internal space that is capable to receive at least a portion of an aerosol-generating article).
Regarding claim 37, Yamada teaches an aerosol-generating device (See figures), comprising:
a heater assembly according to claim 21 (See the rejection of claim 21); and
a power supply (battery 54) configured to supply electrical power to the heater assembly (See para.[0067] “The electronic circuit board controls an electronic circuit such that the battery 54 supplies the electric power not only to the heating wire 42 of the atomizing unit 40 but also to the light source 52.).
Regarding claim 38, Yamada teaches a method of manufacturing a heater assembly for an aerosol-generating device, the method comprising:
providing a first heater casing (outer housing 43) comprising an air inlet (air hole 60);
providing a second heater casing (flow passage pipe 22) comprising an aerosol outlet (outlet; see the annotation of fig.3);
providing a heating chamber (supporter 46) for heating an aerosol-forming substrate (See para.[0070] “The heating wire 42 is configured to heat and atomize the liquid held in the first liquid holding member 41 to generate the aerosol.” Supporter 46 contains the heating wire 42, so that supporter 46 is capable to heat an aerosol-forming substrate.) and arranging the heating chamber (supporter 46) such that the heating chamber (supporter 46) is in fluid communication with both the air inlet and the air outlet (outlet) to define an airflow pathway through the heater assembly (See figs.2-3, supporter 46, air hole 60, outlet, and other structure define an airflow pathway.);
providing a heater mount (partition member 30) and mounting the heating chamber (supporter 46) on the heater mount (partition member 30);
providing a seal (O-ring 34) for sealing the airflow pathway (See figures and para.[0073] “The first O-ring 34 seals between the partition member 30 and the lid member 23.” Partition member 30 and lid member 23 are parts of the airflow pathway. Hence O-ring 34 seals the airflow pathway.) and mounting the seal (O-ring 34) on the heater mount (partition member 30) such that the seal (O-ring 34) is spaced apart from the heating chamber (supporter 46) (see fig.3), wherein the seal (O-ring 34) is mounted on a first end of the heater mount (partition member 30) and the heating chamber (supporter 46) is mounted on a second end of the heater mount (partition member 30), the second end being axially opposite the first end (see fig.2); and
attaching the first and the second heater casings (outer housing 43 and flow passage pipe 22 to each other to enclose the heating chamber (supporter 46) and heater mount (partition member 30) (see fig.3, outer housing 43 and flow passage pipe 22 are attached to each other and enclose supporter 46 and partition member 30.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada in view of Ryter (US 2014/0224268).
Regarding claim 25, Yamada does not explicitly teach the heater mount comprises a polymer.
However, Ryter teaches in the same field of endeavor of a heater assembly comprising a heater mount (assembly 142) comprises a polymer (See para.[0036] “The assembly 142 may be made of plastics.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the heater mount of Yamada with a heater mount made of plastic as taught by Ryter, in order to provide a heater mount made of a conventional and low-cost material.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada in view of Usui (US 2009/0214287).
Regarding claim 27, Yamada does not explicitly teach the seal comprises a polymer having a Shore hardness between 30 A and 90 A.
However, Usuo teaches a seal (O-ring 315) comprises a polymer (see para.[0052] “O-ring 315 be of ethylene propylene diene methylene (EPDM)”) having a Shore hardness between 30 A and 90 A [Examiner’s note: EPDM has a Shore hardness between 30 A and 90 A.].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the O-ring of Yamada with a O-ring made of EPDM as taught by Usui, in order to provide a O-ring made of a desired material with desired characteristics.
Claims 26, 28, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada.
Regarding claim 26, Yamada does not explicitly teach the seal is disposed at a distance of between 4 millimetres and 6 millimetres from the heating chamber.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the location of the seal to be a distance of between 4 millimetres and 6 millimetres from the heating chamber, in order to provide a heater assembly with a desired length, since the relative location between the seal and the heating chamber is nothing more than a result effective variable able to be optimized in order to achieve a recognized result, such as to provide a heater assembly with a desired length, and discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 28, Yamada does not explicitly teach the seal has an uncompressed thickness of between 0.5 mm and 2 mm.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the seal to have an uncompressed thickness between 0.5 mm and 2mm, in order to provide a seal with desired thickness, since applicant does not disclose that the seal to have an uncompressed thickness between 0.5 mm and 2mm solved any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, and changing the thickness of the seal is an obvious design choice (MPEP 2144).
Regarding claim 33, Yamada does not explicitly teach an axial length of said each flared or funnel-shaped end of the tubular heating chamber is between 0.5 percent and 10 percent of an overall length of the tubular heating chamber.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the size of the heating chamber to be an axial length of said each flared or funnel-shaped end of the tubular heating chamber is between 0.5 percent and 10 percent of an overall length of the tubular heating chamber, in order to provide a heater assembly with a desired dimensions, since the size of the heating chamber is nothing more than a result effective variable able to be optimized in order to achieve a recognized result, such as to provide a heater assembly with a desired dimensions, and discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 31 and 34-35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: References on the record does not teach or suggest the limitation in claim 31.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRIS Q LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761