DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 40, 22-23, 29, 32-33, 35, 37 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 8,842,255 (Yoo).
For claim 40, Yoo teaches a light-emitting device (fig. 1-6) comprising:
a housing body (fig. 1 and 2, 10);
a light-emitting semiconductor component in the housing body, the light-emitting semiconductor component configured to emit light (fig. 1 and 2, 71 or 72; col. 5, l. 25-27); and
an adaptive optical element in and/or on the housing body arranged downstream of the light-emitting semiconductor component in an optical path of the light (fig. 1-6, 90 or alternatively 93-94 of 90 in fig. 3-5), wherein the light-emitting device is a semiconductor package (col. 5, l. 25-27),
wherein the adaptive optical element comprises a plurality of structural elements, and wherein the structural elements have an extension size adapted to a wavelength of the light (fig. 3/5, 96). The elements inherently have an extension size adapted to the wavelength of the light as they affect the distribution angle as shown in fig. 6. If they were not “adapted to the wavelength” there would be no corresponding change in output.
Further, Yoo teaches wherein the adaptive optical element comprises a dielectric elastomer actuator in or on which the structural elements are arranged (fig. 3-5, 95; col. 6, l. 42; with no voltage applied polymer layer returns to the configuration of fig. 3 and is therefore considered an elastomer).
For claim 22, Yoo teaches the light-emitting device is a surface mountable device (col. 3, l.54-62).
For claim 23, Yoo teaches the housing body comprises a plastic housing or a ceramic housing (col. 3, l. 51-53).
For claim 29, Yoo teaches the adaptive optical element comprises a liquid crystal layer in which the plurality of structural elements are arranged (fig. 3, 96; col. 7, l. 22).
For claim 32, Yoo teaches the light-emitting semiconductor component is electrically connected via at least one electrical contact element of the housing body (fig. 1, 21 for 71 and 31 for 72).
For claim 33, Yoo teaches the adaptive optical element is electrically connected via at least one electrical contact element of the housing body (fig. 1, 93).
For claim 35, Yoo teaches the housing body comprises a transparent cover plate (fig. 3, 91 or 92; col. 6, l. 43-44).
For claim 37, Yoo teaches the adaptive optical element (fig. 2-3, 93-34 of 90) is arranged on the cover plate (fig. fig. 2 and 3, 91 of 90) on a side facing the light-emitting semiconductor component (fig. 2, 71/72).
For claim 39, Yoo teaches a LIDAR system (the preamble does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art) comprising:
at least one light-emitting device according to claim 40 (Yoo is applied according to the rejection of claim 40 above),
wherein the LIDAR system is configured to emit light with a radiation pattern that is variable (fig. 6(A) and 6(B)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,842,255 (Yoo) in view of US 2002/0080466 (Bayart).
For claim 25, Yoo does not teach the extension size is less than or equal to a wavelength of light emittable by the semiconductor light-emitting component. However, Bayart teaches an extension size is less than or equal to a wavelength of light emittable by the semiconductor light-emitting component (claim 8) in order to act as scatterers when not aligned (claim 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the size taught by Bayart with the invention of Yoo so that the structural elements will act as scatterers when not aligned.
For claims 26-27, Yoo further teaches the light has at least a first spectral component and a second spectral component different from the first spectral component (col. 5, l.20-27 also col. 9, l. 41-44). Yoo does not teach the plurality of structural elements comprises at least a first group of structural elements having a first extension size and a second group of structural elements having a second extension size, the first extension size being different from the second extension size; wherein the extension size of the structural elements of the first group are matched to the first spectral component and the extension size of the structural elements of the second group are matched to the second spectral component. However, Bayart does teach an extension size is less than or equal to a wavelength of light emittable by the semiconductor light-emitting component (claim 8) in order to act as scatterers when not aligned (claim 8). As Yoo teaches two different spectral wavelength components and Bayart teaches extension size is a results effective variable dependent on wavelength, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the structural elements of Yoo such that they comprise at least a first group of structural elements having a first extension size and a second group of structural elements having a second extension size, the first extension size being different from the second extension size; wherein the extension size of the structural elements of the first group are matched to the first spectral component and the extension size of the structural elements of the second group are matched to the second spectral component in order to act as scatterers for the two wavelengths when not aligned, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,842,255 (Yoo) in view of US 20190019779 (Kwon).
For claim 31, Yoo teaches the adaptive optical element comprises electrodes (fig. 3, 93/94).
Yoo does not teach the electrode is an elastic electrodes.
However, Kwon teaches electrodes may be formed as elastic electrodes ([0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the elastic electrodes of Kwon as a simple substitution for the electrodes of Yoo as the substituted components and their functions were known in the art and the substitution would have yielded predictable results. In the present case, the substituted component provides an alternative electrode material. See MPEP 2143 I.B.
Claims 34, 36, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,842,255 (Yoo).
For claim 34, Yoo teaches the housing body comprises at least three electrical contact elements (fig. 1, 21, 46, 31, fig. 393 and 94), wherein the light-emitting semiconductor component (fig. 1, 71) is electrically connected via at least a first electrical contact element (fig. 1, 21) and a second electrical contact element (fig. 1, 46), and wherein the adaptive optical element is electrically connected via at least a third contact element and a fourth electrical contact element (fig. 3, V1 and V2 connection to 93 and 94).
Yoo does not teach the second and fourth contact element are the same contact element. However, the examiner previously took official notice that using a common contact for multiple elements, particularly a ground contact was well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The applicant did not traverse. It is, therefore, taken to be admitted prior art. See MPEP 2144.03 C. Yoo, for example, illustrates a common contact for elements 71 and 72 at fig. 1, 46. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the well-known common contact with the device of the device of Yoo, such that the second and fourth contact elements are the same in order to provide common grounds for the light emitting semiconductor and adaptive optical element. Doing so has the advantage of reducing total required contacts for the device.
For claim 36, Yoo does not teach the cover plate hermetically seals a cavity of the housing body in which the light-emitting semiconductor component is arranged.
However, the examiner previously took official notice that hermetic sealing using a cover plate was well-known in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention in order to protect the semiconductor device. The applicant did not traverse. It is, therefore, taken to be admitted prior art. See MPEP 2144.03 C. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cover plate of Yoo to hermetically seal the cavity in order to protect the semiconductor device as was well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For claim 38, Yoo does not teach at least one electronic component is arranged in the housing body, which is configured to drive the light-emitting semiconductor component and/or the adaptive optical element. However, the examiner previously took official notice that at least one electronic component arranged in a housing body, which is configured to drive the light-emitting semiconductor component and/or the adaptive optical element was well-known in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention. The applicant did not traverse. It is, therefore, taken to be admitted prior art. See MPEP 2144.03 C. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the well-known configuration of at least one electronic component arranged in a housing body, which is configured to drive the light-emitting semiconductor component and/or the adaptive optical element with the device of the previous combination in order to drive the emitter of Yoo.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 30 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Yoo represents the closest prior art. While individual elements are known, there is no suggestion or motivation to modify Yoo to include all the limitations of claim 30 as it depends from claim 40.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Yoo does not disclose a dielectric elastomer actuator but rather only a host medium that does not deform, expand, contract, bend, or otherwise performs a mechanical actuation function. However, fig. 3-4 show the effects of applying different voltages including no voltage in fig. 3 as described in col. 8, lines 24-28. When there is no voltage liquid crystals return to the configuration of fig. 3. The host medium is the only element that could cause the liquid crystals to return to the configuration of fig. 3 and the host medium is therefore considered an actuator which works in conjunction with the applied voltage.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael Carter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828