NON-FINAL REJECTION
This application is a 35 U.S.C. 371 (national stage) application of PCT/JP2021/044426, filed Dec. 3, 2021, which claims benefit of foreign priority to Japanese application 2021-052802, filed Mar. 26, 2021.
Claims 1-10, 12, and 13, as amended, are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim to foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on Nov. 14, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka et al. (USPN 9,351,949, cited on PTO-892), as evidenced by Sakai et al. (J. Virology 88 (10), 5608-5616, cited on the IDS dated 11/14/2023).
Tanaka et al. claim methods for ameliorating symptoms in a subject having an influenza viral infection, comprising administering to the subject a therapeutic agent for influenza viral infection comprising a compound represented by formula (I) or a salt thereof:
,
wherein R1 and R2 are each a hydrogen atom, i.e., 5-aminolevulinic acid (5-ALA); and wherein the therapeutic agent for influenza viral infection further comprises an iron compound, specifically sodium ferrous citrate (claims 1-8).
Thus, Tanaka et al. claim a therapeutic agent comprising 5-aminolevulinic acid (5-ALA) and sodium ferrous citrate, which reads on the pharmaceutical compositions recited by claims 1-8, and the kit recited by claim 13.
Tanaka et al. do not explicitly disclose that the therapeutic agent comprising 5-aminolevulinic acid (5-ALA) and sodium ferrous citrate is "for suppressing the expression of type II transmembrane serine protease (TMPRSS2)," as recited by claims 1 and 13, or "for suppressing the expression of angiotensin converting enzyme 2 (ACE2)", as recited by claim 2.
However, as recognized by MPEP § 2111.02 (II), a recitation of the intended use (for suppressing the expression of TMPRSS2 and/or ACE2) of the claimed kit and compositions must result in a structural difference between the claimed composition and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art composition is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Further, as evidenced by Sakai et al., proteolytic cleavage of the hemagglutinin (HA) protein is essential for influenza A virus (IAV) to acquire infectivity. Sakai et al. show that the host cell type II transmembrane serine protease (TMPRSS2), expressed in the respiratory tract, is the key host protease that activates IAVs in vivo through proteolytic cleavage of their HA proteins. Thus, TMPRSS2 expression is essential for IAV replication in vivo (abstract). Sakai et al. also teach that various respiratory viruses, including the SARS coronavirus and MERS coronavirus, also use TMPRSS2 for their activation. Drugs that inhibit TMPRSS2 are therefore expected to be effective against a wide spectrum of respiratory viruses (p. 5615, left col.).
Thus, by administering 5-ALA and sodium ferrous citrate to a subject with influenza viral infection, it is intrinsic in the methods of Tanaka et al. that:
a disease related to expression of TMPRSS2 in a cell or tissue in a subject will be treated, as recited by claim 9;
the disease related to expression of TMPRSS2 is an infection by a virus that infects by utilizing TMPRSS2, as recited by claim 10; and
the expression of type II transmembrane serine protease (TMPRSS2) will be suppressed, as recited by claim 12.
All the molecular and cellular mechanisms by which a compound exerts its therapeutic effects are intrinsic in the methods of Tanaka et al., and occur each time 5-ALA and sodium ferrous citrate are administered to a subject with influenza viral infection, regardless of whether those mechanisms were recognized or appreciated.
A novel use of a known compound can be patentable. However, the claims do not recite a novel use of a known compound, but rather a previously unknown property of compounds which were known to treat the same conditions in the same patient population. When the claim recites the use of a known compound in a known method – administration of 5-ALA and sodium ferrous citrate to patients with influenza viral infection – and the “use” is directed to a result or property of that compound, then the claim is anticipated.
Claims 1-10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kita et al. (US Pub. 2023/0190690, cited on PTO-892).
