DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 4, 6 and 8-11, in the reply filed on is acknowledged.
Claims 4, 6, 8-12, 27-28, 31, 48, 55, 57, 89, 95, 146 and 148 remain pending in the current application, claims 12, 27-28, 31, 48, 55, 57, 89, 95, 146 and 148 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
The requirement for the restriction of Inventions I-VIII is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 4, 6 and 8-11 have been considered on the merits.
Status of the Claims
Claims 4, 6, 8-12, 27-28, 31, 48, 55, 57, 89, 95, 146 and 148 are currently pending.
Claims 12, 27-28, 31, 48, 55, 57, 89, 95, 146 and 148 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 13-26, 29-30, 32-47, 49-54, 56, 58-88, 90-94, 96-145, 147 and 149-179 are cancelled.
Claims 4, 6 and 8-11 have been considered on the merits.
Drawings
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities: illegible text in illegible text in Fig. 3A and Fig. 15A-G; there is description of color in the Specification for Fig. 1 in 0037, Fig. 2 in 0038, Fig. 3 in 0039, Fig. 4 in 0040, Fig. 5 in 0041, Fig. 6 in 0042, Fig. 8 in 0044, Fig. 8 in 0044, Fig. 9 in 0045, Fig. 10 in 0046, Fig. 12 in 0048, Fig. 13 in 0049, Fig. 14 in 0050, Fig. 15 in 0051, and Fig. 16 in 0052 and the various colors cannot be distinguished from each other since the figures are in black and white.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the use of trademarks.
The use of the terms DirectPCR® cell lysis reagent in 00256; DNeasy® Blood and Tissue Kit in 00256; RNeasy® Mini Kit in 00256; iScript™ cDNA Synthesis Kit in 00256; PrimeStar® GXL DNA Polymerase in 00256; Edit-R® in 00256; Millipore Amicon® filter unit in 00257; 2916 Teklad Global Diets® in in 00258; Leica® CM3050 cryostat in 00261; Martigel® in 00262, 00264; mTeSR™ Plus media in 00262; Accutase® in 00262; P3 Primary Cell 4D-Nucleofector® X Kit in 00262; Primocin® in in 00262; TrypLE™ Express in 00263; Microsoft Excel® in in 00265; and GraphPad Prism® Software in 00266, which are a trade names or a marks used in commerce, have been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever they appear or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the terms.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: minor grammatical error in claims.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the first time an acronym is utilized in a claim-set, said acronym should be spelled out in its entirety followed by said acronym in parenthesis (e.g. Duchenne muscular dystrophy (DMD)).
Appropriate corrections are appreciated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 is rendered indefinite for the limitation of “wherein the gRNA comprises a targeting nucleic acid sequence selected from those disclosed in Table 3. “Where possible, claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table "is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant’s convenience." Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (citations omitted).” See MPEP 2173.05(s).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (EP 3712272 A1) (ref. of record) as evidenced by BLASTN alignment (Query: SEQ ID NO: 1, Date: Sept. 17, 2026) in view of Hanson et al. (RNA Biology, published online Jan. 20, 2021).
With respect to claims 4 and 6, Chang teaches a composition containing a fusion protein containing a cytosine deaminase (cytosine base editor) that mutates the AG at the 3’splice site to AA to induce exon skipping and activating alternative splice sites, and a single-molecule guide RNA (sgRNA) to modify RNA splicing in the human Duchenne muscular dystrophy gene to repair the reading frame (0001, 0005, 0007, 0011, 0048, 0061, 0066 and 0075). Further with respect to claims 4 and 6, Chang teaches the sgRNA with the sequence of SEQ ID NO. 17 which targets exon 50 (target binding region of sgRNA DMD EXON50 S'SS), and which has 100% homology with SEQ ID NO. 11 (See Blast Alignment below, instant SEQ ID NO. 11 is Query).
Score:40.1 bits(20), Expect:2e-10, Identities:20/20(100%), Gaps:0/20(0%), Strand: Plus/Plus
Query
1
ATACTTACAGGCTCCAATAG
||||||||||||||||||||
20
Sbjct
1
ATACTTACAGGCTCCAATAG
20
It is noted that claim 6 recites that the gRNA can optionally be a single-molecule guide RNA (sgRNA) for modifying a splice site in human dystrophin gene and the term “optionally” does not require that the correction of the analysis be performed.
With respect to claim 8, Chang teaches the cytosine deaminase is linked to a CRISPR/Cas nuclease (0039). With respect to claim 9, Chang teaches the CRISPR/Cas nuclease has partial or no nuclease activity (catalytically impaired) (0040 and 0043). With respect to claims 10 and 11, Chang teaches the CRISPR/Cas nuclease is a Cas9 nuclease from Streptococcus pyogenes (spCas9) (0041-0042).
Although, Chang teaches a cytosine base editor (0005), Chang does not teach the composition where the base editor is an adenine base editor as recited in claim 4.
However, Hanson teaches a similar composition containing an ABE (adenosine deaminase base editor) packaged with a gRNA targeting an exon 20 of DMD to correct Duchenne muscular dystrophy by splice modulation (pg. 1056 para. 2-3 and Fig. 5). Hanson further teaches gRNA targeting exons 45 and 51 of DMD (Fig. 3). Hansen teaches that adenine base editor cause an adenosine to be converted to an inosine which is either read as guanosine by the case excision repair pathway allowing for an A:T to G:C base change.
Accordingly, at the effective time of filing of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the composition of Chang so that the base editor is an adenine base editor for the benefit of enabling an A:T to G:C base change as needed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the composition containing the CBE and gRNA targeting DMD, to use another base editor such as ABE which is also known to be use edited for dystrophin reading frame restoration as taught by Hanson. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have has a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification to the composition of Chang, since similar compositions containing base editors targeting and gRNAs were known to containing ABE as taught by Hanson.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing of the invention, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Koblan et al. "Improving cytidine and adenine base editors by expression optimization and ancestral reconstruction." Nature Biotechnology 36.9 (2018): 843-846.
Koblan teaches optimized cytidine (BE4) and adenine (ABE7.10) base editors (abstract).
Perez-Pinera et al. (US 2021/0309986 A1)
Perez-Pinera discloses a method of treating Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy in a subject comprising contacting a cell in the subject with (i) a single guide RNA (sgRNA) molecule having complementarity to a target sequence in the dystrophin gene and (ii) a cytidine deaminase base editor (0011).
Liu et al. (US 12,473,543 B2)
Liu teaches adenine base editors with gRNAs (abstract).
Examiner Contact Information
/EMILY A CORDAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632