Kita et al. claim a method for therapeutic and/or preventive treatment of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19), comprising administering to a subject a therapeutic agent comprising a compound of formula (I) or a salt thereof:
wherein R1 and R2 are each a hydrogen atom, i.e., 5-aminolevulinic acid (5-ALA), wherein the therapeutic agent for COVID-19 further comprises an iron compound (claims 1-6 and 11), specifically sodium ferrous citrate (paras. [0013], [0051], [0091]).
Thus, Kita et al. disclose and claim a therapeutic agent comprising 5-aminolevulinic acid (5-ALA) and sodium ferrous citrate, which reads on the pharmaceutical compositions recited by claims 1-8, and the kit recited by claim 13.
Kita et al. do not explicitly disclose that the therapeutic agent comprising 5-aminolevulinic acid (5-ALA) and sodium ferrous citrate is "for suppressing the expression of type II transmembrane serine protease (TMPRSS2)," as recited by claims 1 and 13, or "for suppressing the expression of angiotensin converting enzyme 2 (ACE2)", as recited by claim 2.
However, as recognized by MPEP § 2111.02 (II), a recitation of the intended use (for suppressing the expression of TMPRSS2 and/or ACE2) of the claimed kit and compositions must result in a structural difference between the claimed composition and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art composition is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Further, as evidenced by, e.g., the instant specification, TMPRSS2 is one of the major proteases that activate respiratory viruses in the respiratory tract. Specific viruses that utilize TMPRSS2 in the infection route to humans or animals include influenza virus and coronaviruses, e.g., SARS-COV, SARS-COV-2, and Human Coronavirus-NL63 (para. [0048]).
Thus, by administering 5-ALA and sodium ferrous citrate to a subject with coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19), it is intrinsic in the methods of Kita et al. that:
a disease related to expression of TMPRSS2 in a cell or tissue in a subject will be treated, as recited by claim 9;
the disease related to expression of TMPRSS2 is an infection by a virus that infects by utilizing TMPRSS2, as recited by claim 10; and
the expression of type II transmembrane serine protease (TMPRSS2) will be suppressed, as recited by claim 12.
All the molecular and cellular mechanisms by which a compound exerts its therapeutic effects are intrinsic in the methods of Kita et al., and occur each time 5-ALA and sodium ferrous citrate are administered to a subject with coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19), regardless of whether those mechanisms were recognized or appreciated.
A novel use of a known compound can be patentable. However, the claims do not recite a novel use of a known compound, but rather a previously unknown property of compounds which were known to treat the same conditions in the same patient population. When the claim recites the use of a known compound in a known method – administration of 5-ALA and sodium ferrous citrate to patients with coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) – and the “use” is directed to a result or property of that compound, then the claim is anticipated.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10, 12, and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 9,351,949, as evidenced by Sakai et al. (J. Virology 88 (10), 5608-5616, cited on the IDS dated 11/14/2023)
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed compositions, methods, and kit are intrinsic in the methods recited by the reference claims.
Reference claims 1-8 are drawn to methods for ameliorating symptoms in a subject having an influenza viral infection, comprising administering to the subject a therapeutic agent for influenza viral infection comprising a compound represented by formula (I) or a salt thereof:
,
wherein R1 represents a hydrogen atom or an acyl group, and R2 represents a hydrogen atom, a linear or branched alkyl group, a cycloalkyl group, an aryl group or an aralkyl group), specifically wherein R1 and R2 represent a hydrogen atom, i.e., 5-aminolevulinic acid (5-ALA); wherein the therapeutic agent for influenza viral infection further comprises an iron compound, specifically sodium ferrous citrate.
Thus, the reference claims are drawn to methods of administering a therapeutic agent comprising 5-aminolevulinic acid (5-ALA) and sodium ferrous citrate, which reads on the pharmaceutical compositions recited by examined claims 1-8, and the kit recited by examined claim 13.
The reference claims do not explicitly recite that the therapeutic agent comprising 5-aminolevulinic acid (5-ALA) and sodium ferrous citrate is "for suppressing the expression of type II transmembrane serine protease (TMPRSS2)," as recited by examined claims 1 and 13, or "for suppressing the expression of angiotensin converting enzyme 2 (ACE2)", as recited by examined claim 2.
However, as evidenced by Sakai et al., proteolytic cleavage of the hemagglutinin (HA) protein is essential for influenza A virus (IAV) to acquire infectivity. Sakai et al. show that the host cell type II transmembrane serine protease (TMPRSS2), expressed in the respiratory tract, is the key host protease that activates IAVs in vivo through proteolytic cleavage of their HA proteins. Thus, TMPRSS2 expression is essential for IAV replication in vivo (abstract). Sakai et al. also teach that various respiratory viruses, including the SARS coronavirus and MERS coronavirus, also use TMPRSS2 for their activation. Drugs that inhibit TMPRSS2 are therefore expected to be effective against a wide spectrum of respiratory viruses (p. 5615, left col.).
Thus, by administering 5-ALA and sodium ferrous citrate to a subject with influenza viral infection, it is intrinsic in the methods recited by the reference claims that:
a disease related to expression of TMPRSS2 in a cell or tissue in a subject will be treated, as recited by examined claim 9;
the disease related to expression of TMPRSS2 is an infection by a virus that infects by utilizing TMPRSS2, as recited by examined claim 10; and
the expression of type II transmembrane serine protease (TMPRSS2) will be suppressed, as recited by examined claim 12.
All the molecular and cellular mechanisms by which a compound exerts its therapeutic effects are intrinsic in the methods of the reference claims, and occur each time 5-ALA and sodium ferrous citrate are administered to a subject with influenza viral infection, regardless of whether those mechanisms were recognized or appreciated.
A novel use of a known compound can be patentable. However, the examined claims do not recite a novel use of a known compound, but rather a previously unknown property of compounds which were known to treat the same conditions in the same patient population. When the claim recites the use of a known compound in a known method – administration of 5-ALA and sodium ferrous citrate to patients with influenza viral infection – and the “use” is directed to a result or property of that compound, then the claim is anticipated.
Claims 1-8 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 10,675,242. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims are drawn to formulations which read on the examined claims.
The reference claims are drawn to aqueous formulations comprising a compound of formula (I) or a salt thereof:
wherein R1 is a hydrogen atom or an acyl group, and R2 is a hydrogen atom, a linear or branched alkyl group, a cycloalkyl group, an aryl group, or an aralkyl group; and an iron compound, wherein the composition further comprises 2.5-30% by weight of sodium salts or potassium salts, and the pH of said aqueous formulation is 5-7 (reference claims 1-2 and 7-9).
In particular, the compound of formula (I) is 5-aminolevulinic acid, wherein R1 and R2 are hydrogen atoms; and the iron compound is sodium ferrous citrate (reference claims 3-6).
Thus, the reference claims read on the pharmaceutical compositions of examined claims 1-8, and the kit of examined claim 13.
The reference claims do not explicitly recite that the formulations comprising 5-aminolevulinic acid (5-ALA) and sodium ferrous citrate are "for suppressing the expression of type II transmembrane serine protease (TMPRSS2)," as recited by examined claims 1 and 13, or "for suppressing the expression of angiotensin converting enzyme 2 (ACE2)", as recited by examined claim 2.
However, as recognized by MPEP § 2111.02 (II), a recitation of the intended use (for suppressing the expression of TMPRSS2 and/or ACE2) of the claimed kit and compositions must result in a structural difference between the claimed composition and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art composition is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Citation of Additional Prior Art
Additional references made of record are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US Pub. 2018/0125805; WO 2014/010206; and WO 2016/163082.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SARA E. TOWNSLEY whose telephone number is 571-270-7672. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm (EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jeff S. Lundgren, can be reached at 571-272-5541. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SARA ELIZABETH TOWNSLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 1629